Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 102 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Toddlers I got this for my daughter (who is 4 1/2) because she kept wanting to play games on my iPhone. I figured get her something that is educational and the Explorer is AWESOME because it's educational, fun, and age appropriate. We got a Spongebob and Cars game with it and these provide much variety that she needs to keep her attention. WARNING: My daughter is addicted and we have set up a schedule for use! The screen is about 2 inches square, the buttons are kid friendly, the volume isn't annoyingly obnoxious, the stylus is just the right length and size for little hands. The battery pack on the back is safe in that it doesn't fall off. We use reusable batteries in our house so we have that available, but I would recommend getting extra batteries if you use the kind you throw away/recycle. We will be purchasing the power station for this device for Christmas. I also purchased the case. It's great for storing the system and the games as well. I was hesitant to buy this for her because of the mixed reviews I got from friends and family, but for the price you can't beat it! 08/28/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed My daughter does like her leapster and it is educational. I was very disappointed the product is NOT as advertised. Games must be purchased seperately and there is NOT a built in camera/camecorder as listed in the product description - that will cost you an extra twenty bucks! 09/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful I just bought this and now I'm returning it. I hate that the instructions did not have a diagram of all the buttons on the leapfrog and what they do. I hate that when I read the review it was not made clear that you have to buy every single game. It does not come with a game except for one free download which takes forever! 08/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds my expectations!!! I wish their more games for this device but, I love the fact that it is a wide ranges of ages and you able to graduate from level to another my child is 24 months and she loves it!!! 08/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My 4 year old loves it I read some of the negative reviews stating they were disappointed in the fact that this Leapster does not come with any games or the camera and how they did not know that. Well I for one was aware of the fact that the Leapster explorer games would have to be purchased separetely so I did not have a problem with that. I purchased this for my daughters 4th birthday and she will be turning 5 in a month so she has had it for almost a whole year and loves it as much today as she did day one. I really like this because its not only fun for her but educational and she has actually learned her letters and numbers, how to add and subtract, even how to read and much more just off these games. So its a win win for me, she has fun and learns at the same time. I definitely find this to be worth the money for the leapster explorer plus the games purchased seperately. 10/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great educational gift I opted to go for this over a Nintendo DS for my 4 year old for her birthday. She loves it! I love the fact that she can feel like a big kid playing a hand held game system and I am reassured that she is actually learning while having fun. It is a great tool for her to use on car rides and is small enough to fit in the glove compartment or center console of my jeep. My only suggestion would be to spend the money up front and get the charging station as well. The game does go through regular batteries quite frequently. Also, dont waste your money on the carrying case. We used a basic one compartment Dora lunchbox (her favorite character and it was approximately $6) and so far it has worked awesome to keep her game system and games all together in one spot. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product, but... Good product, but not much software on it. We had to buy more software from Leapster for more games for our kids. 11/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I am very happy with Leapster. My daughters ages 4 and 6 have had it now for 9 months. I did not even have to read the instructions to them, they picked it up and just started playing. It explains itself and has clear instructions. We have total of 4 games and kids love them. It has some kind of games and activities if you forget to stick a game into it. I am buying another one, because there are times when both want to play it. It is without a doubt a great learning tool, keeps my kids away from dangerous computer, portible so great for trips. 09/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My daughter LOVES it! I bought the explorer for my daughter for her 3rd birthday. I also bought the battery charger to go with it (which I highly recommend). Before I even gave it to her, I charged it and downloaded it to my computer because I wanted her to be able to play it as soon as she opened it. She has several games and we even downloaded some apps for it. She has the camera also and I think it's her favorite thing to do. I have nothing bad to say about this toy. It's pure learning and I love how fast she's caught on to using it. You can't go wrong with this toy! 11/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome toy for learning My daughter is almost 6 and said she wanted one of these. I told her she needs to make sure she wants it. I reviewed the product and decided to try it. To my suprise it is a great learing tool. I wish I would have done it sooner. Get it you want regreat the purchase. 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best toy i have bought for any of my kids. keeps her quiet almost all of the time. But if you get this getting the docking staion is a must... 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Game for children. 09/30/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by This system is wonderful for kids. My son lovesss it soo much that he plays all day almost all night. He sleeps with it. The REALLY BAD THING THOU IS IT DOES NOT LAST LONG. IVE HAD TO RETURN IT COUPLE TIMES ALREADY. ONLY HAD IT A FEW MONTHS. WEARS OUT VERY EASILY. 02/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Got this for my daughter's birthday and she LOVES it. 08/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leapfrog Explorer Geat product. Keeps the kiddoes busy and much better than TV. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jaw dropping... My 4 year old is absolutely in love with this device. She excels in every game. Land and Sea Animals!? Yea, AliKat is all over that!!! She blurts out the answers before they're given. I've increased the age option (to 7 years old) in the settings menu and she's still progressing wonderfully. I don't know if I should attribute that to good genetics, great parenting (Go Me!), or an amazing product. It's funny to watch my nieces and nephews get excited when "it's their turn". They're already making Christmas notes. (Lol) I'm a single mother of two; money doesn't come easy. However, Leap Frog will always be in my quarterly budget as long as my baby girl continues to learn, retain AND can verbally express what she's learned to others. They have made learning-at-home fun for her and much easier for me. THANK YOU!!! 07/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cool toy....better customer service! Well, I love the leapster, but it was one of 6 total packages and was the last to come in after all the others almost 2 whole weeks later. When I went to pick it up the shipping box was so mangled it looked as if were impossible that there was anything inside...there was! The leapster was still in the packageing but it to was so mangled you could actually see the leapster itself hanging out. The associate was shocked and just pulled one off the shelf and replaced it right then. That's the really awesome part of the whole experience. No hassle or fuss. 07/27/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not enough memory! My kids love their leapster explorers (we have 2). The only thing that's disappointing is the available memory per leapster explorer. Had I realized how limited it is, I would have invested in 2 Leap pads and not the explorers. We have purchased several apps in the library and cannot upload all of them at once. I would like to see an additional memory cartridge available for purchase so the kids can have more apps available to them. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great investment!!! Absolutely love this; it is definitely money well spent bought it for my daughter for Christmas 2yrs ago and it is her favorite "toy" she doesn't leave home without it. Who knew a child could have sooo much fun in the process of learning. Only thing i would say is that leapster needs to come out with a carrying case to house more then 3 games...hehe my daughter has like 7 games and has a hard time choosing which she will take along with her. To other parents when possiable it is a good idea to download the games you buy straight off the connect site to your explorer it'll save you the headache of you child choosing which game to take along with them (: 07/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My toddler loves it! My toddler loves her Leap pad! There are so many different types of activities for her to do, she doesn't get bored. From playing an educatioal game, taking care of her pets, reading a book, creating a book, and taking pictures, she enjoys learns and has fun at the same time. I highly recommend this "toy" to kids of all ages! 05/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by joke Any toy is going to cost you $. This is my first and last purchase from LeapFrog. I don't think the games are as educational friendly as they could be. Some of the Leapster games are more educational but the system is big and bulky. Some of the games are not programed very well. All data is lost if the child shuts down or starts at a different level. They have to start from level 1, very frustrating for a kid. With the amount of $ I spent on batteries, a battery pack, and a charging station I could have bought something better in my opinion. I think it is stupid that it doesn't come with the battery pack in the first place. Its a waste of time, material, and $. 05/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought it for my daughter's 4th birthday and she has been playing with it everyday. She loves it. The problem is the batteries don't last very long as much as they play with it. I might have to get a charger. I also bought the camera attachment for it and they have been making vidoes and taking pictures of everything! Overall wonderful toy!! My 6 yr wants one for her birthday too!! 03/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, love, love it I really need two. My 1yr likes to play on it too! 03/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly Recommend This is a great quality, education product. My 2 year old, 5 year old, and 43 year old all love it! It was purchased for my 5 year old son for Christmas and he has learned from the games on his Explorer and also been entertained on it. We also can use taking it away as a disciplinary action - which works great. The best thing I have to say about it though is that the two year old stuck it in the toilet on Sunday, where it sat fully submerged for at least several minutes. After it was removed, we took the battery compartment and the camera expansion part off and let it dry out for one day. With fresh batteries, it worked just fine the next day. This is truly a quality made product in an age where few things are. Thanks Leap Frog! 03/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST purchase so far! We bought this for our son for Christmas 2011 when he was 2 1/2. I was on the fence because he was so much younger than the recommended age, but figured if he didn't play it now, he would eventually. Well he LOVES it! I am amazed at how good he is at the games I have purchased for him. Peguins of Madagascar is his favorite! The games are engaging and educational. It is perfect for active preschoolers (which seems an understatement for my son) while out at a restaurant, on an airplane, etc. in addition to just having quiet time at home. Highly recommend! 03/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by For my 3 year old I bought this for a christmas present for my daughter and she loves it! We got a few games and also got a few off the internet. She plays it at home, in the car, and in the evening. I believe it gets better with age!! Great girl color! 02/29/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hate it!!! I had bought this device for my 3 year old son. He has not played it very much.. Recently the pin that goes to the leap explorer quit working.. The rest of the Game works, but when you try to use the pin on the screen, it does not read it.. Thus my son can not play his games.... I bought it for Christmas and He just started playing with it and not even a week of playing the Explorer has issues... As I read many other Parents responds to this game, it seems Im not the only one having problems with it... 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This product is great ! I bought one for my then 6 year old daughter for christmas, her 5 year old brother loved it too, as did her older brothers 8 and 10. Who am I kidding I played with it too, just to see what they were learning. I bought another for the youngest brother for his birthday. No more begging to use his sister's that in itself was great. Then my 2 year old grandson loved it and watched the videos and within two days was seeing letters and saying their names and sounds before being told what they were. So of course I had to buy him one. And then I got another for my grand daughter who really loves hers too she is 4 years old. My son dropped his and the screen broke to the point that the touch screen no longer worked. Since there were no replacement parts to fix this issue, I purchased a replacement unit. They grow with the child, they are educational, and kids aren't bored playing with them. I recommend this for even two year olds because I've seen how fast they learn in a short time the letters and numbers by just watching the videos like word factory, letter factory...its an awesome tool. If I didn't see how great this toy was with my own eyes, I never would have gotten so many, me being a mom of 9 and now have 3 grandkids, I've seen toys come and go, none come close to what I value this toy at. I would like to see this toy cheaper being I had so many kids that loved playing the games, I balanced that out with what they were getting out of the toy itself and considered it a great investment. 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leapster Explorer We bought this for our 5 year old for Christmas. He loves it. Then discovered our 2 year old loved it as well. The 2 year old plays it more than the 5 year old most days. We've decided to get the same thing for her 3rd birthday so that our 5 year old can have his back. It's easy to use, stays charged, durable when dropped, & the games are fun. Mr Pencil is their favorite game so far. Even our 9 year old plays with it sometimes. It's a great thing to have in the car. Wish it had a better carrying case to hold more games though. Have to buy something different, the carrying case isn't big enough for multiple games. We also got the camera for it, which they love to play with. It's easy to plug into the computer & download stuff & redeem tokens they've earned for more things to buy, etc. It's been a great purchase & felt it was pretty affordable. The bundles online are a pretty good deal.The games are reasonably priced, great for grandparents to buy for birthdays, etc. 02/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT LEARNING GAME! My 3yrs old lil girl received this yesterday and havent put it down since. Well until I had to force her to shut it off and go to bed, last night. I was going to buy the leapster from target for 70 bucks! I ended up finding a great bundle online here and received an ac adpater (which will save me a ton of money on batteries) with the leapster for about 70 bucks and the carrying case for 13 instead of 15 at Target. So, I felt like I got an item for free. =) I also purchased Tangled very impressed with how well she's doing with spelling, vocab, etc. Oh, at first I thought I was ripped off because there wasnt a game cartridge inside the leapster explorer box. The Pet game is already in the game console. I've already used my free app and cant wait to get more apps for my daughter. She just got a Wii game console which she was enjoying but I think its been replaced, well for now. I hope the touchscreen will hold up! That would be my only concern being that I'm writing a review after one full day with the product. I guess time will tell. 02/10/2012
1-30 of 97 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw270
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp