See All Reviews
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blu Ray Players: Electronics Buff Some of the players and DVD's have BD Live content on the players, some of the players do not have a hard drive in them, so when you have BD live content It needs somewhere for the content to load on to thats why the players freeze up and wont even play the DVD. If you notice on the front of the player there is a USB port on this one, and on all VIZIO Blu-Ray players, and even other brands, and some use SD cards for them to load the content onto them. so you need to purchase a USB Flash Drive for the content to load onto. I have had 10 Blu-Ray players and when they came out with BD Live content and got cheeper in price, they took out the drive that it loads onto, so the movie can freeze up the player to where it wont play the movie at all till you put in the flash drive. How i found this out, I had purchased a different brand and it sat there for 4 hrs trying to load the disc and i got frustrated and called the manufacture, he told me this information and thats how i found this out, it will search and search for the place to down load the content onto, when it finds the content and where to load it, it starts to play the movie. I hope this helps people out in making there next purchase. 08/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very unhappy We got this as a present. We have visio TV, and love it, but this blueray is aweful. The first one we got, when you put the DVD in, and it started to spin/load, it was soo loud, and the noise continued through the movie. We exchanged it, and the one we have now, isn't loud, but is so frustrating. The buttons don't always work. It will turn on, but then I can't get it to open, then when I finaly get it open it won't read the dvd my son watch just the night before. I eject it, and reload it, then sometimes it work, sometimes I have to do it for a 3rd time. 06/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just gets worse I have had this for 1 week. Only reason it has not been returned is walmart is 35 miles away. At first if I played a BRAY it was great then if i wanted to use apps (netfix) had to unplug it then plug back in. Now it wont even play a blu-ray Just sits "loading" for ever. And yes this was tried with 3 different discs. Oh yes there was a firmware update. Did not help. If I would have taken more time and looked this series up online I would have known this is a very common problem. I answered every day for use not entirely true. If it worked I would except that it does not work.. 06/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not play 3d blueray I tried too play a 3d bluray out of the box it froze up and the screen went garbled. I then played a bluray it jerked. I then played a dvd it played ok. I updated the player via internet with the exact same results afterwords. The question is is it a fluke? I get back to you on that. At this time I do not recmmend this product. 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Far Flawlessly! Have owned this 3D Blu-ray Player over a week and a half. Bought it along with a Vizio 42" 3D HDTV. The first thing I did out of the box was connect it with an ethernet cable and allow it to update its firmware before inserting any disc. After updates it then displayed the VIA menu for streaming online content . So far the player has performed very well.. I've thoroughly enjoyed watching 3D movies and it made great improvements in the picture quality and sound of older DVD's. It also delivers excellent sound when playing CD's through my full range surround sound system. This player was bought to use in my bedroom so being wired is not an issue. However, a wireless 3D Blu-ray Player will be my next upgrade for the main theater room. 10/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent 3D blue ray player for the the money well.... I was reluctant to buy this as some people were having issues with it, but I decided to give it a try and am glad I did. I however, as soon as I hooked it up for the first time, did the "firmware" update before watching any movies. I have watched Avatar and the entire Star Wars trilogy on blue ray and have had no problems whatsoever. I like the internet apps.... very fun. I am going to give this player 5 stars as I have not had any of the issues other people have had and for the money, you can't beat it. 09/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works well with the Vizio 3D 1080 47" TV I am pleased with the quality of picture, 3d effect, and sound that I get with this product. It was inexpensive, too! 07/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't want to jinx myself My VR 333 has performed flawlessly with my Vizio 554 3D TV. The buttons on the remote do have to pressed too hard but I always control the player with the TV remote or the Direct TV remote.. I see W#l Mart does'nt have the TV in stock anymore. They dropped the price almost $500.00 on the TV and close $60.00 on the blu Ray player. The 1080p 3D on my tv/blu ray combo is excellent. I have not seen active or passive systems that were better. 08/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the price fine. Pros- plays fine. Cheap Cons - lid lip for the tray for the discs got misaligned. Prevented me from loading discs. Had to manually snap it back in place. Worked fine after that. Takes a long time to load. 08/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 3D PLAYER THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVE IT AND WITH THE 3D TV it is wonderful it is the best. 07/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does Not Work! This thing is a piece of junk. We bought it about 2 weeks ago and there were no reviews online but since it was a Vizio we thought it would be great. It didn't work right from the first time we used it and it just continued to get worse until it completely died last night. And one of our favorite DVD's is trapped inside. Fail. 07/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding 3d dvd player for the price vizios addition of the you tube app makes that alone a great reason to purchase this unit. it works flawlessly playing both 2d and 3d dvds without any problems. it is a much better version than the early vizio 3d dvd player which i also own. it has a display window and external buttons which their earlier model lacked. The only drawback is having to use an ethernet wi-fi connection with this model which was easily solved by adding a much needed anyway wi-fi range extender 12/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Budget 3D Blu-Ray Player I got this Player as part of a Bundle I Hooked it up and had it going in under five Mins is does what it says it does and gave me no problems It's a very simple player and I say if your looking for a Low Priced 3D Blu-Ray Player This one will do the job 01/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good experience buying from Walmart.com and Blue Ray player is very nice. A+++++ 12/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good fit for 3D TV Works well and provides an excellent 3D picture. Used on my Vizio TV bundle I picked up. Lowest price for a 3D player with the quality. Like all of them, needs an HDMI cable. Could use my Vizio remote without programming. 03/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I've had this DVD player for 2 months and have no problems whatever.It has WiFi built in;plays blue ray discs with no problem and I'm a Netflix viewer.The only complaint I might mention ,it does load slowly .The remote I would rate as slightly below average but something I can live with.And finally it is priced 50 to 60 dollars below Sony and Samsung(which I also use) .As to the older models ,Vizio may have improved the newer models.P.S. How can you beat Walmart's policy of return a product within 90 days if you are not satisfied. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I ordered this for a Christmas present. We hooked it up and it did not work. Called Vizio support and they walked me through a system reset. It still did not work and they said it needed to be replaced. The return process was simple. I returned my defective piece to my local Wal-mart store with no problems. I ordered a replacement on the Tuesday after Christmas and received it on Friday! This one works great. Hook up was easy. Picture is great with my new Vizio TV. Love it! 01/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by defective out of box bought 1 and returned it did not work so swapped out unit this 1 also didnt work Grrr Beware i have had dvd players from 38.00 to 159.00 never had these problems vizio absolutely no help BEWARE!!! 09/07/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not too thrilled Although the Blu-ray shows great picture in 3D, I am annoyed by the fact that it's kind of loud like you can hear the disk spin and wonder if the thing is breaking down.....Also, when using USB to watch a video or movie, after 30 minutes the Blu-ray player automatically powers down and there is NOTHING you can do about it. You have to restart again and go back to where you left off. I wondered why the Blu-ray player was made this way. There is no feature to turn this option off, so basically you don't have an option. I am seriously thinking of returning this Blu-ray player, and paying more for one that doesn't do this.......very disappointing. 03/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by everything Vizio., from my 55" flat screen with Vizio Sound Bar/wireless Sub Wofer/with two satelite speakers all connect and make my entertainment time top rated. Thanks Vizio/Wal Mart for the great products and pricing. 02/28/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolute Garbage I bought this based on my experience with other Vizio products, including the TV that I connected it to. The player was problematic from the start. At first I thought maybe the batteries in the remote were dead, but then it became apparent that there was a very long delay (30 seconds to 2 minutes) between pressing any button on the remote and any response from the player. Playback was crystal clear, but after about 1/2 hour of play the machine would inexplicably freeze. I tried two brand new DVDs and one brand new Blu Ray disc, and got the same result in each case. I returned the player to the store. 02/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is great value for less than $100! I only gave 4 stars for "meets expectations" because Blockbuster-on-Demand is no longer supported. The most amazing part is the Vizio telephone support - it is a lifetime feature, and all support is located in the USA! 02/21/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad!!! I purchased this item on 6-3-11. It worked great for the first day. I tried to watch a blu-ray disc and it skipped and froze up. I sent the movie back to netflix and they sent a different disc. It played fine. But, the player won't shut off, had to unplug it to power down. Sometimes it would not connect to the web services. I returned this player yesterday and got a different one. Same problem, it will not play a blu-ray disc. I played the disc in my other player and it worked fine. I will be returning this player to the store today. I will not get another one. I am researching players on-line to find the best one I can. BOTTOM LINE!!!! DON'T BUY THIS PLAYER, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!! 06/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor product Worked fine for about a month, then every disc new or used freezes at some point with vertical lines throughout the screen. Then you cannot do anything with the remote, can't stop, can't fast forward, can't go back. The only fix is to walk up and manually power off the device. Then try to find your place in the movie where it froze. Usually have to do a restart 3 times during a 2 hour movie. Don't buy this product, spend the extra money and get a quality player if you really want to enjoy your blu ray experience. 08/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by works good...remote is fair. Works good, extremely small (great), easy to hook-up. Remote is fair (small buttons, limited range - but works). 3D works as designed. Using highspeed HDMI inexpensive ($6) cable bought @ walmart.com 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product purchased to go with my tv and I have had no issues with it. I love my whole setup. Thanks Vizio for making me a fan all over again. 02/08/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Blu-Ray Player I actually purchased this by accident. It was placed in the Vizio Blu Ray player section and I grabbed it without looking at the box. It wasn't until I got home and set it up that I realized it was the 3D version. I'd already thrown the box away, so I figured, like another reviewer posted, that it would be a good investment for when we do get a 3D tv. So, I'm unable to review the 3D playback, but for everything else, it has been great. Plays dvds and blu-rays quickly, I have no issues accessing the apps. The only con I would list is that I have been unable to use my external hard drive through the USB port. Apparently it does not support it, only smaller flash drives. I have a terabyte hard drive, and I'm not about to purchase a handful of flash drives to move my movies too, so I am kind of disappointed about that. All in all, an excellent player for the price, (even if I did end up spending $20 extra bucks for a feature I can't use yet.) 02/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great features..3D ready I purchased this model over others because for $10 more it had 3D capability; I don't have a 3D tv yet, but for $10 it was a good investment for when I do purchase one. This is not WIFI enabled, but with a CAT-5 cable hooked directly to my DSL router all of the internet apps worked very quickly. My only complaint is that there is a high pitched hum when playing a disk, which is rather loud and distracting. I am not sure if it is a defect specific to my device, or if it is a common issue. 01/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by junk! what a piece of junk,this thing was problems out of the box,spent 2 weeks with tech. support tryin to get this thing to work,gave up,took it back,bought a toshiba,WHEW!,what a relief,works like a charm! 06/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big Disappointment I received this dvd player for a Christmas gift. At first I was impressed with the apps and full keyboard remote. Player was very loud during start up and occassionaly continued through out use. I tried to overlook these imperfections but the player started freezing up and was so bad that even unplugging the device would not work. It would take several hours of unplugging to unfreeze. Now when turning the device on the screen is completly black. I'm grateful that the extended warranty was purchased on this. I know it seems that this is such a great deal for the price but if works intermediately it's not worth it. I think I'll just spend $50 more and get myself a Sony or Panasonic. One would think that with the problems reported that Vizio would recall this product. This makes me leary of purchasing a product made by Vizio. 02/17/2012
1-30 of 55 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw491
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp