See All Reviews
Toshiba DVD Recorder/VCR Combo Player (DVR620)
Toshiba DVD Recorder/VCR Combo Player (DVR620)
$214.99
List Price: $249.99
You Save: $35.00 (14%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 27 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Difficult to operate We use the Toshiba VCR for recording programs when we're unable to view them. This product does that, but is extremely difficult to control and the very thick manual is hard to read and the instructions there don't work. Example, finish a recording under timer control, now just try to rewind the tape!! Very tricky and requires very quick sequence of several button presses. Manual says press stop and rewind. the Toshiba insists on going to DVD mode and won't rewind the tape, and won't switch to VCR when the VCR button is pressed. Frustrating. Definitely much much harder to use than our previous Sony DVD/VCR. The Sony got an electronic failure after 7 years. 11/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, cheap, complicated I bought this as a VCR (and DVD player) replacement for use with a satellite box. For that, it works fine. The pros: a low price (relative to other units), and it works as advertised for the first few days. Instant skip is nice, and the DVD recording quality is better than videotape. You can adjust the tracking (this is what went out on my last two VCRs; it's nice to be able to adjust that.) It plays a wide range of files and discs--including MPEGs and MP3 (claimed; I haven't tried it). The cons: There's no co-ax cable input. There's no tuner either, and it comes with RCA cables, but it's the first VCR I've seen without a co-ax input. DVD recording is much more complicated than recording a tape (you have to format the DVD first, and it makes a difference whether you're using DVD+WR or DVD-WR. It is much more complicated than recording to a DVD-ROM, and read the manual before you buy a lot of either.) There are complications, like if you want to delete a DVD recording, you use "top menu", not "disc menu". The manual is helpful, but why one button couldn't be used for both is unclear. The timer is harder to set than other products I've used (you have to use one button to set the timer, another one to finish setting the timer, and a third to turn the unit off and timer on.) There were some annoyances. It defaults to DVD for recording, with no way to change that. If you set the DVD recorder and timer, you can't replay the DVD until the timer has finished recording. Also, if you're playing a tape or DVD back, there's no easy way to show the clock on the display (you can show it on the TV itself, but that distracts from what you're watching.) The range of the remote could be improved, especially compared to other VCR remotes I've used. I haven't yet tried recording a DVD and playing it on another machine yet, and I haven't tried tech support. The manual did answer everything I needed so far, and if you're technically competent (or patient), this unit has a lot of nice features, especially for the price. 12/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does as advertised Also $40 bucks less than other stores. 11/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by plays just fine but will not record! instructions useless with little black box on top of the TV. This review may change if I can find some one to figure out how to connect the thing right. 11/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Purchased this DVD recorder per the reviews given. After setting up the unit, I tried to play VCR and kept getting " no signal ". I set up per the manual (which is stupid complicated) and still no signal. Decided to try the DVD, but the DVD tray would make a noise, but would not open, either by front panel or remote control. I am very disappointed in this unit. Brought it back for refund, but now am skeptical about using customer reviews to help in my new choice. Any suggestions????? 12/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product will not work with my TV. After trying several times to get this recorder to work, I find that because I do not have an HD tv it will not work. While setting up the recorder, the DVD drawer will not open. You can hear it trying to do something but will not open. The instructions ask you to click on your source of video on the tv's menu but there is no such option on my tv. There should be a disclaimer in the product write-ups that cover this situation. The Toshiba 800 number was far too busy to answer my call because of the Christmas rush on their products. My information came from a product forum. I have returned the recorder to Walmart for a full refund. 01/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great machine, eassy to use easy to use, one button for copy of VCR tapes to DVD, saved hundreds of dollars copying the family videos to DVD myself. DVD's play on TV and on Computer, Picture Quality with Up-Convert is impressive considering coming from a VCR tape 20yrs old. have not tried Cable/Tv to DVD Recording but expect the Quality to be exceptional. Use an HDMI cable for you Connection. Smart Device stops the VCR if you Fill Up the DVD and then all you need to do is load another DVD and continue again. Menus and titles can be added, Automatic "chapter" is real nice allows you to use the "skip" button to jump ahead on the DVD in 10min increments. You can even control the increment time size. Plays all of my Comerical VCR Tapes with an impressive picture on a High Def Plasma TV. Reasonable Price for a Product to Help Preserve Those Family Movies that cant be replaced. 12/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's a good product. Not too hard to set up. (I had the previous model.) This model's remote has a better design. It does what you wantit to. **You can't operate it without thee remote which isn't a good thing. 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect Researched DVD-VCR combos and this one looked the best. Tried to buy it from Best buy but they would not ship it to my daughter at Christmas. Found that walmart carried it and bought everything from walmart. Arrived in less than a week, in time for xmas to her. They easily hooked it up and have been enjoying it ever since! Thank you, Walmart! 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well and not overly complicated. This unit works. Set it up and save all your home movies and unprotected VHS to DVD. 12/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An advanced recorder at a resonable price. The unit has a variety of inputs and outputs which makes it simple to interface with TV's, tuners, VR's, etc. It has many more features than the average user will use, such as editing titles, playlists, chapter marks, etc. Just ignore the advanced features in the user manual and pick out what is needed for your application. Most of the basic functions can be programmed with the buttons on the box without using the remote. Be sure to 1. record, 2. edit title, 3. finalize in that order. DVD's cannot be played in another player without the finalize step. 10/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product Originally purchased this item at a national electronics store for $200.00. Checked walmart. Com and the same item sold for $148.00. Returned it to the electronics store and purchased it at walmart.com and saved $52.00 and received it within 5 days. 01/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth While This Unit has exceeded my expectations but I never give 5's to anything simply because nothing is perfect. But if you're looking for this type of unit, I suggest you look at this one very seriously. I found this item worth the value at the price I bought it for and YES, it was ON SALE when I bought it! Great move - Enjoy! 12/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo good for the price, but having trouble hooking it up to record from dvr. 12/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by problem getting it and it didn't work first day problem getting it and it didn't work. Carl 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The unit was a little hard for me to get set up and learn how to usae it but I am 81. Once it was set up it has been working just great and is easy to copy as I have about 80 some VHS tapes to put on DVD. I received it within 5 days of shipping and have been using it since on a regular basis. Would I buy another? You better believe it. 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is one of the best machines on the market. Easy to hook up and operate, transfers from my old vhs tapes to dvd or straight from my camcorder to dvd. EXCELLENT PRODUCT! 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It does everything I hoped it would do. I bought it primarily to be able to transfer my VCR tapes to DVD. It does a beautiful job. Some companies offer this service for $7 or so each, and this will pay for itself in a few weeks. I have over a hundred tapes to convert. 09/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Purchased this for a relative. Purchased this for a relative to replace a unit that quit working. He seems happy with it. 08/31/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO TRY AND MAKE "WORK" FOR ME I WAS SIMPLY UNHAPPY WITH THE PRODUCT TO THE POINT OF TAKING THE TIME TO READ OTHER PEOPLE'S "REVIEWS" TO LEARN OF THEIR SIMILAR FRUSTRATIONS/"ISSUES" AND WAS GLAD TO KNOW "IT'S NOT JUST ME!" I FOLLOWED INSTRUCTIONS AS BEST I COULD AND IT WAS NOT SUCCESFUL FOR ME. I THOUGHT I COULD SIMPLY PUT MY OLD VHS/VCR FORMAT ITEMS IN THE TRAY, PUT IN A BLANK AND RECORDABLE "DVD" AND MAKE THE CONVERSION. NOT NEARLY SO SIMPLE. 08/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The product 'set up' instructions were a little confusing, but once done, it works great. Just press play, pause, and start dubbing. The machine does the rest. (It normally does not require repeating the 'set up'). (Dont forget to finalize your disc) 08/18/2012
1-22 of 22 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew500
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp