See All Reviews
Mainstays 3-Piece Office Set, Black
Mainstays 3-Piece Office Set, Black
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Decent Set for the Price The saying holds true..."you get what you pay for", but there is also some responsibility that comes with it. With this product, if your expecting to get a solid wood desk that you can jump off of then it's not the product for you. This product is meant to not be abused and if treated properly will hold up for quite some time as it should. There are a number of pieces to it but all were clearly marked and the hardware is sorted and labeled as well. The instructions made assembley a breeze. I built everything in 2 1/2 hours and that was me taking my time and watching football during the process. Once built the items do not appear to be flimsy or weak. I have moved these items here and there, in and out of the office and they are still holding up just fine. If you purchase this product I hope you have the same great results I have experienced. 09/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Now remember, these are not high priced items, but if you are looking for simple inexpensive office furniture, this is a great choice. I work from home and needed a desk that could accomodate mulitiple monitors. The desk area is perfect and combined with the cabinet, I have enough space for everything I need. I wouldnt reccomend this for children or in a high traffic area since any prefab furniture such as this will not look nice or hold up for long. Does take a while to build all the pieces, so order a pizza, pick up a 12 pack, and call over some friends... 02/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by office haven when i was looking for a desk for my new little found office i was looking too far like at office depot and best buy. then i came to walmart and narrowed my searches and found this little beauty and was doubting it at first. sure enough i gave in and bought and i don't regret it, after working on it for three hours it is wonderful. yes there are a lot of pieces for the thing and a lot of screws and clamps and stuff. the great thing is it's all organized and in the box and you're not left with just a bag of jumbled up screws. each screw and thing has it's own little pouch in the big bag. after i put it together it comes with a lot of room. i own a desktop and laptop and the laptop sits nicely on the taller nightstand shelf. the littler shelf is a bit tiny i will say that so that might want to be hung up if you can modify it just right using L hangers but further than that it's amazing. and plenty of space for your electronics and printers and gizmo's. either way i would have to say get this desk for a nice inexpensive touch of office haven. 12/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised I am pleasantly surprised by the value of this package. I bought this after being tight on money from a very large move. This kit had a bit of everything to help us feel settled into our new home. I was expecting it to be a lot more flimsy than it is, but find it pretty solid. We had to play with the keyboard shelf a bit before it would work and we do not used the filing cabinet drawer as it did not look large enough, instead it has turned into a night stand. We even have one of those large, bulky, old-school monitors on the desk and it supports it just fine. 06/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great set for the price If you have limited space to set up a desk, get this set. The desk itself is large enough for a computer while leaving enough workspace on top. The two accessories also make great storage and organizational pieces. Good for dorms or small apartments 01/31/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth it I bought this combo today needing a desk to put my person pc on. My company has furnished me with a company computer so I was in need of nothing real fancy. I bought this thinking it was a great little bundle for the money. The instructions were easy, and it was very easy to put together. It is sturdy and would work for some people, but first off it has a paint issue on top of the desk, and the keyboard shelf is so small u can barely work a keyboard and mouse both on it. If you are looking to put a normal size monitor (19-22inch) on this desk forget it..Theres no room left. I did contact the store since the desk is already together and they said I can bring it back. So it will be returned tomorrow. So this desk may be right for the not so average computer user, otherwise I wouldnt suggest it at all. I have attached a pic of the desktop where the paints blemished or something. also a pic showing there is no room between the keyboard and actual desk to type and it does not slide out far at all. Fairly 2 inches of room 05/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value these are awesome products and all 3 for as cheap as they are is such a great deal. assembly is a bit lengthy but everything is marked and easily noticeable and directions make it very easy. 05/25/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth it! I moved from a larger to a smaller home. Therefore, needing a smaller desk. I looked all over on-line & in store but never finding the right one for me. Not large so I have no walking room. But not to small so I have no work room. This is perfect! My printer fits perfectly on the tall thingy with a drawer:) But I don't have to much use for the bookshelf. The only reason there were scratches on it was cause of putting it together. Which was quite simple. Common sense basically. All the pieces were there, holes in correct placings. But I did not install the keyboard slot. Cause I don't like em:) Looks good:) I love it. 07/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by You Get What You Pay For Although I love WalMart and will continue to be a faithful shopper, this was hands down THE WORST product I have ever purchased from WalMart! I thought it looked like a cute set online, not too expensive...but once it arrived, I was disheartened by the 100's of little pieces that had to be put together. The panels were cheap-looking, some were broken, and after spreading out all the pieces, I became so frustrated knowing that even once I spent the countless hours assembling my office in a box, that it would just end up looking like a cheap, unstable child's desk. My advice: pay a little more, it's worth it in the end. I ended up returning this item. 05/22/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little disappointed This desk had a really good price ecspecially because it came with a small book case and a file cabinet. However, assembling it took my dad and I over 3 hours. Not only was it a time consuming process, there were missing pieces which made the experience that much "better". When we were able to finish the assembly of the desk, book case, and file cabinet, they appeared nice; however, they are extremely fragile. I imagine that as a student I will use this desk and it's accessories for the upcoming school year but I forsee that I will be fixing them frequently and will be in need of a desk purchase at the end of the school year if luck allows me to make it that far. 06/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value This is an excellent desk set for the price, especially with free shipping. I'm a die-hard ikea fan, and although I prefer the look of ikea's black furniture up close because it has the texture of painted wood, this set looks great in my room with the rest of my black ikea furniture. You really can't tell the difference unless you look closely. The shelves are actually more sturdy than ikea furniture. I have yet to put the desk together because the desk top was damaged and I'm waiting on replacement parts. This set is more than worth the price, especially if you're just looking for some extra furniture at a low cost that doesn't need to look like it's expensive. I would have expected to pay somewhere between $100 and 150 for a set like this. If you do decide to purchase this, make sure you have all of the parts and that nothing is damaged before you start putting it together. If anything is damaged or missing the company will replace it, you just have to go to their website. I recommend paying close attention to the drawer that goes in the utility stand, because it's supposed to slide together to make a drawer, and the edges were messed up on the pieces i got so they don't fit together right. Even with the damaged pieces and having to wait for the replacements, I'm very pleased with this product. Took me about an hour to put together the utility stand and the little book shelf, while watching TV. 11/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good buy but hard to assemble It is a good value for the money. I had it shipped home. Arrived on time but slightly scratched as the box was damaged. Assembly took some time. And the drawer in filinhg cabinet didn't fit well. It gets stuck. Now maybe on the weekend I'll try to take it apart and retry to assemble it by moving the drawer rail a little to adjust it. 02/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Assembly is overwhelming at first glance I needed a basic computer desk for my laptop, but I didn't want to spend too much money on it. This office fits nicely into a small bedroom, but it's a lot for a 16 year old to assemble with no experience. Pictures on directions could show the holes better. If you decide to buy this, read the directions carefully, slowly, and SEVERAL TIMES. I made a few mistakes along the way with screws going into the wrong hole, but it was easily fixable. Drawer on cabinet is a little wonky. Product is moderately sturdy. Comfortably fits my laptop, a lamp, and leaves lots more room for a book/notebook area. Good buy. Would reccomend to a student looking for a comfortable. workstation. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! It is more than worth the price. It didn't take a long time to assemble with easy to follow instructions. I didn't know, at first, where I was going to put the book case but then I realized it fit under the desk perfectly leaving plenty of room for my feet. I used the top of the storage cabinet for my printer. The file drawer on the right-hand side of the desk left enough room underneath it for me to put my paper shredder. This along with the bookcase underneath the desk freed up a lot of floor space. 03/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! This is a perfect combo for a quick, inexpensive home office. I purchased the first set for working from home, then I decided to downsize from a huge desk and hutch so I bought a second set which fits right into a corner and is perfect for office and personal laptops as well as extra monitors. I have received many compliments about the set up. It would be a great set for college students and apartment living! 11/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Writers Corner When looking for office furniture it can be difficult to find small scale pieces for average apartment or dorm office space. This set worked well and was not difficult to assemble. Good package. 08/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth Every Penny Ive been looking at this set for a while for my all in one system. It was cheaper in the store so I bought it from there, The box is SUPER heavy so get some help or have it shipped. There are a lot of pieces but they are all marked and the directions are so clear you cant mess it up or get anything mixed up. I called over a friend and it took us about two hours ( that included girl talk and cooking). All the nails and screws come in this package that has them all seperated and labled so you know exactly what your looking for. It is very sturdy and lightweight and once assembled every thing looks very nice. Im excited that I bought this set now I officially have an "office". I just regret that I forgot to buy an office chair :):) 08/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great piece..exactly what I expected and paid for. Desk set looks exactly as advertised..built for normal desk usage (not constant heavy loads, handling, or moving)..Main desk big enough to fit my keyboard, 2 computer speakers, large flat screen computer monitor, mouse and pad, and router- with room to spare for ipod and other random items. Assembly will take a good amount of time. Assembly is time consuming, but not difficult or complex. All in all, can't really think of a complaint. The desk is meant for a personal space (not for business use or large office space). 04/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by i love it It's so cute it looks great in my livingroom it was easy to put together as well and the size of it all its perfect 03/21/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Quality Sinks in the middle after a while if you put your computer monitor there and the finish comes off easily. The set does look nice though too bad it doesn't hold up well 07/04/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth!!!! Very disappointed with this product. - Very cheap wood quality - easily chips off - Assembly was not very easy and takes up a lot of time. Finishing is also not upto the mark. - A very delicate furniture and needs to be handled very carefully... It's been just 2 days since I bought it and the wood has already chipped off from couple of corners. - Not at all sturdy. 08/04/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by no complaints If you've read this far after reading tons of previous reviews, then you are doing exactly what I did. You and I must be a very careful, practical shopper, to the extent of OCD-ish :) Truths: 1. yes, extremely small as other reviewers stated. If you're a tall and big gal/guy (I'm a small. 5'6" guy), then this is not an ideal "match." 2. if you don't have at least 5 hours (or patience) to assemble it yourself, then this desk is a nightmare. it took me 6 hours to assemble all the pieces, one reason is that i didn't want to make any irreversible mistakes. Plus, I didn't have additional helper. Instructions are very clear though. Trust me, you will learn more about yourself (behavior and personality) during assembly. Yes, dwell in the moment of Zen :) 3. A HUGE dent was found on the main desktop piece upon delivery by Fedex (too heavy and big for me/my car had I bought it from the store). Instead of waiting for a few more days (or weeks) to get the replacement piece, I decided to use a black marker pen. Problem solved and the imperfection is no longer visible. 4. I should add "student desk" to the product name. This is definitely not a high-end desk that will last a lifetime. I'm on a tight budget, but I'm generally happy with this purchase for its value and size. 10/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent set! It's not a bad set in my opinion. I would have given 5 stars had there not been blemishes; unfortunately, I didn't notice them until I had the computer desk already assembled. The pictures I've included are to help with relating the size of the pieces. The laptop you see on the computer stand is a 17"; and DVDs fit nicely on the shelf of the bookshelf. Like most of the reviews, it is a little overwhelming when you get all the pieces ready for assembly, but everything is labeled and the directions are very easy to follow. My set is pretty sturdy; the wood is heavy so I have no issues with it sitting unevenly or wobbling. I have no doubt it will get me through my last year of college, but I would not recommend this set for high traffic areas. It took me about 3 hours to assemble it but it would have been less if that time was uninterrupted. Just like any other product, be sure to look at all the pieces before you begin. The "crack" on mine is pretty significant but I decided it wasn't worth my time to disassemble it and return it. It will serve its purpose just fine. 09/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Set for the Cheapest of us I am pretty cheap and tend not to buy things unless I get a lot of value back. I feel this set gives back more value than the price I paid. I spread out the assembly over a few days, and it took around 5 hours. If I went top speed, I could have gotten everything assembled in 2 hours give or take. My wife was initially mad at me for buying a low end set, until she claimed the shelving unit for use as a shoe rack. Now we are both happy with the purchase. Overall, this set is great for anyone who truly values their dollars. It offers plenty of functionality, but you will sacrifice some sturdiness and appearance. 09/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing deal I never write reviews but because I debating over my whole summer wheter or not to purchase this set for college because the reviews on here were so misleading I decided to write my own review. The set is wonderful, spacious, and very sturdy. All of my pieces were intact and directions were in the box. I'm a 19 year old female so I had my dad and uncle put these together for me, and it took them about 4 hours. SO yes that is the only downfall about this piece. I turned my desk into somewhat of a vanity/laptop work space, and placed my flat screen but 40 lb tv on the bookcase and my printer fits on top of the filing cabinet just fine. If you have the patience to put it together.. or know someone who will do it for you, I highly recommend this piece it looks great! -The chair was purchased from kmart but is also a walmart product. 09/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Fine Investment For $80 : 5 Years Ago ! One Of My First Steps to an Organized Life. I have had this set five years. It is still going strong. The keyboard shelf regularly supports the weight of me leaning on it while pondering my thoughts at the keyboard without an issue to be seen or creek to be heard. The work surfaces are a bit narrow but I lived in an apartment when I initially bought it so that was not such a big deal. I added an additional little table to my office furniture line-up about a year ago and stored the rarely used printer on the shelving unit (not the printer stand) for visual appeal only. Also A little desk lamp I purchased from Walmart was a helpful addition. Having the desk placed in front of the window and pulled away from the wall a little bit works well for me. I am considering a u-shaped desk now to maximize my work surface, after reading an epic book about getting things done. I have loved this desk so much (despite its plain appearance and lack of color), I may just end up spray painting it and giving to my husband as his own personal work surface within our home or my younger brother. It would also be perfect for any kid. This set wont really do much to solve storage problems. I wish I had looked into getting lots and lots of Manilla Folders, Labels, a paper sorter, and Bankers Boxes along with A Bankers Box Cube Shell Shelf Unit or two or three way back when I bought this desk set. I would be so much more organized by Now. Works best with a flat screen monitor just in case any of you out there are using the big old monitors of 10 or so years ago. I have an inexpensive television also bought from Walmart (at Christmas time) that i kept in the box for a whole year before I figured out I could use it as a monitor. I am considering setting up a two monitor system for my computer which could actually work even with just this little office desk set. Be gentle & careful putting the shelving unit together. The desk surface will scratch if you are really careless. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We purchased this set for our children's playroom. I would say that this set comes with some of the best assembly instructions of RTA furniture that I have seen. Everything was clearly labeled and only took my husband and I about 2 hours to assemble. The desk is very sturdy and the utility stand is as well. Great value for the 3 piece set. We painted the room a bright apple green and it looks great with the black furniture. Highly recommend. 06/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inexpensive & Functional It's obviously not a high quality product, look at the price. But I wanted something cheap and something black to go along with my living room and this works just fine. It's pretty sturdy. Easy to assemble, I suggest a power tool because it took me forever screwing all the screws in w/o one, but other than that, it serves it's purpose. It's not difficult to scratch the veneer laminate so handle gently. I put the "bookshelf" underneath the desk because I wanted it all on one wall and it looked awkward all side-by-side with the small size of the "bookshelf". There's still plenty of leg room, especially if you're using the keyboard tray. Great deal for the price. Don't expect anything amazing though. 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the money I bought this set over four years ago because I needed something cheap. Since it's particle board, I wasn't expecting it to last. I've since moved three times, and all the pieces are still alive. The finish on the desk is getting pretty bad due to drinks placed on it and the keyboard scratching the top. It does have a slide out keyboard, but my husband hated it, so we never used it. The bookshelf is tiny, and I use it for DVD storage. Probably my favorite piece of the bunch is the file cabinet. It's been incredibly handy. We store our computer paper in the top cubby and use it as a printer stand, but we also have used it as a stand for our 32" LCD. It's very sturdy. I anticipate several more years use out of this set, but I think it'll look pretty worn when I eventually do replace it. 11/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bundle!!! I live in a small apartement and I work from home. I turned my dining room area into an office and this bundle fit it perfectly. The desk is long and spacious. It isn't "kiddie" like either. Great for a working adult.The book shelf is small which is what I needed. The file cabinet drawer is unstable and won't close all of the way, but that's okay. I would recommend this product for someone who isn't looking for quality, just a simple work area. 10/31/2011
1-30 of 140 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw301
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp