See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good sound, short on comfort, with a short cord. I purchased the Sony MDR-ZX100 headphones to replace an older model, Sony MDR-CD60, hoping they would be equivalent in performance and comfort. The new MDR-ZX100 sounds good, but they are not as comfortable to wear - they feel small, and the cord length is ridiculously short: 47-1/4'' (1.2M) is not barley long enough! The cord length on the older Sony headphones is over 80 inches in length. 07/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by pretty AWSOME must admit i'm not one of those studio guys, but i still think that these are some of the best headphones i have had. These are amazing in voice clarity, the bass is good, and they are pretty comfortable, and unless you need to be really freaking far from the object your listening to than the cord is perfectly long enough for you to use, it comes just lower than my knee's when i stand up. all in all this is a great buy for $20. 11/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I used to have a pair of skullcandy lowriders valued at about $40 and they were small, flimsy and died on me in a month. these headphones are more sturdy, are comfortable and stay on my head, even when I look down. they sound good, I can hear everything in the music and it's all very clear. Not as much bass as I expected, but you can still hear it. not a bad pair of headphones for only $20. 01/03/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by These are not too comfortable. They just sit on top of your ears, do not form to them at all. Sound is ok. Pretty short cord too. 07/08/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worse than my breaking $10 headphones :( I was hoping that these would be good headphones after owning about 4 or 5 Sony brand headphones in a row, but alas these did not meet expectations. First the headphones feel extremely cheap, hollow like. Second they fit awkward, the band is to large for any head and puts more pressure than usual on top of your head, especially for their weight, and the foam is pretty stiff. Third and most important the audio quality is lacking, there is no bass to speak of and the mids are weak too, the treble is ok but nothing special. They also don't get loud at all and starts crackling at a lower volume than would be expected for 30mm drives. These do not block noise either you can hear yourself clap softly at full volume and can understand them while they are being worn from across a large room. I might still get earbuds from Sony but never again will I get their studio style, I have tried the MDR-NC7 headphones too and was not happy with those either, returning both. One thing that is good about these headphones is the cord, one of the beefiest I have ever seen on headphones, even so it is way to short and hardly reaches your pocket while standing. 01/03/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ok I guess I picked this headset almost a year ago and I have had a love hate relationship with them. I got them because they were only $20 and i needed a new pair. About three months later one of the speakers went out and I was only getting sound for one ear. I stopped using them for a while and recently have given them another chance and they work fine with both ears functioning. I would recommend going with another brand like Skullcandy. 08/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good headphones for listening in on live and chats I got these to use for listening to my instructor in my chats in my online classes. They work well for the purpose in which I bought them and the only fault that I have found is that the cord is too short. 10/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Nice attempt For the easily amused and less than casual listener of music via headphone, this headphone may serve some purpose, however, to the experienced ear this headphone set will insult your ears. I love Sony headphones, I had a pair of V900HD's (which inadvertently broke), and I suppose I became relatively spoiled with the sound they were capable of producing. For the price, these headphones are decent but, for Sony, these headphones are a joke. Notes are always left out with these headphones (especially low bass notes). If you are on a tight budget, buy em! If you're looking for good headphones please do some more research and buy a pair of quality headphones. Sony offers a wide range of quality headphones as long as one is willing to pay the price. 09/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value These headphones are an excellent value for their price. They are extremely comfortable, I leave then on for hours at a time while I do homework or other things. The sound quality is excellent compared to other headphones in a cheaper price range. The bass is deep and has a rich sound. Even with your music turned up loud they do a good job of trapping the sound and not leaking the sound too much. I bought mine in white and think the color looks great. They look and perform like more expensive headphones would. I would recommend these to anyone who wants good sound quality and style, but does not want to break the bank! I use these almost everyday. 09/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Sound Quality, Uncomfortable To Wear My MDR-ZX100 delivers very poor bass, a muddled and muddy mid-range and painfully high treble, with extreme distortion at anything but low, low volume levels. Sadly, the previous MDR-V150 model exhibited superior sound quality in every aspect. The V150 might have been a little tight when new, and fragile over time, but the ZX100 doesn't appear to be shaped for a normal human head. The head band is extremely wide, but shallow, digging into your scalp, and the pads press painfully against the bottom of ear but pull away from the top the ear. Pain without any gain. MDR-V150 owners will be very disappointed with the ZX100 model. I wholeheartedly regret my purchase of the MDR-ZX100. 09/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great headphones These headphones are great. I use them when I make beats and I can hear everything as clear as if I ran the sound through my main speakers. There is just enough bass to make these headphones great for in the studio. 09/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best purchase ever!!!!!!!!! I listened to these right after listening to Beats by Dr. Dre and these sounded almost as much! You will not find a better pair of headphones fotlr this price. Great job SONY and keep impressing! 08/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great headphones I love these headphones, i have bose earbuds and after wearing them they bother my ears a little so i bought these and wow i did not expect such good sound out of 19.99 headphones what a great product. They have the same if not better base than the bose buds, which were 99.99 they are comfortable for long periods of music listening or video editing. the longest i have worn the headphones was about 5 hrs and no discomfort. Stylish looking i can wear them around my neck in public and have people ask what headphones they are because they look nice, and when i show them how they sound and tell them the price they cant believe it. i recommend them to everyone as a inexpensive great pare of headphones, i don't see where you could get a better deal 5 star A+ 08/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can't beat the price! I have had these headphonesfor a while now, and I like them, they aren't the best, but with a price like this, you can't beat it! 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Purchase Ever This set of headphones has good sound to listen. The size of the cord is a little short, but does not bother me. Overall I would recommend this product to anyone who wants good quality headphones. 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 out of 5, great quality for the budget These speakers passed the bass test. The lows, the mids and highs all great quality. Just as good as a $50 dollar Sennheiser HP I wonder if Sony hired engineers from Sennheiser to produce a budget high quality headphones, because these headphones take the cake, I recommend them for gaming, music production, and entertainment purposes. You can use these for general use. They don't "bass boost" your bass. So you get the natural bass sounds. Which is great for studio uses. Yes there is higher quality much expensive studio monitor headphones, but these are great for audiophile consumer. The technology they used is a large improvement over their previous $20 headphones. It is a joy that Sony is finally able to provide higher quality technology at a lower cost. I recommend these headphones for iPod, PC users, MAC users, CD player users, and Gamers. You can't go wrong for $20 with these. I have tried many low budget headphones, and these ones are the best the reason they didn't get 5 stars is because the cable is kind of short compared to their previous $20 headphones. Other than that they are excellent, you might want to invest into an extension for these headphones. 04/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice consumer headphones Sony seems to have gotten the cheap ones right with these. I recommend these over the MDR-V150s and the more expensive MDR-NC7 as they both break super easy. 02/27/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Right for the money Overall great quality for the money. The only reason I rated 3 stars is for the short in the cord so I returned them. I suggest when buying headphones such as these, spend the extra money on higher quality Sony headphones. 01/18/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by For 20 dollars? Can't Beat them! For 20 dollars, I havent ever heard a better pair...pretty comfortable and the sound quality isnt bad at all! Its not a product you can comare with beats or bose but its definately the top of its price range! 01/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sony MDR-ZX100 Stereo Headphones As poker is the game of life to be played on the grandest stage, the Sony MDR-ZX100/BLK stereo headphones deliver a full house of concert sound performance. A chanteuse’s stunning nightclub performance. An aria with forceful impact. A piano concerto in full glory. A rock opera at its zenith. The Sony headphones provide spectacular sound for rock, opera, jazz, love songs, rhythm and blues, disco, bluegrass, hip-hop, club, dubstep, dance, trance, electronica, and classical music out of a small and lightweight frame. The neodymium drivers produce elegant vocals on Broadway musical soundtracks, lush background vocals on country music, and they offer superb midrange instrumental reproduction. Bass performance is articulate, clean, well-defined, and punchy on heavy metal music. Bass tracks associated with the present club music milieu are surprisingly good, demonstrating crisp response, without the traditional low end muddiness associated with other value priced headphone products. The Sony headphones provide a wide molded adjustable headband for maximum comfort, padded ear cushions for a snug fit over the ears, and large diameter stereo drivers for spacious sound effects on movies, music, or computer real-time strategy games. These Sony stereo headphones are so comfortable, that I tend to forget that I am wearing them within a truncated time span. The sonic depth of the Sony headphones offers all-encompassing warmth, nuance, detail, and realistic sound quality over the entire treble and midrange frequency spectrum. Rest assured that these Sony headphones offer aggressive low bass performance at the lowest ends of the earphone market price scale. Considering the extraordinary quality of sound reproduction that this product offers, this item competes very well against other more expensive bass focused headphone brands. Whether it’s for an iPod, iPod classic, iPod nano, iPod shuffle, iPod touch, iPad, iPhone, iMac, Sony Walkman MP3 Player, Zune, Blu-ray player, shortwave radio, HD radio, internet radio, satellite radio boombox, portable cassette player, CD player, or the latest console game system, the Sony headphones reconstruct an accurate soundstage or virtual 3D battlefield to the delight of bass heavy music enthusiasts and dedicated gamers everywhere. I am unable to hear other outside distractions in my immediate surrounding environment when wearing the Sony headphones. Sound leakage is kept to a minimum thanks to the closed dynamic ear cup design. Primarily, I use the Sony MDR-ZX100 headphones with my Sony SRF-M37W Walkman to achieve perfect fidelity on FM music stations, natural voice tones on 24 hour/7 day AM sports talk radio stations, and super clear reception on Weather Band forecasts. The Sony MDR-ZX100 stereo headphones sport an attractive appearance with its lightweight over-the-ear design, quality construction, black ear cup exterior finish, and a 3.9 ft. dual-sided rugged Y-type cord. The Sony MDR-ZX100 stereo headphones feature excellent form, superb fitness for its intended outdoor use purposes, and perfect function for prolonged, enjoyable, and relaxed listening sessions. The high quality Sony headphones provide a 3.5mm (1/8”) silver-plated L-shaped stereo mini plug for distortion-free signal transfer, wonderful stereo channel separation in any music genre, and compatibility with the widest range of portable audio, video, MP3, computer, musical instrument, and home audio equipment possible. The Sony stereo headphones provide the following feature set for demanding portable audio enthusiasts: stereo reproduction, 30mm speaker drivers, slim swivel ear cups for increased mobility, pro DJ use, and remixing applications, high-energy neodymium magnets, black and red L/R ear cup placement marks, P.E.T. multi-layer dome diaphragm design for extended low bass response, pressure-relieving urethane leather ear cushions for long lasting comfort, copper-clad aluminum wire voice coil for exceptional power handling capacity, 1.2m lightweight tangle-resistant cord, supra-aural noise canceling ear pad passive design, 1000mW power handling capacity for stringent daily use that is designed to meet the requirements of music industry mavens, wide 12-22,000Hz frequency response for outstanding treble, midrange, and bass reproduction, 24 ohms at 1kHz impedance rating, 100db/mW sensitivity rating for excellent loudness output, a magnificent all black exterior finish, operating instructions, warranty card, and this unit's weight is 4.23 ounces (120 g). The Sony headphones come with a 90-day parts and labor limited manufacturer warranty. The Sony stereo headphones do not come with a carrying pouch, in-line volume control, or a unimatch stereo plug adapter for connection to a component stereo headphone jack. You will need a 1/8" to ¼" (3.5mm to 6.3mm) stereo headphone jack plug adapter to connect the Sony MDR-ZX100 headphones to a home stereo system. The headphones are compatible with any pocket radio's monaural earphone jack with the use of a 3.5mm monaural-to-stereo plug adapter. A headphone extension cord can be used with the Sony headphones to listen to a component stereo system from across the room, if desired. The Sony headphones are not compatible with any noise canceling system that is featured in select Sony Walkman Video MP3 players. So whether you’re sitting on a park bench solving the world’s problems, saving the solar system from interplanetary destruction at the hands of an invading alien army during a late night arcade gaming stint, walking in the street on a sunny southern California summer day with an iPod in hand, putting an album together in the studio, jamming out to some favorite tunes at home after a stressful day, want an affordable upgrade pair of cans for the pocket radio, or you are listening to morning drive AM talk radio on the bus ride to work, the Sony MDR-ZX100/BLK headphones are an incredible budget conscious choice for any private listening session need. Good Luck. Enjoy. 12/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing for the price The sound quality is pretty nice, though it's not like that mind blowing sound. I can wear them for quite a long time and my ears won't really hurt or anything like when I use earbuds or other headphones. It's pretty portable and light, and the swivel is useful for storage. The design is simple so you can either jazz it up on your own or keep it bland. For most people, it won't be that good that it's not noise cancelling, but it's useful for some. I'm aloud to listen to music in class, so it's good that if the teacher is saying something, I can still hear them and pause my song. I was also hoping there was volume control, but there isn't. It's great for the price though. 12/20/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disapointed Shipping and handling was excelent, received on time but when i received it total disapointed i thought i'll have a brand new item but instead i received a Refurbished (on any place of the item at the web site says it). Besides that good sound quality,, not fully tested though 12/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great except for piano music Honestly, before this, I haven't had a pair of headphones in quite a while. Though I love them for the typical day to day use, put on a nice sounding piano classical music or classical music, you'll get the static of a life time. It just can't seem to filter classical music! Which is really disappointing. But these are a very affordable pair of headphones. Just stay away from any piano music or classical. 10/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Overall, these headphones are really good. They are real comfortable, and do not give pain to my ears at all. They are also very lightweight and portable. They are very good for listening to music, but being able to hear around yourself as well. They are also excellent for use in video editing or recording studios. The major thing is that these headphones do not include a mic, which really bothers me sometimes. 10/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice! I got these about a week ago and so far I love em...I have the white ones, they're very stylish and comfortable (my old headphones were tight over my head & gave me headaches even when I adjusted them). The over the ear-design and adjustability is awesome.The cord is nice so it doesn't get tangled easily. Sound is nice. I'm not a fan of the L-shaped cord, but it's not a big deal. The only con to these is that they don't cancel noise that well. But if they're loud they do a pretty good job. Overall I'm very satisfied especially for the price. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value for Price Previous to these, I had been using those white Apple earbuds (which everyone knows are rather dreadful especially for Apple standards). I found these on sale and decided to try them out, and I am very happy with them. They fit well, have good sound especially compared to what I had been using before, and I can definitely see myself enjoying these for a good long while. I have only two minor complaints. They aren't necessarily noise-canceling, but again, they're a huge improvement for me. Also, I'm not a huge fan of the L-shaped plug but I can definitely overlook it. Definitely a great purchase especially considering how much I paid for them. 06/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thy have a short chord. none of that 6-foot nonsense. the connector is well designed, although it doesn't stay in very well, the sound is good, perfectly balanced as usual. the swivel on the actual speaker is very useful and well designed. i would recommend these to a friend. 04/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good headphones... but not the best i just bought these headphones today and im very impressed with them. they sound very good.. but not amazing. there deff. worth it for the money. the fact that it is not noise canceling is kinda annoying but thats really the only downside to these other than the bass isnt very powerful. but other than that if your an everyday listener these sound amazing for just basic music. i would deff. tell my friends to get these. you cant beat the price of them either. 03/30/2011
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw286
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp