See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 10 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Camp Coffee at its finest So easy and just like at home. I can't live without my coffee and though this is a bit on the extravagant side for camping....its a must if you gotta have your morning Jo. I liked that I didn't need to have the campfire going first and no messy coffee grounds to clean-up as you get with a perk-pot strainer......Just put your coffee filter in and go. I left it out the second night and awoke to rain so the push button ignition didn't spark, so I had to hold a lighter up to the side to get it lit.....ignited right-off (a close one....thought I'd miss out on coffee). I used the same can of gas for six or seven pots and i can get several more out of it I'm sure. Truly this is camp coffee at its finest!!! 07/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by so far best camping coffee maker i have found i bought this for my wife for a cub scout camp out she seems to love it. 11/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One word WOW! Being I am new to camping I cannot picture a time without such an appliance. I just bought it and received it a couple days ago. I ran two pots of water to break it in a little before brewing my first test pot. First when I took it out of the box I realized what a solid unit this is. A bit on the heavy side, but I have my wagon to haul my stuff so weight isn't an issue. I love the upgrade to a steel pot. So I know I will have this unit practically forever if I take care of it. It brews a perfect pot every time! Just like my brew station. And trust me i'm VERY picky when it comes to my coffee, especially the first cup of the day! So with that said if you are on an itinerary as I will be at Cub parent weekend I plan to get up about a half hour early. Its not fast. 18 mins for a full pot is about right. As a previous review states if you plan to brew a full 10 cup pot you will need to add about a cup of water as it its brewing. What I did was fill the pot and dumped as much as I could into the reservoir, then dumped the rest in a cup and added it as the coffee was brewing. For that reason it would have been nice if they stamped the side of the steel pot so you know how many cups your making or measuring for like a regular coffee pot. The other drawback is you can't keep the pot warm but I will try just turning my grill on low and see how that works. I would only see this being a problem if it was cold out anyway. I also wish you didn't have to buy the storage / carry bag separate. I ordered it because it will help protect my investment and help keep it clean when its not being used. I would rather them charge a few more bucks and include the case which is not usually sold where the coffee maker is. In conclusion despite the few drawbacks that keep this bad boy from being completely perfect, I would highly recommend this to anybody who loves their coffee when camping. I can't wait to"field test" it and my only wish is that my mom could have seen this, she loved to camp and she loved her coffee so i'm sure if this was around while she was alive and going camping I would not have had to buy one. Oh and the other positive I liked is that its all self contained. Which is attractive to take anywhere without having to lug a stove too. 06/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cup of Coffee It makes a great cup of coffee. Easy to use. Only drawback is that you need to fill the reservoir and then fill a cup with the rest of the water and add it after some has brewed to get a full pot. There is probably some lawsuit reason for this so I did not deduct a star. 03/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Happy Camper...? With Coleman Quality... Haven't used it yet...can't WAIT to go camping this season. Bought this among other items recently. Opened up the box to a BEAUTIFUL, QUALITY, STURDY item! Well made!! I chose this one instead of the 'other' Coleman coffee maker, as this can be used on a separate, small propane tank. More versatile, as the other type can ONLY be used on the propane stove. Hum...what about picnics, or in the backyard, or for an extra pot?? Also, I believe the other one has a GLASS carafe. Love the stainless-steel pot...& favorite color! A few years ago I bought a Coleman's blue-enamel perk-coffee-pot but it was a piece of junk, was flimsy & broke before I even used it! (I think that one was about $25) Returned it to Wal-Mart quite easily. Looking forward to a normal, tasty cup of 'Jo' this year. Will mostly be using for yearly-camping trips. Looks to work exactly like my household (cone-drip basket) pot, so, in anticipation of of a perfect brew, I will give this all 5's. I will update review QUICKLY if this turns out to be a piece garbage! 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome product, starts my day off right on the bo All I can say is this is an awesome product, really lets me start my day off right on the boat. Coleman hit a homerun with this one, the only thing I would have changed is to maybe have made it have a thermal carafe instead of just being polished steel. I spend a lot of weekends aboard my sailboat, and this definitely lets me bring another comfort of home aboard! 06/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Defective Product Very disappointing for a Coleman product. Everthing else we've ever purchased from them was excellent. The gas regulating device failed. It lit the first time, but then the valve froze and would not reignite. I will be returning for refund. 08/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for Emergencies I purchased this item on the first of June 2012. Approximately two weeks later we had an unscheduled power outage that lasted more than 8 hours. My home range and oven are electric. While most of my neighbors went out to eat dinner, we continued with our regular routine of cooking a Tri-Tip roast in our portable propane stove, and used the propane range to prepare the potatoes. When I wanted a cup of coffee, we pulled out the propane coffee pot and made two pot fulls of coffee. Its takes a little longer to brew a pot of coffee compared to an electric coffee maker(15 mins). The only problem that I had with the coffee maker was an issue with the arm that releases brewed coffee from the drip basket into the coffee pot. When I unpacked the maker from the box, I may have inadvertently dislodged the arm from the side of the maker. While I installed the arm correctly coffee flowed from the brewer basket. For back-up, I have a Coleman coffee maker that can be used on a propane range. After using it in tests I decided to keep it as back-up and brought the self-contained coffee maker as the primary. I live in earthquake country, and try to stay prepared. At present I have 60 pounds of propane gas and 200 pounds of charcoal in standby for cooking. I am increasing my propane to 200 pounds during the next year. Then on to a generator and fuel.... My goal is 30 days self sustained.... 06/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coleman Propane Coffee Maker This propane coffee maker is great!! We can now have fresh brewed coffee when camping, no more carrying a couple of thermos' and having to reheat the coffee in a pot. It is also great for tailgating. It uses the small propane bottles so we don't have to carry a large bottle and have to get the gas line adapters, since our grill also uses the small bottles. Even great for making coffee in the backyard when we light up the firepit and just want to relax. No more stringing extension cords or having to get up and run in and out of the house for a cup of coffee. 10/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great! This coffee pot is great for brewing outside. It has it's own burner and does not take up space on the stove. Brewing time is about the same as for a similar electric pot and has an auto shut-off so you can pour a cup before it is finished brewing. 08/16/2012
1-10 of 10 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.