Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Looks, lacks features Out of the box this looked dynamite! And truly, while I'm generally not superficial, that was really the reason I purchased this: for its looks. I had it shipped to store and it arrived in 4 days-I was beyond pleased! That being said, there were a few things I hadn't considered before I purchased it. First, its smaller than I figured...I know the dimensions are posted- I just couldn't visualize it. The turntable holds exactly the size of my large dinner plate. So it will be good for most things, but my old microwave was wide enough to hold a casserole dish. The biggest feature I hadn't even thought about, however, was a light. This microwave has a light, but only comes on while it is heating- my old one came on when the door was opened and during heating. Not a huge deal, but thought I would share that in case its a big deal for others. It also takes longer to heat than my old model, but there was probably a wattage difference. I just heated 4 Costco sausage patties, which took my old microwave 2 minutes...this one took 3 minutes. The express button is great, but since this cooks differently than my old mmicrowave I am trying to become disciplined at using the knob feature...which if you turn it to the left, and select 1 beverage, it heats a cup of tea water perfectly in 1minute 30 seconds. One slight irritation is the three beeps when the microwave is finished- great if you are across the house, but unfortunately the beeps sound wether you've already opened the door or not. Again, not a big deal, but a little irritating. I read other reviews and some had mentioend how loud it is. When I first turned it on it sounded really loud to me as well, but i'm thinking its not necessarily louder- just a different sound(deeper/lower), so I think I will get used to it. The controls are different than other microwaves, so it will take some getting used to, but has been easy enough to use so far and I think i will prefer the dial in the long run. Overall, it has some minor disadvantages, but I am NOT dissapointed with it- I love the way it looks, it heats food fine, and for me its a keeper! 02/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this microwave, I like the 5's style, the microwave is very easy to use, and a nice counter top size. Walmarts has excellent shipping, took less than a week to recieve. Recieved in very good condition. 01/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I really liked the look of this microwave. I really like the look and small size of this microwave. It would have been a great look. There was a rivit or small bolt sticking out the side the microwave and pushed out the paint to the point of a large flake of it came off as I lifted it out of the box. I didn't even get a chance to use the microwave. Walmart was very nice about the return to the store. I think that the retro look was popular for this last Christmas season and the workmanship on them were not up to the standard. 01/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Iconic looking microwave I bought it for my 1957 Airstream Travel Trailer I've just restored. If you want something Fun or Retro that doesn't look tacky this is it. The Candy Red paint is great and with the chrome trim it looks retro as well as classy. I haven't used it yet other than plugging it and boiling a cup of water to make sure it works but it looks robust. Excellent value for money. 02/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best (digital) design; sharp retro '50s styling - digital l.e.d. display you can easily see in low light/darkness - mins/secs and power levels are dialed in; no key pad to punch 37 times while hunched-over in low light w/o your reading glasses (stress reduction) -glass platter carousel - clock; add cooking time in 30 sec increments by pressing a button (up to 12 min) - a dozen pre-programmed cooking/defrost settings, which are dialed-in (no key pad) - child lock feature - fits countertop space of ~ 20"L x 12"h x 14"d - 3 prong grounding plug - oven compartment ~ 12"L x 7-1/2"h x 13"d (turkeys or large casserole dishes are a no-go) 08/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip looking microwave The key feature of this microwave is its hip look. And, it delivers on that in person. I have wanted a digital-dial microwave for years but didn't want to pay the extraordinary price that microwaves with that feature usually cost. Just turning a nob to increase or decrease the cook time is super intuitive and, imo, much preferable to a key pad 99% of the time. This is an 800W oven, which I was worried about coming from a larger 1000W microwave. But, I don't really notice a difference. Maybe this is b/c the space is smaller too? One feature I miss is a digital timer. I'm used to using my microwave as a digital countdown timer for cooking things on the stove. But this doesn't have this feature. Also, two minor notes that weren't apparent before I bought it but aren't really deal breakers. 1) the microwave light only shines when it's cooking not when you open the door. That is a little inconvenient when making tea at night. My last microwave lit up when I opened the door. 2) the "done cooking" signal beeps three times no matter what. In my opinion, if I open the door after the first beep, the last two beeps are not necessary. This wouldn't bother me if the beep weren't so loud when I'm standing right in front of the microwave (with the door open). Still a recommended buy. :-) 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful show stopping red! In redoing my kitchen with red accents, the day my microwave died, I looked online to see if anyone had one in red as I'd recently replaced another small appliance in red. I found one at Walmart, of course, and the price on line was great. I was told that the 800 wattage was not good by my daughter but have found it to be fine for all my needs. The only downside I have found is in the dialing for cooking time, etc. since I've been spoiled by push buttons. I understand that this is because of the retro look and I'm becoming used to it. This is the 2nd thing that I have purchased at Walmart.com and I am hooked. It is so great not to have to drive around and go in person to look for things. 02/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love it I haven't entered a rating for durability because we haven't had it that long. But we love the looks and operation of this microwave and so I hope it lasts a long time to come! This actually comes with features that when you first look at it, you're sure it doesn't do anything. Read the manual....it really does do cool things like an instant popcorn setting or frozen dinners, etc. It just does it all with one button. Really neat! 03/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - super brightening for any kitchen. Love it! That about sums it up. Love the retro-look and feel, while at the same time getting today's ability. Wattage is slightly lower than what I was used to, but can adjust to that. Even bought an additional one for a gift to someone that appreciates the retro look. Noticed they even have a toaster that would match this perfectly. Hmmmm! Will have to think about that. Cannot speak to durability, since I just got it! However, it appears to be very well made and should last as long as my old one (Amana) that is still going strong. Just got tired of the same, white look and wanted something bright in my kitchen. 08/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just What I Expected I'll be the first to admit I ordered this based solely on aestetics. I love the way this looks! Everyone who has seen it has commented favorably on its retro-look design. My old microwave was an 1100w so I do very much notice a difference in this ones ability to heat quickly as it's only 800w. My large mug of coffee that I would reheat would take 1 minute in the 1100w but now takes 2 minutes. I had expected this in advance of ordering. I would not reccommend this for a family or for heavy duty use but as a single person I find it to be just what I needed, works fine for reheating beverages or leftovers and for frozen dinners but is not, from my perspective, designed for long timed actual cooking of food. I would suggest you carefully read the instructions regarding cleaning of this microwave and what products you can use in it for heating and cooking. (it seems paper is discouraged which I am assuming extends to paper towels which I used to use in my old microwave for steaming hotdogs) I will likely seek out bpa free containers with covers for reheating food to avoid splattering. Whether this product stands the test of time for durability remains to be seen, but I'm happy with it and it looks great in my kitchen. It's my first 'fun' microwave :) 07/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Highlight of my kitchen!! I've been waiting a long time until this baby came back in stock!! I am absolutely thrilled that it is finally in my kitchen! Works great. Personally, I wouldn't care even if it didn't because I am so in love with the retro look. But it does work. And it's gorgeous. Bonus! The only thing I might add that may help others is that it is very light compared to my other microwave. So when I pull the door open, the whole thing moves. But nothing a little tricky finger work won't solve. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE this micorwave!!! ♥ The only negative I have about this microwave is that I couldn't get the red one that I wanted. :( Other than that, I absolutely love it! It's small, so a great fit, especially for an apartment, dorm room, or anywhere else you have a small space. It's also fairly light weight, so easy to take with you on road trips to use at the rest areas to save on eating out. Doesn't take up much room at all! I love the design! Very retro! The inside is bigger than it looks on the outside. Holds an entire large dinner plate. But it has a turning plate, which is something I wanted but didn't realize it had till I got it. The buttons take a minute to get used to, but once you do, they're very easy to maneuver. The inside lights up so you can see how it's heating up, & the outside has blue lights for the time/clock. It also has 3 short beeps, not annoying at all, to let you know when it's done. If you get busy or distracted, every few minutes it will go off again to remind you, so you never forget it's in there. I love this feature! It's easy to clean, & very pretty, no matter if you get the red, black, white, or blue/aqua color! I also liked that I could get an extended warranty on it, so if something happens to it, I could get it taken care of without having to just go out & get another one. It has to date exceeded every expectation I had! I would recommend this, & have, to EVERYONE!!! :) ♥ 04/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it, love it, love it I purchased this microwave to replace a three year old kenmore model that was also red. Nothing wrong with it but wanted to upgrade. Arrival was timely, product arrived in perfect shape. Cute, and at a great price-other sites want $50-$60 more. Works well and fits into the kitchen of my studio apartment. Can.t wait til payday to buy the matching fridge! 03/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by LOOKS good i got this because its funky style...teh power isnt that great need to keep food in there a lil longer then other microwaves but its ok because i wanted it for the looks n only use it for pop corn n beverages..i do not cook meals in ot or any microwave ..i make real dinners 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it totally awesome 08/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the look The microwave was delivered to the store in a timely fashion. I experienced no glitches during the pickup. The retro-look microwave (mine is red) is exactly as described. Very pleased. I am enamored of the "dial" time/option feature. Much simpler than the push-button variety. I did read the instuction booklet, but my granddaughters (ages 13+15) had no difficulty in just diving in and figuring it out for themselves. As stated in other reviews, the light does not come on when the door is opened. As to the loud noise during operation that some users reported: no... nothing unusual here. Yes, it is only 800 watts, and this is less cooking power than many frozen foods are test-timed in. So be prepared to add to the suggested microwave times. That may be a deal-breaker for some, but my old microwave (the one this replaces) was manufactured in 1986(!) so I had become used to adding minutes to the recommended cook times. I rated this only average for "durability" as I haven't had it long enough to be more accurate. Since I am unfamiliar with the manufacturer, I did purchase the Service Plan for $9.00. I don't know if that was really necessary but I wanted to hedge my bets, based on some other buyers' dissatisfactions. Overall, I am extremely pleased with the look and functionality of my new retro-look microwave. 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!!! I bought this microwave for the look of it. And, not disappointed. I just bought it so don't know if it will last as long as if made by a big name manufacturer.....but will see. It was not expensive, so worth the risk. Love the 50's style. 07/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome buy Best product ever. It was easy to use and setup. love it and would definitely recommend. 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for parents who refuse to go digital I bought this for my parents, because I was tired of hearing them argue about their microwave situation. My father refuses to go digital on anything he will just continually repair something till it dies! He had a very old turn knob microwave, the kind that you can barely put a tv dinner in anyways the knob had broken like ten times because it was probably fifty years old! I saw this microwave and thought they can do this lol. It has a couple pre set buttons at the bottom as well as the turn dial. Also. It will fit most anything in it because it's so spacious! When it arrived at their door which was very quick for their inexpensive shipping less than five bucks! They called so excited because it looked like an old microwave in excellent condition with the so awesome turn dial! I first saw this at a Christmas party and new I needed to buy it! 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Microwave Absolutely love this microwave. I wanted something that would fit on my counter and still look nice. I have received so many compliments on the retro design...its a real eye catcher for all my guests. Easy to use. Heats evenly and quickly. 10 inch plate size turntable. Does not have an interior light but that is a slight inconvenience when weigh all the positives. 02/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fun 50's microwave A retro red microwave was very hard to find ( local). I was very pleased to find this product, fast delivery, works very well, looks great in my kitchen. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Cooool!!! Why get a boring white or black microwave...a sterile looking stainless steel appliance, when you can have the 50's Cadillac of microwaves??!! It's super cool looking and I've received tons of compliments on it! Saw the same appliance on another website for almost TWICE THE PRICE! Thanks Wal-Mart for style and affordability! 03/11/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap-lasted a month I bought this item because I loved the looks and theme. We moved into a new apartment with it and don't eat at home much so it has probably only been used 4 or 5 times and the motor burnt out today. Not sure if Nostalgia will honor the warranty, but I am hoping so! Still, it is a huge inconvenience when the item is only a month old. 08/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by really good product I we buy this again 02/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gave as a gift and looks great! 02/11/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pass The microwave is pretty but it has no power. It takes forever to warm or to cook items such as the steamfresh vegetables or just warming up food. If you want it for light warming that you don't mind taking longer than usual, then it is fine. It is also expensive, you could get a 1000 + watt for the $100.00 paid for this one. 10/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 Very stylish and easy to use Very happy with the ease of use and performance of the product. It is very stylish and sharp sitting on my counter, and has many asking where I got it from. I have been informing those asking about the microwave, that I got it online from your Walmart with ease, and they were rapid in their response to my selection from start to finish - to include a speedy delivery to a convenient location for pick up. Speaking of finish - it does mar up pretty quickly and easily - the only downside to the product. Not sure why. 10/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this as a gift for our extremely style-conscious, decorating-diva, retro-modern sister and she LOVES it just as we knew she would. The only reason I did not give it all "excellent" ratings is because we just gave it to her two days ago and she hasn't used it enough to determine its value, or durability so we don't know if it meets expectations or not. I certainly hope so! It would be so disappointing if it doesn't hold up. It is just the coolest thing ever! 10/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I got it for the looks, I don't use the Microwave much, but it seems to work fine. 10/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the looks! I only use a microwave for heating up leftovers or beverages, nothing fancy. This really fits the bill for me. I see you can do a bunch of other things with it, but personally I haven't bothered to learn anything else! I'm very happy with it! 10/03/2012
1-30 of 61 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew349
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp