Rated 2.6 out of 5 by 35 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't buy it If you are unfortunate enough to find one of these, DON'T buy it. When I first set it up and turned it on, the bulb blew out. Walmart does NOT sell replacement bulbs; I had to search online -- 5 or 6 sites -- to find them. Upon replacing the bulb, as soon as it warmed up, the liquid turned cloudy, little droplets stuck to the inside for about 3" up. I had bought it (online) as a Christmas present and was checking to make sure it worked (thank goodness I did). Now I'm going to have to either keep the sickly looking thing or stand in line to return it AND buy another gift. 12/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buyer warning I order 2 of these black and clear lava lamps site to store. I wish I would have listened to the other reviews but I took a chance and regret it. Both will be going back. Right out of the box both had very cloudy liquid. I thought may be after they warm up they would clear but they are still cloudy. I googled tips to clearing and so far nothing has worked so I am returning. I do not recommend this product site to store shipping. I think the shipping messes them up. I purchased a different color in the store prior to these for my daughter and it is perfect. I wanted this one for my office and I am extremely disappointed. By in store not online. 01/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money Despite some negative reviews (stating the water was cloudy, mainly), I decided to give this a shot. I ordered and had it shipped site-to-store. When I got it home, I wanted to test it out immediately. Thank goodness I did, before giving it to my almost 8 year old as a Christmas gift. I got it together and turned it on...nothing happened. I flipped the switch a few more times, the bulb flashed on once, went back on, and that was that. Aside from that, the water really is quite cloudy. I am not super picky and I expected (and was okay with) it being a bit cloudy. It is much worse than I expected. I bought the exact same brand (in yellow/blue) in the store a few weeks ago. It was a touch cloudy, but worked fine, so it was really disappointing to not have the same experience with the clear/black one. We'll be returning this one and probably purchasing another yellow/blue. 11/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st one "milky" 2nd one PERFECT I ordered the lamp and was heart sick when I opened it to see it was so cloudy it was like looking through milk, I could not even hardly see the black wax :( . So I went back online and ordered another exact lamp. When I was text-ed that my order was in I took the milky one back for full credit,opened the new one right there in the pick-up area and was so happy to see that it is perfectly clear and black wax as pictured. This one is how it should be. Sometimes you have to be patient and send it back until you get a good one. But it's worth it,because they are beautiful!!!! 05/17/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor quality product. This lava lamp liquid is very cloudy and murky. I have owned several lava lamps and never had one this cloudy out of the box. I am very dissapointed in this product's quality. 07/09/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total junk We bought this for our son's room. We plugged it in for the 4-6 hours like it said and it never did anything but become a solid long piece. It is most definitely not worth the money. 08/27/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing clear about it Cloudy and useless. 02/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by a great find and priced well lava lamp This item works great and despite what others say it works really well just a tiny bit cloudy but to be expected when it gets shaken up on the ride here. 04/12/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by cloudy The black is cool but the liquid is foggy. Not what I exspected. 03/16/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Okay The bulb burned out within one hour of using it in the clear liquid is very cloudy. 01/10/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Liquid cloudy The liquid has been cloudy even after running for 2 weeks straight 08/29/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lava lamp This was a birthday gift and the person loved it! 09/03/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by not so clear the first one we had the liquid was cloudy. We returned it and got another one, the liquid is better but not clear like water. 07/07/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed The unit takes a couple of hours for the bubbles to even start and once it does you can't keep it on for very much longer. Once the unit gets too hot the bubbles turn solid and quit moving. My son wanted to use it for a night light but that definitely won't be happening. I would have returned it if I had not thrown the box away. 07/21/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a boys room! My kids love it;0)) 11/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The write up on this item said the liquid was clear, but it's not. It's a milking orange color and the wax "lava" is more of a grey. The picture is not what the final product looks like. Though the lamp works well and shipped quickly, I would highly recommend another color. 01/22/2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lava Lamp This was a replacement for the first lava lamp I ordered for my grandson for Christmas. The first one was missing parts, waited 10 days for a replacement and this one doesn't work. The lava doesn't flow...it seems to be stuck or something. Pretty discouraged that 2 out of 2 haven't worked. Now we have to return it again! 01/11/2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cloudy This particular lava lamp is very cloudy. I ended up returning mine. I had it plugged in for 2 days hoping it would clear up, but it never did. I would not recommend this lava lamp. 12/29/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Christmas present Other than it taking two weeks to get here, my son is going to love it. I know I do! 12/24/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Black lava lamp I love it!! 09/15/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Works/looks just like the online picture. 09/07/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cloudy Inside is very cloudy. Not what I expected it to look like. 05/20/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by lava lamps My Grandson loves his black lamp, I got four more many colors for my grand daughters. they to enjoy them very much. ages 12 to 5. I had ordered the rainbow lamp but it is not as nice as it shows. you can not see the lava at all in the lamp. the water is to shaded. the grand children are very happy, Thanks 01/20/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by waste of time and money I had read the reviews on this product and still had to give it a shot. When I opened it the liquid was not clear but a milky white. I turned on the lamp and what usually takes a couple of hours to get the wax warm and start to flow took 5 hours. The wax was thick and wouldn't bubble right and the cloudy liquid was just a mess. I returned this product for a refund. 12/07/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by :-( I got this for my son and YES it's foggy just like everyone said it would be. However, my son is happy with it regardless but then again he is 13. If it would have been for me I would of definately taken it back but I'm happy if he's happy. 12/03/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Item received Item was totally shattered. 11/19/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Returned to customer service it was not worth having because the water was clouded. 09/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lava work find By all other review I think pointless because it seem to work find to me. It first turn cloudy when you turn it on but later on it work just fine. Turn it on leave it on for 5 hours and leave it off for 1 hour. 08/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daughter loves it. Several precautions due to heat including "do not use for longer than 8 hours at a time", fun to watch. 08/25/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Looks good when it works. Doesn't really work right. Have to shake it to make it go and the liquid is black and a yellow color. My daughter seems happy with it so for the $9 I paid we'll keep it even though I'd like to return it and get her something different. 08/18/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:40:08.038-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_16622918, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 31 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw254
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp