See All Reviews
GE Video Signal Amplifier
GE Video Signal Amplifier
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 13 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent add-on for over the air TV broadcast I gave up cable about six months ago and have enjoyed the extra $150.00 a month in my pocket. Between Netflix and Hulu, pretty much all my shows are covered. Local and National sports and news on the other hand are a different story. I purchased an over the air antenna for this purpose but found that when I split the signal between two tvs, I lost a significant number of channels on both tvs. This amplifier was the answer and it saved me a lot of headaches from constantly moving the antenna around (it is on the roof)! The most important tip I can give is to make sure this amplifier is connected between the antenna and the splitter. I had initially tried connecting it between the cable in my house and the tv and it did not do much as the signal was already fairly distorted by that point. Placing this amplifier close to the original source, the antenna, and before the signal is split is the key to getting great results from this product. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to avoid a bunch of headaches! 07/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by For amplifying signal for long-run antennae This product worked extremely well for me. I believe there might be confusion as to the purpose of the device, which may account for some of the ratings. I don't believe the device will help you pick up signals out of range without the device. However, it will amplify the signal you get, which will help the signal stay strong should the antennae be far from your TV, and it may also improve signals that your antennae picks up but are somewhat weak. In my case, I attached the antennae directly to my TV without using this device. Then, I moved the antennae to the attic and I completely lost all signals due to the extra wire and connectors between the antennae and the TV. Once I put this device in the line, not only was my reception as good as when the antennae was right by the TV, but it was better. Stations that were coming in weak and pixelated improved. So overall, clearly worked. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use - instance difference Pros - Best $25 product i have bought so far! took about 5 minutes to hook up (crawled up into attic where our antenna is plugged it in hooked up the in and out (about 4 feet of R-6 cable from antenna - then about 150 to 175 feet to TV) works way better than expected. Did a channel search got 8 more channels on top of the 10 channels i lost with the added R-6 cable. No Cons at the present moment. 09/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thrilled! We have a Channel Master 2020, and we were using a -10db, we were not getting as many channels as our old(from the early '60's) antenna....went and found this at my local store, hooked it up from cable/ant outlet at wall, then to tv....it's worth every penny and we are now going to keep our week old Channel Master 2020!! With Walmart's easy return policy we had nothing to lose by trying this.......if you're on the fence about getting this, go ahead and try it, you may end up thrilled like we are!! 05/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This amp changed nothing. I tried installing it in the house and close to the antenna and neither place made any difference. Not sure if it is defective or what, but i had no change in signal strength. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Did The Trick!! I was using a RCA mini drop in line -10db amp, but when I installed this amplifier I noticed a big difference. The channels I was getting a good signal off my ChannelMaster antenna went to a very strong signal. Also channels that were weak went to normal signal. Keep in mind a signal amplifier only improves signal strenght of channels you are already getting. The misconception is that one of these will give you more OTA channels, BUT usually that is not the case. Hookup was simple and took less than five minutes. BTW strongly advise you plug it into a the surge protector you should have on your tv! 05/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not work at all for aluminum antenna Plugged it in about 15' from aluminum "Christmas tree" antenna, changed signal from 40% to 0%. Installed an electrical outlet in the attic just for this item, but it was returned to Walmart. At least the channels come in pretty good without it. Running 4 TVs with at least 200' of coax. 04/12/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worse for me than my cheaper model. I have a tiny signal amplifier but still lose a couple of channels at times. I was hoping this would improve my situation. Instead it hardly worked at all. I went from 11 channels to only 1. Perhaps my product was defective. I don't see why it worked worse than a cheaper, weaker product. 04/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good signal booster at a reasonable price We installed this on our existing antenna, now have a clear picture and sound on all channels, [over 50 miles from St Louis TV stations]. Very happy with the amplifier, it also allowed us to run an extremely long coax line [168 feet] to put a TV in the garage. 09/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Device! I hooked this up to my rabbit ear antenna in the first floor bedroom. Ran a 25 foot coax cable from the booster to my hole house structured wiring box in the basement that has 8 tv coax hookups and is also a booster. This thing works great! Got a strong signal to the basement. I live in the Metro Detroit area and I get 20 stations with rabbit ear antenna and can hook it up to any tv in the house using my structured wiring with clear crisp picture. Thinking on getting cheap attic antenna from Walmart and use that instead of the rabbit ears. Now this device does not boost the signal from the tv stations so you get more channels, it just boost for long cable runs from the antenna. The longer cable run from the antenna, the more the singal gets weaker to the tv. 09/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Quality Did what I needed it to. I had a week signal from my antenna attached the amplifier in line and haven't had a problem since. 08/21/2012
1-12 of 12 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew396
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp