Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 48 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The perfect summer ride! I bought this bike today after spending the past few weeks at bike stores and department stores looking for the perfect joyrider. This is really it! The color is a deep crimson red metallic and light cream, not quite a cranberry red but deeper than a cherry red. The style is classic Schwinn. I hadn't ridden a bike in about 12 years, but I wanted something comfortable that I'd be able to ride around the neighborhood with my kids. This bike is a real head-turner. It's a similar style and size to the Del Mar, I believe they have the same frame. I'm quite short, but I'm able to lower the seat enough to make this bike comfortable and safe to ride. The seat angle is easy to adjust as well. The seat is a 2-tone saddle cruiser style, quite wide and roomy. I'm not sure what kind of springs it has, but they are covered on the bottom for a seamless look. My only complaint about the whole bike is that the seat is red and WHITE instead of cream. I'm thinking it won't matter much if I'm on it. I had previously purchased a different model from Walmart, which I had shipped to my home. I was very disappointed that it arrived damaged. I returned it, and decided to find a bike locally which would suit my needs. I tried all of the mountain bike and "comfort" styles, but having the pedals directly beneath the seat while leaning forward was awkward and uncomfortable for me. I like the ride of this bike - seated, upright, and able to watch the world go by instead of trying to speed through it. Much more my style. I called around to 5 or 6 different stores trying to find this bike in the red color. I finally gave up and resolved myself to getting the blue and white Point Beach. The manager found this model in the red color in a box in the back of the store after I got there. SCORE. (note: for some reason, this bike shows up in the wrong color on the inventory. Talk to someone in the bike department and have them check the stock to see what color their Point Beach bikes are.) The box easily fit in my minivan with the rear seat folded down. I loaded and unloaded it myself, and I'm only 5' tall. Awkward, but not really heavy. I unboxed it and put it together in about 1 1/2 hrs. I spent more time getting the front fender on than anything else, the tab had to be bent back a bit. This bike has an aluminum frame and is quite light compared to other cruiser style bikes that I tried. It's still weighty, about the same weight as my husband's mountain bike, but lighter than a similar cruiser from Schwinn with a steel frame. The handlebars are comfortable, the 7 speeds should be just enough for riding around the greenway and the streets near my home. I don't expect to win any races, but getting up small hills shouldn't be a problem. The brakes and derailleur still needed to be adjusted after I assembled the bike. My husband did this for me in about a half hour. If you do not have someone who can do this for you or you don't feel comfortable doing this yourself, have the store assemble the bike and adjust everything for you. Most WM's have a bike assembler who should be able to do this even after you leave the store with the bike if you call ahead. A bike shop can do this as well but they'll charge you a fee for it. The instruction manual that comes with this bike is very generic. There are good videos online at Schwinn and on Youtube that show how to adjust the gears and brakes. The gears should shift smoothly while pedaling, and nothing should clank or make weird noises after shifting. I've read plenty of reviews about bikes being returned due to being "junk" when the reviewer hadn't even bothered to tune up the bike. The rear rack is a nice touch. The reflector mounts to it instead of mounting to the seat, so I was able to lower the seat without worrying about the reflector being on the seat post like with some other models. It will be a great place to strap a picnic cooler when we head to the park. The fenders on this bike are nicely painted, the finish on the whole bike is decent, though there are tiny spots from dust that had gotten onto the metal prior to painting. For less than $200, I don't expect perfection. I was pleased to only find a small rub spot on one of the fenders as a result of shipping. (the previous bike I had ordered and shipped to my home had a lot of cosmetic damage from poor handling in transit) Overall, this is a nice quality cruiser bike. It's beautiful without being overdone, and it's sturdy and well made. I think it was the very best choice for my needs, and the price was far less than I would have expected considering everything that I got. Great ride!! 08/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hit my expectations by about 95% First, I am a lifelong cyclist. Always riding either my road bike, or my mountain bike. Both are Treks. So, I can be very critical, but also very realistic. This bike is for my wife who really wanted a cruiser. She was looking at this bike and Trek Cruiser which would have been over twice the price, and probably built only slightly better. Was able to assemble it without scratching the paint. Had to spend about 15 minutes per rim, to true them up. One of them even needed to be adjusted for hop. With the rims true, could adjust the brake calipers closer, for better stopping. The derailleur, once adjusted works perfect up and down. Took 15 minutes to get tweaked just right, riding it up and down a flat road. Spent a few days tweaking the seat and handlebars for my wife, but she is very satisfied now. The only negative, is I expected the fenders to be a little less flimsy, since it is a Schwinn, and not one of the cheaper brands that Walmart sells. I had to do a little bending here and there to get the fenders to line up with the tires. But, for the price, we are both VERY satisfied. 10/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bike is perfect for me!! My sons bought me a cruiser bike for my 40th birthday and when they discovered I was still using it, they bought me this one ---- for my 64th birthday!! I had never used hand brakes or had speeds but adjusted easily. I love the color and the handlebars are the best!! I can sit upright very comfortably. My husband took me on a 12 mile ride on the bike trail to try it out - the seat is VERY comfortable. I won't need another bike for another 24 years! 11/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Bike For The Price I bought one of these "Point Beach" bikes, in a white/light blue color scheme, a couple months ago for my wife's older daughter. I have been generally impressed by it. I should mention, we also bought one of the steel-framed "Admiral" bikes at about the same time. Though I'd rather put my faith in steel over aluminum, and I prefer the Admiral's beautiful tapered fork, I think now that this Point Beach is the better bike. Although "everybody knows" that fat tires are inefficient and generally died out along with the dinosaurs, I find that this Point Beach is very noticeably smoother riding than the skinny-tired Admiral. Due to the aluminum frame material, the Point Beach feels no heavier than the Admiral, and may actually be lighter overall. In fact, I think I'd rather have these cool-looking fat tires than have the weight and complexity of the front and rear suspension systems now so much the fad on bicycles. I don't notice any big difference in pedalling effort vs. skinny tires. The fenders and overall paint job on this bike are entirely satisfactory. The brakes are very powerful, only flawed by a spring balance problem that I can't adjust out, so one brake shoe is always dragging slightly. The frame geometry is significantly better on this Point Beach than on the Admiral, making pedalling a lot more comfortable. The feature I like the least is the old-fashioned handlebars that reach so far to the rear, giving a tiller-like feeling to the steering. More practical and ergonomic handlebars would be a big plus. Also, an internally-geared-hub type of transmission would be far more appropriate and far more functional on a bike of this type than the cheapo derailleurs with their exposed parts and need for constant adjustment. The Point Beach has 7 rear cogs from 14 to 28 teeth, for a total transmission range of 200%. A good 3- or 5-speed internal-gear hub would be so much easier to keep adjusted, so much more durable and trouble-free for the average type of person likely to purchase this bike. The well-proven SRAM 5-speed, to name one example, has about a 250% range... significantly more flexible abilities but with only 5 speeds to keep track of instead of 7. The rear rack could be a bit sturdier, I'd much prefer one made of round steel rods instead of formed sheet metal, but at least the bike comes with this useful feature. It is unfortunate that Americans have come to view bicycles only as toys to be used on sunny dry days. It is a great feeling to be able to ride to work or even do shopping chores on a bicycle. But to do that a bike needs to have fenders as the first requirement, or the rider will find himself sprayed with trucker spit and liquified dog poo-poo every time the road is a bit wet. Though this bike has a few flaws, at least it does come with fenders. 10/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great bike for beach and rv parks. seat comfortable, gears change easy skipping very min. assembly was quick, but need metric tools. I do not like fenders but wife does. Breaks took awhile to adjust but work well. fenders rattle and need to much adjusting. overall nice bike for the price. 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everyone's head turned when my bike rolled out You know you've made a good purchase when the associates and customers are giving you envious glances. I had two people stop me in the parking lot about the bike even before I got it to the car. For the price, I don't think you can go wrong. 11/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice basic bike, shifter is cheaply made, Bike itself is nice, only took 20 min to assemble. wheels needed spoke adjustments to stop wobble and stop brakes from rubbing. shifter assbly at rear wheel is cheap cheap poor quality,metal bracket bent and caused chain to jam up. Took back so wouldnt have to continually mess with it. 03/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by As advertised Looked around alot before I bought this bike and it was exactly what I was looking for. Everything as advertised - comfortable and fun to ride around. 09/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value Walmart assembled the bike for free, which was a real bonus. The upright riding position is soo comfortable, no more sore wrists, neck, or back. It is also lighter than I expected! Though it looks substantial, the aluminum frame does seem to make a difference, which is also a pleasant surprise. My old mountain bike is noticeably harder to lift onto my bike rack. It shifts about as I would expect, 7 gears are good for basic riding on reasonably hilly neighborhood roads and highways. I think people who complain about the gears and shifting may be expecting a $500 bike for under $200! The brakes feel and work very well, and the bike looks good. Overall, I am very pleased with this bike! 06/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy for the money! I bought this bike for my wife. Although the color was a darker red than in the picture, she absolutely loves the bike. She rides it every free chance she gets. A very old school model. Very comfortable seat as well as ride. 04/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike!!! I bought this bike about 4 months ago. I haven't had any problem with it, even when I rode it for about 5 hours straight. And almost every day I am being told how nice and comfortable my bike is! I would highly recommend it to those who want to ride with pleasure!!! 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good beach cruiser for weekend fun I bought two of these as gifts to a friend and her daughter. I was specifically looking for a cruiser with a simple rear cluster and this was about the only thing I found at a price that made sense for people who might only ride 20 miles a month. As far as the bike goes the paint is not perfect but all the components were in keeping with the price and the whole thing was very, very nice for the price paid. If I had paid say twice as much I think all I would have expected was a better paint job. Walmart performed up to their promise which is a welcome relief compared to say Target.com 11/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun, comfortable bike to ride I love the look of this bike. It is attractive and fun to ride. It is also comfortable to ride. It was easy to get up the hill at the bike trail with the 7 speed. Our bike trail is mostly flat but there is one hill next to a dam that is pretty steep and is hard to get up but not with this bicycle. It was a breeze to climb. A big thank you to Schwinn for making these beautiful vintage reproduction bicycles. Love the handle bars, seat, fenders, white wall tires, 7 speeds, rack on the back. 06/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful bike, especially for the price! Because my friend had just purchased one at the same Walmart a few weeks prior, and loved it, I went ahead an ordered it online. They have site to store which is great. When it came in, I asked for it to be put together and they did it free of charge.It took a few days, but I am sure that it was because they are very busy and I did not find that a problem. The bike has needed some tweaking since I got it, such as; seat adjustment, handlebar adjustment and gear adjustment. I was expecting that though. Remember this is Walmart not a bike store. I checked around prior to buying and bikes of the same quality were going for $100 more, so a few adjustments are no problem for the amount of money saved. I have gotten many compliments on the bike when I am out riding it and it is very comfortable to ride. 03/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this bike and the walmart shopping experience The selection was huge, and there seemed to be a bike for everyone. I would totally recommend this bike - especially for people who are returning to bike riding after a long break. Its retro look was attractive to both me and my daughter- so we ended up buying two! Great value, I must say. We even found helmets to match. 09/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grat bike for casual riding. I love this bike. I had it shipped to my home and it came quickly. I'm 64 year old female with some basic mechanical ablity and was able to put it together. Most of the bike came assembled. The bike looks red online but it's exactly maroon and off white. It's a good looking bike and comfortable to ride. 09/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice bike for the price This is a nice bike for the price. Customer service from the company that imports the bikes is very responsive to ship missing or damaged components. The bikes do ship from China so unless you are extremely lucky expext some minor damage such as scrathed paint. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The style is great! I have looked all over for a bike like this. No other site has this style.The color is great. It's a smooth ride, easy to handle and it's great to look at. I bought accessories for the bike. A mirror, utility bag and a water bottle holder. Love it!!! 09/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike! Rides like a dream. I went from a mountain bike to this, the cadillac of bikes. Seat is very comfortable. Absorbs bumps really well. Rides great! I am so happy to be able to sit upright and ride. I look forward to riding it every day. It's awesome, so beautiful! The color is even prettier than pictured. I have received a lot of compliments on it. Very happy with it! 09/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's the best bike I've ever owned. Comfortable to ride and handles very well. 08/31/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great buy After checking out similar cruiser bikes available to me here in Canada, I found this one - in comparison, what a great deal this bike is at 1/3 of the cost of the others and a well known brand name too. Putting it together took a bit of time and patience, but the manual is very detailed. The bike was scratched in quite a few places - a bit disappointing, but not unexpected considering how far it had travelled. I would like to see Schwinn include a small bottle of touchup paint with each bike. The bike colour is an attractive deep cranberry red, not the bright red that shows in the photo. The seat is extememly comfortable and the bike rides really nicely - I have had many people asking where I got such a funky looking bike! Would recommend - thank you Walmart USA! 08/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike at a great price. I have not rode a bike in 37 years. I bought a huffy bike 12 years ago, but could not ride it because it was so uncomfortable. The Schwinn Point Beach Cruiser bike is comfortable, the gears make it easier to ride and the wide seat makes it easier on your bottom. Walmart has free assembly of bikes, however I did not know to re-check to make sure everything was tight. The bolt in handle bars was not tight, so the first ride I took, my handle bars went one way and my body went the other way. My husband rechecked the bike, made adjustments in what was still loose and a week later I went back to riding my bike. You will be very satified with this bike. It looks good, rides good and if getting excerise is your goal, this bike will help you meet that goal. 08/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this bike! very sturdy bike. I bought it in store fully assembled. smooth ride. gear changing smooth. highly recommend this bike! 07/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ride em Loretta From the moment I saw the bike on the rack it was calling my name. Loved the color and the features. No-one needed to sell me on this one. Danny the Bike assembler from the New Lenox,Il store was fantastic. He went that extra mile to make me happy..Making sure all adjustments were made and checking tires so i could ride it home..Away I went just like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz. Thanks Danny I will think of you when I am riding through the wine country in Southern , Illinois. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE THIS BIKE! I have had this bike over a year now and love it, love it, love it! I have it in the blue. I take this bike everywhere. I use it as a cruiser and as a mountain bike! LOL I do! I might look like an idiot on it bumping through the woods and trails but I do not care (I bought a Schwinn Ladies Mountain bike but am VERY uncomfortable on it. Just the feel and handling are not to my liking). I have had to replace the gear shifter but thats the only problem I have had with the Point Beach. I put on a very cushy and large seat and I can ride all day. We are going to get one for my husband. He love mine! Best bike ever! 06/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Bike! My husband and I were looking for some beach cruisers for riding bikes at the beach on the boardwalk. I must admit, the first thing that caught my attention about this bike was the looks. It is a really cool looking bike and we get lots of comments on how nice they look. I was a little concerned because there was no way this nice a looking bike could be so sturdy and durable for the price paid. But it is. I researched beach cruisers for months and most are around $500.00. This one was $188.00. After putting it together and riding for the first time at the beach, this bike could easily be a $500.00 bike! I love it! If you are looking for a bike for you and the Mr., get this one and the matching mens bike like I did. I am really happy. Highly recommended! 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Ride Around Town The assembly took a little longer than expected since the adjustment of the brakes on the front was tricky and the manual for assembly is poor, but it is a great bike and my wife loves riding it! 09/11/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The shipping on the item was extremely fast. I was not expecting to pay tax on an item purchased off the internet. After unpacking the bike it had a couple scratches on it and one of the reflectors was broken. 08/16/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bicycle looks great but the performance is poor at best. Pulling the bike out of the shippng container I was impressed with effort made to protect the bike. The frame and all of the parts were beautiful. Assembly and adjustment was a breeze and the instructions were well written. During assembly I noticed that the wheel bearings on the front and rear wheels ran very rough. A ride around the block and I noticed a significant knocking sound at the rear wheel while pedaling. The freewheel was the cause. The bearings in the freewheel were loose. I called Schwinn and explained the problem. They promptly shipped a new rear wheel. Unpacking the new rear wheel I found the same problems with the replacement wheel and freewheel. The problem was not solved. The entire bicycle originated in China with some of the components being of great quality and some are poor quality. The Schwinn name is tarnished in my eyes. 09/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by PLASTIC GEARS ECT..... ARE PLASTIC AND CHEAPLY MADE. SRATCHES ALL OVER THE FENDERS AND BIKE. WHEELS RUB BRAKES AND CATCH WHEN RIDING. WOULD NOT RECCOMEND FOR ANYONE. I TOOK IT BACK. 09/27/2012
1-30 of 45 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew298
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp