See All Reviews
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good backpack for 17.3" notebooks Backpack of excellent quality and with enough space for bigger notebooks like Asus series G75. 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Backpack (drifter) excellent back pack with plenty of pockets 02/29/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice! I got this for my daughter for college. It is very nice and she loves all the pockets. 12/10/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product The backpage works great and has many pockets to carry everything you would need. I bought t for a trip and it was packed tight, but still comfortable to carry through the airport. 11/26/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pulls on the Neck, Extremely Uncomfortable for whatever reason, Targus attached the Shoulder straps...by elastic bands...and it's a horrible design flaw because you feel all the pressure right on your neck. As soon as I bought this, I knew I was going back and I ended up buying the Orben Cargo Laptop Backpack which is awesome. 07/03/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had to return 3 times! Still defective So my original review of this was glowing ... until it fell apart. The right shoulder strap was actually pulling out of the backpack and the stitching along the strap became undone. I know the backpack was defective because all I carry around is a laptop, and its accessories, along with some pens, business cards, et. I contacted Targus and after speaking with them, they offered me a replacement, to which I gladly accepted. The one thing that irked me was that I had to pay for shipping of the defective item back to them. I reluctantly did after some protest. Fast forward 3 months and guess what!? Same thing happened. I called Targus and explained the problem. They quickly offered a replacement and again expected me to ship it back at my own expense. They even charged my credit card for a new backpack until my old one was received. My hands were tied. Guess what happened to the third backpack?! Yup, 3 months, and the EXACT same thing, in the same spot. This time I called and asked to speak to a supervisor and explained that there must be some defect in materials or workmanship. They looked at photos that i provided and said they would look into the matter. They even offered to ship me a new backpack and once received to send the old one back ... AT MY OWN EXPENSE. This time I refuse to. I have paid shipping for the original and 2 replacements and I will not do it again. Summery: Huge backpack that falls apart at the straps after daily use for 3-5 months. Customer service very willing to replace it, but expect you to pay for return shipping on DEFECTIVE items. 06/17/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Built to Last From my examination, I believe this backpack was intended for heavy foot travel. There is a steel cable built into the handle, literally bolted to the backpack to prevent it from tearing off. The bottom is water-resistant and the inside has reasonable layers of insulation. Even at full capacity, the backpack can stretch at the seams and will not break. There is so much stitching and layering that this backpack is guaranteed to hold its contents and protect them from the outside forces. I went through heavy rains with this backpack for up to five minutes and the outside shell was soaked, but the inside compartments were dry as a bone. This backpack had just crept past its second year. The plastic grip covering the cable-reinforced handle is starting to break apart, but the cable itself and the plastic enamel protecting has not a single scratch. However, since I tend to pick it up by my right hand the right strap of the shoulder is heavy worn. The double-stitching is coming apart, starting to tear. The left shoulder strap is still in ridiculously still in perfect condition. Besides that, the backpack is still going strong. I will be sure to make sure to get that right strap mended before it gets worse. 06/11/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I echo that sentiment Yes the bag is great, except for the straps. As noted by several others on this site the seams popped on the strap within the first few weeks. Underneath the straps began to fray, and eventually separate from the strap. I had enough, after 7 months it was falling apart, and I bit the bullet and sent it back this week. Hopefully they will send a replacement that lasts. If not another return and another negative review. 07/14/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A stitch in time The biggest flaw--to echo other reviews--is the durability of the straps. One reviewer commented that there is no need for the elastic in these straps. I disagree: they add to the comfort of the pack as you walk with a heavy load as they act to soften the bounce of the pack as you walk. However, the ends seem to unravel almost instantly if there is a heavy weight to the bag. I believe the engineering could have been a bit more solid in the construction of these bags. Stronger, or more elastic may be needed to ensure durability in future models. Now, fix the straps, and you have an AWESOME bag. It is well compartmentalized giving me plenty of storage options. (I do find it odd that the bottom of the two main pouches connect. I didn't know this was the case until I lost something I put into one, and found it in the other. ) The padding on the back rides smooth on my back, and the shape and comfort of the straps are great for a smooth carry. There is room to carry a laptop in one pouch, and a 19" single-rack-unit device in the other. 06/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Big enough to hold my 17" Toshiba Laptop My only negative comment about this backpack has to do with an interference between the inner swivel snap hook and the inner zipper pocket. When you attach something to the swivel snap hook (like your car keys as I do before boarding a plane) it hangs right in front of the inner zipper pocket closure (where I usually stash my passport because it is more secure in there). The snap hook should have been located at the other end of the zipper or the zipper open/closed direction should have been reversed. I'm an engineer and yes that's a detail thing I'm pointing out ....... but I would think that you would have gotten that right if you had used the product. 03/18/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed straps!!! I bought this backpack as a Christmas gift for myself from a family member based on checking it out on the website (now February). I had my previous Targus bag for 12 years so expected similar quality. The first week I picked up the bag and threw it over my shoulder the stitching popped on the shoulder strap, two weeks later the other shoulder strap stitching did the same thing! After arguing with customer service they did let me swap the bag, shipping was on me though. I have chosen a different model Targus 17” XL Laptop Backpack TXL617, the only other review on here was left by someone stating they had the same problem which I find funny because I was told they have never heard of the problem I had before. If you are considering this bag, I would not recommend it. 02/12/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Single point of failure: The Straps This backpack hits it out of the park in every single area of awesome except for how the straps are engineered. The tops of them are an elastic, stretch, material that is totally uneeded and NEVER used in any backpack I have ever seen. The biggest failure is that the stitching rips right out the very first time you put the pack on with a heavy load. This pack is huge! It should be engineered to carry my XPS gaming laptop and several other things yet the stitching fails due to the elastic type stuff stretching. I notice they put some weak gray pieces over where the strap could fail, indicating that they now about this flaw and have ignored the fact that the straps just need to all be one piece of NON-stretchable material. This is the single biggest reason why this backpack is a failure. 11/24/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T08:53:25.291-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_14
  • loc_en_US, sid_16927118, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-13 of 13 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew393
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp