See All Reviews
Rated 2.5 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by I found the driver finally It is at www (dot) sunpak (dot) com/ services (dot) html and was a pain to find!! 09/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Quite Junk Just pluged it into a Windows XP Pro machine and did not require any drivers. However, driver is required for SimCard reader and the address for the download is in the instruction leaflet, included in the package. Built-in plug may prove to be the weak point, though. 07/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent device Does what it says it does.. Though on Windows 7 you have to fuss with it in device manager to manually install the "smartcard" drivers for the SIM reader on it to work. Everything else works flawlessly without having to work on drivers. The USB connector could be a little longer, but considering it's meant for portable use it's adequate. 09/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complete junk No WinXP driver for it. Doesn't autorecognize. No website or support. Pins bent first insertion and no way it will work now for Compactflash. Junk. 07/05/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by SIM functions are primitive If you are here because of the SIM reader capability, here are a few things to know: 1. Grab and review the manuals and USIM editor app from the link other commenter provided. The docs reference a CD with drivers for the SIM reader -- there is no CD provided, but the USIM editor also installs the SIM reader driver, apparently. 2. Unlike other memory cards, the SIM contents do not appear as files in Windows Explorer. They are only accessible via the editor program. 3. The SIM may or may not hold your contacts and/or recent SMS messages. In my case, I had to use a command on the phone to move contacts from phone memory to SIM, after which the reader and editor did see them. 4. The PDF docs claim that editor can save ("export") contacts to a file in text or CSV format. I only found capability to export in "usv" format, which contains text embedded in binary data, with records terminated by a "1" byte. Not compatible with a text editor or excel, though a programmer could work with this. Overall, a rather primitive effort, but if you need it, you need it. 10/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Disappointment The web sites listed to download editing software and required drivers do not exist. Sunpak is/was a Japanese company; there are no U.S. customer service websites or phone numbers to be found for this product. The web address suggested by one user only results in an error message. 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by IMO a very very good card reader I have been using this card reader for at least 2 years now. In everything from XP Home / Pro to Vista and Win7 and Linux. I have no idea what everybody else is complaining about because it has worked great in everything that I do. Be it CF, SD, SDmicro, and even SIM. IT DOES REQUIRE A DRIVER for SIM cards. But, I have used it to read SD on a WinXP system without a driver. I am a computer tech support specialist and have been working in the pc field in one way or another since 1999. That is why I have used it on every system except a mac. I have no trouble inserting or using any of the slots. You do have to be careful about mis-inserting as the labels can be confusing. The SIM functions are somewhat limited but that is not the fault of SUNPAK but rather the phone makers, as there are no standards for SIM data storage for contacts. In a way there is, but once again blame LG, Verizon, Moto and all the others for not adopting the vcf format. Even in my most recent phone where I can add all kinds of contact info when I back them up to the sim card all info but the phone number gets dropped. btw driver link @ http://sunpak.com/specsheets/simreaderzipver10250.zip 05/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will be returning... My computer recognized it and all but my CF card would not go into it easily, and when I did get it in it bent a few pins on it. Brought up my pics once, went to use it later that day and told me I had to format my card which I wasn't going to do. Put the card in my camera and my pics were still there. Just bought today and will return tomorrow. 12/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a SIM Reader!! I bought this to recover data on my phone SIM card. The first card not only did not read my sim card -- but also ate my card! I had to break it to get the SIM card out. I returned the broken one and tried again - as it is hard to find SIM readers. Nope, nope, nope. And yes, I had downloaded the additional software from the website. And yes, my computer did recognize the device. I did not try any of the other card options. 12/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk - no option for ZERO stars Doesn't live up to description. Despite saying it is Mac and PC compatible, it is NOT. I went to the website listed in the instruction sheet, and there are no drivers available to make it work with Mac. Taking it back. 10/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Non-existent website for the driver Can't read/edit a SIM card without the software--website address is no good---as a matter of fact, www.sunpak.com has a 404 error--"Not Found." 10/27/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reads SanDisk 8GB CF without any problems -This Works without any additional drivers on a Server 2008 R2 box. -On an XP SP3 box, it Windows did have to search for drivers. But the automatic drivers update worked fine. -On a Windows 7 Pro - after a system scan, the drivers were available. Overall - No issues. Just had to cross my fingers and hope the auto driver update works, which it did. Pros - Build-in USB cable is nice, though it's only about 1.5 inches long. Cons - No support. Tried looking for drivers - no lunch. sunpak.com is not available, and sunpak.jp is a site for their camera flash products. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Does what it is supposed to do without issue. The reader just works! Needed a SDHC card reader that would work within XP mode under Windows 7 and this unit performed without the need of downloading any drivers; although I did download the SIM card driver/software from Sunpak as referenced in the short 1 page instructions that came with the unit. Worked with both Windows 7 x64 and Windows XP SP3 (XP Mode). If I had researched first I may have bought from Amazon at half the price though. Driver URL: www.sunpak.com/sim.html 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy ... Bought this for SIM card mostly. Worked perfectly for SD cards and SIM cards. Get the driver from Sunpak site and you will have no issues. Software is not that user friendly otherwise does what it says. No other driver was required, I have XP pro. 12/09/2011
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew333
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp