Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 191 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great alternative to the Keurig My Keirug stopped working after 2yrs of having it. I felt lost...what to do next. Get another or switch it up. So I took my time and did a massive search and review of all coffee pots. Many hours looking at reviews and comparing my options and prices. And then I stumbled across this Hamilton Beach Scoop 2 way coffee maker. I read the reviews and decided to go with this one as it would work for our lifestyle. I drink more coffee than my boyfriend so the single side would work during the week for me and the pot side on the weekends for both of us. I am so glad I went this purchase. It is very simple to use and love the fact that you can use the pods or ground coffee on the single serve side. I personally love ground coffee as to pods. It took a few days to get used to measuring coffee again from using the Keurig. But I did and I almost forgot how fresh ground coffee tasted. The machine is also very nice looking in the kitchen. So, from my experiece I would recommend this as to a Keurig if you are undecided. Because sometimes you just want more than one cup of coffee especially when having guests. Not to mention those expensive K-cups. It does take a little extra time to brew on the single serve side but hey, if that's the only negative, I can deal with that. That's why the auto timer is great to use!! Made this purchase a few months ago and have had no problems! On a side note, I bought a coffee bean grinder from cuisinart and love it! Nothing taste better than freshly grounded coffee everyday :) 11/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Coffeemaker I'm very pleased with this coffeemaker. Love the option of brewing a single cup with a pod. The coffee made in the carafe stays hot for at least a couple hours and it tastes great. Only downfall is having to use disposable filters. I wish this came with a permanent filter. All in all this was a great deal and looks fantastic on my counter. 11/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2 Options make this coffemaker perfect! We were hesitant to purchase this 2-way coffeemaker after having read negative reviews about the original "1-way Scoop". Our concerns were unfounded, because we realized after the first use that its design is perfect. My husband usually leaves for work two hours before I must get up, so the single (travel) mug side is practical. Now, we both get a fresh cup of coffee on workdays. On weekends, we use the carafe side. It also works well to heat water for tea or hot chocolate. We have had NO problem whatsoever with leaks nor with messy coffee grounds overflowing. This coffeemaker isn't as fast as the Keurig for the single-serve option, but the price is considerably better...plus, we use our personal favorite brand of coffee rather than expensive K-cups. It's an excellent design! 11/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my wife for buying this coffee maker combo for me. I love the fact that I can make a travel mug to go. Having the dual ability to make a single mug/cup or pot is awesome. 11/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few negatives but mostly positive I researched coffee pots like crazy before buying this one. I ultimately prefer the Hamilton Beach one that dispenses and has no carafe, however, after years of owning them, the slow dispense got to me and I decided to go back to having a pot I can pour. I don't want to wait a minute and a half for one standard sized cup of coffee to dispense. There are times I want to have one cup of decaf in the evening, etc, which is why this one caught my eye. I had several questions and posted them at walmart.com and surprisingly I did receive quite a few answers. It is $69 at walmart.com but I chose to look at my local Walmart first; it was not in stock. I took a trip to Target and it was on sale for $59 so that's where I bought it. (Regularly $79 at Target#. I've had it for one day and so far this is what I can say about it. First, this coffeemaker is larger than most, as it takes more counter space but the fact that it has the extra single serve side makes sense on why it does. Also, #and this has been with every Hamilton Beach I've owned, which is about 6# the clock intermittently works. I thought, at first, it was lit only when it brews, but that's not the case. I can't figure out a pattern on when it's lit or unlit. If you use your coffee pot as your kitchen clock you won't like the clock on this one. I had asked if you can use a standard size coffee mug on the single side or if it had to be the tall to-go ones. I was answered yes, and this is true. What the description fails to tell you is that the little part the cup sits on flips over so it's taller, therefore making your mug higher and closer to the brew, eliminating splashing. Very nice, it works great. Also, the little part the cup sits on is not a warmer, so you can use any cup on it, even something like styrofoam. This morning was my first whole pot of coffee to brew and first of all, the resevoir is a small, skinny one in the very back, so it's not easy to fill, and the level indicator so you can see how much water you've put in is on the right side in the very back so you can't see it. I can't see it at all because of where my coffee pot has to be on the counter, I need mine to be on the left and obviously, I would prefer it in the front. I did notice just now, though, that there is a level on the inside to fill 12 cups (but no markings for less than that), and as long as you're tall enough you can see it while you are pouring in the water. I don't use my pot to pour the water in, I dispense it out of the faucet #I have one of those faucets that extends). Anyway, it took 20 minutes to brew a 12 cup pot. Not too bad but in the past, when I've had brand new coffee pots they brew much faster and I do have a concern of once this gets a little older how long it will take. Also, there is no sound or any type of indication when it's done brewing, you just have to know. The coffee warmer stays on for 2 hours. My other Beach Hamiltons have had the option of choosing 1, 2, 3 or 4 hours. Overall, I'm happy with it. It's up to you, obviously, if the functions and/or features are what you are looking for or what you want to stay away from. 04/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have It Your Way! See my minor mechanical complaint at the end... I can live with it, Hamilton Beach has excellent Customer Service and 1 year warranty. I purchased this product the 1st of November 2011. I love/loved it so much that I'd see people in name brand Bath type stores and tell them to check out this coffee maker. It's perfect. I steered 4 people to purchase it, 3 of whom I'd never met! That's how sold I am on it. I love that we can have a full pot of coffee and keep it on the warmer which keeps it really warm. Or, a quick single cup, in my own cup or mug, or the insulated travel mug that comes with it. I just flip the switch to individual, fill that side with water (good for hot water without coffee too#! If I've run out of the Senso type coffee pods, it has this wonderful little screen filter that you put your own scoop of coffee in and wa-la...brew away. So coffee pod or not, I have about a 16 ounce cup of coffee of my own. I love this, love this maker - a multi-tasker like me! ****Now.... I have owned it 6 months next week and I have 1 issue. The large pot warming plate on OUR unit, has the Teflon type coating thas has started flaking off, so my maker looks several years old! It's just my husband and I using it, not abusing it. No harsh abrasives at all. So maybe it's a fluke, just our unit, but today I called Hamilton Beach and it falls under the 1 year warranty. I took photos and emailed to HB. They will replace the whole item but shipping to my rural California area is almost $16 dollars. Well worth it, HOWEVER knowing now? Purchase the Walmart 3-year $6 warranty and play it safe. I hate warranties for little things. Next time I'll reconsider it! Bottomline, save all your documents, sales receipts, etc., in case you need them. Sit back and enjoy this fine machine! Alot of bang for the buck! I don't believe you will be sorry! 04/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Mention BOLD Feature here; All Around A+++++ This Hamilton Beach 2 way coffee maker is EVERYTHING that the reviews say it is. None of the negative comments or questions have applied to my ownership of this coffee maker. So, in my opinion, it gets 5 Stars across the board; it get's a AAAAA Rating! It gets 2 Thumbs Up! One thing I haven't seen mentioned in reviews but is worth mentioning is this: There is a BOLD button on the front of the coffee maker. When you want your coffee a little bolder or stronger, you slide it over. It's perfect for an extra "Kick" in your cup. However, I think, perhaps, that the reason a few people think that their machine brews SLOW is because it just may when BOLD is selected. Here is why I think it runs a bit slower: Obviously it has to become "bold" somehow. And since you are not adding anything to the coffee basket, this makes sense: The water drips over the coffee in the basket at a slower rate, thus becomes more concentrated before dripping into the glass pot or your cup. The pod or your full coffee filter just holds the water a bit longer so it gathers more coffee flavor before it comes to the cup. You can check it and see, but it's what I've found and why I think people are whinning about how long it takes to brew. They have the BOLD switch in "on" position and it's dripping slower. Makes sense to me. If you are in a big hurry, don't ask for bold! Try it... see if you notice a brewing savings or not or if you notice stronger coffee or not. However,,,, you will love this coffee maker and be telling your friends about it. I do! 04/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good item for the price, works well We have a Keurig single cup coffee maker and have liked it quite a bit. It is a bit pricey to use. My wife wanted a coffee maker to make pots of coffee for Christmas entertaining. I began looking and came across this dual machine. Picked up at our nearby super Walmart and bought some extra coffee and pods. First the coffee pods are one third the price of the Keurig pods. A very nice plus right off the batt. Makes a good cup of coffee fairly fast. The pot side works well and does not spill or drip as our last Mr Coffee machine did. We like it very much and the Keurig will be heading to E Bay. 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Coffee maker I ever had! You can make pods or just regular ground coffee for a single cup or make a whole pot if you have company. I love this thing. I did buy a basket filter to go with it. The single cup side has one and you are supposed to use paper filters for the pot side. However, I just don't like paper filters and would rather just wash the filter basket. So I guess the only downside for me is that it doesn't come with one. It is packaged with paper filters and some coffee pods to start you off with. I didn't remember the description saying anything about that. Its fast and easy to clean. Kind of glad my old coffee maker broke! 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best 2 way to brew system! I really love this coffee maker. First off, it makes a great cup of coffee. Like all coffee makers, you need to clean it a couple times w/ a vinegar/water mix, then at least 1 time w/ just water. Be sure you let maker cool down between cleanings....this also is true for all coffee makers. After about 2 times brewing a cup, it tastes really good. Again, this is to be expected. You can't expect the first cup out of a maker to be great. Anyhow, I have had this over a week and it just gets better and better! This was also the only coffee maker that had a mug/travel mug dispenser where you can use your own cups as well as travel mug provided. That was a BIG plus for our family. We like to make hot cocoa and tea. It comes out hot in the mug, but cools quickly on this part of maker. It doesn't have a warming pad, but to be able to use mugs you can't have that. Really, it's not a big deal, but just be sure you don't forget you made coffee or warmed water on that side of maker. The large carafe does have a warming pad and stays nice and hot just brewed and for a long time after that. It is just a great coffee maker and the price can't be beat! 11/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by “Finally someone made my dream machine!” I am one persnickety coffee drinker. This is my dream come true! When I first saw this coffee pot I thought it was too good to be true. Boy was mistaken on that thought! “Finally someone made my dream machine!” I have purchased many single cup brewers because I like “fresh” coffee, and I always had to have an extra brewer for company taking up space on my countertop. “This coffeemaker is awesome!” It serves the same purpose as having two, but all in one! And it looks awesome on my countertop! I don’t like a brewer that makes coffee so hot you have to sneak up on it. A lot of coffeemakers advertise: “Our coffee is hot” But they don’t tell you, “it is nasty tasting because it was brewed too hot.” “Hot coffee is not good coffee.” Anyone who believes that also believes the hotter the Chili or Wings the better it is. I prefer to judge the “taste” not the temperature. The secret to good coffee is the correct brewing temperature. This one has accomplished that and the taste is great! You can drink your coffee as soon as it is done, you don’t have to wait till it cools down. “No burnt lips here!” It’s perfect drinking temperature and brewing temperature is discussed by everyone who has coffee with me! I’m scared now they will buy their own and never come back! I do not use pods as I have not found any pod coffee that I like the taste of. I use my own coffee on both sides and put the furnished pod holder away. The single side has its own basket for your personal grounds. Also I can add that it is fast and you can set the timer to make either the single or large pot whenever you choose to. The furnished mug allows you to actually make two cups and pour out one saving the other while you drink the first one or share the other. The ability to adjust the mug sizes is perfect for using my favorite travel mug that holds two cups also or my favorite coffee mug. The carafe does not drip or run down the outside when pouring and does not create a mess on the warmer. Neither does the travel mug furnished. The single side does not continue to drip after it brews and I have never had to wipe up any last drips after removing the cup. They have designed a well to catch the overdrip, but it just doesn’t overdrip! The warmer does not overheat the brewed coffee as it sits until using. Therefore it tastes fresh not like heated up old nasty coffee. Both sides are easy to use and cleanup you ask? It couldn’t be any easier! Throw out the grounds, rinse and go again. The cord is long enough to move it around the counter to clean under it without having to unplug it and reset the clock. That itself is a great feature. The company never skimped on the cord. It arrived the exact day they said it would. When I saw the box it came in I thought it must be a mistake because it was far too large to be the one I ordered. The company packs it in an extra large box and is well protected so it gets to your house without any breakage. Great! From an old man that knows and loves good coffee and knows how it should be made! Don’t deprive yourself from the best, forget the rest, buy the Hamilton Beach Scoop 2 Way Coffeemaker and be happy every morning, noon or night. 06/16/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This coffee pot works great,very nice looking. 11/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Single cup of coffee is a real plus Its nice to be able to make single cups of flavored coffee after the morning pot of regular is gone. Would have been handy if they had designed the unit with a storage space for the pod adapter for the single cup side. Can use optional Senseo coffee pods but they are only available in limited flavors and bean varieties. The water level indicator is easy to read. Coffee stays hot. RECOMMENDED 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best coffee pot ever I was fed up with coffee pots that didn't get the coffee hot enough and everytime I tried pouring the coffee it spilled over everything. I was using a pot that I bought several years ago and it got worse over the years. It was a famous brand pot you know as MR. C. but wasn't worth much. This new Hamilton Beach is OUTSTANDING. Very hot coffee and never spills when I pour. Wish I had gotten it years ago. Maybe it wasn't avaliable years ago but it is now and boy am I glad. 11/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased this to replace two different coffee makers. They were taking up too much counterspace. I replaced a Cuisart and a Keurig. This does the work for both and looks great in the kitchen. The pods are much cheaper than the ones for the Keurig. Highly recommend! 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a great coffee pot I had always used the Mr. Coffee brand until I got this one and I am so glad that I switched. It's so nice to be able to pour the coffee from the carafe without it leaking on the sides like the Mr. Coffee. I also love being able to use the single brew side to make just a cup of coffee or hot tea. The price was great too! Over $20.00 less than the price at Target. I highly recommend this coffee maker. 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I really like all the features on this coffee maker, you can make 12 cups or 1 cup with regular coffee, or you can make 1 cup with the Senseo coffee bag. You can see the water level also. I love it 11/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great coffee pot... Got this for my husband for Christmas but gave it to him early. He is a coffee pot a day person and I drink only 1 cup a day . It fits our family so well . Love that I can autoset it make eighter. 12/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect coffee pot Makes it quick. Makes it hot. Gives me the option of a whole pot or a single mug (not Kuerig). It's a little on the big side but that because of the dual functions. I got tired of leaking carafes, not being able to see into the dispenser, overflow, 1/2 warm coffee. Folks, this ain't rocket science. I think coffee's taste is more about the coffee you chose. If you use good coffee, this should do it. I wanted a fresh, hot cup of my brand of coffee in the am and this fits the bill. 05/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Before purchasing this product I had been doing a lot of research trying to get the biggest bang for my buck. I was thinking of buying a keurig, but couldn't see spending over a hundred dollars for the features I wanted with the knowledge that I had tried muliple k cups without finding one that I really liked. We have one at work, but the filter that you can buy for it isn't that easy to clean after it's been used for a while. Sounds silly, but having to dig out grounds gets a little old when you wake up and shuffle to the kitchen for a cup of coffee. I wanted a single cup side for days when I'm running out the door, but then a pot when I am working at home. This has both, and I love it! The single cup side easy very easy and quick to clean up, and gives the abiliy to make bold cups of coffee or light depending on what you like. You can also choose the water amount you put in based on the mug you will use. The ability to change the height of the stand is an excellent feature. Both the pot and single serve are programmable. You can also use senseo pods on the single serve side, but I am very happy with my ground kono coffee. I think this is the best coffee maker out there hands down! It's less than eighty dollars, has the best of both worlds in terms of carafe or single serve cups, and looks very nice on the counter. If you are looking for a versatile and all around awesome maker than this is it! 05/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have had this coffee maker for about a week now. I previously had a MC which had a carafe that dripped whenever you poured. The carafe on this maker works exceptionally well. No drips. Easy to use. Love the option of making one cup or a whole pot. It does not use the little cups for making flavored coffee- it uses the Senseo pods which are more like little filter pillows filled with grounds. But it also uses your own grounds to make a single cup- which I love. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best of both features Love it. The coffee is hotter than most , Its great to have the option of a single cup,vs the 12 cups. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE THIS COFFEE POT!! It is fast, it is hot and super easy to use. 11/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Husband's delight He can have his cup of flavored coffee, and I can still have my pot of regular. We absolutely love this coffee pot. We have only had it for about a month, so don't know about durability yet. Other reviews have seemed to have trouble with this coffeemaker at about a month. We have seen no sign of this. But, even so, it would still be under warranty, and we would definitely replace it. So far, easy to use and good coffee. We're going to keep this puppy!!!!! 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOOD COFFEEMAKER SO FAR HAVE ONLY HAD THIS COFFEEMAKER FOR ABOUT A MONTH SO FAR ITS WORKING GREAT! I LIKE THE OPTION TO MAKE A SINGLE CUP OR A WHOLE POT, WHICH IS NICE WHEN WE HAVE COMPANY. I HAD THE BREW STATION BEFORE AND REALLY LIKED IT. HAMILTON BEACH PRODUCTS ARE PRETTY RELIABLE. THE ONLY THING I WISH THEY WOULD HAVE DONE IS MADE THE FULL POT SIDE INTO A BREW STATION WITH THE SINGLE SERVE ON THE SIDE. HOPE THIS ONE LASTS AS LONG AS MY OLD ONE. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great coffee Never realized how much I missed a full pot of coffee! The single serve idea is great. Especially where you have the choice of loose coffee or pods. Great machine.Just enough bells and whistles. Coffee comes out hot not warm. Pretty compact design considering the features. Fits well with my sleek modern kitchen. I would deffinetly buy this again!! 09/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this coffee maker about 6 months ago and we still LOVE it!! 09/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have! An excellant investment. Love the option of making a pot or a cup. Love being able to make a cup from regular coffee grounds. No extra added expense required by having to buy pods or Kcups. Not big and bulky and very user friendly. Every coffee drinker should have one of these! 08/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dripless carafe After having many brands of coffeemakers whose carafes annoyingly dripped, I'm happy to finally have found one that doesn't. I have been happy with this product so far after having it about three weeks. I cannot fairly rate it for its durability, but it seems sturdy and looks nice on my counter. It does take over ten minutes to brew a nearly full pot of coffee, but the coffee does taste delicious. I have not been able to find the coffee PODS for the single brew side in my local stores. I have read that the Senseo brand is discontinuing the pods--not a problem, as you can use ground coffee in the little filter basket, although I did notice a bit of sediment in the bottom of my mug. I have also tried using the FOLGER brand coffee SINGLES little tea bag type coffee in the single serve side and it worked well. You can dip the bag into the mug to make the coffee stronger if you wish. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase. It remains to be seen if it holds up under daily use. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I checked Consumer Reports and many, MANY, "consumer reviews" before buying. This coffeemaker is ranked a best buy by Consumer Reports and approximately 97% of all reviews I read ranked it 4 stars or better. Since \i have been using it I can say that these ratings are well desrved. 07/16/2012
1-30 of 157 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew317
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp