See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good picture Great price I went to Walmart to buy a 55" LCD HDTV. They had about a half dozen TV's of different Mfg's ranging in price from $1200.00 to $2200.00. I had settled on a LG since I had a 47" LG and really liked the picture. I then worked myself down to the end of the row of TV's and saw the Sanyo DP55441 for $850.00. I liked the price - a lot. I spent a good half hour going between all the 55" sets comparing pictures. The Sanyo's picture fell in the middle of the pack. I was familiar with the Sanyo brand from twenty years ago when I used to service TV's. At that time I found them to be very reliable and well built, but I have no idea if the Sanyo of twenty years ago is the same Sanyo of today. Considering the picture was as good as the others and the price was much lower, I decided to buy it and give it a try. The TV is a little heavier and deeper than the more expensive models but not by much. It was apparent where some of the cost savings were. The inputs and outputs were a little lacking. Only three HDMI inputs and no optical digital audio output. (It does have a coax audio output) The HDTV is not internet ready. It is just a bare-bones HDTV, but I accepted that when I bought it. For $11.00 I bought a coax to optical audio converter and for $20.00 I bought a HDMI switcher which now gives me a total of six HDMI inputs. Both items were bought for less thn $50.00. Like most HDTV's the picture was terrible when setup in my living room. I then pulled out my HDTV calibration disc and went through the simple process of properly setting the controls. When I was finished I was amazed. This TV displayed a great picture. Every bit as good as more expensive models I've watched. Let me take the time now to tell everyone that properly calibrating the picture is essential. I consider this step a must. The difference after calibrating the picture is amazing no matter the manufacturer or price of the TV. The sound is just OK but I have it hooked up to home-theater sound, anyway. I have had the TV almost a week and am very pleased with it. As I said it's a little heavy and deep but for all of it's short comings, the price has made it worth it. If your shopping for an HDTV and your on a budget, I recommend this HDTV. 09/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent value and picture Easy to set up. Tuner lacks Favorites, so you have to manually scroll to or manually enter a station. A combination power-saving / image adjustment feature on the Sanyo DP55441 (and the Sanyo DP52440) is the "Light Sensor". This feature changes the contrast and brightness variably with ambient room light. The default setting on my DP55441 was for the feature to be enabled, and for the setting (low, medium, or high on the DP55441 and simply on/off on the DP52440) to be on high. Since my viewing room is rather dim, I found myself a bit disappointed in the brightness of the image even after I had adjusted it with the THX feature on a DVD. I just happened to stumble upon the light sensor adjustment after a closer re-read of the manual. Turned the feature off, re-adjusted to my taste, and voila - awesome picture! I'm thrilled with this set! Set has coaxial digital audio out, which is not an optical out. I believe you can get an adapter at Monoprice (search for #2947) for about $12 if you need it. I'll tell you what - watching The Matrix on Blu-Ray with this set looked like it was in 3-D! Awesome! 08/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good TV Very easy to operate. Even with out HD signal the picture is very clear 08/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps turning off I really like this TV, only problem is that it turns off by itself. I called Sanyo customer service and they told me to take it back and exchange it. There is something wrong with the software. I asked if this is a common problem with this model, they said no. I am not too happy about having to lug this tv back to the store and then lug the new one back. I havent even gotten rid of the first box yet. I did call Walmart and they will exchange with my receipt. Other then that I am very happy with the price and the screen quality. - 09/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice I have had this television for about 2 months now, so think I know how well it works, and can give a fair assessment. The picture on this television is very nice. I have read other reviews which complain about "grainy" picture, but this is a BIG television, and is made for viewing from a bit of a distance. If you are 3 feet in front, yes, the picture is a bit grainy, but backing up a bit resolves this quite nicely. The stand is a bit flimsy feeling, but I think it will solidly hold the television throughout my time owning it. I can't really rate the sound, as all my sound runs through my surround system, and not the television. Overall, I am thrilled with the TV. I would recommend it to anyone. 10/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 55" for $798.00?? Are you kidding me?! My Sony Wega was dying (optical block). So I started doing my research and I looked for about two weeks. This Sanyo came in 4th on Consumer Reports in it's catagory. The other three were LG (2) and an Insignia, all for about 2-3 hundred dollars more. Yes this tv does not have all the bells and whistles that the others have, but it's enough for what I need. The picture is great (it beats my Sony Wega LCP hands down), I did turn off the refresh rate, for it was doing the motion blur/juddering. And what I read from most of the experts, most of the signals that being used is still 60 frames per second, and the higher refresh htz rate are overkill. Yeah the sounds is not the best, but not to many LCD tvs do. Plus I run a home theater system anyway. If your looking for a great deal for your hard earned money, look no further. Pros-Great picture, nice looking tv, and great value for the price. Cons-Sound is lacking and the remote is not greatest, glad I have my Dish remote. 02/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent TV This is a great TV for the price. Not a lot of bells and whistles but it has an excellent picture in both HD and SD. Some of the poor reviews are unfounded such as “if you hook up your computer it will not be shown in 1080DPI”. It’s not the TV that’s the problem, but your computer. If you have an older computer and use a 15pin VGA hookup then it will be shown in 480DPI. If you have a newer computer that has an HDMI cable then it will be shown in 1080. The TV has a USB port which works great for viewing pictures from a memory stick. You can view them as a slide show with different options as to how the pictures change from one to another. I too had the TV default to the “home” vs “store” screen each time I turned it on until I let it go through a full scan and that corrected the problem. I have a subscription to a consumer magazine and they rated this TV very good for the price. It was also rated second only to Panasonic in reliability. 02/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good T.V. all around... I purchased this t.v. 1-21-12, brought it home set it up right out of the box, no problems, this is a great t.v. for the money. It is nothing fancy, but the picture quality is great, crystal clear picture as if you could reach out and touch what ever you are watching.. and it is easy to set up. The sound is a little low but with the purchace of a sound bar no problems. I would recomend this t.v. to anyone who is looking for a great value for a t.v. of this size. Do not go to the store with a car to pick up this tv!!! as the box is huge, you will need a truck or a suv for this one..... 01/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy so far! I bought this TV at the Walmart store for under $800.00. I also bought the extended warranty for another $100.00, so I have a four year total warranty. I hooked up my cable box with a HDMI cable and hooked up my Bose 321 system with the RCA cables. So far, I couldn't be happier. The picture is crystal clear and of course the sound is great running through my BOSE system. I also programmed my Time Warner cable remote to handle the cable, television and sound system. Everyhting is working great. I don't need all the bells and whistles that some people want. If you just want a nice TV to watch your movies, shows, and sports, I recommend this one. 02/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy I sold TV's for a different company for many years. This is the Best Value I've ever seen. Great Picture, Best Features, Best overall quality ever!!!! 01/17/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by DO NOT BUY! Purchased from local walmart in May 2011. It is now 5 days out of warranty and the TV completely stopped working. Do a Google search of Sanyo TV complaints and you will find this is a common problem. They will not fix it (5 days out of warranty) very common problem with Sanyo TV's. Do not buy you are throwing away your money. $850 for 1 year use! I see walmart has refurbished ones now (take that as a sign). 05/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Deal, but no extended service offered!! I have had this TV for 4 months and it is great. the very video and audio exceed my expectations. It does lack the Favorites, but in my case with U Verse, I can use there Favorites section. Exceptional value for the money. I did not know about the service plan till now, no one offered it to me when I purchased at the store. I thought it was funny that they did not offer some kind of service plan, but I thought it might not be eligible. I have been shopping on line for an after market warranty. I just found the on-line version says the warranty is available for $88.00. I will consider that 09/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Sounds great, Pic is good, it's not a LED but it's a great TV. I compared the 55" Vizio and Sony and the pic was about the same but alot less money. I bought it for $680 plus tax it was a return that someone didn't know how to use it. For that price I woud buy it again. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended buy in Consumer Reports After our tv lost its picture, my husband asked me to look for a good tv at a good price. After alot of research and my husbands money pinching ways it was hard to find a good tv at a good price. My mother-in-law offered me her consumer reports book and after looking at the reports and at Walmart I found this tv and it was under the recommended buys and great value, so i bought the tv and we both love the tv and my husband was shocked I found a 55" for $800.... 02/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always dependable! Over the years we have bought all different brands from Sony to no-name brands but after spending far too much money on a Sony about 8 years ago and it ended up being a lemon, we decided to try Sanyo's. We now have three Sanyo flat screens ranging from 32" to 55" and they're all great, haven't had a single problem. The picture is clean and clear and they are super easy to set up. 02/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the price This may not be a top of the line with all the bells and whistles HDTV but it more than meets my needs. I'm satisfied with the picture and the sound. Most less expensive flat screens require a sound system hook up in order to get decent sound and you might want to do that if you're watching blu ray but for everyday viewing the built in speakers are fine. The only problem I had with initial set up was I failed to do a channel scan (since I was hooked up to my direct tv box I didn't think it was necessary) this is mostly for guys because we never read instructions we think we know it all. Of course I know this TV will probably cost about $600 after Christmas but I didn't want to wait that long. 12/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Out of the box ready. Settings never had to be changed. On sale saved enough to purcahse the three year warranty. Size Picture Dollar for Dollar. You can not beat this tv. This is my third sanyon. They have all been great. 12/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible.....Never buy, its Junk My grandparents bought this tv and it didn't last a year. It shuts off and won't come back on. We called the company and they just said..... It happens. Don't buy a Sanyo brand tv there junk and the company won't support there product. 02/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this HUGE TV! We love this TV. We used the Site to Store option for delivery and it was exactly as advertised. Worked great for us. We use it as a TV in our Bar/Bonus Room and it's been the perfect size, picture is great, sound is great. I shopped around for a long time and this was a great buy. Price was awesome and quality exceeds the price. Would definitely recommend. We also got a wall mount from Walmart and it worked very well with this TV. It was our first time to mount a really large TV and we had no trouble. 02/07/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Read First A: Just wanted to share this ALERT highlighted in RED ON THE BBB website regading the Sanyo brand:"This business has a pattern of complaints concerning product defect issues, specifically that Sanyo flat screen television panels or screens will stop working one to two years after the date that the consumer purchases the television. Consumers typically allege that their television screens stop working shortly after expiration of the Sanyo manufacturer's warranty and that Sanyo refuses to repair, replace, or issue a refund based on expiration of the warranty . Sanyo has responded to some complaints by stating that it will offer free parts to the consumer but not labor, and has responded to other complaints by offering to sell the consumer a new television at a discounted price." http://www.bbb.org/arkansas/business-reviews/manufacturers-and-producers/sanyo-manufacturing-corporation-in-forrest-city-ar-8183 06/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! Great product! Worth all the time I put in comparing brands and retailer sales, store and online pricing differences. Size,features and price was perfect!! Half the cost of the other name brands with same size and features. I hope the extended in home warranty ( if needed) will live up to my same exectations as the purchase experience did. Purchased online shipped to store...No Charge for shipping, others wanted average of $125 additional extra or all ready figured in price. Good job Walmart! 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great TV, excellent value, incredible buy! I did a ton of research before buying this TV and quickly noticed that it was the fourth highest ranked TV by consumer reports for this size LCD. The picture quality is excellent and when I compared it to other, more expensive, models, I found that it was completely on par with them. I originally purchased the refurbished one and it was pretty scratched and had pixels out, so I bought the new one because I really liked the picture. Overall this is a great TV and you can't beat the price. Granted, this TV doesn't have wifi and is therefore not considered a "smart" TV, but then again it's also not $1200! If you've looked around and your trying to find a great picture without breaking the bank, then this is a good LCD TV. I would recommend buying the three year walmart warranty because, well, you never know. The TV comes with a 1 year manufacturer's warranty, then you add the walmart warranty and you've got four years of headache-free HD 1080p TV for only $99 more. 05/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buyer Beware! Cheaply made TV. I purchased this TV a little over a year ago. A couple of months ago the picture started to go dark. I turned up the color and brightness settings on the TV but it continued to get darker. It got to the point where the TV was not watchable. I contacted Sanyo only to be told that this is a known issue with the LCD screens but that because it did not happen in the first year I would have to cover the cost of a replacement LCD screen and the repairs which would total about 800.00. If this is a known issue why do they keep using those LCD screens and why should I have to pay for them using cheap parts in the first place. I had a reasonable expectation of a longer lifespan on my TV set. So buyer beware. I hope this helps some. Feel free to do an internet search about Sanyo and the darkening LCD issue if you think I am biased. 07/10/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by First, check my order # 2677136-572582 If you do, you'll see we had lots of problems with the initial SANYO 55" TV. However all Walmart personnel did provide good efforts in trying to straighten out the problem. And, as a result, a replacement SANYO 55" was forwarded and is now being viewed... However... the same problem has cropped up: 'video jerks' are, as best as I can describe it, still there. But much better than the previous SANYO that had very obvious 'jerks'. It also had audio 'outs' for a second or two. At least we've purchased the 3-year extended warranty, thus we plan to see how this second SANYO does. So far, little 'jerks' appear and since we're looking for them we are concious of their appearances. We never had this problem with our 55" SONY (though a bad line situation developed, thus our reason for going for the SANYO). Also...we hooked up a smaller VIZIO LED tv to the DVR/Box ... No 'jerks'. Thus, not the DVR/BOX. The problem has to be 'inbred' in the SANYO. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great tv for a great price excellent tv for the price very good picture good sound awsome to play video games on had it for a week havent had a problem yet very good value not alot of extras but for a basic tv very impressive 03/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by It doesn't get any better than this! I purchased this SANYO 55" HDTV about a month ago. The most impressive feature of this SANYO is the quality of the picture. It is so bright and sharp with great colors. I have not seen a better picture on other TV's at any price! Although some reviewers have been disapointed with the sound of the built-in speakers, I think they are just fine. I have the SANYO TV hooked up to a surround sound system, which I use for viewing and listening to movies. But for regular programing, where the surround sound is not critical, the built in speakers do a fine job. You can spend a lot more money for a 55" HDTV.....but why would you? This one is great! 06/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent picture This is my 3rd big screen 1080P HDTV purchase in 5 years. My last was a panasonic 54" plasma which I still think is one of the best HDTV's on the market. I was reluctant to buy the Sanyo because it's not a high market name brand and also because of it's low price. After reading a review by a leading consumers magazine I decided to take a chance. Don't hesitate to buy this product, you will be thrilled. 05/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by For $800 you can't beat it. Comparing this TV among the others on the display wall, it had the brightest picture and smoothest motion. Considering it was display between televisions that cost $1200 and $1600. The sound was a slight let down. I was upgrading from a 46" plasma so I expected a little sound quality loss. We bought the iLive sound bar(also at walmart) and paired with the tv is excellent. We had an issue with having to set it up every time we cut it off(select home/store, air/cable, etc.) but after doing a channel scan even though we were using a HD box from charter everything stuck. 03/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Tv After doing much reasearch on Tv's - We went for the Sanyo & I'm SO glad we did! Setting it up was very easy (I did most of it myself...I didn't need Charter to come & set it up for me!) At first the picture was out of whack but after hooking up the HDMI cable the picture is GREAT! I bought the Accell ProUltra Supreme High Speed HDMI Swivel Cable. We have the HD package with our cable company & with the price of movies at the theater this is definately the way to go. The only thing I didn't care for was the sound quality. My last TV had stero sound so this was a step down. But we after hooking up our surround system it's like being at the Theater. I would highly recommend this TV to any one & I already have. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by After doing research this is the best buy for the money in this size. The black is true black color is realistic. TVs in this size must be connected to HDMI to geet full potential. Analog hook ups picture suffers but that is true with all tvs this size. By far this is the best buy, I recomend this tv for anyone. 01/05/2012
1-30 of 88 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw484
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp