See All Reviews
Bissell 3-in-1 Stick Vacuum
Bissell 3-in-1 Stick Vacuum
$16.11 - $21.48
Rollback
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 3248 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product - if you're realistic! (FILTER HINT!) According to the page it says it is good for hardwood, tile, carpets, and rugs. Is this true - yes.... and no. So I'm going to break it down a little bit (my house has a 1 year old, four plants, 1 short hair cat, 1 large indoor/outdoor, tri-layer coat dog, 1 small indoor, long hair dog, farm equipment mechanic husband, & myself): Hardwood/Tile: Yes --- PROS: It has sufficient suction to pick up everything I saw. CONS: You must go a bit slower than a large vacuum. Carpet: YES on flat or low pile. --- PROS: It has sufficient suction to pick up cat/dog hair, crumbs, staples, small bits of paper, bits of paper towels. CONS: You must go a bit slower than a large vacuum. ///// YES on medium pile --- PROS: It will pick up the basic daily or accidental small dirt messes. CONS: You must go about half the speed of a large vacuum. //// NO on tall pile or shag --- Reason: the shag gets sucked up and blocks air flow. Does it have a traditional brush? No. It had a squeegee. The canister is hard to take off: It was put on incorrectly and has become stuck. Push the release button (forgotten more than most will say) and pull with slight twist side to side. No suction: Check the filter. Being it is a small vacuum, the filter does get covered quickly with hair and light dirt particles. Won't reach into small corners: You're using the wrong attachment. Change the head to the corner attachment. Clean filter, just won't pick up anything: Slow down. The motor is not as powerful as a large vacuum. I purchased mid-January. I have used it almost daily on a medium pile rug, kitchen carpet, hardwood floor, tile floor, and it preformed beautifully. My attempt on a shag rug was an epic fail. Am I happy with this product, YES! I love it! As per my previous comment, I have a houseful of hair! It sucks up the dirt that gets tracked in and the hair that is seeming to come from every direction. Since I do have so much hair I end up dumping the canister quite often which means it's doing it's job; I can't argue with that. What I CAN argue is the carpet & rug claim. Yes, it will work, but should it replace a larger vacuum for a weekly deep clean? NO!!! The motor isn't powerful enough and the squeegee doesn't really assist with the deep clean. This isn't meant to be your "everything" vacuum, it's meant for harder surfaces and quick cleans. I would purchase this for a friend: If that friend has harder surfaces. If their house if mostly carpet, it wouldn't do much good in any place other than kitchen and bathrooms. QUICK WASHING HINT ON WHITE FILTER: Every few days I wash it with liquid dish soap. 1) Rinse the filter in warm water to remove stuck in hair and loose dust. / 2) Put soap in your hand like you were going to wash them & create suds. / 3) After suds have formed cup one hand around the filter and gently twist the filter side to side with the other (washing machine movement). / 4) When it's clean, rise in cold water. / 5) Leave overnight to dry. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by UNEXPECTED SURPRISE! I will never sweep again. I bought this online and picked it up from the store. I was hesitant about the quality bc it is so small and light, and affordable! My vacuum broke a while ago. I have wood floors, tile with grout, and a big shaggy area rug. I live in a small rental on a busy road, have a one year old who loves to eat stuff off of the ground and two dogs. These old wood floors just don't get clean with a broom, nor do I have time to constantly sweep, which I do daily. This vacuum completely astounded me. It not only cleaned all of my wood floors and grout, it gets in the corners, has great suction, and picks up everything from pet hair to cheerios. Also, it's quiet, light, easy to use and assemble, and it doesn't suck up fabrics. I used it on the Christmas tree skirt and it just cleaned it instead of sucking it up! This is truly the coolest "toy" I have bought in a very long time. I wish I could afford to buy everyone one for Christmas. This cut my cleaning time by an hour easily. I have some pics of how well it picks up! Also, it fit under all of my dressers and bed and got behind them and under them, my vacuums couldn't fold flat enough to do that. 12/18/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised I bought this on a whim because as I was cleaning my boyfriend's house, I discovered his vacuum didn't work. All I really wanted it for was to vacuum the one small room in his house that has carpeting. Do my disapointment, it worked very poorly on the carpet. However, I found that it was amazing on the hardwood floors picking up the dog hair! That alone was worth the $20. I brought it back to my apartment where I also have hardwood floors and dog hair of my own to pick up and I just may never take it back to his house since I did pay for it! I did notice that it did work better on my very flat and non-plush area rug than his mor fluffy wall to wall carpet. If you have thick plush carpeting, do not buy this thinking you can replace your standard upright with it. If you have bare floors (hardwood, laminate, tile, etc.) it is worth every penny! 08/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by No more Golden Retriever hair "tumbleweeds"! I bought this in my local store after tons of online research for a "dustbuster on a stick" to suck up the Golden Retriever hair all over my hardwood floors without bending over for 20 minutes straight. I wanted something cordless but those were all so expensive and had bad reviews about having no power. I also wanted one without a roller brush because the dog hair just gets tangled in the bristles and it's a mess. Some people complained that this doesn’t vacuum carpet well but it is essentially a “dustbuster on a stick” with a cord. I didn't expect this to vacuum the carpet; I have a regular upright for that. The cord is pretty long but I do wish it were a bit longer - no big deal. It wheels around easily on the hardwood without scratching but it also works great without the base/wheels on it for more precise cleaning. My only regret is that I wish I'd known I could have gotten it in a cool color for $5 less online :-) I am extremely pleased with my purchase! 07/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Got this for $8.50 on Black Friday (actually bought 2). Great for pet hair pick up. I don't have carpet but is wonderful on hard floors. 02/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 efficient lil guy I needed a light vacuum for my pets hair and dust that trails like crazy into the house here in Dallas. Maybe i should have gone with the beautiful turquoise color, But im am supppper pleased with this vacuum. My dogs think all machines are cyborgs and so they attacked it. PEOPLE THIS ISNT A REGULAR VACUUM. ITs the little handheld thing with a suction guide and a detail attachment. ITs light weight and compact. Its perfect for my low carpet clean up ad as a floor sweeper. *****SEE PICTURE TO HOW MUCH DIRT THIS PICKED UP!**** My regular vacuum broke and its been a month. so i got this and it did better than expected. thank you / go buy it. To prevent slow suction...CLEAN THE FILTER OUT OFTEN. I do after every use. most people who complain dont know how to properly use and maintain things. 07/05/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for the price, but has limitations. I have had this vacuum for a little over a month now and have used it regularly. Pros: Lightweight, sturdy, flexibility. Great on hardwood and tile floors and tightly woven carpets. Cons: No brush action, poor performance on pile carpets, power cord could be longer. This vacuum is now our go-to tool for the floors and short nap area rugs. We no longer go for the broom, the swivel sweeper, or the manual floor sweeper (you push, it sweeps, kinda like an unpowered swivel sweeper). We especially like the way it treats our area rugs. The regular upright vacuum tends to destroy these rugs with the power brushes. This unit does not have a powered brush, so is much easier on these area rugs while still doing a great job getting the dirt up. We have piled carpet in some rooms, and on our stairs, and the lack of a brush limits this unit's effectiveness on those areas. If you understand these limitations, this inexpensive unit can be a great purchase for your solid flooring and low nap carpeting. 08/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations for price When I saw this I thought "it's $20 it's not going to pick anything up, but I'll try it." It's worth every penny, and since it's only $20 I'm thinking about buying one for each room of the house. It's light, easy, powerful, and actually has great suction. This is my new go to gift for friends and family. 08/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for all Non-Carpeted floors When I was reviewing this on this site prior to buying it, I was skeptical about it mainly because of the price. I have tile floors throughout my apartment and wanted a new lightweight vac. I got it out of the box and put it together in seconds. I consider myself somewhat of a clean freak so I put my new vac to work right then. It is great! It is light weight yet powerfull. If its something of high quality at a super cheap price your looking for, this is the product that fits the bill. Trust me, just buy it already, you'll be glad you did! 08/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does exactly what I wanted it to i bought this to vacuum up dog hair off of my hard floors, no carpets. I have had several back surgeries and the constant twisting motion and bending to scoop up with dust pan really bothered me and my heavy vacuum was well just to heavy. This little vacuum works wonders gets all the dog hair up wonderfully. As others have said the cord is too short so I just added an extension cord to it that I leave attached all the time the cord winder holder is big enough to allow me to wrap both the cord and extension cord making it very easy and solving the short cord issue. To keep track of the crevice tool I wrapped a couple of rubber bands around the pole and slip the tool through them to hold when not in use. To take care of the issue of cleaning the filter I use an old roll of packing tape, every few times I empty I stick some tape to the outside of the filter basket and easily pick up and remove the embedded dirt. Sounds like a lot of adjustments but I went through 5 or 6 small vacuums trying to find one that would pick up Pug dog fur and not die within a couple months. I also tried the disposable pad things but that got way to expensive since would take 1/2 a box to do the whole house every couple of days. The Bissell 38B1L has been working for over a year and doesn't look to be slowing down anytime soon! 09/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this! On the shady side of 70 this is perfect for me. Very light weight and not at all awkward when you use it on the ceiling or walls with or without the longer handle. Goes together easily, works great to clean under stoves and corners in the kitchen or under the sink. Had to clean up after some mice under the sink and loved the fact I could vacuum up the droppings, wash the cup and rinse the filter after the fact. Cup comes off very easily, just push the button. Works for surface pickup on carpets like leaves etc that get tracked in with the dogs and the crevice tool works well for that half inch or so my upright seems to leave at the carpet edges against the walls or around the book cases. Also picks up the dog hair under my bed the upright can't reach. Only con would be that the attachments are rectangular rather than round where they attach to the cup so I'm going to check their website and see if they have an attachment set with brushes. Can't be beat for the price. 11/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! I was looking for something small that worked good and this was a great buy. I purchased the dirt devil small vacuum first and it was horrible. After reading reviews on this one, I decided to try it. I normally don't post reviews but I will from now on because they are always so helpful to me. I use this vacuum on my floors and in my bedroom that has carpet. It really does a great job. The carpet in my bedroom is not high, therefore, I don't know if it will work on all lcarpet. Love it! 09/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing We moved into a new home 2 months ago. We have hard wood floors & tile floors. We have 2 cats, 2 dogs & 2 children. I have been on a search to find something quick & easy to help keep the floors clean. I was debating on purchasing a $500 robot vacuum to do its own thing & save me the trouble, but I couldn't commit to something so expensive when I've read a lot of great & not so great reviews about them. I came across this little vacuum online. The reviews sold me on it. $20! I am ecstatic with how well this unit cleans my floors. It is very lightweight, goes together & comes apart so easily. I love the full vacuum for the floors. It has amazing suction for something so small & light. It picks up dirt, dust, pet hair, cat litter, dried playdoh...you name it. I also loves how it comes apart so I am able to vacuum the furniture as well. I am truly happy that I decided to give it a shot & pass on something I would have spent a fortune on. Although this doesn't operate by itself it's so easy to use & cleans so well that I don't mind! 06/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for traveling my husband works in the oil field so me and my 1 year old son travel with him and stay in cabins/hotels that are really small, most places that you stay weeks-months at a time don't have room service so we bought this to keep it clean and I use it for everything... I vacuum the room, curtains, bed sheets (when my husband and son eat in the bed#, I clean my husbands dirty clothes off with it before I wash them, vacuum the dust out of the air conditioner vent that I cant reach, and I even get lazy sometimes and just suck up the old food after my some eats in his high chair.. it reaches anywhere, and my son loves it to, I remove the stick handle part and he can vacuum all day #it has no brush under it so I don't have to worry about it hurting him), by the end of the day it has lost its powerful suction so I wash the filter and leave it to dry over night and in the morning its like new. not sure how it would be on thick carpet but on motel carpet and hard floors its great. 02/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dustbuster on a Stick Product extremely light easy to use and convenient for quick jobs. I now have 3 vacuums. A Rainbow system for the heavy cleaning, A Roomba and this Bissell. The Roomba is great for full let it run and do its thing kind of cleaning. BUT... this little gem is GREAT for the oops types of spills or the everyday tracking in of dust and dirt from the outside. After reading the comments for other purchasers I wasn't sure if I would be happy with the purchase. After my purchase I was in Wal-mart and saw the item on the shelf and figured I had made a mistake in the purchase. There was no way this little lightweight item could do much good. Once the item arrived at the house I gave it a chance and have been pleasantly surprised. It works great on the hardwood, tile and vinyl flooring. I was extremely surprised at how well it did on the carpets and throw rugs. For the price and convenience you would be hard pressed to find a better value. If there is a negative it would be that the cord could be 3-4 feet longer to keep from the constant plug hopping. 12/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Little Vac for Quick Cleaning I read many reviews before purchasing. And I must say, I love it!! No disappointments here. And I got some great ideas from other reviews. This little Vac is great for reaching and cleaning cob webs in your corner ceilings or wherever. Fits behind and between tight places and can be reconfigured very efficiently: take off the floor part, and use without, or use with crevice tool. Remove handle or use handle to reach high spots as stated above. Looks like a toy, but is great for hard surfaces. And great for doing my stairs as well when I need them quickly cleaned for last minute company or either I don't feel like dragging out my heavy vac and dragging it up the stairs. Not made for carpet, I don't think, but picks up well enough on rugs and carpets. Not used as the "Main" vac, but I tell you, I use it more than my heavy duty one. Cleaning the filter is easy and a small inconvenience for all the benefit you get with this vacuum. One last important thing. Anther reviewer mentioned that they wished the 16 foot cord was longer. I added an extension cord to mine to make the cord longer, worked great. So glad I purchased this. And for the price, I may purchase a few more for other parts of the house. So quick and easy to use and store!!! Definitely, clean the filter regularly. IF it breaks after a year, I will have gotten more than my monies worth out of it. It's not a quality heavy duty vac, but for quick, pickups in tight spaces, stairs, ceilings, hard floors, etc, it's fantastic!!!!! 10/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "LITTLE" vacuum that does!!!!! If you have apartment or small house..... this is PERFECT for you! I have a Shark vacuum but I don't always need all of that power. So I thought for $16.00 (and some change, total) I'm going to get it and if I don't like it I'll just return it. NO WAY!!!! I LOVE IT!!!! I put it together in 3 minutes tops! It's soooo light and easy to push! I wiz around the apartment in less than 5 minutes! And you go from hardfloors to carpet to handheld vacuum in minutes! I'm an RN that works as a caregiver to an alzheimer's patient to keep her home with her family as long as I can. I talked her daughter into buying one and SHE (MY PATIENT) vacuumed the kitchen today. It was a hit and made her feel independent again!!! THANK YOU BISSEL!!!!! (I ordered mine site-to-store and got a pretty purple! We bought her's in our Walmart today for the same price it is just not a bright color. But.... their's came with a long crevice tool and MINE DIDN'T! :(( I'm checking into that tomorrow. 08/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good suction, light weight I bought this for bare floors. I don't know how it would work on carpets the suction is strong enough but there is no brush on the bottom and I don't know if a vacuum needs it to to carpets. Pros The vacuum is lightweight and versatile. The suction is very good for a small vacuum and the motor is not too loud. I used it yesterday for the first time and I was very impressed. I paid $19.+ tax it is a good buy. It is thin enough with a long handle to get under the bed and other furniture. The container has a release button which is very easy to empty the dirt out as well as a little filter cup. It also attaches back on very easily. It is easy to take the handle off to use is as a small portable vacuum. it has a long cord. Cons I do feel there should be more directions with pictures. Some of the parts are hard to pull off like the removable floor nozzle and the crevice tool attachment. The long handle is not adjustable in length. It comes in a small box and you have to attach the handle. It is a little tricky, you have push the black plastic up a little so it will lock in the handle. I uploaded a picture of the handle attachment. i put a little oil on the the parts that were hard to pull off. I think that will help. 04/22/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by awesome for someone in a wheelchair. It is very easy to use since I need to constantly manuver the wheelchair to vaccuum various areas of the house. Good quality for a small vac. Easy to empty container. Money well spent. 11/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG! This vacuum is a little gift. IT REALLY WORKS I cannot believe how well this little vacuum really works. I use it on my lineoleum floors as well as wall to wall carpeting. I could not believe the very reasonable price Its well worth more money,, but that is our secret I highly recommend this to everyone 09/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy! I was looking online for a good stick vacuum for my stairs and hard floors. I came across the bissell 3 in1 and was convinced it was the best choice for the money. Before I bought it I wanted to see if I could get it for a better price at Walmart. So I looked online and sure enough it sells for half the price at walmart!!! I drove to walmart immediately and purchased this vacuum for $19.98, and so far it is worth every penny! It has great suction on hard surfaces. Some vacuums make everything go flying all over the kitchen floor as soon as you turn it on. This one did not due that! It sucked everything right up. I also love that it turns into a hand vacuum for quick pickups and cleaning out my car. Plus it worked great on my stairs And the extender that comes with it is good for sucking up cobwebs.... I am very pleased that it makes cleaning my house quicker and less back breaking work. *One good tip~ Make sure you clean out the filter after every use. It keeps the suction working at it's best. 01/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Change your life for under $20 If you have a lot of tile of hardwood and you are done sweeping up hair and dust and food from under the kitchen table, THIS IS FOR YOU. It will cut your cleaning time by 75 percent and you will not be sweeping stuff from place to place, it's just gone! No more crouching with a dustpan! We have birds, and it takes three seconds to be birdseed free. It takes 30 seconds to clean up after play-dough, and a two year old eating rice is no longer a scary thought. 01/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for its intended uses Think of the 38B1L as a plug-in dst bstr with attachments making it easy to quickly vacuum wood, vinyl, concrete or similar flooring, stairs, furniture (with crevice tool), cobwebs in corners, etc. It's not a heavy duty upright vacuum so don't compare it to that. The 16 foot power cord sure beats the battery situation (which begins to deteriorate after the first use). Take off the attachments for doing floors and stairs and use it as you would a dst bstr. When needed, take it all apart, empty dirt into trash and easily clean the filter. When it's dry, put everything back together. It's about 20 bucks, well worth the price and will surely last a lot longer than any of the dst bstrs we've had in the past. 10/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product This little vac is wonderful. By far the best thing I've found to clean hardwood floors. I will never go back to my upright. The best 20 bucks I've ever spent. 10/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I spoke too soon. Junk product! I wrote a previous review for this. At the time I loved it and gave it a great review. I even ordered two more on line as Christmas gifts for my sister and daughter-in-law. Unfortunately, shortly afterward, within two weeks of buying the little sweeper, I discovered the nozzle where the floor attachment fits on mine was cracked. The floor attachment will not stay on anymore. I didn't remember breaking it, but my husband had been using it and I assumed he had stepped on it or something. However, when my relatives opened the boxes of their new little sweepers, BOTH of them were already broken--before they took them out of the box. I hope they can return them and use the cash for something that is not junk. I will no longer review any products I have not tested for longer than a "honeymoon" week. This machine is just not properly manufactured. I used to work in the plastic industry and I know that the manufacturing process has got to be faulty when items come pre-broken as did my two gifts. And by the way, gifts like that were very disappointing to the recipients. 12/31/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Filter Replacement Issue So irritating to buy this at Walmart but they don't sell the filters. Yes, the filter can be washed but after washing it a few times it holds onto more and more dirt to where it doesn't work. Only a few online places to buy the filter and Bissell charges $2.95 to ship 1 $2.99 filter. Other websites selling filer are just as bad as to cost. Might at well throw out the vacuum after a few filters and buy a new vacuum for the cost of the filters. Next time I look to see if Walmart sells the filter before I buy. The Arm and Hammer filter Walmart sells for Bissell Stick Vac will NOT work on this 3-in-1, not even close to the same shape. Performance of vac is what I expected. It does not pick up on carpet but does work where I need it in the kitchen. The old Bissell Stick vac worked a lot better than this. 02/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is fantastic, I love it! This is the best vacuum I have ever owned! And I have had a few..but this one is light weight, has duel functions and I would never go back to using another type! I saw this one being used in a hotel, and just had to get myself one. I figure if a hotel uses it daily then my small home would be fine with it , and it is. 12/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Suction works for about a minute... So I got this vacuum during the Back-to-School sale for $15. Let's just say you definitely get what you pay for. I bought this vacuum for my boyfriend who only has 3 area rugs and a hall rug in his house and has 2 small dogs. Upon opening the vacuum it was super easy to put together, very light weight, but does look a little flimsy. When I first started vacuuming I thought, "Wow, this little vacuum has some kick!" And then all went down hill from there. The vacuum started to make a lot of noise and blowing out a tone of air in its vent. To my dismay I noticed I need to empty the filter after a minute of vacuuming. The tank had very little dirt in it. Once emptied I continued to use it again and this time it last for about 30 seconds before it made a loud noise and start blowing air out of the vent again. Now, his carpets are not terribly dirty but this vacuum does not want to pick up anything after about 2 strokes because the filter needs to be constantly cleaned out. I would highly not recommend it to anyone unless your carpets are usually very very clean because it is a horrible vacuum. Now it's back to sweeping the carpets again until I can find a better vacuum. 10/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Under $16, it's Good I wouldn't call this the best vacuum in the world but for under $16, it is worth the price. I received the 'teal' today and the suction is very good for such a light weight vacuum. I would not suggest this item for carpeting of any kind. Altho I did try it out on a couple of small flat kitchen throws and it worked fine on them. I believe to get the most for your money for this item would be to use it primarily on bare floors, use for brief periods of time as to not over-heat the motor, empty dirt catcher container after each use. I don't have carpet in my new house, only hardwood floors and tile, in addition to some scatter rugs. I have a power corded hand held and also a shark navigator vacuum. I purchased this item since it was a good value and will use it primarily for fast sweeps. It does almost seem like a toy when you first start unpacking it. You shouldn't expect heavy duty plastic, etc because it's not. If it only lasted a year, it would be well worth this price. You can't hardly buy a good push broom for $16. 08/22/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Majority of what i was looking for When i was looking to purchase a vacuum i didn't really have the extra money to spend. When i found this i was super excited. Ordered it with in store pick up. Was ready within a few hours (because it was available in the store). Got home and couldn't get it out of the box fast enough. Once i took it out i was a little disappointed. Said it could be used on floors and carpet but i wouldn't advise to buy this just for carpets. Their are no brushes on the bottom and the part where the brushes would be is VERY light so it makes it kind of hard to do carpets unless your only going forward with it. When i pull back with it on my carpet it bounces around. Bout other than that its great!! I only have one room with carpet so i cant complain too much about it. Works great on my hardwood floors though. Would definitely recommend unless you need something for a lot of carpet unless you only use this more as a daily up keep on carpets (just something to pick the small stuff daily or every few days) 12/06/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T07:40:44.625-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3248, tr_3248
  • loc_en_US, sid_16481103, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 2,949 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  99 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew386
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp