See All Reviews
SentrySafe HD4100 Waterproof Fire File
SentrySafe HD4100 Waterproof Fire File
List Price: $169.99
You Save: $120.77 (71%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a really heavy duty safe! It is not something you would want to carry around but I feel confident that if there were a fire or flood, my documents would be safe and sound. It certainly is spacious and will hold all of the average person's important papers. I think it is a good quality safe and well worth the money. 07/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good safe I bought this to replace another fireproof safe I had from the past that was cracked and was compromised. I like this, it's sturdy and appears as though it would hold up well during a fire or flood. It's just a little smaller than my last safe, so that's the only disappointing part. Otherwise, good product! 08/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Safe is very sturdy and weighs 46 lbs. Also sharp looking and roomy. 01/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I spent lots of time searching for the right safe, and finally settled on this fire and water safe model. I was planning to use the safe without the hanging files, but found that the inside dimensions were a little too narrow to accommodate an 8 1/2 sheet of paper flat. Therefore, I had to buy the hanging files after all. I bought them at WalMart at a good price, so didn't mind the extra cost. I like everything else about the safe and think it will be a good fit for my document needs. 09/30/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good safe filing cabinet Overall I'm pleases with it. Heavy enough you know it will survive but not to heavy that one person can't carry over short distances. Works great a a filling cabinet that is secure, perfect size for the pendaflex hanging folders. Wish it came with a net for the spot in the lid to put cd's or other electron stuff in, you have to buy a net seprate if you want to use the space available in the lid. 01/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product I thought this safe would have a more sturdy locking mechanism, but overall it is a great product. 01/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, basic, safe storage for papers/files The SentrySafe Fire and Waterproof File is a good, basic unit without going overboard on size, complexity, and cost. It should hold as many documents as the average household needs to protect. This does not include photos since some people have many, many photos and photo albums; however, it will be adequate for the normal amount of legal documents, passports, vehicle titles, property deeds, etc. It will also accommodate letter-size hanging files. Although is has a key lock, this is not a safe to protect things from thieves. Although slightly heavy, and it has no handle, it is small enough for one person to carry off. Also, the plastic latching mechanism could probably be hammered loose easily. If you have things to protect from thieves, this is not for you. The only real negative that I have is that the latch is a little difficult to press closed and pull open. The amount of force required to snap the latch closed is estimated at 15-20 lbs., pressing with the palm of your hand - it does seal tightly. It will then require about 5 lbs. of force on the latch with your fingertips to open. As the instructions say, pressing down on the lid to partly compress the gasket helps a little to operate the latch. The latch operation seems to be getting easier the more I use it, however, so it could still fully meet my expectations. Since we have no snooping kids (or adults) in the household, we probably will not even lock it with the key. Rather than have a burglar carry it off, I would rather them be able to see that there's nothing of immediate value in it for them like cash, drugs or guns. For keeping household papers safe from fire/water, it will serve that purpose rather well at a very good cost compared to other units I researched. 01/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its a safe i haven't dunked it or taken a blow torch to it, but it holds stuff and locks.. 11/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, I am pleased with this fire/water proof safe. It holds hanging file folders and a good number of files. It can be hard to latch until you realize you need to push down the black part of the latch, not the whole top. The only major complaint I have is that there are NO handles of any kind. This is a heavy item and once full is even heavier. Without handles, it is hard to move around because you have to get your arms completely around it to lift it. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great size Really great for storing a large amount of personal documents. Very roomy and you can review files easily. 11/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product -- Great Price I bought this to replace a much smaller fireproof safe I've had for years. I really, really like this one because it comfortably fits the 1 inch plastic binder that my living trust documents are stored in. I looked a long time for a reasonably priced fireproof/waterproof safe for this purpose, so I'm very happy with this gem of a find. 08/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by See below I was very happy with the safe the first couple of time I used it but when I got all my files together, organized and in the safe it refused to close and lock. It is not too full and the files are not too tall, they easily fit. So, I am going to have to make a return trip to Walmart with the return (which, by the way, is too heavy for me to get into my car without help). Very sorry and disappointed that this happened, it is the first time I have been disappointed with an online order. 08/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roomy Safe I purchace this at my local Walmart store, and it has lots of room and is built very well for the price. Don't care alot about the plastic handle used to open it, even though it makes it easier than an older model I also have. Works great for me. 11/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe safe Very good value I have looking for this at A good price I found it 11/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Quality & Value Plenty of room for documents and other valuable items. Yet to see if waterproof from flooding. Overall, feel my valuables are much more secure. Only Fear: Remote possibility of any strong-armed thief taking it. 10/12/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by inexpensive piece of mind large enough for most family needs small enough to fit in a closet 11/28/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Will do the job This is a heavy sucker, weighs at least a double hernia. I stenciled "IMPORTANT PAPERS" on the top and front. in hi vis yellow' I don't intend to put money or anything of monetary value in it, so it is not locked. Maybe that will keep a burglar from taking it. I feel that my important legal papers are well protected from fire & water. I will probably put my name and address on the outside also. We live in tornado ally. 02/05/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money The safe I received was dirty on the outside and had scuff marks on the outside. Not too long after opening the safe the rubber lining inside the lid just fell out. Overall it looked cheap and shotty and I am glad to have returned it to the store. 12/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not particularly secure Received this safe as a Christmas present. See that piece in the center on front, the one with the logo? That's what the lock attaches to. It's also made of plastic. A few whacks with a decent hammer should cause that piece to shatter, and voila. Easy access for those that the safe is meant for. 01/01/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Too heavy It is a heavy steel safe, but has a cheap plastic latch and handle that can be pried opened easy 11/08/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Will be returning to Walmart. When someone that weighs 215 pounds has to sit on the lid and you still can't lock the "SentrySafe Fire and Waterproof File" it is defective. Why would risk at continue to try to get it to work and then NEVER get it open? Would NOT recommend it. 03/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The safe seems to be just what I wanted, hopefully I never find out just how good it is!!! 04/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sturdy construction though the locking mechanism seems a little flimsy. The walls are nice and thick and the inside is fairly roomy though not quite as big as I expected. Overall, it works well and serves its function. 04/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Made This safe is very solid and well made. It should provide years of service with no issues. I can't comment on it's ability to withstand fire, thankfully haven't had the need. It does have really thick walls though, so it should do the job if it has to. 05/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good file safe Comparable with most of the others of this type. the only think I don't like is it doesn't close very well if you use hanging file folder like my other SentrySafe which is much older. If they get to close to the front or back, it will not close. So I put just the yellow folders at the front and back with the hanging ones in the middle and that seems to work OK. 03/23/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by DO open box to check if damaged before take home A bit disappointed with Walmart shipping and handling of the products we ordered. Found at home when we removed the products from boxes some damage to outside of one of safes. Boxes didn't have any visible damage. We bought 2 for gifts, shipped to store for pickup and found one had a small dent on rear top of safe. Didn't seem to cause any problem with safe's mechanics but decided to keep rather than give as a gift due to cosmetic defect. 07/30/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by now safe glad I bought it, although latch seems kind of flimsy. Nice and roomy. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great item at a GREAT price! My son told me I needed a fireproof box for important documents and that it would cost several hundred dollars. We were thrilled to find this one for only $50!!!. When I went to pick it up at our local Walmart everyone was concerned that it was too heavy for me to lift. They did all the lifting to get it into my van and made me promise I would get help to unload at home! They were very helpful and caring people! Thanks! 01/25/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Lot Of Plastic I bought this file safe having looked at only the picture on the box because there were none on display. I was disappointed to see that the hasp along with the entire safe is plastic. Why bother to put a lock on a safe that has a plastic hasp that I could break with my fingers? The bulk SentrySafe's customers at their own website have given this safe 2-stars which I think is accurate. How much money was saved with this plastic hasp that will melt in any fire allowing contents to fall out? 09/29/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I thought the lock would be sturdier but this is a fire and water safe, not a security safe. 09/13/2012
  • 2015-10-03T03:57:29.760-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_154, tr_154
  • loc_en_US, sid_16419992, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 133 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.