See All Reviews
Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
Crosman Nitro Venom NP .177 Air Rifle with Scope
$164.85
List Price: $247.99
You Save: $83.14 (34%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 15 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly suprised. Nice heavy feel, almost no recoil (thanks to NP) and silent vhen you compare to GAMO Silent cat. Had GAMO for 2 days then returned, to loud and it was clumsy especially stock. Venom has nice wood stock, and finish, metal triger and........... very accurate. Rifle has really good punch, depend what ammo you use. Scope is just fine, no need for an upgrade and easy to install, and after just about 500 rounds still holds the mark. Really very happy. 06/29/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by To WalMart: please ship this with padding. I am a first-time air rifle owner, shot lots of air and BB, airsoft, paintball before. This gun came with brown oil all over the gun, I don't know if it leaked out during shipping due to damage, or it was manufactured that way from the factory. The performance is pretty good, but cocking effort tires you out quick! I was sore all over after about a hundred shots. The manual says 100 shots to break in, it's actually more like 200, and my gun was still dieseling, smoking from the barrel. The scope is great but slips in the rings! I don't know what to do about that. The largest issue was that WalMart just FedEx's the retail display box--which has ZERO protection for the scope, the most sensitive optical component! Mine came with dents on it, and I returned it after lots of frustrating shooting. So yes I agree, it can be good if you get a good one, but with the way they are currently packaging it (NOT packaging it), that is unlikely. 08/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty good if you get a good 1 I bought this gun with high hopes. It seemed all over the place when I was trying to sight it in. I shot over 100 rounds to "break it in", but was having a hard time getting any shots on a 2 x 2 inch square at 22 yds. I returned it, not happy. I bought the gun again a week later. Within 25 shots, I was able to hit 5/5 in a 1x1 inch square area, at 22 yds. The trigger is terrible, as all the crosman made rifles are, Benjamin, Remington, etc. It does take getting used too. I will be looking for some rabbits tonight. 08/01/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by I returned it I am former military and have shot a rifle more than a little bit. The trigger pull ranks with the worst I have ever seen. My old Daisy BB gun had a better trigger. The rile scope that came with it would not hold. I could get it zeroed and then after a few shots the pelletes would start hitting paper about 5 to 7 inches from the center. The rifle itself was great, far more powerful than I expected. I would buy another if they fix the trigger pull and get a decent scope on it. Take the scope off it and charge a little less so I can use that money to buy a decent scope and I might buy it again. 07/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rifle Nice rifle, I’ve got it for target shooting and for pest control: rats and squirrels. It feels heavy, nice wood and great finishing. The first 100 shots were really bad but after that the rifle seemed to finally break in and it started to provide good accuracy. These are some tips from my experience that I hope are useful: - Don’t expect accuracy before 100 shots. - Use a good wood board as target to tune up the scope and be patient. I found that the rifle can be tuned up to a deadly accuracy. I used a board at 30-40 feet of distance and probably shot 200 pellets before the rifle hit the same spot in the target again and again. - Insert very firmly each pellet before shooting, use your finger to push it as far as you can. In my experience this is the one thing that truly makes a difference achieving accuracy. - Try an aerodynamic pellet for maximum precision. I tried several ones but I feel the best is the Crosman Field Hunting .177 Cal, 7.4 Grains, Pointed, 1250ct. The pointed shape seems to break thru the air more efficiently providing a more linear trajectory and therefore delivering higher accuracy. I didn’t like the flat heads. - Be careful while shooting!! I have seen the pointed pellets going thru a ½ inch wood board. I will easily go thru rat or squirrel and hit anything behind. I have had other rifles (mostly .22) but this one clearly delivers a lot more power. - Firing the rifle produces a noise similar to the one produced by an air nailer gun, very acceptable. - The scope is good enough, I don’t feel I need to replace it, but make sure it is firmly secured. I can see up in the trees clearly. 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Buy This is a great gun! It is quite, quick and has serious knock-down power! I had been searching for the right buy for a few weeks and could not find a better deal anywhere @ $129 it's hard to beat! [Hint: If you have problems sighting in the scope put a mark on it to align it with the mounts, so you can see if it moves (this is a common problem with almost every air rifle). If it moves wrap the scope with electrical tape twice, (just under the mounts, not the entire scope) and remount it. That worked very well for me, scope sights in perfectly!!!] 01/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crossman intro Venom .177 air rifle W/scope Very nice looking rifle with a wood stock, metal finish is also very nice looking. It took me about 400-500 shots before I finally got it on target. Hint: you need to use a good grade pellet. My range is 27 yards and with a good grade pellet and a good rifle rest I can hold about a 2 1/2" pattern. If I could shoot better, it may be even a tighter pattern. The rifle is a bit heavy and for me that's a good thing. The .177 pellets are small and hard to work with in the very cold but I am only using it for target shooting and Starling control. The 3-9X32 Center-Point Scope has a yellow tinted lens cover that you can leave on to shoot. The range adjustment (3-9) is smooth and clear. The scope is also very nice looking. I like it better then any of the scopes I have on my firearms. The price including the Center-Point 3-9X32 scope, makes this air rifle a great deal. 02/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Crosman Venom .177 Don't know what some of the other reviewers were thinking. I bought this for my son and I to shoot around with. Awesome pellet rifle. The Centerpoint scope is right on the money. Very easy to sight in. Only thing is if you switch brands of pellets you will have to resight the gun to that pellet. We are currently shooting the Gamo Steel round tip lead pellets. On bench in basement at 19 yds I can consistently put 5 shots into a dime sized dot. That is pretty accurate if you ask me !!! Trigger is a little squirrelly at first but you get used to it. After a couple shots you figure out how it will fire. Wood stock is sweet. Pretty heavy rifle but makes a steadier shot. Smooth easy cocking. Sweet rifle for plinking and small game hunting. Very 1st shot out of box sounded like a .22 going off. After that, it is no louder that a BB gun. 01/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great gun. It exceeded all of my expectations. The gun is very quiet and the scope is accurate, center area of target at 30 yards. Make sure to zero in the scope for your personal use. The gun is great for plinking, target shooting and taking out pests. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This air rifle is quite accurate in the back yard at 30 yards. Works well with Crosman pellets. Replaced included scope with a Leepers 4 x 32 made a big difference in consistant accuracy. Gun is great looking and appears well built. Five stars to Crosman and Wal Mart on this one ! Too bad it is not made in the USA as I always try to buy American. 01/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gun Great gun. Was loud at first but quieter after first few shots. Once scope was sighted in works with accuracy. 01/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good value for the cost Accurate, not too noisy, potent 08/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK....but needed the Scope replaced...... Gun seems good but after about 25 shots I knew I needed to adjust the scope, and when I moved it 4 clicks the crosshairs in the reticle rotated. Contacted Crosman and sent the scope back. Customer Service was excellent on return.......still waiting on the replacement, only been 4 days , but got an e-mail saying I would be kept informed......So....the jury is still out........Nice heavy gun....we'll see.........The rabbits are still running rampant! (winks) Hope the replacement scope gets this gun dialed in. 10/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by mine was a dud This might be a fine air rifle, if it worked. At first, I didn't think it would fire at all, but then I discovered that if I used the flat end of a pen, every single time, to push the pellet flush, when loading, it would fire. After putting about 50 shots through it, at different distances, I found that between 25 and 43 yds, the pellet would drop about 10 inches. Using an online trajectory calculator, I estimate my muzzle velocity to be under 400fps, when, with 10.5 grain pellets, it should be over 800fps. I called Crosman, and they said they would fix it. I am just so disgusted and have heard enough bad reviews on crosman products (seems like 5% of them are junk, and the rest are pretty good), that I am thinking I might just get my money back... Also, the scope has a 3-9x zoom, but it starts to get fuzzy around 7x, even at 50+ yds. 6x is probalby fine, since my eyes are quite good, but I just think it is lame that it is supposed to go to 9x, but you can't focus at that magnification. You should also be aware that it is pretty heavy. And, like everyone says, the trigger has an obnoxiously long travel. I found the best way to use it is to quickly pull it about 0.25", or so, before worrying too much about holding the crosshairs exactly on the target. 09/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very well made airgun.. Powerful, bout 1100ish fps.. Quite. and accurate. (one rugged hole at 22 yrds..Weaver rail pretty solid..Need to replaced the scope and trigger. Should be awesome backyard plinker, paper puncher...Good job Crosman... 05/02/2012
1-15 of 15 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew379
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp