See All Reviews
Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel
Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single-Serve Coffeemaker, 49981, Stainless Steel
$39.88
List Price: $69.99
You Save: $30.11 (43%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 64 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely the best single serve on the market!! I have tried 3 of the other brands single serve coffee makers @ $109. $149. and 129.,and have returned them all. I was hesitant about the hamilton beach as the others were of much better brands, HOWEVER.... this maker is definately a keeper, HOT and fast cup of coffee as it has 1300watts of power to brew with. And to be able to use your OWN coffee without messing with k-cups or pods (I've tried them both) is a real money saver!!! The coffee tastes better than if you brewed a whole pot. I've found no problems with dripping, or splashing as it has the adjustable cup holder that raises your cup higher so it won't splash. At a price about $50 cheaper than the other brands it's a win win purchase. I know what I'm getting family for their christmas presents!! Way to GOOOO Hamilton Beach, say bye bye to the k-cup & pod machines 10/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this coffee maker! I just recently purchased this coffee maker and I love it. It is so easy to use and it makes a great cup of coffee. I can use my own favorite coffee and I can control how strong I want it. The taste is great and it is nice and hot. I also really like the adjustable drip tray so I can use a travel mug or adjust it for a smaller mug. It comes with 2 scoops so that my husband can make his coffee the way he likes it and I can make mine the way I like it. Clean up is very easy, just empty the scoop and rinse it out. It even has a hook on the side to store your extra scoop or let it dry after you rinse it out. It will make great Christmas presents this year!! 10/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for 1 or 2 cups with no waste. Brew a hot cup in a minute, rinse the filter basket and that's it. No pot getting stale and starting to taste bad. 10/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great concept. My opinion fair product. I have had the Hamilton Beach Scoop single scoop for about a week now. I unfortunately will be returning it for the following reasons. I have put them in order of severity as perceived by me. 1. MESSY - When I brewed in a larger size coffee mug the coffee would splash all over the counter about a 10 inches out from the front half of the brewer. This splashing would also be on the back of the area that you place your cup. Because of this you would need to wash the brewer and the counter every time you brew a cup of coffee. 2. Metal and plastic filters = GRITTY coffee. This brewer has 2 filters the scoop is a metal mesh filter and below that there is another plastic mesh filter. The coffee is still gritty You need to clean out both every time you brew a cup of coffee. 3 .The Brewer will also DRIP for a while after you make a cup of coffee so you need to clean out both filters before or immediately after you remove the cup. You must clean out both filters every time you brew a cup of coffee. 4. The scoop / filter is a fine mesh welded to the bottom of the cup. The spots that are welded are RUSTING. 5. The brewer I received does not sit flat. There are 3 pads / feet along the front of the coffee maker. The center one is lower than the others so the brewer WOBBLES to the left and right. 09/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little coffeemaker! This is a good value coffeemaker if you are constantly wasting pots of coffee when you really only want to drink a single cup - and it's MUCH less expensive than the K-cup coffeemakers. Using your own coffee saves money and reduces the packaging waste from those silly plastic K-cups. The reviewer who complained so much about this machine obviously did not read the printed guide, which explains how to use the adjustable stand to fill a regular coffee cup, rather than a travel mug. Not to mention - you need to wash out the filter and let it air-dry, and not let a filter full of wet grounds sit around until the next time you make coffee. NOTE: There are some incorrectly answered questions on the associated Q&A for this coffeemaker! 1) You CANNOT use coffee pods with this machine! Ground coffee ONLY. 2) The brewing temp is NOT 190 degrees, it is approx. 140 degrees. Very happy with this machine, would definitely recomend it. Please be sure to read the booklet that comes with it BEFORE using. 11/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than expected Wanted to choose my own coffee and not get stuck with the high cost of pre-packaged bags or plastic bins. (not to mention the limited choice of most stores) I liked the one cup option makers and liked the high end options on the market but not the price. This model gives you both worlds at a reasonable price. (not cheap, but reasonable!) I have had it over a week and have used it several times a day at least. Brews fast, fairly quiet, and pretty idiot proof. Well made for the price, solid feel, and I looked at many in the store that felt like junk. Has a reversible cup plate for travel mugs or standard cups made out of metal. (not plastic) The video on the product doesn't really point that out and I almost didn't buy it cause some prior review said it sprayed coffee all over. I'm guessing they didn't flip the plate cause it is so well made that it I almost couldn't figure it out. (Guys don't read instructions unless all else fails) I use low acid coffee and sub in some Dunkin coffee with seasonal flavors. Brewed only on bold as recommended for this type of coffee and it tastes better than my $4.00 Starbucks cup. The extra plus is how nice it looks sitting out and it's kind of fun using it. (I never found making coffee fun) It also makes either a 8oz or 14oz cup without getting watered down or using more expensive packets. Can't find this model in stores for some reason but don't be afraid to order, it was well worth the risk of not being able to play with it prior to buying. ordered from Walmart , came in 2 days. Pay the extra and stay away from the cheap ones, or take out a loan and buy the ones with limited choice of coffee and extras you don't need. 11/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!! Makes the perfect amount of coffee for me. It's easy to use and easy to maintain. I haven't had any of the rust issues or the splatter issues as some have reported. I get everything ready the night before and just have to push the button when I'm ready for my coffee. It's ready in just a few minutes. :0) 12/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Hot Cup of Coffee We purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop for our parents after they commented liking on our discontinued Cuisinart single serve. So I'm comparing a $250 machine to a $50 machine. Appearance - The HB wins with very well finished stainless steel exterior and a very slim profile. Everything you touch feels solid and the lid opens and closes smoothly with perfect fit. Ease of Use - It comes with two stainless coffee scoops that double as the actual brewing baskets. Cleaver. The water heats quickly and the drip process is quicker then I expected. The Cuisinart has more features but the HB is easier to use. Both have two parts that need cleaning after each use. The HB must be cleaned well or you'll have coffee all over your counter. They both make good coffee, the HB making a hotter cup. For the money the HB scoop wins. 12/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by coffee is great Nice implementation of a steel based coffee maker. No need for any paper filters. Single cups are all I need, fresh coffee guaranteed. No waste. BTW you can invert the bottom, so small cups can reach the outlet of the filter which avoids spill. Nicely done. 12/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wife thinks it's Great! No problems. Can't comment on durability since only have had for a week. Person who says it drips/leaks must be doing something wrong. Definitely worth the price. 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tasting coffee! I'm in love with my new coffee maker! I was very hesitant because of the negative reviews but I'm so glad I gave this a try. I like a strong brew and was worried I wouldn't be able to get one but with a little experimenting I have achieved the perfect cup of coffee for me. Is is a snap to make and two minutes later an awesome cup of coffee, a quick rinse of the filter scoop and it's cleaned up and ready to go for next time. I used french roast beans and it is delicious, to me to coffee tastes like a french press. The machine itself is very fun to use and great coffee results. My new favorite thing! 01/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I've been waiting for a single serve brewer (that does not need pods, cups, or packets) to replace an old standard 10-cup coffee maker, so I was really excited to use The Scoop coffee maker. The machine is well built and takes up very little counter space. Clean up is a breeze compared to the standard coffee maker. I really like the built-in stand for coffee mugs and the extra scoop that is kept on the side of the machine. Typically my first cup of coffee is strong and piping hot, so I was disappointed to discover that the machine falls short of that. Using the same ratio of coffee grounds to water as I did in the standard brewer, the coffee came out very weak and not as hot. The water flows through a little too quickly, even on the bold setting. I thought this was a deal-breaker for me but really wanted to like the machine, so I gave it a week. After tweaking the coffee-water ratio several times, I found that packing down 2 heaping tbsp of coffee ground into the scoop to about 8 oz water is acceptable. I'm okay with the coffee not being as hot, and sometimes warm up the coffee mug with hot water before brewing to help keep it hot. I'm happy to say that I still have the machine. All-in-all, The Scoop coffee maker is convenient, easy to use, and with a little experimentation, makes a near perfect cup of coffee. 12/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Coffee Maker for a Guy My husband is a semi coffee drinker. He likes to have a cup here and there on the weekends and if we are going to be in the car for a while in the morning. Well he wanted the "K" machine for X mas and I would not get it because of the price and besides it can only make 8 oz. He likes more than that. So I did a lot of research around christmas time and as I was about to give up the commercial for the One Scoop came on television. I was so excited to see this price on the Walmart website. I could not believe that this product does not need cups and you can use your own favorite coffee. He brews up to 14 oz and that is exactly what my husband wanted. The best thing I have come across in a long time. It is sleek thin and looks great on the counter. 01/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stopped working properly after 5 weeks After 5 weeks the coffee became weaker and weaker then nearly clear. I need to return the coffeemaker. 01/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coffee maker Great coffee maker! Now I can buy my own ground coffee. Works as well as the higher priced ones. Love it, love it!!! 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for what I needed You can read all the other reviews, some have good points, some just want to complain. You can't get a $250 famous name single cup brewer for less. If you expect the high price model, buy it and quit gripping that this is not as good. I gives me a good quick cup of MY coffee (at a lot cheaper price). All I wanted, All I got................. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Coffee, Convenient & Fun From previous reviews it is clear that people either love or hate The Scoop. Using the bold setting & filling the scoop with coffee to the 14oz line, I have found that it makes excellent, hot coffee (I like mine strong), is easy to use, clean & kinda fun. For reference, I usually use Starbucks preground House Blend & a 12 oz mug. Some previous reviews noted weak coffee & coffee grounds in their coffee. I have had no such problems & believe this may be from placing the coffee in the secondary filter instead of leaving in the scoop for brewing (the instruction booklet is not very clear to leave coffee in the scoop for brewing) or using coffee that is too finely ground (instruction booklet recommends against this). Some mentioned coffee splattering. With the "cup rest" in the up position coffee can splatter if using an 8oz cup instead of a mug (which have a higher lip). Use a mug or put something under a regular cup to raise it up a bit. With an 8 or 12 oz mug I've had no splattering. The 12oz mug fits just under the"filter well". Others have mentioned that their coffee was not hot. To insure a hotter mug of coffee the instruction booklet recommends heating your mug before brewing. I've done this &, compared to a cold mug, does make for a hotter cup of coffee. If that doesn't work, probably a defective unit. To clean, rinsing the scoop, secondary filter & filter well takes no time at all. I recommend The Scoop for a quick, hot mug, or travel mug, of coffee and like I said, it is kinda fun to use. 10/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by hot coffee when you want it, FAST Great single cup brewer without the expense of pods. Just scoop your coffee into the filter, add the water from the mug you want to use and punch the button. Hot coffee (14 ounces in under 3 minutes, 8 ounces in 90 seconds) fresh just when you want it. Be sure and read the instructions, as this machine has many features which are not readily apparent. I'm going to be using this EVERY DAY! 12/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product...just excellent!! First of all, don't pay any attention to the "negative" reviews. I would bet you money that they are written by Keurig employees! Having said that, this coffee maker is a pure joy to use. Use one of the included scoops to scoop out your coffee (or use a kitchen spoon to add coffee to the scoop), pour in your water (two water levels are CLEARLY marked inside the water chamber), press the button, one minute later you have piping hot coffee. Clean up is easy. Take the used scoop to the trash can, gently tap it a couple of times and the coffee falls out, then rinse the scoop out at the kitchen sink. Clean up is the easiest thing ever...trust me on this...it takes all of 10 SECONDS. I love this coffee maker. I love that I can use any coffee that I want AND I can control how strong each cup is. I'm embarrassed now that I've spent hundreds on Keurig products...shame on me!! You have got to try this machine...you won't be sorry. 10/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes a great, and large, 14oz. cup of coffee. I refuse to buy a k-cup device. This is the answer to the problem of how to get a consistent single cup of coffee. Why would anyone buy a machine for $100-$200 to make an 8oz. cup of coffee @ $0.50? Good work Hamilton Beach 12/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not great The basic idea of the 1 cup machine is great, unfortunately doesn't meet expectations. The coffee, when finally brewed...takes forever, and is lukewarm at best. The coffee tastes more like a "French Press" brew, which is fine, if it were hot. I was hoping it would be a good rival to the K cup, but it's not. I don't like warm coffee. 12/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Water and coffee grinds seperate I purchased this coffee maker about a month ago since it was cheaper than a Keurig. I am completely disapointed. The coffee does not get real hot, contrary to the claim It does not brew properly as the coffee grinds separte from the water in the cup leaving a watery coffeee and sandy grinds at the bottom. The instructions clearly state if you want strong coffee add more coffee or less water which I did. I called Hamilton Beach where I get a representative with an attittude who told me it was my own fault for reading the instructions (IN THOSE EXACT WORDS) stay away. This can not even be called coffee. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Coffee Maker For One I was very impressed with this space saving little maker. The two scoops are awesome and there is no need for coffee filters. I never get coffee grounds in my cup after brewing which is quick. I truly recommend this coffee maker for anyone who lives alone or just likes coffee on the go. Its perfect for a tall travel mug as I go out the door to work. Not sorry for purchasing this and it looks decent on my counter, extremely pleased for once. 10/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh coffee or tea ready quickly! I use organic coffee and tea products and want freshly brewed hot drinks whenever I choose. THIS IS THE ONE! Totally satisfied. 09/13/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Consistently inconsistent, weak brew, makes a mess I thought this would be an inexpensive alternative to pods and pod brewers, but it requires too much coffee to make a decent cup, and even then there's no guarantee that it will actually brew your coffee. Many times I've had to toss out lots of grounds and make another cup because the first one didn't brew. Think of the cost of all that wasted coffee! It also splatters all over the place and when it does successfully brew, the strength it always inconsistent - sometimes the coffee is so strong I can stand a spoon in it, and other times, it's flavored water. Yuk! I've had this item for about a year and I'm going to replace it, I just haven't decided with what. 08/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item! I adore this coffee maker. Not only is it nice to look at, it makes a great cup of coffee with little hassle or mess. So glad I found this one! 04/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So Far So Good I purchased the Hamilton Beach Scoop to replace a 12 coffee maker that I'd had for about 15 yrs. I've had this one for about 2 weeks and so far it seems to live up to my expectations. I can not comment yet on it's durability. I'll let you know if it lasts as long as my last coffee maker. The thing I love most about this coffee maker is having a fresh cup every cup. 04/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The only negative thing is that you have to use more coffee to make it strong enough because the water goes through the coffee grounds so fast and doesn't have time to get all the flavor out. But, I bought it so I could brew a cup faster so I guess that's the trade out. 01/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent concept that works Should pay for itself in a few months since we no longer waste those last 2 cups left in the big pot. Every cup is fresh brewed and hot. 01/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this product, still use my electric perculator, but for those afternoon teas and single coffee wants, this product is perfect. Love the fact you use your own coffee and not those expensive pods!!! 12/31/2011
1-30 of 57 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew323
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp