See All Reviews
Rated 3 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great value, but could easily be improved It is hard to find shoes in the "hiker" style like this nowadays that aren't full-on hiking boots. These shoes are incredibly comfortable, and I buy them every few months, as the last time I tried spending extra on shoes, I paid more than double the price and only got an extra month or two. My current pair is degrading faster than previous pairs unfortunately. The shoes have three main deficiencies: 1) As others have said, the laces tend to come untied. I fixed this with some DIY paracord laces that I swap from pair to pair. 2) The rear fabric gets torn up, the typical failure mode of these shoes. However, almost no shoe I have ever worn has done much better in this regard, even my fancy composite-toe Hush Puppies ESD safety shoes. Improving my lacing technique (lock lacing) has helped this greatly. 3) The sole has air chambers inside - initially this improves comfort, but there are decorative grooves in the sole (nonfunctional - on the sides far away from the treads) that provide early failure points. My current pair has failed far earlier than normal here. Once the air chamber has ruptured like this, the sole provides far less support and tends to collapse. Signs that this has happened are a "hissing" sound with every step and your feet getting soaked from below if you step in a puddle. I'm hoping that some Shoe Goo can fix this issue, and on future pairs, prevent it by filling in the decorative grooves. So yes - "out of the box" these shoes are fairly dismal, but most if not all of their problems can be fixed economically, and for far less than the price difference between them and shoes that don't need fixes. If I am able to edit the review later, I will post a photo of the typical sole failure. 06/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don´t buy this product The sole of the shoe took off in less than two months. The glue that produced very bad 03/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great !! I purchased these for my husband 3 months ago. He assumed I paid a lot more for them and thinks they are great boots. He's worn them 3- 4 times a week for many hours at time and is very pleased. I am back to buy another pair for my son - and I am still not telling them I only paid $20!! 03/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent value I bought a pair of these several years ago in advance of a hiking trip. They have been very comfortable and have held up very well. I don't understand how people would spend so much more for what doesn't have to be expensive. I only take these out periodically, but probably several hundred days total over the past few years. And only recently has the waterproofing stopped working. While I know I can get special spray for that, at this price, I'm going to pull out my American card, be lazy with it, and just give them away and buy a new pair. At $20, why not? 03/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sole Breaks in 3 Months The sole/heel of these shoes broke in approximately 3 months. The laces do not stay tied either. Do not buy these shoes. 03/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shoe Lemon Had these shoes for only a couple of days when the area under the heel started th collapse, after only an week they were unwearable and there were visible holes through the bottom. these shoes are priced on the cheap but are still not worth the money. I think Ill spend a little more for something I can actually wear. Buyer Beware! 05/19/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Heel-Cup / Insole Issues I wore these boots for a couple of days and stopped for awhile because the left one felt odd - I assumed I just needed to tighten the laces. I used them again later and realized the left book's heel-cup had collapsed in on one side. Some pieces of cardboard stuffed into the void helped, but then the right boot's heel-cup is now failing down the center. My everyday sneekers from Costco cost a bit less than these boots, and they've held up quite well. I plan on taking these boots back to Wal-Mart, although I don't have the receipt anymore. Hopefully someone at Wal-Mart will read this and forward it to Ozark Trail. 09/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by SAVE YOUR MONEY, DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS Made the mistake of not paying for value. Used these boots and after ONE DAY of hiking, the entire bottom of these boots began to collapse, my feet hurt so bad. Good luck one of my fellow hikers had a pair of Keen sandals to wear on the next days hike. Save your $20 and buy a better boot, or if you buy these, do not wear them for actual hiking, they will fail you. 09/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible for what they are designed for. I bought these shoes for a hiking trip I was taking in June. I wore them the week before my trip and I thought they were good, but I was walking on normal ground. When I went on my trip, the first trail I took, which was a very easy, very little ascent or descent, the insoles and reinforcing bar under the insoles ripped apart from the rest of the shoe. I had them for a total of 2 weeks and couldn't use them for what they were intended for. 07/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Well below standards I bought a pair and within three weeks had to exchange them because the sole on the right hiking boot blew out. The replacement pair lasted only two weeks before the sole started caving in on itself. No more Ozark brand footwear for me. Wouldn't even recommend it to someone I don't like 05/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by WILL FALL APART IMMEDIATELY! I wore these for less than 2 weeks before the metal shank in the heel was coming up through the foot bed. The sole was so worn it looked like I had worn them every day for years. The rubber is so soft in the sole you're almost guaranteed to puncture it if you step on something sharp. DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS. THEY ARE JUNK AND NOT EVEN WORTH THE CHEAP $20! 09/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Quality the first pair I bought lasted 1 month and the sole of the boot came apart. I exchanged them for another pair that lasted a month and a half and the same thing happened. So i again exchanged them at a different Wal-Mart Store for another pair (thinking that maybe it was a bad batch) and this pair lasted 1 week and the upper lining came apart and fell off. Cheap shoe and you get what you pay for!!! 01/01/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by junkiest "hiking boot" ever purchased bought these for a week long camp in oklahoma on a saturday. By wednesday (4 days later) both heels had collapsed. on thursday one of the shoes split open on the bottom. friday afternoon the other one did the same thing. These are not built for any type of hiking whatsoever. strongly recommend that you spend 80 to 90 dollars and get a quality hiking boot. 06/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible hiking shoes I got two pair of these hiking shoes, which felt fine at first but kept hurting my feet. I felt inside under the insoles and there was basically nothing there except holes! These were causing midsoles to collapse! I push my thumbnail under the insoles, and feel it through the bottom outsoles of the shoes! Thank goodness I didn't step a nail or anything else dangerous, as it would have gone right through the soles! The bottom line is that there is nothing under the insoles for my feet to set on, except air. The shoes are totally worthess. I'm taking them back to the store. 01/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by These are probably the most comfortable foot ware I have ever owned. Perfect fit, good looking, rugged, solid soles, in the their class. and what a value!!!!!!!!!!!! Please keep them in stock. My shoe size is 9.5. I'll be back. 06/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great shoes great shoe greatest price 05/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible shoe!!! Only worn a few times in a couple of months and the sole started separating from the shoe in the side of the heal. After only another couple of wearings, the inner sole in the heal area collapsed on the inner right heal. Makes your foot want to push to the inside. Very disgusted with the quality. Other reviews I have read say that it does not do any good to return for new pair because they will be the same. Terrible quality shoe!! I will never buy ANYTHING Ozark Trail again. 07/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable and so light weight And you get a left and a right for only $20!!!! To top that, S&H to my home was 69 cents!!??!! After I tried them, I bought two more pair 06/24/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by was very un happy with theses boots i bought a pair of theses and after owning theses for about 2 months the sols blow out i don't know if i had bought a bad pair or what happien cause i no ive bought some diffrent kinds all theses years and i never any problrems tell this happien or if ill buy me a nether pair but glad they where cheap but i no they were not water proof 06/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was very disappointed in these boots.I do a lot of hard and fast walking ,plus work long hours.Within the first 2 months the boots are ripping on the sides and now the are starting to crack on the bottom and come through the bottoms.....!!! 04/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by the worst shoes the wors shoes, are trash in few weks 03/28/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage These Shoes are Garbage wore them for 10 days and they started to fall apart on the inside .the lining that is glued under the thin insole separated from the hollow sole. 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hiking boot, or everyday wear. 10/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by They fell apart right away. My boy friend wore them for a week to break them in before we went camping and the inside fell out. He couldnt even wear them camping because there was a metal rod sticking out from under his foot. It really isnt worth the $20 that they are. 09/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like them but would like another grade for the winter but good for the buck 09/13/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible!! These boots fell apart in less than a month!! The sole of the boot started peeling off in less than a month and shoe had a hole in it from where the sole was coming apart. 09/02/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks good, but won't last. I bought these about 8 month ago and I am disabled so I wear them only periodically (maybe twice a month). However, my family an I are currently on vacation and I brought these boots along to wear when I went fishing. When I put them on they initially felt fine (they have always been very comfortable). However, within a few minutes I noticed something felt odd with the right boot. I took it off to discover the outside of the boot had split completely through. They're shot! I can't imagine how long it would have taken this to occur had I been a construction worked and wore them every day under difficult circumstances. I would stay away from these boots if you plan to work them hard. 08/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good fit, decent look. These boots are durable enough for everyday use, not so much hiking. They look pretty good, and the value is excellent. 06/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I spent $20 and got a shoe that isn't worth $5 I'm working in large fields in the midwest that are overgrown with grass, weeds, and vegetation. My old Columbia boots wore out and since I knew my job was going to take a toll on any boot I wore I opted for the cheapest thing I could find. Unfortunately, it was these. After only 3 days here is what I've found: The rubber on the bottom of the shoe is almost entirely superficial. Small twigs regularly poke right through the sole and lodge there. You can imagine just how wonderful that feels. There is zero cushioning in this shoe and I mean zero. The tongue is too short and is made out of squishy material so the laces ride up and untie even if they're in double knots. Heat goes into the boot, but it does not come out, which I suppose could be construed as a positive in cold climates. All in all I'd say that these "boots" are better off as kindling for your camp fire than wearing to get to your campsite. 06/27/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by May be good enough for the Ozark trail But not the Adirondacks. Bought these boots a couple of weeks before hiking up Sawteeth. Wore them everywhere to break them in and had no problem with them, but the second I got halfway to the top the soles blew out on them. Straight through the padding, waffle, and rubber bottom. These shoes absolutely fell apart on me. You want hiking boots that will last more than one hike? Buy something else. 06/13/2012
1-30 of 64 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew382
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp