Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 82 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rubbermaid Roughneck 3 Gallon Storage Outstanding product for storing and organizing product both inside the house and outside in the garage. Looked all over for this product and very few retailers had this item either available or in stock. Buying by the case and delivered to the house is much more convenient than running store to store to see if they have in stock. These containers are more attractive to store rather than having hundreds of boxes with different items in them, all being different sizes. Labeling the side makes easier to identify the items in each storage container. Using the same color and different size containers makes it convenient to stack and keep everything uniform. Walmart had the best price per unit, and shipping was fast per their website. 10/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Storage Boxes I purchased the 10 gal storage boxes in the past through a local retailer and was very satisfied with the boxes. My last purchase was made recently through this website. These were the 14 gal storage boxes. I was somewhat dissatisfied when I unpacked them from the cardboard box they were shipped in and noticed a very strong burnt plastic smell. I separated the storage boxes and kept them in my garage for two weeks before I used them. The smell was reduced significantly, but is still there. I hope Rubbermaid is able to improve their molding process because these are good storage boxes by design. 10/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for all kinds of stuff! These storage boxes are great! I store clothes, electronics & other things in these boxes. My stuff always stays dry, clean & smell-free. I stack them easily, thanks to the way the lids are designed, awesome! I think these Roughneck boxes are the best, nobody can match the quality. Thanks Rubbermaid! 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Camp Kit!! I have been having my Girl Scouts pack in the 18 Gal. Roughneck totes for several years. I had a parent purchase a different brand (it was less expensive) for her daughters to pack in for our weeklong camping trip. When we evacuated for tornados, we had to leave the totes behind. When we returned, our tent looked like a swimming pool! The girls that had the "other" totes didn't come back to camp so their totes stayed closed up. I didn't think to check those totes as ours (the Rubbermaid totes) were dry inside. When I took their stuff to them and they opened them up, boy, what a mess!! Everything was wet and smelly!! I have used the same totes for going on 10 years, not only for my personal packing but also for my food, craft supplies, everything I need for a week in the woods!! I will buy only the Rubbermaid Roughneck totes as they have withstood the hot and cold, dry and wet, also tornados of Oklahoma weather!!Thank You for a quality product!! 06/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 great product with one caveat... These things are just great overall. However, one caveat is in order. These storage boxes, especially the lids, do not bear up well in hot climates. Heat seems to make the plastic go brittle over the course of a few years. I'm in Arizona, and have found the conditions in an un-cooled storage unit to take a nasty toll on these things. I wish I could buy the lids separately. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by These bins are almost perfect. These bins are amazing. They are the only bins we use. We've thrown out all of our Sterilite bins. Roughnecks don't crack; the lids are a standard size (no searching the right lid to the right bin); and the lids always stay on. I only wish they came in more colors. We use them for all of our home storage and it would be very nice if we could have red bins for Christmas stuff, green for Easter stuff, blue for summer stuff, orange for Halloween stuff, white for winter stuff, etc... We try to make use of the existing color selections and we do label the bins, but the lighting isn't very good in the attic and it would be a lot easier to find the bins we want if there were more of a color selection. 04/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Durable, versatile product Happy to be able to get this product. I have used rubbermaid tubs for ferret housing before and need to replace the worn scratched ones. A group of ferret owners and I went together for our ferrets needs. Thank You. 02/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have recommended all the Vornado products to people.The fans are outstanding and the company is very good to work with. I have ordered from them many times. 12/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Engineer Good fan for a small room. Will only blow only horizontal and vertical direction. 12/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Fan! I purchased this fan for myself, since I have slept with a fan on for my entire life. I was tired of replacing a typical box or oscillating fan every year or so, so when this fan was for sale on the Vornado Website, I jumped at the opportunity to buy it. So far, I have left it running almost continuously in my room and I have to say that it is definitley powerful. I have it on the floor beside the air vent, and I have it pointed toward the ceiling. I have vaulted ceilings and even laying in bed with the fan on, you can feel the gentle breeze flowing down the walls and across your skin. It is amazing. Even on high its not near as noisy as my old box fan, but it moves probably 5 times the air that the old fan did. I love the fact it has a 5 year warranty, and it looks modern and stylish. The conrol knob is easy to reach, and I am pleased with my purchase. 12/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great performance for cost Very impressed with quality and performance of this item. Easily circulates air in 16 by 24 family room. 12/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roughneck storage I used to grow Aloe Vera plants in my back yard. I needed storage containers for the cactus mix, rock, peat moss, perlite, fertilizer etc. When I had to transplant the smaller aloe to a bigger pot I had to arrange the needed material close by and that's when I discovered the roughneck containers on the advice of a friend's suggestion. One of the roughneck's was used to hold the material as I mixed it to the desired mix for the new planting. When I was done, the lids went on and then they were stacked next to the fence. The rubbermaid roughneck storage containers were the perfect contianers because they did not crack or break under the extra heavy material I put in them. Now I have one on my house where I keep some of my current genealogical papers for our family tree. 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've had these boxes in my garage for a long time. They're very tough and have withstood a lot of abuse. 11/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by dimensions not accurate Product is great but product dimensions are not the sizing at the bottom of the container ; they merely reflect the opening at the top of the container , therefore won't fit items that would be accomodated by the so called size because of tapering of the container from top to bottom . 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome products i love the storage bins...i keep winter stuff in the storage bins during the summer and vice versa, so it doesn't get musty and dusty...when i pull the clothing/toys/blankets out they still smell as fresh as when i put it away..i can't say enough good things about them :o) everybody should have these!! 08/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roughneck = Right Stuff I have always been very happy with the durability of roughneck storage boxes and make it a point to only purchase Roughneck products. I have been very, very disappointed with cheaper imitations and have learned the hard way that low price is not worth the risk and agony of broken containers. 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love them My storage is nice and organized with these containers. Its also good to know mice or other little animals are not going into my stuff and ruining everything. I got a red one during Christmas so it holds all my ornaments and anything else and its easy to know what box has my Christmas stuff in it 07/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Christmas would be a mess without Rubbermaid! I LOVE LOVE LOVE these storage boxes! My storage room is neatly filled with dozens of Rubbermaid boxes, all filled with all my Christmas ornaments and decorations ... all neatly organized by type and color! An organizational junkie's dream!! Rubbermaid storage boxes are SO durable, they have held up so well over the years and through moves. Thank you Rubbermaid!! 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME product! Finally, a place to sing the praises of the Rubbermaid Roughneck Storage Box! I've been using these for over 20 years, both for personal storage and in my used book business. I've got well over 500 of them now, and I have seen exactly one of them ever fail (more on that below). They are not only the best tote for the money, they are the best tote in existance, bar none, and possibly the best product of any kind I've ever bought. Strong praise, I know; I don't generally rave like this, but they deserve it! Here's why: They're strong and durable. They last and last. They're flexible, so if they get bent out of shape you just pop them back into shape. If they've been bent for awhile they'll hold that shape a little for a few days or weeks, but soon you can't see the difference. Most of my old ones you can't tell from my new ones; they get a bit scuffed but basically they stay the same. I've used mine in a traveling setup for 20 years, loading and unloading, packing and unpacking them many times a year, and they are still going strong. They perform as well in very cold weather as they do in very hot weather; I use them in northern Canada in winter, and outdoors in hot Mid-Atlantic U.S.A. summers. They're stackable. I use the ten gallon size for books and magazines, and as long as the boxes are full they stack six or more high and are very stable. To be safe I'd not stack more than four or so without a wall or other stacks to keep them upright, but you could; if they are full and not overfilled they stack quite high and the stack stays stable. The totes are well-designed not to crush even when several are stacked on top of each other when they're holding lightweight to medium-weight things, such as clothes or yard sale items, but if you're storing books you have to be sure the bottom boxes of your stack are full; otherwise you will get the Leaning Tower of Storage! I have shelves that fit two stacked totes, and that works well also. Plus, the empty totes stack well, which helps to conserve space. They are water-resistant. Moisture is the enemy of books, and I never have to worry when my books are in these totes. I once accidentally left two stacked totes full of magazines in the yard for 2 months, through several bad storms, and the magazines were still in perfect condition. The totes are waterproof, but of course the lid does not make a waterproof seal, so as long as you don't actually submerge the whole tote in water, the water's not going to get in. Rain is no problem, no matter how hard it rains or in what direction. They look nice. My show booth is hunter green, and the hunter green totes look classy. In the storage sheds, the stacks of totes arranged neatly on shelves are so much more attractive than odd boxes or other tacky-looking totes. Even in the house, they look nice enough that you don't have to hide them in closets and under beds (as long as your stack is all the same color). They keep my stuff free of dirt, bugs, and critters. Mice and such can't get in unless they chew through the box, which they are capable of doing, but I've never had that happen, though I haven't stored food in them long-term. We have had mice, and they have gotten into drawers and shelves and made nests and pooped on things and ruined things; we switched to storing things in those shelves and drawers in totes; no more problem. Dust and dirt, like rain, don't get in. Little bugs could get in, but they don't seem to; I've never had a problem with them. I throw a few silverfish baits in the book totes, and a few mothballs in the sweater totes, just in case. They are comfortable to move and carry, too. The handles fit my hands well, and the sizes are not unweildy. The lids are not prone to popping off. They are the perfect fit for my needs. For books and magazines, I use the 10-gallon size. The larger totes are too heavy when filled with books and magazines, and their narrower bases aren't ideal. Two stacks of magazines or large books, or four stacks of ordinary size books fit perfectly in one 10-gallon tote. Plus, you can mail them; on book-buying trips, I can mail books home in the totes to save space in the van. I also use the totes, mostly still the 10-gallon, which are the most convenient size for me, but also the 14-gallon, for other purposes. Besides the ordinary household uses (clothes, linens, holiday decorations), I use them for dogsledding and horse-camping trips, and in the tack room. One tote each for dog harnesses, sled bags, dog booties, baggies of pre-measured dog or horse food, horse blankets, saddle pads, etc., etc. We do pack people food in the totes for camping trips and have never had a problem. We pretty much just use them for everything! Drawbacks and problems: These are very minor, few and far between. Labels don't stick well on them, and will fall off eventually. You can write on the totes themselves, but I don't like to, as I re-use them. I had one tote that just completely disintegrated once, which was very weird; you could just crumble it in your hands. It had been in a storage space for several years. I'd love to know what the deal was on that one, Rubbermaid; I figured it was just one from a bad batch of plastic; all the other totes in the stack were fine, and are still fine. But I'd say that one tote out of well over 500 in constant use for 20 years is a pretty good average! In conclusion (finally!), thank you so, so much, Rubbermaid, for this wonderful product! I recommend these to everyone. I've tried the others, and they simply don't hold a candle to these. Never stop making them; there is no replacement! 06/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for our use! My lastest purchase was the 31 gallon bins to replace the bins that we had been using for over 10 years. I must say, the bins far exceeded our demands for our food ministry service, and for the length of time they were put to the task, awesome! I was only dismayed by the color we recieved, I thought we would get that 'new' blue steel color that we ordered, but got the regular grey. Other than that, we are totally pleased with the order. 04/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great storage, seals nicely! Great stacking storage. Use these for cat food and litter. They seal nicely. Wish they came in more colors, so I could see what is in them quickly. Good price. 02/08/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Have Changed The 2 steel color boxes bought are ok but the lids do not fit properly. The 2 dark indigo ones have thin bottoms and tops (you can see light coming through in a few spots). Also, the tops are warped but fit. The few places that carry them in my area were out of stock. Since I had to use them right away, did not send back. Have many roughnecks (some bought over 10 years ago) that are still good. I think the older ones will still be here when these are gone. 02/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great storage box! I'm just putting away my Christmas decorations in my Rubbermaid storage boxes. Have been using the same storage boxes for many years and have found it to really keep my labor time to a minimum, plus the added advantage of storing my decorations in a clean, waterproof, rodent proof (yes, sometimes we've had the creatures break-in to our crawlspace!), and good-sized Rubbermaid unit has been a great help! I highly recommend this product! 01/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best I have used the rough neck containers to ship all of my belongings between Georgia, Alaska, Florida and they are still holding up great and ready to make another move back to Alaska. I have been moving around with the same containers over 8-10 years. I thought they were rough with your belongings in the Bahamas, but Alaska have them beat especially in the bush areas. I have used other containers and none can with stand the moving from state to state like these. 12/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE my Roughneck Boxes! I have them in some nifty colors! I got rid of all my other brands, sold the contents and then the tubs, now have ONLY Roughnecks! It keeps our storage room so tidy and it's so easy to find what we want. 11/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My basement is full of these I hate cardboard boxes and after our move our basement was full of them. I went out and bought a whole bunch of Roughneck Storage Tubs and my basement now looks so organized. I like knowing that my things are protected from water damage (and an angry cat when she is left alone). What a great product 10/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by best move ever my last few moves have been in the winter and this past move I swore would be in warm weather. It was April, but rainy. Everything was packed in the rough necks, green, blue & tan.. everything was protected from the rain and fit perfectly stacked together. I labelled them so it made unpacking easy. I stored all the seasonal things back in the roughnecks. It's the best moving solution. 06/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by All You Need The Roughneck Storage Box holds an enormous amount of stuff. The snap on lid makes it easy to move without the lid flopping off. The lid is also sturdy enough that you can put things on top without the lid caving in. Lastly it looks nice enough that you don't need to hide it. 02/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Worth the Roughneck I have returned to Roughneck storage bins. After a few years of buying cheaper "other brands" I have discovered most of the off brands have broken or cracked with cold weather. They become brittle in a cold garage and attic in my Michigan climate. Roughneck storage is worth it's weight in gold, they stay flexible, and I have never broke a single one! My only suggestion is for some (non-pink) girly colors to the Roughneck line! Like peach and soft yellow! 02/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Go-To-Container This is my favorite container of the Rubbermaid line. I bought many of these when they where on sale and have been very happy with them. I like that they are very rugged but also seal well. These are VERY stackable too. 02/16/2010
1-30 of 77 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw332
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp