Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The DVD/VCR combo is perfect. I was looking for a reasonable priced unit to replace our old VCRs. This unit allows teachers to continue to use their video tapes as well as any new DVDs they purchase. 10/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great VHS/DVD player! I have not had any problems with this VHS/DVD player since my purchase. I would recommend this to friends and family. 10/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price for a two n one I have several Disney movies that are VHS. My Grandchildren still love to watch them. VHS will be gone soon , so I purchased this so we could still watch our old movies and be able to watch the new ones which are DVD. Great price, neat and compact. Uses smaller space. Easy to use. 11/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not as user friendly as it could be! It's not easy to find a VCR of any kind so it was great to find this one at a great price and it's also the same brand as my tv. Am really struggling with setting the timer for recording-am not a genius at electronics but still! 10/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Only plays, doesn't record. Had to return this product. To me a 'VCR' means Video Cassette Recorder...which means I should be able to use it to 'record' shows from TV. However, this VCR can only record if you have a cable box to connect it through. We get our cable TV without a cable box...so we had no way to record shows. I think Toshiba should rename this product a VCP (video cassette player)...or come up with some name other than VCR. 01/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Toshiba Combo VCR/DVD player This product turned out to be a lemon. The DVD side worked, but it would not play videotapes. Ultimately, it was returned and a Magnavox product bought in it's place. The Magnavox product worked just fine and was $15 cheaper. 10/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good DVD/VCR player I had a little trouble getting started but when I figured out what each of the buttons on the remote did I found it easy to use. Both the VCR and DVD players produce a nice picture. 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product set up easy, just what I was loo Excellent Product, set up was easy. Researched other stores, however, Walmart had the best price. Thinking about purchasing another one as a gift. 11/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Even Grandma could use this I needed a unit that had both DVD and VCR capabilities as well as remote control. I had a very limited space to put it. This unit was easy to hook up and fit easily into the space I had available. 11/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Didn't work for playing VHS tapes I got this DVD/VCR combo player so we could play our old VHS movies and kid's programs. After making all the proper connections we found that the DVD worked great both with sound quality and picture quality. But when playing the VCR there was a constant hum or buzz which seemed to be coupled to the picture brightness. The buzz became intolerable when the volume was turned up loud enough to hear the soundtrack. The manual suggested to adjust the tracking which did reduce the buzzing somewhat. But the buzzing could not be eliminated which I find totally unacceptable. I returned the unit for a refund. I will not buy another one of that brand because the Quality Control of a product should not be the final customer, which unfortunately seems to be the case so frequently these days. 12/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I've had great results with a Toshiba VCR/DVD combo I had purchased a few years back for a TV in one of my rooms, so I decided to purchase a new Toshiba VCR/DVD combo to replace a non working DVD player, and what acts like a soon-to-not-be working VCR player in another room (seeing that VCR's are becoming a thing of the past I thought I could kill two birds with one stone for both rooms). My old Toshiba combo was so easy to connect even when I connected it with my stereo receiver (which is also older) for stereo/surround sound. But not so with this new one. It's a non-tuner model. It has no antenna input/output connection like the older one. Maybe these non-tuner model's were made for newer TV's; mine are older. My goal was to replace the older one in room one with the newer one but I could only get the stereo to play through the DVD player and not the VCR. Could not get the radio receiver to even play seperately. So after literally hours of connecting and reconnecting I had had it. I reconnected the older combo back in the first room, easily I might add, and returned the new unit to the store. I then purchased a single DVD player for the TV in the other room that has the older VCR. 02/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a great buy I bought 1 of these on Jan 5. It worked really great, for a few days and then it started to eat up tapes. After it ate 2 in 15 minutes, I decided it needed to go. But I'm a glutton for punishment, so I ordered another one and got in on the 13th. Hooked it up, set it up to record and it worked beautifully!!! Got up the next morning to watch the tape and the machine wouldn't do anything but kick the tape out. That tape and every other one I put in. Tried unplugging it to let it 'reset' but to no avail. Took it back on the 14th. Even tried to contact Toshiba, but when I put in the serial #, they couldn't even find it. Not Good! I give up on Toshiba!! Now I'm trying the Magnavox DVD Rec/VCR. So far... so good. 01/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reasonably priced for a hard to find DVD/VHS combo. Only have it for 2 months and no problems. Picture is clear, easy to set up as 1-2-3. Would recommend it. 11/29/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was disappointed that it needed extra wiring to connect to the TV and Time Warner connection. To have the TV work, it has to work through the VCR. My last VCR had this extra feature that allowed it to connect without additional wiring. It is an average performer. 11/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I am giving this such a poor review becuase you have to have an external tuner, dish box, or cable box in order to record anything. They are apparently making all of the new models this way now. So if you don't have the boxes and don't want to have to purchase an external tuner (which are relatively high), do not buy this product. I returned mine. Why would they make something that you have to buy additional parts in order for it to work properly??? 03/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good Combo DVD/VCR, so far I know technology is moving on, away from VHS, but there are many of us with a large collection of VHS movies, we like to watch. I have had trouble with several combos, all different brands, & always with the DVD player part of the unit. I don't understand it with all the electronic advances why they don't last longer, but apparently there are a lot of bad units out there. I know, because I have several now with the VCR working perfectly and the DVD kerplunk! Sure they all worked in the beginning, but in short time, the problems started. The last combo player I had was a Sony, which would take 20 minutes to read only to tell you the disc could not be played, when there was nothing wrong with the disc. I am not ready to give up on combo players yet, that is why I will try this one, another different brand, and hope for the best. Wal-Mart shipped it out promptly, and it was a quick & easy set up. It played both tapes and discs, as it should, straight out of the box. Now, only time will tell if it can perform long past the rest. 01/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The product is very good for what I purchased it for - to play old VCR tapes. What really bugs me though - twenty days later the price droped from $82.00 to 69.00 11/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Toshiba dvd/vcr works excellent using the dvd portion and the vcr section allows us to view our older vhs tapes. A great price for this Toshiba combo. 11/12/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD experience Ordered this Toshiba product online. It was an OLD, discontinued model (2008 is my best guess, based on the setup options, and when I called for tech support I was told the warranty had expired (trhe day after I bought it) and this model was no longer eligible for tech support. Bit of a tricky headache for the local Walmart to refund, but they rose to the occasion and I got my money back. Main problem is it did NOT come with an external tuner, needed to record, which is why I bought it. Not a word about this in the online description. LOOKS like a great price, but don't do it. 03/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great product this is a great player, i have many old vhs tapes and this plays them well. it is a great dvd player with great features. 02/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Deal Bought this for a friend who is stuck in "the past" with her VHS tapes. Her old machine broke. I looked at a number of units. This VCR was simple, cheap, and got the job done. She was very happy. Many of the other machines have way too many gadgets that can break. Good luck choosing! 01/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Product for the price This is a fantastic product as long as you are looking for something simple to play both VHS tapes and DVDs. I bought it prior to the holidays and it has proven to be well worth my money. I used to have another VHS/DVD player and after a few years, it stopped working well. And so, I bought this. It's great. I have a simple HD flat TV and the connection was not that hard. If you are not looking for something super high tech, then this is a very good buy. 01/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excelent purchase, for my mother whom still uses VHS tapes and also uses dvds, but the overall selling point was the ease of use, and the picture was excellent. She's happy and I got an great price for xmas. 01/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad if you use converter box The DVD/VCR combo works fine with the televison, but gave up on running it through the antenna converter box to the tv to record. It is confusing to set-up and use. Rather than buying additional cables and running the risk of it still not working, it is now in a back room with the kids' media used as a player only. GREAT CLOSED CAPTIONING. 12/23/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by no tv in or tv out for co-ax cable I have cable without a converter box. This dvd/vcr combo has no co-axial cable spot for the cable line to go into. You would have to buy adapters. The buttons on the remote are very small. The product did work, but I couldn't record as it wasn't connect to the cable line. 12/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by inexpensive and easy to use 12/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOTHING in the description of this product told me that it required an external tuner in order to tape using the VCR ...in other words, you have to have a cable box AND you can only tape from the channel you are watching or that it's set on in One Touch Recording ... it is totally useless as a VCR if you want to tape ... only good if you are watching tapes already taped ... a HUGE disappointment! 02/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing on all levels 1. If you have co-axial cable TV service, this won't connect to the cable service unless you buy an expensive converter kit, although the box that it comes in says it is co-axial cable compatible. The plugs on the unit are not co-axial cable plugs. 2. It won't record from your TV. You must have cable or satellite because it doesn't have a tuner. So, if your cable or satellite signal comes in over a co-axial cable, you will not be able to record unless you buy a converter kit. 3. Hooking it up is a nightmare. The directions are obscure and incomplete. And the three plug cords they supply are too short to reach to the TV. 4. The worst thing about it is that the instructions tell you in big, bold letters, not to return it to the store, but to call customer service for assistance. However, you can never get through to a human. They give you several different telephone numbers to call. They give you choices of different products for which you need help. But eventually, they give you two options that don't apply to your product at all, and when you don't choose either, they hang up on you. If you try to connect with customer service, they tell you to go to their website where they have different phone numbers that also don't connect you to a human. I spent three days trying to get help, and finally gave up. 5. Because I wanted a vcr/dvd combination, I didn't have any real options besides this product. So, I finally hired someone to help me. This professional had to come back twice to get it to work. I have always been able to connect up my tv electronics in the past and have never had to have help. Because I didn't buy the thirty dollar conversion kit, the unit will not record, only play. Because it was so complicated, the man I hired didn't want to deal with the recording function. 6. This product periodically interfers with the incoming signal to the TV. It seems to be transmitting a disruptive signal that blocks the DVD picture, and, even the cable reception. I would call customer service to ask about it, but TOSHIBA HAS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! I will NEVER buy another product from Toshiba again!! 10/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fully functional as described does come without the proper connection cables to hdtv which we had to buy seperately. easy to setup and connect once we got the correct hd cables. provide ultra clear picture. a good buy for the money. Seen this model @ 120.00 down to $89.00 nothing match walmarts price though. Toshiba support number leaves a lot to be desired. Called re the cable issue and was told they did not provide that kind of support. 08/30/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble with hook up I can't tell you how it works, because I can not get it hooked up! I had one , so I thought unhook that one and hook up this one. That was not the case. This unit does not have an "Ant in "and an "Ant out"..so had to rearrange all the cords. I can hear the DVD/VCR playing while the TV picture is still on. When I switch to VCR , I do not get a picture or sound. I finally had it working after 4 hours of playing around...the the next day , not working again. I am hoping once I get it hooked up I will like it! 03/26/2012
1-30 of 127 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew318
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp