Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 791 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum this vacuum is lightweight and has the most amazing suction I have ever seen. There is a stair tool that cleans amazingly and a crevice tool and a bare floor tool. The cannister lifts off easily and the vacuum has a nice long cord on it. You can reach anything. I highly recommend this vacuum. 09/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by nv356 vs nv355 vs other vacs My Mom loves her old shark navigator so I got the NV355 Pro (white) liftaway. It seems a better quality than my Mom's navigator, it doesn't feel like plastic. With a 5 yr warranty, I am not so worried about the quality. Electronics have a limited lifespan nowadays, seems like just a bit longer than the warranty. I have a good canister vacuum (made in sweden and germany# and suction is probably the same or better with the shark. It's just that you see all the dirt in the clear chamber of the shark. My canister bag fills up just as much and if I change it frequently, suction is not an issue. I used the shark lift away just last night, and it very nice to use, easy to use. I have light furniture #to make cleaning easier# and I can use one hand with the shark and move my furniture with the other. The shark lift away made cleaning my stairs so EASY! So much better than struggling with the canister. I was thinking of getting yet another cordless but with the lift away, I may just use it for quick cleanups #that and a handheld dust buster#. Even using the cord #with the quick release# on the shark isn't so bad after being use to the retractable cord on my canister. The shark cord is long enough too. The hose is a little short and tight, but will likely stretch as I use it. The handle on top of the liftaway is great to keep it from tipping when using the hose, but it isn't a tippy vac. I don't really like the small funiture brush, I may try to find a softer longer bristle one. The motorized pet power brush stops spinning if you apply pressure but so does my old one, however, it seems to work well enough. I like that the floor motorized brush shuts off when you stand the shark. I would like the on/off swithch to be on the handle, but I'll get use to that. For me, it's a good compromise between a smaller light floor vac and a canister, performing both types of cleaning very well, with all the power of a heavier upright vacuum. As for model numbers, I was told by Shark that the NV355, NV356 and NV356E are all the same unit and have the same accessories. They said number indicates what store sells it....but that leads me to believe there may be a difference. Some of the NV355 have a slightly different pet power brush, the whole top comes off, whereas with the NV356/E the top of the brush only tilts off to clean. Last thing, althought accessories #such as the hard floor brush, wand extention and backsaver kit# are not listed on the Shark website for the Pro lift away, after much questioning of Shark representatives, I got mixed answers on if the regular #lavendar# lift away accessories are interchangable with the pro #white#. Apparently some for the NV350 #lavendar) may be interchangable with the pros. 12/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Equal to or better than a Dyson, GREAT for pets! I purchased the Shark Navigator Lift-Away PRO today (at Walmart) after seeing it on an infomercial and reading all the great reviews, and I just have to say that it is the BEST vacuum I have ever used!! I live in an apartment and have 3 long-haired cats that shed a LOT! This vacuum EFFORTLESSLY picked up ALL of the cat hair from the carpet!!! I have NEVER had success with a vacuum before like this, and I thought I was going to have to live life in a gross, hairy environment since my cats are constantly shedding. My old vacuum, which was a Eureka cost almost the same amount as this vacuum when I bought it, and from day one it was horrible. It was heavy, ineffective and constantly shot out dust and cat hair from the bottom. Even after vacuuming the same spot over and over again while exerting a lot of effort, the carpet still looked aweful up close. That vacuum was NEVER able to pick up the all the cat hair. This vacuum picked up EVERYTHING immediately and with no effort. No dust or allergens escaped from the vacuum either, even when I picked it up while it was still on! Not only that, but it's very light and maneuverable. I give this vacuum 5 stars. You do NOT need to spend over $500 on a Dyson, because this vacuum will give you the same 5 star performance for less. I highly recommend it, especially for cat/pet owners!!! 11/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great vacuum i love this shark professional navigator liftaway,i have had vacuums in the pass but this one is great.i have had mine for a month now and it never loses suction, and it great lift away is nice to have as i have stairs and also its not heavey like some vacuums.also i love that it brings my carpet up nice and fluffy.i would recommend this to all my friends. 10/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best vacuum ever! My other bagless vacuum started acting up, so I checked the reviews and found this Shark Professional vacuum. Right from the box it was a dream to use. It took 2 minutes and not a single tool to click the pieces into place. It is very lightweight yet has incredible suction. The canister is the easiest to empty. Two clicks and it's off. It opens from the top and bottom so everything is emptied out. When the beater is on and you put the vacuum upright, the beater turns off automatically. The wand comes out with a simple click while the vacuum is running and you can get at the edges, suck the cobwebs off the wall and more, click the wand back into place with one hand and go back to the floor. This gets stuff another vacuum completely missed. She the photo of the results from going back over a "clean" bedroom floor (done 3 days previously with our old vacuum). I can feel the nap pulled up on our ancient carpet. Also, because it twists and turns and has a relatively small low head, it fits and jiggles into spots my other vacuums would never begin to go to. 10/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This vacuum is AWESOME! I got this the other day and I did a 3 foot by 4 foot area with my old vacuum before using the new one in the same area. I couldn't believe the amount of dirt I got out of that little area AFTER using the old vacuum before hand! I'm posting a picture for you to see. I would definitely recommend this to anyone needing a new vacuum. What are you waiting for? GO out and get yours now! :) 09/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow! Tiny but Mighty. I got this vacuum today. It was very easy to put together and the result was incredible. I always wanted a Dyson, but did not want to pay $500 for a vacuum. After reading all the positive reviews on this bad boy, I decided to give it a try. For starter my carpet looks new, right after the first use and I couldn't believe all the nasty stuff it got out of my carpet. This was a great purchase! 06/25/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vaccum I previously owned a shark vacuum and LOVED it. My toddler broke it and my husband bought me a new one.... only it was not a shark. I had it 2 months and insisted on going back to my shark. When I re-purchased it I got the "Shark professional" as I have a German Sheppard that is shedding like crazy! I LOVE IT! This vacuum has more power than the Kirby I paid 4x as much for a few years ago. Could not believe the amount of dirt I was getting out of my "clean" carpet. Only things I would change with this is I wish the hose was a little longer and I would LOVE to have a back strap for the lift away part so I could maneuver a little easier. 10/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better then a Dyson I wanted a vacuum, So i thought i should get a good one(HIGH END). So I thought no loss of suction was the way to go. Great vacuum but for $400 to $650 bucks. There had to be something that would work the same but for less money. Found it. My friend bought the new no loss of suction not just a week ago the DC41 animal. We come paired them side by side. The shark was the winner 3 times out of 3. My friend was not happy let me tell you. So He took it back got a shark and bought a nice carpet cleaner with the money he got back an loves his new vacuum and so do I. 10/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best vacuum I ever had I would have to say that this vacuum is worth every penny. I haven't seen a vacuum like this unless you spends 600+ dollars 01/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This vacuum is great! I am the type of person who shops around for the best product and for the best price to save money. I looked for weeks on the enternet at vacuums and compared ratings and prices. This vacuum had the best rating over top named vacuums and was half the price. I have only had this vacuum for a week and so far I am impressed. I looked at several reviews on this vacuum and noticed that a lot of customers who rated this vacuum gave it a 5 star and only a few gave it a 1 star. I like that it has several options and attachments to clean your house. We have two dogs a cat and 3 kids and we vacuum at least twice a week and probably should vacuum day to day. Each time we vacuum I am amazed in all the dirt and hair that it picks up. My only complaint is that it could use a longer cord, but that is what outlets are for. This vacuum has a five year warranty and I hope that it last that long if not longer. I strongly recommend that if you want a good vacuum and want to save money, buy this one. 04/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Vacuum EVER!! 20 some years ago my husband bought us a Kirby ($1200) because he was convinced that they would get nothing out of our carpet because he had just vacuumed and steam-cleaned our carpet the day before. I must say it served us well over those years but then my daughter let me borrow her Dyson one day after a thorough cleaning with the Kirby and the results were similar to that day nearly 20 years prior prompting me to start saving for a Dyson. Then I started seeing the infomercials where they compare the Shark Navigator Lift-Away to the almost 3x the cost Dyson and it matched the performance. I took my savings and went and purchased the Shark Navigator Lift-Away Professional because it has a larger storage tank, a pet hair attachment and a hard floor vacuum/dusting attachment. I LOVE that I can detach it from the base and vacuum my stairs and ceilings! Best Vacuum EVER! 07/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vacuum but cleaning filter is a pain We bought this to replace our Kenmore Progressive vacuum after getting sick of dealing with replacing the filter so ofter. We have a cat, 5 dogs that are constantly bringing mud in with them, along with serious amounts of dog hair. I ran this right after vacumming with my Kenmore and it picked up a lot of fine dirt and pet hair that our other vacuum left behind. We have had it about 2 months and it still has fantastic suction. It is lightweight and easily maneuvered. What I really don't like is the washable spongue filter and the hose that is too short or too tight. It says you only need to wash the spongue every three months, but here I need to do it more frequently. It takes way too long to dry and I really don't like trying to get the spongue clean, not that it ever gets completely clean. When using the attachments the sweeper constantly falls over. However the attachments do have fantastic suction and cleans the dust and hair off the curtain wonderfully. Besides the spongue filter and the hose I think this is a great sweeper. So all in all it is a great sweeper that could use a few improvements. 01/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth 10 stars!!! I would give this a 10-star rating if I could! I have a German Shepherd, a Doberman, 3 cats, and a pet rabbit all in the house and this vacuum tackles pet hair and dander like nobody's business! I have been thru a lot of vacuums over the past couple of years, trying to find one that does a good job because I vacuum every day or every other day, just to keep up with the animal hair. I saw such overwhelming great reviews of this one that I thought I'd give it a try. I figured what the heck, since I was getting it at Walmart if it wasn't as great as I hoped, I could just return it. As an experiment, I vacuumed a different room in the house with each of the other 4 vacuums I already have here....an Oreck upright, a Bissell upright, a giant Kirby, and a Eureka canister that is supposedly designed just for pet owners. Then I went and bought this Shark and re-vacuumed every room, dumping the dirt canister after each.....OH MY GOODNESS!!! I couldn't not believe the amount of animal hair, dirt and DANDER that it picked up AFTER all of those other vacuums had been used! UNBELIEVABLE! And the ease of changing from carpet to bare floor is amazing and I LOVE the pet hair attachment...did a bang-up job on the dog beds! It is super-easy to get the hose out, too, for those tight corners and edges. I think I have FINALLY bought my last vacuum.......now I just have to figure out what to do with the other 4!! =) 12/31/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does what is advertised, but doesn't do EVEYTHING I think I didn't do my homework and relied too much on buyer reviews! I love the clear, easy to empty canister and not having to buy bags. I have Pergo thru out and a large roomsized wool rug. Vacuum does have great power and easy to use for the rug (just plug in and vacuum!), but it's a pain to do the bare floors! It does not fit under furniture and the crevice tool nor the brush tool cleans the woodwork well! I don't like carrying the canister around making both hands occupied why I am vacuuming. You can leave the canister attached to the wheels why doing this but it constantly falls over. I bought the PROFESSIONAL model and it has the the bare floor tool with a washable, reusable pad, but has I said, carrying the canister around while vacuuming gets old fast! Great vacuum for areas with lots of carpet and does have good suction for that purpose. If you try to vaccum bare floors without using the extra piece you will find that it blows dirt and such everywhere! I have used this product more that a dozen times since purchase and purposely waited several months to write my review. Make sure you empty cannister in the outside trash! 03/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shark Professional I have waited for 1 month since I purchased my Shark vacuum so I could give a better review. I love it so far. I read many reviews, and was not sure, but it has unbelievable suction. We have two cats in the house, and it has sucked up SO much hair. The power hand tool to dust furniture sucks up an amazing amount of cat hair. This feature is a huge plus to me. I like the fact that there is no bag to fill up. I can keep the canister emptied. It is light weight and does tip over when using the hose attachment. You can't stretch the hose out far like they say you can or the machine will tip. One thing I find annoying is that the cord comes out of the vacuum close to the floor. I am constantly stepping on the cord or sweeping over it. You have to keep the cord gathered up in your hand to keep it out of your work area. The vacuum swivels around and is easy to handle. The head is small enough that it fits under my kitchen cabinets. I don't believe that there is any perfect vacuum, but I do appreciate plenty of suction and this one fits the bill for me. 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I needed a new vacuum and did not want to spend a ton of money. After reading the reviews on this item I thought I would take a chance. I could not be more happy with the choice. I THOUGHT my rugs were pretty clean until I used the Shark. The amount of dirt and pet hair that comes up every time I use it is unbelievable. Well worth the money. 11/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by SO GLAD I BOUGHT THIS!!!! I've never had a 'nice' vacuum. After living in our house for 7 years (2 kids, 2 cats and also have 'builder grade' carpet) I was ready to replace the carpet in the living room. I hated how worn it looked and looked flat and matted down. I bought this vacuum as an impulse bc I knew my 8 year old vacuum had lost most of its suction and it was just time... so I UPGRADED to a more expensive model that would also do our hardwood floors and steps easily. Reviews on this were great so I thought what the heck. I've had it about a week and CAN'T STOP USING IT!!!! I LOOOOOOVE it!!!! My old worn down carpet looks soft and plush and its all due to the insane suction of this vacuum which has made all the fibers in my carpet stand up...I actually leave footprints in my livingroom after using this :) My carpet looks so much nicer I'm not planning on replacing it anymore. I'm excited to have the carpet cleaned (it's long overdue) and seeing how clean carpet looks after a quick run w this vacuum. I highly recommend this!!! 12/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for anyone who loves cleaness! I used to sell powerful vaccums for years and I loved them including the Dyson's. But knowing the secrets too these units and we all know Dyson's and the others that are over 1,000 are just insane in price. I purchased this item and let me say its better then Dyson and those that cost 1,000 or more. Believe me when I say that cause I worked and sold alot of these over rated high priced vacs for years. Great living but cant sleep at night!! Shark is GREAT!!! Suction is perfect and no loss of it makes all the difference. The brush isnt damaging the carpet fibers so the fuzz your seeing is the actual lint, hair. There were so many tricks to a vaccum and how to prove its not really what we thought and by far this is one that passed them all. Before you buy those 2,000 vaccums check this first!!! 02/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent suction power This vacuum out cleans my dyson vacuum. I vacuumed with my dyson and then went over the same area with the shark vacuum and a great amount of fine dirt and pet hair came out of the same carpet. It is very powerful. Only downfall is the small canister and shorter cord but the cord isn't that short just shorter than the dyson. Great vacuum at less than half the price of the dyson. 11/01/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Functionally superb with a flimsy design I have owned this vacuum for approximately 4 months now, and I wish I could return it and buy a different vacuum. As a mother with 6 children and a dog, all of whom spend a great deal out of doors (tracking it back in with them) I needed a durable, reliable vacuum cleaner. I needed something that would not clog, did not have belts that would need changing and would not require bags. I found this in the Shark, to a certain extent. I am not exagerating when I say I have to take it apart daily to clear it of clogs caused by clumps of hair or bits of paper and plastic. That however, is doable. The machine's design makes it very easy to clear each area that can and does become clogged amd once the clogs have been cleared the vacuum works like a dream. The problem is the flimsy plastic and design. Within one month of having this vacuum in my home, the canister clip and broken and the hose was tearing away from the canister. It didn't take long for the hose to completely break away, and glueing it back on with epoxy did not work. A $200 vacuum cleaner should be able to withstand daily household use, particularly if the word "professional" is in the name. It is not acceptable for such an expensive machine to break after such a short period of time. 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought this vacuum to replace a very heavy Eureka . I was amazed to find that although I had only vacuumed the day before , the cannister was nearly full when I had used the Shark ,there was no smell , which meant I didn't have to spray the carpet with air freshener . This is the best vacuum I have ever bought . The price is great , and the detachable cannister is very handy . No need to spend a lot of money on a Dyson , this light weight vacuum is perfect , especially if you have a bad back like I do . The swivel brush makes it easy to get under chairs etc . 11/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by IMPRESSIVE First I want to say I do not buy somethings from informercials and I purchased mine at walmart based on reviews of walmart, amazon, qvc ect. I feel compelled to agree with the majority of the reviews this vacuum is very much a contender in the relm of a good vacuum. I wish the motor was a 12 amp instead of 10 but the suction is amazing. I really like the pet hair attachment roller it does a great job on the stairs. I was torn between a canister vacuum and a upright and this somewhat solved my problem being the canister detaches from the unit for vacuuming other items. A couple of minor complaints would be I wish the on off switch was on the handle. That the machine had a retractable cord and a larger brush on the front with a light. The hose could also use another couple of inches. Really petty things not sure there is a perfect vacuum. I love my orek because it is light but to get through life you really need a vacuum with hose attachment. The vacuum isn't to heavy but not as light as my orek and lighter than some of its competetion on the market. Buy it try it and if you don't like it return it. As I age I am learning that sometimes its best to take your time and purchase the right item the first time so you don't need to replace it so soon. Before you pay a lot of money on some big name brands or consumer reports best options try this item you will be glad you did. I'd give it 5 stars however I will need to update the longer I have it. FYI 2 large dogs and 3 persian cats and it does a great job. 03/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME! Mostly all I can say is AWESOME! I don't know why others have said it is cumbersome..... I had knee surgery six months ago and can use this vac. This is my second Shark and I LOVED my other one, if not for my kids getting a tooth pick stuck in the hose it would still be Fabulous! Although with a little duc tape it is STILL usable. I have a Mastiff that sheds A LOT, if I could add a pic I would but with one pass of the upholstery brush, (going up once and back once) I realized my couch was BLACK! LOL. I will recommend this to ANYONE who is looking for a vac! It is a little heavy but not that bad at all. I have 3 dogs in all and so there is lots of hair, One vacuuming and I got the hair up. I really could go on and on. The two things Shark could improve is a retractable cord and make a steam cleaner for carpets! Just noticed I can put a pic lol 02/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fatal Design Flaw I bought this because it is advertised that its extremely versitile. It does work good as an upright I will give it that much but as a canister..... lets say I tried to clean the car and its a nightmere. The hose is ultra stiff and extremely short, 6 ft I think, so it constantly tips. the wand is a fixed curve thats sort of bulky in smaller spaces. I figured if I could at least get an extension hose it might work. I called the company and they dont make an extension hose to fit it at all. If you just want this as an upright its good but if you want it to clean your cars, dust celing fans things like that because of the short ultra stiff hose its just horrible. 04/18/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great suction, but poor design. Pros: Works well on carpet. Cons: The unit is cumbersome to assemble for use on hard floors. You cannot switch easily from wood floors to rugs if you are using the hard floor attachment. When using the hard floor attachment, I have to be extra careful to retrace my steps perfectly, otherwise the fabric dusting attachment throws the dirt back at me when I pull the handle toward myself. The attachments are not very effective. The handle is too long to reach under furniture unless I have about a 4 foot clearance in front of the furniture. So vacuuming under hall tables is almost impossible. There is no wide, flat, attachment appropriate for vacuuming under furniture. The vacuum swivels a lot when vacuuming on hard surfaces, making it awkward to handle. I don't like that both of my hands are having to hold something when vacuuming hard surfaces. The hose on the vacuum constantly hits my leg when I vacuum using the hard surface attachment. The hose on the vacuum is too short. This vacuum is not good if you want attachments to reach high places. I'm sorry I bought this vacuum. 09/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not as advertised The good thing about this is that if you have fine dust in the middle of the vacuum head it will get sucked up very good. The bad thing, that wonderful suction they advertise, ha. If it won't pick up a little piece of paper or a cheerio I'm not impressed. I mainly wanted it for hard floors. It doesn't do well against the walls. If you look at the bottom of the nozzle you can tell why. The suction is in the middle only and it just doesn't pull from the outside. This is suppose to be good for pets also. I have pet hair trapped in the brush. Also, when cleaning my sofa it is very uncomfortable to hold the brush and clean. It does get clean, but you might have a hand cramp from the way you have to fight the thing by the time you get done. I had heard nothing but good things about Shark, and I went a little further and got a better one at the time. Now, I'm ready to give this to my kid for her starting out and I'm going to buy something all together different. I won't buy Shark again. They might show it sucking up eight metal balls, but it won't pick up paper or a cheerio. lol 11/29/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Allergy relief/False advertising/Awkward I purchased the Professional after reading in the other Shark Navigator reviews that the dirt chamber was too small. PROS: *I LOVE the closed system. I no longer experience dust allergy symptoms during or after vacuuming! The machine gives off a very clean smell during operation. I've also noticed that I do NOT have to dust the house quite as often either. *Since it picks up fine dirt, and strings very well with few passes, I find I want to vacuum more. *Large dirt chamber. Only filled it the first time I used it. *The suction head is narrow enough to get between the legs on the hall tree but its NOT so narrow that you're frustrated by little progress. *Lightweight. *It is easy to switch to the hose or detach the head. CONS: *This Shark has great suction power, even on the lowest suction setting, it causes the bathroom rug to wrap around the brush! I have NOT been able to vacuum it successfully; upsetting. *False Advertising: In the manual, it reads that the Shark can lose suction if you fail to perform the maintenance of rinsing out the filters every 3 months or more. I think this should be stated on the box or asterisked in the advertising. With their logic, Hoover could advertise it is a No-loss of suction vacuum (if you blow out the filter and vacuum after every operation). *Awkward: The attachments are always falling off. It is a little top heavy and can tip. The handle is quite high on the machine (not so good for us short people - 5'3 1/2"). The bare floor attachment is ok if I have the machine out, but I won't lug it out for daily cleaning because my Swiffer vacuum is more nimble. *The dirt chamber and mid-body of the machine won't allow a person to get under chairs very far. *It won't suck up small pieces of Pop Tart or Oreo cookie stuck to a carpet fiber. *I'm uncertain how this plastic machine would hold up to professional use. 06/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall just OK PROS -good suction -good maneuverability -long plug cord -no bags needed CONS -the accessories hose is too short and or tight, making it difficult to reach anywhere without tipping the whole unit -while relatively light weight, there is an awkwardly high center of gravity -cleaning the collection cup is a bit gruesome, as with any bag-less vac 02/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW I was skeptical that this vacuum would do the job I needed BUT it did it with flying colors. I live in the desert and there is always a fine dust everywhere. All my other vacuums just blew it up in the air or left it on the floor. The Navigator picked it up! I have no carpet, only tile and wood laminate floors. Always I would run a dust mop which did nothing, run my other vacuum and walk across the floor and still feel this dust. I did a test when I got the new Navigator, I ran my old vacuum first, then ran the Navigator. It was amazing. This vacuum is powerful and does what I so needed it to do. 11/15/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T07:27:53.652-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_791, tr_791
  • loc_en_US, sid_16913478, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 736 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw375
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp