See All Reviews
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 50 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice bike Excelent purchased,Nice,smoot,never get tired whit beatiful aluminiun bike, I tried another two models before,but this one definetely is the best,We got two,one for my wife and one for me. We enjoy riding this bike. 10/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great looking bike at a nice price Very nice looking vintage style bike. Fast shipping to the store. Easy to assemble. Very nice styling gets compliments wherever you go. 09/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks great! and rides good. Back in the day ( late 50's ), I had a red Schwinn that looked like this one for my paper route, so nostagically I bought this from Walmart. I'm happy I did and I ride it every day and it have gotten complimentary looks from people. Makes me feel like a kid again. 10/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by cruiser bike I love this bike , it was delivered on time , very easy to assemble , lightweight , comfortable ride to work and with a nice basket great for grocery shopping , overall a good buy . I definetly reccomend it . 12/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice Cruiser! Great online price, plus 97¢ shipping! I received my bike just a few days after ordering. It came double boxed, and with plenty of protective packaging to protect the beautiful paint job. After unboxing, assembly was (relatively) simple. Install handle bars, seat and front wheel with a screwdriver, allen wrenches, adjustable wrench, and pliers. The front wheel was a little tricky as the tire wouldn't fit through the brake pads. Removing 1 pad allowed easier access to complete installation. The only issue I had with the bike was that the front wheel was very warped. After buying a $9 spoke wrench from a local bike shop and finding video instructions on YouTube, I was able to straighten the front wheel in about 15 minutes. Most beach cruisers don't have gears, but this one has seven. Just the right amount for cruising the neighborhood and beyond. The gears also needed adjustment to achieve all gears. Out of the box I was only able to change through 5 of the 7 gears. The seat, and riding position is very comfortable for a 50 year old, 230 lb guy. 04/04/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The bikes of my youth were the Schwinn Stingray and the Schwinn Varsity 10 speed. This is a Schwinn in name only. If it were made in the U.S.A. it would probably cost in excess of $500.00, so for the money it's a good value. To me, the best looking Schwinn is the Men's 700c Admiral. You won't find it anywhere on the web but it is stocked in Walmart stores. It is less 'retro' looking than the Point Beach, it's more reminiscent of a 70's Varsity. It would have been my first choice but for a couple of things. I live in a rural area with bad roads and my concern was that the skinny, low profile tires would not be the best choice. That's why I chose the Point Beach. Its' tires are a larger profile and will provide more cushion which hopefully will prevent rim damage on potholes. The Admiral has much more chrome #fenders, rims, rear rack#. It looks better but I noticed that the bikes on outdoor display @ Walmart were already starting to rust so I surmised that the chrome might be inferior and not last as long. The Point Beach only has Chrome on the handlebars and seat post. One of my biggest disappointments is the color. In the picture it apprears to be a medium bright red. All of my other internet purchases have been successful as concerns colors so I am confident that my monitor is not at fault. Nowhere on Walmart's webpage is the color described. On the shipping box the color is named Cranberry. It would best be desribed as a dark red metallic or a medium dark maroon metallic. It's dark and muddy looking, not at all bright. Yuck. The paint is also thin in a couple of spots. Fortunately I paint cars so it's fixable with a lot of time and materials. Color is important to me so next winter I expect I'll be repainting it. The other issue is size. Size matters. Schwinn recommends 26"' or 700c tires for people up to 74 inches. I am 6'0 tall with a 32" inseam. I don't have particuarly long legs for my height. The bikes with 700c tires sit up higher and would be a better choice for my body. The 26" Point Beach with the handlebar stem and seat stem at maximum height are the minimum comfortable height for me. If I were any taller this bike would be too small to be comfortable. I ordered the bike and it was shipped promptly, arriving damage free except for a small #matchead sized# chip in the front fender. I specifically wanted to assemble it myself because I was not impressed with the quality of assembly at any of the local Walmarts. Assembly and adjustment was simple with clear instructions included. 04/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect cruiser at the perfect price This bike is great, especially for the price. It is easy to assemble, easy to ride and beautiful. I have a couple of much more expensive ($1000-3000) bikes but I wanted something to keep at our beach house to use and for others to ride. This is perfect. I'm a bit picky about smooth shifting and little or no noise coming from the gears so I used the manual to make some small adjustments and now it shifts like a much more expensive bike. It seems durable. I suggest getting a lock right away since this bike gets a lot of looks. It is a classic comfort cruiser with some climbing capability. 05/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good bike for average biker. Brought back memories of biking days in my youth. Great bike for the price. Looks good and handles nicely. Would not hesitate to recommend. 11/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this one a few months ago in blue and white. After some wrestling with the gear adjustments (you could make this easier for peps schwinn people) I have to say I'm impressed. Rides real smoooooooth! lol 12/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bike was picked up from the store still in the box. It was easy to assemble, all the parts were there and undamaged in shipment. It would be nice if Schwin would enclude a owners manual for this spicific bike instead of a generic to cover all their bikes. Othere than that I am well pleased the bike. 03/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike any one looking for a geat get around bike this is great and well worth what i paid for it. i also like the way it was paked in the boxs and the boxs where seald. and the bike was easey to put together. and rides great 06/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike Best bike I have ever owned. Smooth ride with big tires, great gears for hills. Very comfortable seat. 05/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent bike I purchased a Schwinn 26" Point Beach bicycle for myself and also one for my wife. We both are very pleased with them. They are very good looking , they ride nice, shift gears easily, and are a pleasure to ride. 04/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fantastic bicycle. great quality and fine looking I am not used to getting compliments when riding my bicycle. I live at the Beach in Florida and have mostly had rusted out old bikes to ride. Well, now, everywhere I go, I get folks saying....wow. what a nice bike..... it is really an attractive bike and rides wonderfully. you will not be dissapointed.... 03/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I wanted a heavy duty bike with wide tires and cruising design that accomodates sitting upright and making short trips mostly for shopping groceries and such. This Point Beach Shimano 7-speed gets me to Kroger much smoother and easier than my Huffy 1-speed did. However, the seat placement is inferior to the Huffy design. I find myself crunching harder to pedal because of my body position only. Other than that, this bike is excellent, and I recommend it to anyone doing short hauls. 06/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Cruiser Bike for the Beach It's a great looking bike and lightweight because of aluminum structure. Don't expect to go very fast, like the name says it's a "Cruiser". I average around 8-9 miles per hour. 07/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 I couldn't be happier with my new schwinn ! 11/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike ... Great value ... Tune up and ride! Two thumbs up. We bought this bike for our son to ride around campus at Oregon State ... Go Beavs! We had Walmart assemble the bike and they did a good job. However, as other reviews have stated, it's a good idea to subsequently take the bike to a local bike shop and have it professionally tuned up. It really helps the bike perform much better. Although this bike doesn't weigh 2,000 pounds like the old tank-like Schwinn bikes of yesteryear, it still feels solid and rides nice. Just add a big wire basket on the front for carrying "books" ... and u r gtg ... He enjoyed riding this bike until last week-end, when someone cut his cable lock, and stole the bike from beside his house. ADVICE TO THE WISE: Buy the STRONGEST LOCK you can! The cheap locks only keep honest people honest. PS: We also bought the corresponding 26" Point Beach Cruiser girl's bike for our daughter .... and she loves it as well. They both like the flexibility that the 7 speeds offer. Good luck with your bike selection. We have never gone wrong with Schwinn or with Walmart. Rock on! 07/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good bike I love the bicycle and the delivery fee was inexpensive but the bike had a few small problems that I was able to repair luckily. Undoubtably manufacturer's oversight. 07/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice 7-speed Cruiser I searched for some time for an affordable 3-speed beach cruiser when I stumbled upon this 7-speed Point Beach Schwinn cruiser in a Walmart store. I bought the floor model and got a %10 discount because of a scratch. I have since had fun with this bike. I bought it not only because I loved the retro look, but because it just feels good on my body. The frame of this bike is smartly designed for comfort. I say this after trying every other cruiser in the store, including the Panama Jack and the El Lesso, both of which felt wrong (and weren't as sturdy). When sitting on the Beach Point, I sit straight up with my legs in a comfortable, slightly forward position. I also like the comfortable seat and the shape of the handlebars. My hands sit comfortably straight and my elbows remain unbent when the handlebars are adjusted at the same angle as in the picture above. The ride is quiet and gentle. The frame is as light as you could expect for such a strong aluminum build. Overall, this a great sturdy, comfy, cool looking bicycle. I can't wait to accessorize it :). 07/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike, bad brakes I love the bike, but I have had trouble with the front brake. I tried to adjust the brake according to the manual, but it never worked. I am going to take the bike to a professional and see if they can figure it out. 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm a kid again! I saw this bike and I had to have it. When I was a kid I had a Schwinn almost exactly like it in the same color scheme. I had only three speeds whereas this one has seven. I really don't need more than this for my easy riding. I like the aluminum frame, it's lighter than the steel frame models. The seat's not bad but I could use a little more padding. (The bike's seat, not mine!) It could be just nostalgia, but I really like this bike! 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Bike! My wife and I were looking for some beach cruisers for riding bikes at the beach on the boardwalk. I must admit, the first thing that caught my attention about this bike was the looks. It is a really cool looking bike and we get lots of comments on how nice they look. I was a little concerned because there was no way this nice a looking bike could be so sturdy and durable for the price paid. But it is. I researched beach cruisers for months and most are around $500.00. This one was $188.00. After putting it together and riding for the first time at the beach, this bike could easily be a $500.00 bike! I love it! If you are looking for a bike for you and the Mrs., get this one and the matching ladies bike like I did. I am really happy. Highly recommended! 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Schwin quality is still there. Have ridden my new Schwin 26" Cruser (7 speed) only 70 miles and perhaps too early to tell but so far but from all indications the aluminum framed bike demonstrates exceptional quality for the WalMart price listed ($188). I ride for exercise throughout the significant hills and valleys of Highlands Ranch, CO green trails. 09/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Bike I had read several reviews before I ordered this bike. Some of the complaints were towards the assembly. I ordered mine site to store and the store associate assembled the bike. I had to make some minor adjustments in the gearing and positioning of the brake handles and shift handle. Other than that it rides good and is a nice looking bike. If had to do again would purchase another. 08/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The product was ok - the purchase was disappointing! Would not buy online from Walmart again! The bike was put together very sloppy. Got it home, had a flat tire, the brakes were not working, and the seat was not tight. Overall a bad job! 07/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for a 53 year old kid! Modern (particularly the smooth gearing), yet reminiscent of bicycles of yesterday. This bike reminds me of the one I used to deliver papers 40+ years ago. Highly recommended!! 05/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful cruiser! I love it! The cruiser was very easy to put together and it really is a good looking ride. I'd buy another one in a second. 04/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME! The bike is very sturdy and it looks like it came out of the 1950's. Other bikes envy it. 04/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I bought this bike because the price was right and I liked the way it looked. I have had nothing but trouble with it. I had to pay to have it adjusted because the front wheel spokes were so tight that the wheel wouldn't turn. The breaks do not release and to top it off, it fell over in the wind and bent the right brake handle because of the inferior metal used. Very dissapointed. 04/23/2012
1-30 of 46 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew332
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp