See All Reviews
Berkley Fusion Smooth & Strong Spinning Combo Rod and Reel
Berkley Fusion Smooth & Strong Spinning Combo Rod and Reel
$29.84
List Price: $30.96
You Save: $1.12 (4%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rod and reel. Nice and sturdy rod, but the tip is still flexible enough to give good indication on bites. Reel seems well constructed with pretty smooth operation, reel handle can be switched for lefty's. I do have a few gripes though, the line loaded on the reel has to be the WORST line I have ever encountered. The line was extremely weak and after further inspection I noticed it was frayed in spots. Would snap every time I tried a cinch knot, and lost a few sinkers/hooks when it snapped mid-cast. Just restring it to save a headache. My only other dislike is the color combination, you can't see this thing at night. All in all, it's good pole...once you put acceptable line on it. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deadly combo... I bought this combo to fish in my local carp derby, I cant be more pleased with it. Great action, super sensitive, handled heavy fish without a problem. I'll definetly buy another. 06/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought one of these combos last year. I was pleased enough with it that I bought another one today. I saw another review someone wrote about not liking the line on the reel. I spun both of these up with new line so that I would know what was on the reel. The value is in the rod and reel - not the line - you should spin up new line every year anyways. I primarily use these spinning combos on my boat for flounder and mackeral (when I need striper bait) and they work great. Hard pressed to beat these for about $30. 05/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i got this rod and reel combo and it is GREAT! it has smooth reeling and the tip has great sensitivity. it's perfect for catfishing. thanks ,berkley and walmart. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great combo! So i picked this up at my local store today. I was planning on buying the cheapest rod they had at walmart and a shakespeare bigwater reel. When i got there they were out of all the cheap medium-heavy rods so i was going to have to spend 30 bucks on an ugly stick spinning reel plus 25 on the reel. Didnt want to spend that much so i was looking around and saw this combo. I picked it up and it was exactly what i wanted! Sturdy, medium heavy rod and the reel is rated for 25lb line. I thought i wish i could get this but it will cost way too much! Then i looked at the price and it was 30 bucks. So i went ahead and bought this and powerpro 50lb braided line. Such a good buy! Havent fished it yet but replaced the line and did a few casts in the yard. Feels great, going to the lake this weekend to test it. Al in all this is a great buy. 06/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great rod I brought this rod to nples with me for fishing in the ocean. The line was strong and resisted medium sized sharks and big fish. I recommend this to everyone. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great!!! I got this around Christmas and over the last 8 months I have been extremely satisfied with it. I've pulled in countless catfish and carp over 10 lbs with this rod. My personal bests on this rod are a 17 lbs flathead catfish and a 42 lbs grass carp. One of the other reviews claimed that a 2 lbs catfish broke the reel and another claimed the tip broke on the first day they used it......Frankly I think these reviews are either people reviewing the wrong rod or are just internet trolls. My only complaint is that the reel had too much line on it when I bought it. I had a couple "birds nests" the first few times I took it out. But it's working great now. I'll buy this combo again when the current one breaks. 08/10/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Bought this in may of 2012 for striper fishing. Caught over a dozen keepers through the season. largest one being a 38 inch... rod and reel still work great. I would recommend to spray the rod and reel down with fresh watch after every use so it does not rust on you. Overall super happy about how this rod and reel handled the abuse I put it through. Would recommend for a gift to anyone 01/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A true beast Best reel and rod combo ive bought in a long time. loving the smooth retrieve and smooth long casting of this combo. i have had no problems with mine what so ever. If you need a good river pole or something for larger fish def a GREAT buy 03/23/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by decent overall for the price caught a 17 lb striper and 23 lb channel cat and countless 5-10 lb catfish. rod held up its end and the drag system could be better but for 32 bucks no complaints. the reel comes prespooled with too much line and has a lot of memory (who knows how long its been on the spool) so if its in your budget buy some new line and use the line on spool for leaders or scrap it. if not in your budget i would recomend removing 30-50 feet of line as this will help reduce problems with casting due to too much line on the spool. overall a good buy. i took spool apart and applied a bit more grease to gears as i feel all reels dont come with enough from factory. 01/04/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money Got this rod and reel for fathers day and used it for about an hour or so and the tip broke off. This is a large sturdy feeling rod and reel and you wouldn't think that it would break so easy. 06/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved it. It worked great. 08/29/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Combo for the Price The action is perfect on this combo outcasting a custom rod as well as all my others including the Shakespeare 7'. Stiff enough to put on an 1.25 oz inline and 1/4 oz bucktail without losing yardage in a cast because of the weight. I was worried about the breakage because of a few reviews. I've broken several Ugly Stiks and a Rhino during casting or getting hung up, but second season this bargain rod is going strong. I am impressed enough that I am ordering a second. I give it four stars because the reel is not smooth on retrieval like it's off balance so it wobbles or shakes on a fast retrieve. After all it's not expensive so you can't expect a lot out of the reel. This is a combo well worth the price. 08/15/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by first time use "broke" my third time reeling in, and the reel handle broke. i have fished for over 20 years and never been so unhappy. terrible design. the reel shaft is very thin and it broke with no fish on my line. 05/05/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This combo worked great the first time I used it. However a week later it would not crank. Further inspection revealed the bearings and main shaft completely rusted. I had used it for salt-water flounder fishing and flushed it with fresh water after fishing but it still was rusted badly. I love the action of the rod and am sending the reel in to see what kind of customer service they have... will let you know if they come through.... 09/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away Reel broke the second time I got a fish on. A 2 pound blue cat broke the bail clean off the reel when it hit my bait. A rod and reel this size should be able to handle much, much larger fish. 05/18/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by dont buy Broke first time I used it 06/08/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by All was going good till got snagged. Then the pole snapped while trying to break free. This happened on the second day I owned it and used it. I am not a kid and not my first rodeo. only pole I've ever snapped off trying to unsnag a pole. Love the reel may just get a new rod to use with reel. 07/21/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke on first "hit" Dropped down to the bottom, first time I even thought I had a hit (and I probably didn't) I went to set the hook and the rod just snapped in half! I don't know how good the reel is - I am debating on putting it on another rod, but might just throw it away. Don't waste your money. 06/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is a great rod and reel combo 02/16/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:18:08.494-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_16606615, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-21 of 21 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew287
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp