See All Reviews
Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer, 12oz
Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer, 12oz
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 32 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best product out there! This is the best product by far for fire ants and it also can cure your home if u have a roach problem. We put it in the yard first and killed all the ants in a day. If you have roaches and you've tried everything you should try this I've recommend this to several friends and we are all roach free now . The powder is for outside so it does stink like rotten cabbage but if your as desperate as I was you won't mind. Sprinkle it thinly like you would boric acid around all base boards under stove, refrigerator, toilet, and all appliances where they hide put it in paper plates under cabinets. Clean and reapply after 1st 7 days then wait another week after 7 more days clean every thing very good and just put a then layer under appliances. Depending on how bad your infested it how many applications you'll need you may need less or more. I promise within a month you won't have roaches any more. Keep out of reach of pets and children. I hope I helped some one battling bugs like I have . 05/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kills them dead overnight!!! The day before my son's 4th birthday party, I realized the yard was overun with fire ants. I bought one bottle of Orthene Fire Ant Killer and spread it on every mound I could find. The next morning, I came out to check out the yard and it looked like a cemetery. There were dead fire ants everywhere. I swept them up and the party went on, out in the yard, without a single person getting stung. What a wonderful product!!! 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 GREAT FOR A BUG FREE HOME This stuff kills roaches. Any time I move in somewhere sprinkle ortho! I live around water and I have NO roaches and No spiders or any other bugs. My son is 6 soon to be seven and when we go to other peoples houses he says "mom theres a BUG!" he doesn't even know what a roach is....lol 10/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This products couldn't be any better! It does exactly what it says it's going to do. This product worked amazingly. 09/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful fire ant killer Most powerful fire ant killer. It does not matter how large or small the fire ant mound is, only 2-shake application will kill whole colony within 12 hours. Do not need any watering, only shake a little bit power, That is it !! So easy to apply, but really effective. I strong recommend to my friends and coworker. Thanks for this product research and manufacture. 09/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Is a great product killing all ant in the house I like to have this product in my house all a time because it can keep my house out of any ant for all day in my life. 10/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm not a bug person this helps me keep them away 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best I have found Have used this for years with outstanding results. We always have bottle handy when mowing the yard...doctor the mounds as we go. Use it even in the pastures 11/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product - One Question Ortho Orthene is the best product to use on our ants in Texas, but we've had a lot of rain / fog / heavy dew this year, and I was just wondering what happens to the effectiveness of this product in those conditions. I try to apply between rains, but inevitably subsequent mornings have heavy dew and/or fog. 11/04/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misleading Quantity in Container Opened the container and found that it was filled up to about 1/3 of the bottle container. This is outright misleading! I'll never buy this product again nor purchase any Ortho products in the future. Yes, it gives the weight of the product but how many people are going to weigh it to make sure. You will naturally assume the container will be full. Otherwise, why buy a big container and receive a small quantity? 05/20/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by works great Use ortho all the time. As the hills come back the ants seem to get smaller and smaller. I think it messes with their genes. Any body else notice this? 05/08/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This powder really works! Not only does it work on the mound, but I use it along the base of my house and the perimeter of my property and it works to keep ants and other pests from crossing the line! Wish there was a little more in each container for the price, but it is effective. Smells like rotting cabbage, so watch where you put it if you have pets, they like the smell. (This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry or is a review of free product.) 05/01/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by kill em fast This works fast and the mound is gone...well the ants in the mound are gone. I like to disturb the mound and sprinkle on top of fire ants when they emerge. .I think it works faster like that. (This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry or is a review of free product.) 04/22/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kills the mound It just plain works. I put it on the mound, and it looks the same the next day, but there are no ants. But it really does smell like rotten broccoli. Ha! 10/05/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not kill the ants but killed my St. Auguatine grass. Used exactly as labeled. Did not water end and only applied a small amount to five ant mounds. Grass died on all five mounds. 09/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Texas gardener We live in rural North Texas so fire ants are a major issue in our landscape! After a few failed attempts, I found Ortho Orthene. The mounds die quickly so there is little damage to turf and plants. This is the easiest, most effective product of its type on the market. 09/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like "Agent Orange" for the Toughest of Ant Mounds I live in Michigan and normally do not have many and problems. With this years cool and wet summer, I have had some major problems with various types of ants in my lawn, garden, driveway, etc.. I tried Spectracide drop poison for all kinds of bugs and slugs and still was left with ant hills. Using this as directed not only kills the mounds, but all the smaller hills in the area of the larger visible mounds. It gets the queen. All hail the Orthene King! 09/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great. This product has worked on every ant mound that in which it was applied. 09/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works and marks Works great! not a general lawn use item, but works in one day and the white powder will help identify where not to step until the next rain or sprinkler. 09/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best fire ant killer on the market When you spot an active ant mound just sprinkle some on the mound. The next day there will be no sign of the ants. 09/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Orthene works great and fast I have a problem with ants getting into my pool motor and other motors around the property. I tried the Orthene on these ants and they were killed quick and did not come back. Thanks Ortho! 09/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ortho bug killer great product, price was fair results were excellent would recommend to all my friends 08/29/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I live in the land of fire ants, TEXAS. This product solves my problem not only with fire ants, all ants, including carpenter. This product has a seal when you remove the lid. I poke holes in the seal to spread over ant mounds. This product does the job. 08/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use this product to put an end to fire ant mounds. Ortho Orthene Fire Ant Killer really does a good job killing the ant mounds in my yard. One application is all it takes. Application is easy and convenient and needs no watering in. I fully recommend this product. 08/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Slower kill than expected I applied the recommended amount to the mounds around yard in our subdivision. The smaller ones were vacant with no activity within a day. The larger mounds had to be retreated within a week. This second application worked for at least 4 months. Now I am seeing ant mounds return to my yard. It seems that we chase mounds from one neighbors' yard to the next in our subdivision until our very short winter. 08/15/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kills Fire Ants Works like a charm. Great value - nothing is worse than not being able to relax, walk anywhere in your yard without worrying about being stung by fire ants. So painful, it is ridiculous that something so small can inflict such pain. And this product did not hurt any birds, rabbits, squirrels, etc. in the yard. Thank goodness for Ortho. 08/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works as stated Great product, but very little thought went into the container. Should have a sprinkle option. 03/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Generally a quality product The product seems to be highly effective, and I don't mind the smell. However, my two most recent purchases (from a local WalMart) were disappointing in that the product was very lumpy and not at all a dust as it is supposed to be. The lumpiness means that more product must be applied to a given mound to obtain sufficient cvoerage. 03/11/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT PRODUCT - LOUSY CONTAINER WORKS AS GOOD AS ANY FIRE ANT KILLER, AND BETTER THAN MOST. EASY TO USE EXCEPT FOR CONTAINER. cONTAINER CAN BE DIFFICULT TO OPEN AND TO HOLD DUE TO LARGE ROUND SHAPE. I HAVE AN ACRE LOT, SURROUNDED BY VACANT LOTS OR HOMES THAT DON'T BOTHER TO TRY TO CONTROL FIRE ANTS. I HAVE A CONSTANT BATTLE WITH FIRE ANTS AND THIS PRODUCTS WORKS BETTER THAN ANY I HAVE TRIED...AND I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL 10/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best product on the market for ants while this product is labled for fire ants it will work on all ants, any crawling bugs when put in its path !!! I have been using and recomending orthene for years. I have 3 acres and live in FL the fire ant capitol 1 large container will last me for 2 years ! Just a small amount on the bed and the next day it is a grave yard ! Mix a small amount with powdered sugar for ants in the house place in a bottle cap in the path of the ants overnite remove it the next day no more ants.It is labled for outdoor use !! There is astrong smell but that goes away quickly. 09/28/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:22:22.424-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_32, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_16888872, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 32 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw281
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp