Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Bike for the $$ We went to several Sporting goods Stores and a Performance bike store. My wife wanted an aluminum frame for light weight and trigger shifters - Everything the bike stores had in that category was around $349 and higher. The bike at the sporting good stores that were under $300 we of very questionable quality, especially for the price. We went to Walmart after not finding anything anywhere else, just to see what they. Their more inexpensive bikes are pretty durable, but also pretty heavy. We stumbled upon this Schwinn by accident and were very impressed by it's lightweight, solid constuction, features and value for money. We went home, read the reviews on some of the bikes we had looked at that day - Sporting good stores inexpensive bikes recieved 2-2.5 stars. The $349 bike from the bike store had good reviews, but was more than we wanted to spend. Based on the reviews on the Walmart site we decided to purchase this bike. After we got it home and rode it around for a few days we have been more than impressed! 06/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome bike for the money I bought this bike and was very hesitant because I wanted a mountain bike but decided on a cruiser for comfort. This bike is extremely comfortable and I bought it on sale for 165.00 instead of the list price. I liked it so much I bought my daughter and friend one. Worth the money!! 12/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value, but be prepared to make adjustments As a gift for a daughter, the color was important and was beautiful. I bought it online, and it arrived promptly and in good condition. My daughter is delighted with the bike. It was generally easy to assemble the remaining parts onto the bike. However, some of the assembly done at the factory was done foolishly/poorly. The bottom bracket (BB) was installed way too tight, so there was significant resistance to turning the crank. I have bike tools and knowledge and was able to mostly disassemble it, but even with the right special tools and extreme force could not remove the bearing cup on the right side. I had wanted to replace the BB (which is a somewhat cheesy, 9 bearings-in-a-race per side "open" type) with a low-cost sealed bearing unit, but could not get the factory-installed cup out. (I risked damaging the aluminum frame if I applied any more force.) That bearing cup must have been installed without lubricant and either cross-threaded and/or way overtightened. So I had to put it back together with the factory parts, but with better lubricant. It was good that I disassembled it, nevertheless, because I was able to get the factory-residue metal chips out of the grease and bearings. When that BB needs replacement, I'll have to machine and/or break out that (painted steel) cup. The front wheel bearings were also overtightened, but correctable. Overall, the bike seems a good value, but be prepared to do some fine-tuning. Recommendations to Schwinn: * On this level of bike, use a sealed bottom bracket. That is the most critical part of the drive train, and you could spend another $ or 2 on it to make it a much better product. * Train your assemblers better and provide them with torque specs and torque-limiting tools. * Use quality bearing grease. That will also enable the bike to last longer. 09/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this bike This bike is light, comfortable and rides very well. I haven't been on a bike in so many years I can't count. I got on this great riding bike and felt young and free again! So glad I made the purchase! 04/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Deal -Smooth Ride Great bike for the price. My wife loves it. Shifting is balance and click change. Would buy again! 04/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bicycle! I've had this bicycle for several months and am currently using it indoors on a trainer. It is comfortable, though some may want a larger one for further comfort. Most bikes I tested in stores, the pedals felt like they were too far back. This one feels comfortable. I am about 5'8" tall and have the seat as high as it can go. If you're much taller than me, this bike may not work for you. The color is a light periwinkle and is nice to look at. The tires are more like a mountain bike than a street bike, but it is not a heavy bike. It's light and will work for both off-roading and street riding. The only trouble I've had is with the lower four gears staying in place. But a couple adjustments should solve that issue, I'm hoping. The front wheel has a quick release lever. The pedals have a cleat-like surface so your shoe does not slip off when riding. Bare-foot riding would be uncomfortable. I love this bike and am very glad to have found an inexpensive one that I really enjoy riding. 03/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice bike! Got this for my daughter and she loves it! I had it delivered to my home and assembled it myself. It only took me about 20 minutes. Everything works fine on it. She rides it everyday to and from school. Good quality and great price! 02/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by i would recommend this bike i ride at least three times a week and have had the bike almost two months. havent had any problems...rides well, shifts well, seat comfortable 11/16/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Was skeptical, but now a very happy customer First of all Walmart is to be commended on a prompt response to my questions, and extremely fast shipping. For $0.97 I can hardly believe how quickly they arrived (I bought both a men's and a women's) in very good shape. After putting it together all I could think of was how much value both of these bikes offer for the money. Like others we went looking at several local bike shops, only to be shown $450 models that were nice, but in now way 'twice as nice' as these bikes are! The click-shifters work very well - very little adjustments were needed - and assembly was very simple. The hardest part was the front tire: instead of loosening the front brake cable, simply 'unhook' the short metal housing piece right before the rubber covering off from the small 'bracket' holding it in, and the entire brake pad assembly opens up so that the tire can enter the brake assembly. Then unpack the quick-release clamp / nut from the small box inside the package, put the bolt through the axel and then screw the end nut on. Straightforward but the first time was confused with the double nuts already on the axle - simply leave them on, and don't do what I did which was dissemble the thing! Then the seat goes on easy, the pedals are easy to bolt on, and the tires are pumped up to 45-60psi (make sure you have a pump handy with a gauge). One other item - the manual states that with a 26" wheel, these bikes are suitable for individuals '64 to 74 inches tall'. I was worried before purchase that there was only one size frame - but for me 67" inches tall (5' 7"), the frame is fine. It would seem a bit small for individuals 6 feet tall or taller, but that is just my opinion. I was a bit hesitant, but when assured that my 'ship to home' bike could be returned back to my local store (the local store did not have any in stock for me to try out before purchase), it was an easy choice to make. Very high quality for the price. 12/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value The bike is a great value when you consider it's aluminum and has paddle shifting vs. grip twist. The bike was double boxed and in great shape. Assembly was a breeze. My wife loves the bike. We swapped out the seat to her old one as the seat supplied was a bit narrow, but no big deal. Great purchase 06/18/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Took one bike back to Walmart and came across this iv'e been riding this bike now over a month i'm not the smallest guy I weigh about 240 and rides perfect even know it says it's women bike I don't care even had a few compliments on the bike. Even the bike stores says just the parts alone are over $200.00 08/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never been more disappointed in a purchase... The single good comment I have to make about this bike is that it shipped and arrived quickly. There is a VERY serious design flaw with the front derailleur of this model!! Both men and ladies. My fiance and I bought his and hers 26" Schwinn Aluminum Comp mountain bikes. They've been nothing but a nightmare. The front derailleur hits on both sides no matter how you try to adjust it. Neither his bike nor mine will shift into 3rd on the left hand shifter. My fiance has extensive experience adjusting derailleur's on multi-speed bikes (mountain and street) and after 7 hours of spent trying to adjust these two correctly he threw in the towel and called a bike shop. They took one look at them and said 'Who the heck designed this??'. The shop could not get them adjusted correctly either. The final solution was to spend $30 for a new Shimano front derailleur for each bike. Having owned them just over a week we've done our research on new Trek bikes and are just going to trade these in. Before you spend your hard earned money on one of these. Read all the reviews. You will see we aren't the only ones who ran into this problem. I wouldn't recommend this bike to anyone, friend or foe. 05/20/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do Not Beleive These other Hyped Up Reviews!!!! My wife was looking into getting a bike to join me on our recreational trail this summer. She looked into this bike and asked me if it was a good purchase. I was very hesitant--because most big box bikes are proan to defects and are poorly made. I went over some reviews and figured....what the heck...sounds ok... we might just have to replace the tires. I myself have a GT outpost and a Diamondback Response... both solid bikes and I really didn't want my wife to have a bad bike, but she liked the looks of it and because of the reviews she did purchase the bike. After I assembled the bike, which was quite easy, I relized the whole bike felt cheap. The seat, the handbars, the shifters....all of the quick releases for the tires and seat were plastic. And the tires are ....well junk... and thats being nice about it. Once we got the bike on the road, my wife shifted gears and immediatly had problems. Then the chain ended up getting caught between the petal/frame and gear box. It would not budge out.... After all of this.. I said I cannot see her riding a bike that is this poorly made. We took it back the same night and went to another store and piced her up a better brand bike. The only credit I give to this bike is that the frame seems very sturdy, but unless you want to gut the entire bike... stay away from this!!! Pay the extra hundred dollars at your local bike store or somewhere with higher quality products. 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy, good price. This bike is nice and light. You will need to put the bike together, not too hard to do it. Very happy with it. 04/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice bike to start over again I haven't ridden a bike in about thirty years. It's great riding again. I'm 5'3 and it's the right size for me. I did buy a more comfortable seat. The directions were a little confusing but watched a utube video that helped. Great bike for the money. 04/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for the price We bought this bike for the wife about 3 weeks ago and so far are very pleased with it. We mainly ride on dirt/cement trails that are somewhat hilly but nothing real radical. This bike handles the terrain with ease. The trigger shifters are very smooth and operate just as they should. For the type of riding we do this bike is perfect and the wife loves it which makes me happy! 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love the Bike! I wanted a bike to work out and this bike is perfect!! so good I am planning to buy another one for my daughter. I recommend to have the bike put together at the store. 08/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lot of bike for a great value. I have been a long time fan of Schwinn bikes, and this one is no exception. The wife is very happy with it's feel and finish. It's weight makes it easy for her to pop it onto a car rack. I like it for it's finish, equipment, and aluminum chassis. Cool bike! 06/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice bike. Might need a pro to build it. This is a nice bike. Not really a mountain bike - a bit heavy - but sturdy and comfortable, I looked at my local bike store, but the bike prices started around $400. I don't plan on racing or long-distance touring, so I didn't want to spend that much, For about $200 I bought this bike. I tried to build it and got most of it done OK, but I was sure the brakes and derailleur (gears) needed adjusting - ok, ok...fixing - I do not know anything about them. So I spent another $80 to have the bike checked out at the local bike shop. I still saved money, just not as much. It is worth it, I think, to make sure the brakes and gears are correct - for safety and the "lifespan" of the bike. If you think you will need the bike built by a pro, you may want to buy it from a bike shop. So far, I've been riding to and from school (about a mile) with my kids, and it's just fine. 04/09/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this bike for $205 about a week ago. It arrived today, a day earlier, in perfect shape, everything included. Tinkered with it for about two hours, enjoying the experience. If you`re a newbie you gotta read the instructions carefully and check the illustrations out, and you will save yourself time and embarrassment :). You will need basic tools and a pump, but other than that assembly is easy since you already have it 90% ready. Do not put the fork and the handlebar backwards (lol) and be careful with the pedal threads - right pedal (looking down from seated position) screws in clockwise, left pedal - counterclockwise (turn to the left)! Make sure brakes are parallel to rims, centered, and do not touch rim when open. Took the bike for a ride around town today, and shifted gears a lot - pretty smooth shifting, chain may need some grease to move a little easier. Brakes are awesome - very sharp and stop abruptly, but I`ll probably have to adjust them a bit so that I do not fly out of the seat when I try to stop quickly... Fork suspension works pretty nice. I had to slide my seat back, because since the handlebar and stem are immovable (major drawback to this bike!), I needed more space so my knees would be positioned right and not hurt when pressing down pedals (I`m 5'6"). It is all individual, you have to fit the bike to your body frame. Tried to fit my big metal double basket on the frame of the back wheel, but the screw holes there are truly an enigma to me since they do not seem to correspond to each other, and the one I could make use of would make the smallest gear in the back unusable, obstructing it with the nut. I`ll have to think of a way to fit that basket on somehow. I was disappointed with the tires. They look very cheap, and have a rubber leftover rim right smack in the center from where the two molds met. Also, the seat is cheaply made - stapled with a staple gun around the inner rim instead of sewn or glued - looks like it would come undone some time soon! I`d buy a comfy seat, it is always a good investment. And a last piece of advice - even though it is called a mountain bike, please do not ride this bike on rough mountain trails - you need a much more expensive professional bike, or you may hurt yourself! Overall, I really like the bike. Hope it will stay with me for a long time. Happy riding everyone! 08/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike! This is a really nice bike. I ordered it online and had it shipped to me and had it in two days! Easy to put together. A few adjustments were needed but nothing major. Very comfortable to ride on. I would highly recommend it. The color is pretty too! 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bike I haven't been on a bike in 23 years and the Schwinn is a great bike for the money to get me back up and riding! 07/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast shipping to home. Great value Fast and free shipping to home. Only took 4 days with free shipping. Easy setup if you are handy. Great value for the price. Nice aluminum frame rust free components 08/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Value. 01/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice bike Snazzy blue color, smooth ride, nice gears, though a bit rough changing at times but think will be fine after I tweak and oil. 06/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike! I have only rode about 10 miles so far but I love it! Rides very smooth and seems to be very well built! 02/18/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Had good reviews, and it was a pretty bicycle, light weight, but shifter did not work right. At first, it was ok, then started changing gears on its own. Already paid for professional to put it together and tune it up, so did not spend any more on it. I returned this bike and plan to get a higher quality one. 09/05/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Came in missing parts. I was very excited when I got my bike in because the shipping was actually pretty quick and free. When I opened it all up and started putting it together I noticed it was missing pedals. Frustrated, I emailed Walmart.com about it. They said they would compensate me $30 for the missing pedals. I figured okay, that will work out I guess. I decided to just use the pedals off my old bike. So I started putting it together and and realized Im missing the front wheel quick release too! I emailed Walmart.com again and they said they would instead compensate me $45 for the missing parts. I got the compensation in a few business days which was good. I just decided to use the quick release from my old bike as well. Im mainly upset because when I order something online, especially when I'm ordering from somewhere reliable versus a site like ebay, I expect to always get everything I ordered. Its frustrating to go from excited you got something in the mail to upset because there is missing parts. Other then that, the gears need serious readjusting so its taking alot longer than expected to get this bike going. I ordered this because all the good reviews. It looks like for some reason I happened to get the lemon bike! Hopefully once its all fixed up I can be happy about it too like the rest of you. 06/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional entry level youth bike or for a young lady. It was for my now 11 year old daughter's b-day and is all we could have expected. She is 5'5" and it fits her well with several inches of seat height left for the next 3-5 years. I would suggest that this is for any rider between 5'3 and 5'7".Our local store didn't stock it but it was delivered in 5 days from the time of our order. There are several online complaints about seat but for this style of bike, I think the stock unit compliments it well. This is an over-all very good, sound bike with smooth shifting and breaking. It is an Aluminum bike as stated. I compared it to the same Schwinn version but found this to be considerably lighter and more maneuverable than any of the other similar models in steel. We ride on bike paths and moderate trails. Front handlebar mounted reflector is more of a nuisance than benefit. We don't ride on public roadways but if you do, I would recommend updating to a better style. Drink / water bottle mount only accepts the smaller style of water bottle but works well for us. This is our 3rd bike of this style from Wal-Mart and it is by far the best value I have found. A similar Trek or equivalent is over twice the money and hard to justify for a child who will outgrow it in 2-3 years. Your child will appreciate and enjoy this quite finely. 05/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bike for the price this is a nice bike and a very nice looking bike the gears are easy to change and the brakes stop on a dime. 04/02/2013
  • 2015-10-10T03:15:40.381-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_75, tr_75
  • loc_en_US, sid_16913450, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 65 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.