See All Reviews
Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 59 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great sofa for the money This particular sofa lacked reviews when I purchased it, but I decided to go ahead based on the positive reviews of other furniture in the Delaney line. My primary parameters for a sofa: 1) needed it to fit a particular place in an urban apartment with limited space, but more importantly needed it to not “feel” cumbersome; 2) wanted it to look refined at a minimal cost, say, less than $300; 3) wanted the cost to be minimal enough that I would be able to walk away from it someday rather than move it. My secondary parameters: 1) the least lint-attracting material I could find in this price range; 2) one cushion across the entire seat so it would remain neat looking and easy to clean; 3) a sleeper option, if possible. I was ready to go with another, more dorm or game room appropriate sofa when I saw the price rollback on this model. And it meets every one of my criteria! I live on the top floor of a townhouse with tiny stairwells, so my only worry was whether or not it was shipped pre-assembled or flat packed. In any case, I took the shot and had it delivered direct to my building. It arrived flat packed in a box measuring 74”x45”x6”, and was listed on the freight manifest at 106 pounds. If you pick it up at the store you’ll need a truck, a pickup or a good roof rack and cargo straps. These boxes have been sitting around in dusty warehouses and dirty containers, so the boxes are absolutely filthy. Prepare a place for the box that does not involve expensive carpeting. Also, when assembling anything like this, remember to first only hand tighten the opposite ends of individual sections, in case you need play for misaligned bolts and holes. The one I have is black with a well done white stitching; very refined in appearance. It's a vinyl leatherette that wipes down easily. It has a click-clack sleeper mechanism similar to a beach chair. In the sleeper position it's a bit small for two people, but great for one. It has a sturdy build and will hold weight at the center. And yes, it is a bit hard, but not uncomfortable. Don't expect $3,000 worth of comfort for less than $300 and you will not be disappointed. Conclusion: I’m 100% pleased with the sofa. Hope this helps your search. 08/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Looks good but poor quality I was looking for an inexpensive futon for the TV room in the house my daughter shares with her college friends. I didn’t expect quality for the price I paid on this futon sofa BUT I was disappointed in the material used on the futon overall. For starters, the cushion frame was made with strips of 3/8 inch ply boards which do not completely cover nor support the seating cushions. I would caution anyone NOT to bounce on that futon. As for the legs, they are made of hollow plastic and resembled a huge Lego block with indent in the middle for the screw to attach to each corner of the futon. After we had all four legs were screw on tightly, we noticed they were off aligned with the edge of futon by an eighth of an inch, the legs were showing the hollowness of the plastic block legs. Like the previous review, my husband also had a difficult time locking the screws into the bolts within the cushions. The picture does not reveal the backside of the sofa futon so I was also disappointed it showed the ulgy thin black metal frame. I would've return it but since we were crunch for time to return to our home town, we decided to keep and accept its lesser quality since it serves as a secondary sofa. 08/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is very good looking, but is very difficult to assemble. It is supposed to take one or two people about 20 minutes to assemble but after three people tried for an hour, four bolts in the side arms still wouldn't align. However, a drill and several wood screws finally solved the problem. It looks much more expensive than it is. The vinyl with the contrast stitching is really nice. It is too stiff to be a permanent bed but is fine to crash on. 08/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Low Quality! I purchased this couch to use in the living room of my small apartment. I was impressed with the pictures online and the low price. I didn't expect a high quality piece of furniture, but I also didn't expect what I ended up with - which is a couch that my roommate and I both hate and wish we hadn't bought. The directions are very complicated and hard to follow. They claim that total assembly time for one or two people should be 20 minutes - but that seems to be true only if you've assembled dozens of them before and know exactly what you're doing. My boyfriend and I spent a combined 6 hours trying to assemble the couch. The holes to screw in the bolts do not line up - making it very difficult to put together. The bar that runs across the front of the couch to finish the appearance was missing the hole for the screw altogether, so we were unable to attach the middle of the bar to the couch. Also, the worst part of the couch is that the legs are made of thin, hollow plastic which give the couch a cheap look. When we finally finished the assembly, we sat down and were very unhappy with the feel of the couch. Although there is enough space on the couch for 3-4 people, I get nervous when more than 2 people sit on it because I'm worried the frame won't support the weight. It's very easy to fold the couch back into a bed, however when in the bed position the top surface slopes. I would not recommend sitting on one side of the bed, but rather try to keep weight in the middle. One final note, the delivery of the couch to the store was delayed and did not arrive in the scheduled time frame. It wasn't a huge problem, but we didn't have a couch for the first 3 days in our new place. While this couch appears to be a good deal because of the appearance and low price, I would not suggest purchasing it. I had hoped to keep this couch after I move out of my current place next year, but since I've been so disappointed with it, I'll likely replace it with a couch that is not made of such cheap materials. 08/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice for the Price... Actually, I was looking for a reasonable priced new sofa to use for few months, and I ordered this one. I am quite satisfied with this product. It looks good and very comfortable. I like it very much. 08/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE IT!!!! I was looking for a couch for my living room which can work as a futon whenever someone wants to come over and after a long search I found this one. I can tell you it is amazing!! It looks very good (incredibily good if you consider the value), it is very easy to assembly (about 20 minutes) and because it is made from "leather" appearence material you can just clean it with a wet cloth and it always looks great. Besides, you can make it a bed with just one hand. I strongly recommend !! 09/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I had the piece for 2 weeks and love it. Its a great value for the money and looks really good. I have since went back and ordered the large rectangle ottomen/storage chest and the smaller one to complete the set. They are great as coffee table and end tables and functional out of the way storage bends. It looks great in my home office that now can convert into a guest room if need be. 09/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy for a college student I love this futon! I purchased it a few weeks ago for my college dorm room, and couldn't be more pleased. I used site to store, and was able to fit it in our 2011 ford explorer with both the passenger rows folded down. It took around an hour for two people to assemble, but I thought the directions were mostly clear. It's on the firm side, but I still find it really comfortable, and have even slept on it twice. Personally I found it plenty comfortable to sleep on in the "couch' position, but i tried it with the back pushed down and it's very easy to do if you want the extra room to sleep. I think it looks great, and is a nice option if you want a futon that looks more like a couch instead of the more traditional "futon mattress and frame" type. 09/05/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expensive for the quality! This sofa is nice looking, very firm for slipping and I think it should be at least $100 less the price it is for its quality. 08/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product was below expectations. Instructions were extremely unclear. Once it was put together, it was completely uncomfortable. Cushions were rock hard. When converted to a bed, it was sloping and hard as a rock. We rerturned it to our local Walmart store, with no problems and exhanged it for a more comfortable option. 08/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by It shipped faster than expected which was nice for the cost and it only takes one box. The problem with that is that the box wasn't big enough for everything. There were no arms, no legs, no screws, no tools. The only thing in the box was the mattress and the front face plate. When I called back to ask "what's up," it turns out that the item only ever ships in one box. What a complete waste to have a flat futon mattress just to sit on the floor when clearly it has arms and legs on the front and is already pre-drilled for said pieces. Never again will I buy something like this online. awful 03/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by this couch is not comfortable at all, i do not recommend this product , hardly any cushion, plus it sits very low im 6f and when i went to sit down on it i fee like im about to fall, only plus is that it looks very nice , but a zero on comfort 09/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well for a small apartment As a sofa, it easily sits 3 people. The upholstery with white stitching makes it look modern. I haven't tested it as a sleeper. But the foam feels firm, providing adequate support. It easily converts from sofa to sleeper. Because of it's design as a sofa/sleeper, the back of the sofa is not upholstered like the front. It is best positioned in the room with it's back against a wall. When assembling, do not tighten all the bolts until all parts are attached. This will give you wiggle room for the parts to be in perfect alignment before completing assembly. During assembly, there was one hole that was not aligned. I had to punch a hole through the upholstery for a bolt. At least I didn't have to drill through wood. Overall, I'm very satisfied with the product. It looks good and works well as a sofa. 10/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by We had this for 3 days of use and the screws from the inside of the sofa started falling out. Not the ones we put in the ones from the factory. The value was good and so was the look but as for quality I would say NO. Also it didn't turn out to be the sizes that were listed in the description, it was slightly smaller but made a difference. I would not recommend this item to family and friends. 09/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks good now. Its a good value I am happy with it. It looks good now that it is new. Ill see how it holds up over time. Its comfortable to sleep on and to sit on. It went together pretty easy. Looks to be fairly well made. Please keep in mind, its not a $1000 couch and probably will not hold up like one, but I an very happy for what I got for the price. 08/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrid It looks pretty, that's the only plus. Aside from being the most horrid futon I have ever sat on it is cheap and put together poorly. I have had it for a month exactly and its broken, and I have to return it because no one can sit on it. The tiny metal piece that held the springs up busted, then the wood frame itself busted. Like I said I have had it for a month, and Its hardly ever used because its so uncomfortable. *sighs* i would not recommend buying and hope that I can return it with out to much of a head ake. 11/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Futon when unpacked was damaged. It was received with a quarter size hole in the mattress. 10/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by looks great! Not very comfortable! Came to us a little late from delivery date promise, it was easy to assemble, looks great but sadly when I sat on it I was so disappointed. It was super hard and seems like your leaning way to far back when in sofa position, as far as bed it's roomy flat and easy to use. Once again just a bit hard. For the price it is not bad but wish it was just a little more comfortable. Had I tried it in store before purchasing I would not have bought it. 06/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good sturdy coach for small living room Couch is basically a fancy futon,very hard,sturdy,sleek design opens up! There is no pull out just recline back and falls flat as the seat part. BE AWARE!!! THE ARM REST PIECE ARE INSIDE THE COUCH ON BOTTOM,COUCH HAS A HIDDEN VELCRO FABRIC,REMOVE THAT AND YOU WILL FIND THE ARM REST! mention because lots of reviews say has missing parts but actually tricky to find. Anyway I'm happy with couch,it's exactly what I was looking for and expected for the price paid. Hope this helps. 04/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by very uncomfortable very hard to sleep,I would like to return it, Not happy at all. 03/08/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This furniture has it's place We purchased this as a set and purchased an extra ottoman (to have one at both end of the couch). I would not recommend this for anything more than a "lightly used" furniture room i.e.. basement, den, kids room or outdoor patio. Assembly is easy.. 12/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product and great appearance Unfortunately, there is a small tear on the seat of the sofa and the linining underneath is torn as well. It's better than expected and gives the room a great appearance. Wish the condition would have been great too. 09/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great value, but you'll need help for assembly. I'll be honest: For the price I paid, I got a great futon. It's not quite as comfortable as I would have hoped (a little "flat"-feeling), but, as other reviewers have noted, the contrast stitching gives this futon a very sophisticated look. I wouldn't sleep on it, but I love having it in my home now. However, be warned that this product was obviously assembled for much, MUCH less than it sells for. Many of the pre-drilled holes did not match up during assembly, and at times forcing the screws in was physically painful for my boyfriend and me. Very frustrating and bothersome, as it sort of feels like a slap to the face ("Really? I paid $200 for this, and you couldn't be bothered to drill with any accuracy?"). Also, if you're the kind of person who typically uses directions to put these kinds of things together, better figure out how to wing it, as it's clear non-native English speakers wrote the manual. Just saying. 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value and Quality I found my purchase to be a great value and of fine quality. I would recommend the site to store purchase procedure to everyone. It allows great savings on the shipping cost! 08/30/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by quality a disappointment This couch is low to the ground and hard when sat upon. Good for sleepers who like a firm mattress, but not so good for sitting. It fits our small space and looks great. We're a bit afraid that the kids may break it just being kids. Didn't expect it to be as good as an expensive couch, but the wood used to make the couch looks like scrap pieces. A bit disappointed, fingers crossed that it lasts longer than I think it will. 08/25/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by For the money less than pleased This Delaney convertible sofa is fairly close to a futon, you might as well purchase one for a $100 less (if not more depending on the current price). It was a disappointing once I got the box home, first off it had been mangled. Second, it comes in two pieces within the box the arms contained within the seats. I was amazed by how poorly the sofa frame was constructed with cheap plywood blocks and furring strips. The cushions are constructed only adequately compared to the rest of the sofa, with spring support and tightly wrapped corners. Luckily, the condition of the box had little impact on the condition of the sofa. It came with a construction packet and assembly pieces, of which the legs are cheap looking and the total assembly was far more time consuming than I expected. It wasn't difficult, the problem was with the time it took to assemble due to poor fitting of bolts and lining up the components. Once assembled, the sofa was only barely what my expectation was. I really conceived a much nicer sofa from the image available. However, there is a reason that they do not show a 360 view the view from the back is horrific. As well, just like every cheaper futon there is a flimsy and ugly looking support leg that barely affixes to the back framing of the couch. Mine is completely loose and moves freely along the back. I would recommend this item to someone in college, or for the purpose I am using it as a spare couch in a basement tv room. Not overly firm, and comfortable enough to lay on. I'm 6' tall and I just barely fit on the sofa when put in the sleeping position. A little more difficult to place back in sofa mode than I had hoped. Overall, just an average spare sofa. Have yet to find out how comfortable guests find the auxillary bed/sofa. 08/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is beautiful and the delivery company very responsible and courteous! 07/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Complete Garbage In all honesty after reading the reviews i thought i was purchasing a good product. Not only did it take 3 weeks for a site to store delivery they only sent me 2 pieces. the bed and a board. I was missing everything else. I am pretty upset with this mishap and if i would re order it would take yet another 3 weeks. i do not reccomend this product to anyone. period. 03/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very nice looks nice, very affordable, easy to put it together... 01/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product more then 7 days late in delivery I am rating the product poor as WM has been unable to deliver the product in over two weeks. Opinion may change when the physical item is present. 10/25/2012
1-30 of 53 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew379
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp