Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by the good: the pictures come out great when printed. the bad: the lag time between taking pictures is terrible! I have missed so many moments waiting for this camera to process my last shot! Also, when in auto mode, the flash hardly ever flashes...even when the lighting is terrible!!! There is no way to make it flash when you need it! I spent over $100 dollars on this camera and just hate it. Video: the time to video tape is only 25 minutes long, no matter how large your SD card is. I have a 16gb card in right now, and it still will only do increments of 25 minutes each. I have to keep and eye on the video and make sure I click to record again when my 25 minutes are up. This is terrible when taping your child in a play or big performance! Ugh! 12/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Camera I had to buy a camera to replace one that had broken. Somehow, I decided on this one. I was able to use it for a few weeks before I decided that it was really no good. It is very slow. Many of my pictures were blurry. The flash did not always work. It was annoying to use when I couldn't get it to work right. I have since returned it and am looking for a better camera. 12/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this simple and easy to use camera. Battery charges. Simple to transfer photos to computer. This series also has the best access door to the memory card. Have had 4 family members purchase one since I purchased mine. 01/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Camera for the price! I purchase this camera for my mom for Christmas! She loves it! She wanted something that was thin & easy to take on the go that took great pics. She has 3 grandkids that are always involved in school activities! So far she loves this camera and has recommended it to several of her girlfriends! I'm so glad that I purchased this in a bundle! 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera I read other reviews that were not that flattering, but after using this camera I found that it must be user error as I got great photos from it and it is very easy to use. 02/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal! This camera is a great deal for the price it is sold for! Highly recommend purchasing one. 01/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by My old camera (Sony, had for 3 years and loved it) broke the day before I left for vacation. I bought this camera on the way to Florida for $114, and thought it was a good buy. I charged it, used it for less than 3 hours and the lens kept getting stuck- saying "Lens Error" I had to turn it off and on for it to work again. I took it back and exchanged it for the same camera, but one that I hoped would work. For the first week I had no more problems with the lens- but then I started to get "Lens Error" again. I have several problems with this camera. 1) Even when using the flash my pictures come out bluury, dark, or the colors are not true. 2) The camera takes a long time to focus, sometimes I have to press the button 3 times to for it to focus and take the picture 3)You cannot take picture after picture quickly, the camera takes 5 to 10 seconds to "record" image to memory card. I can honestly say there is nothing I like about this camera, im in the process of buying a new one (really reading reviews and researching the products i do not want to waste my money again) I am giving this camera to my 5 year old niece for it is too late to take it back. 01/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Camera LOVE my new camera! I had a Coolpix several years ago that went missing. I am SO happy with my new one! It takes great pictures and is so easy to use! 02/06/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Despite brand name I would not recommend this came Pics were not sharp and color not good. Flash washed out some and not enough in others. Definitely not up to the Nikon 35mm 's quality that I have owned and the name is why I purchased it. I have a 4 yr old Kodak SLR digital that takes much better pics under similar conditions and got the Nikon for better ease of carry. I have taken thousands of pics with Nikon,Pentax,Minolta,Canon 35mm and Kodak digital SLR and I would not buy this camera or recommend it to anyone. 01/17/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy wife loved her new Nikon S3100 for Christmas. 12/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera! Attractive and Great Quality! Got this from Walmart.com and got it for a great price with the bundle package. So happy with it, camera is pretty and great quality. I have little kids and I want to capture every cute moment this camera is perfect for that because it is so sleek smaller and thinner than an iphone! 03/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great basic camera, perfect for nights out! Got this camera to replace my other old Nikon Coolpix. Works great, just what I need to document my last years of college. 01/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i bought this camera as a gift and the pictures from christmas turned out really good. I am thinking of buying another one for me. 01/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ost of this camera is considered to be a great value....bought this camera for my wife for christmas.....she has hardly set it down taking pics of our grand-daughter....seems to work fine and the different modes to take a photo are very good.... 01/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera I got this as a present for my daughter who will be going to Washington DC in the spring. She was absolutely thrilled and said the camera takes "awesome" pictures! Great camera for my daughter and a good deal for me! 12/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by JUNK!! Horrible video quality!! The video quality looks as if it was taken from a cheap cell phone 10 yrs ago. I own two older nikons and I am very happy with them, but this one (nikon 3100) is junk. I will be returning the item. I paid $85 including tax. Its not worth $5. 01/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product I like this Nikon better than the one I had before. It is compact and easy to carry and it takes great pictures. It is easy to use as well. 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to work with it! Easy to consrtuct even "panorama" picture with the software furnished! Really simple to ellaborate! Nice Camera...! 01/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Great Camera Great little camera, especially for the value. Takes some great pics. 12/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Camera was way to thin. I could not find a good way to hold it and not drop it. Can't say about quality of pictures since I took none, I just returned it. 03/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Awesome Camera! I had this camera for about 1/2 year but it was a very good camera. It takes excellent pictures and HD (720 pixel) video. I recommend it. 09/20/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Useless garbage. This piece of overpriced junk will not take a picture of my cat. It takes it about 3 seconds to snap a shot and there is nothing but a blur. I bought this garbage because I wanted to capture memories, now my pet is flying to california and the camera won't so much as take ONE SINGLE PHOTO of my pet! NOT ONE. It specifically has a setting for pets, too! UNBELIEVABLE! I SMASHED IT IN FRUSTRATION! 08/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by lens error Got camera for Christmas and hardly used it. then took it on vacation and got lens error first 15 minutes of using it!! Sounds from other reviews not cost effective to fix. Didn't think pictures were that great to begin with!! What a waste of money. Will not get another Nikon with same type of lens/shutter. 08/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Camera I have ever bought. I bought this camera for my vacation. In certain lights it is not to bad at taking pictures but inside it is the worst camera ever. It does not catch the actual look of anything, does not focus well, and takes so long to process the picture it has just taken that it takes the fun out of taking the picture. Bad Bad Bad camera. I will never buy another Nikon. I'm going back to Kodac. 08/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Camera Issues Our agency bought these a little over a year ago and about 75% of the cameras have battery issues. The screen says "battery exhausted" and the camera will just stop taking a charge. At first, we didnt realize the severity of the issue, so we just started buying replacement batteries from Buy.com for about $7.00 a piece. The new batteries seem to work for about a month or two and then eventually they all do the exact same thing again. We bought about 40 cameras and it seems like everyday a new camera keeps going bad. We have replaced about 30 out of the 40 camera batteries, most more than once. I wish that we realized how bad the situation was with these cameras before the warrenty ran out. We were able to send 3 in before the warrenty ran out and Nikon sent us new cameras in return. 08/06/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad . After a while When i turned it on it would say "lens error" and it does not work anymore . 07/24/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best quality Quality isn't very good. Macro mode never works. And you have to be rock-still or else the picture is blurry. 07/18/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great camera!! Overall this camera is really simple to use. I purchased this camera because it was smaller than my other camera and easy to handle. I liked that it was 14 megapixels. However, if I am not up close to the object I am taking a picture of the photo is either blurry, grainy, or dark. I have tried to change all of the settings and even reset all the settings, NOTHING seems to work. Also I find that when ever I zoom in on something I get the same results if not worse. This was my first Nikon and I am not impressed. 07/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best features on a camera. The new Nikon is amazing. It has all features a camera needs. I went to Niagara Falls with the camera and the footage it took was fabulous. Best Camera created by Nikon so far. 06/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good For the price, Nice look and easy to use and carry, Terrible close up focus battery is okay.. I bought this camera a day before my trip since i didn't have any digital camera and to be honest i was getting a good deal on it..! it takes good quality pictures indoor and outdoor for its price...... i would say overall it's good camera to have and easy to use, Pros; good design, easy to carry, light weight battery life is good, pictures quality is good, Cons; terrible close up focus, scene mode is just whatever movie mode button is little bit tricky... with all said, it's good camera for the price and it take excellent outdoor pictures specially on sunny day in parks, beach, city, etc.. i wouldn't recommend for people who sell stuff on internet since the close up is bad and it is hard to get a good shot, 06/16/2012
1-30 of 158 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.