Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 37 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by South Shore Smart Basic Dresser, Pure Black I love this dresser! It was easy to assemble and the price was way below what I expected to pay when I started shopping. I purchased it to use as a sideboard in my kitchen for extra storage and for putting my plants on top (it's in front of the window). It looks classy, not at all like a flimsy home assembly piece. It's also very sturdy. I would certainly give it my recommendation. 05/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money. This dresser is worth every penny. It looks great, has a pretty sturdy feel to it. Only complaint was that I was missing parts and I contacted the company and they said they would send an email conformation saying the pieces have shipped. I got the pieces I needed but never the email so I was getting frustrated while waiting for them since I didnt know if I was getting them or not. In short if this looks like the dresser for you and its in your price range get it. 05/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Ordering this online worried me- we have gotten broken pieces in the past with wood furniture, but it made it just fine. It isn't a quick easy assembly, but the pro side is that it's put together very durable, where you aren't worried about it falling apart quick like some furniture does. So far, it's held up nice and very attractive. We've used it in our boys room and so far they haven't managed to damage it. Definitely worth the price. 11/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the price! I ordered this dresser based off of the good reviews other people gave it and it was well worth it. The dresser goes beautifully with my other South Shore pieces in my bedroom. Took around 3 hrs to assemble by myself, even though it says use 2 people. I am very pleased with all of the South Shore pieces I have purchased. The dresser looks classy, handles are sturdy, and is a good height and size. 11/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy!! Worst dresser ever! I picked the product up many of the pieces were broken! After assembling it the drawers had a extremely tight fit. It looks really cheap! The drawer glides are cheap plastic and broke without anything in it! Extremely cheap dresser! Do not buy! If I could rate this a negative 100 I would! 02/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I bought this dresser for me and my boyfriends room. It was very easy to put together, and has a very nice color to it. Its more of a sleek black rather than a flat black. The drawers were a little bit hard at first when i would open and close them, but after about a week of using them, they stop being so stiff. Its a great addition to the room! I would definitely recommend this product!! 03/10/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing Pieces & Damaged Furniture Overall, the furniture is good. It's basic in its design and well-priced, which is perfect for furniture meant for children. I am, however, disappointed that both of the dressers I bought had huge and obvious cracks on the top of the dressers. One of them also did not come with enough cam screws necessary for assembly. I'm sure this will not happen to every customer, but be aware that you may end up having problems. 02/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good thing it was for a kids room This unit was easy to assemble. A little time consuming but everything fit perfectly. My only knock on this would be is that it is vey short, and smaller than I thought it would be. My fault fir not paying attention to the dimensions anyway. Luckily for me it is for a kids room anyway and doesn't really matter in my case. Have a feeling the wood covering will start to peel in the long run, but overall it is a good piece for the money. 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid piece I ordered this chest to be used in my office for storage, because of its convenient size and my other pieces are matte black in finish. It is solid and was not that difficult to put together. Unfortunately Fedex was less than gentle in their handling and the top was damaged (crack). Walmart was helpful in directing me to the manufacturer and the manufacturer is sending a new top. Fortunately the top was the last piece to be attached so it should be relatively easy to switch out. Just hope the carrier delivering does not throw it around. Thanks. 03/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sturdy and great value. Dresser was relatively to assemble. Sturdy and exactly what we were looking for. 03/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice piece of furniture. Easy to put together 02/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price Has a good look and fits the need for a boys room. This is not high quality but the quality and value matches price. 01/28/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very cheaply made. The drawer bottoms are extremely thin. The product came missing multiple items, and one damaged board. Ordering them (no charge) was extremely easy. But it took a week for them to even process the order and ship it, plus the days I now have to wait to receive it from Fedex. So for over a week now, I have had a half built dresser sitting in my living room. The product was not of quality. The product did not stand on its own at all. The product wobbled and did not stand straight at all. The drawer guides are plastic, and the drawers very easily fall off the tracks. Would not recommend. You can get better for the same price. 04/24/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The dresser is worth what I paid for it. The door was damaged by the screws provided, as they pushed through it and it shows a bubble on the outside of the door. I was able to request a new door from the company but I feel like it will happen again. The drawers are not deep enough. Overall, I like it--mostly the way it looks. I also have the nightstand and again worth what I paid for it. You get what you pay for and I didn't want to put too much money toward either piece. The company is very eager to please and will replace any parts you need. That's a plus. Other than that, some of the black is off but I would think a little black nail polish would work. 04/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've had it for nearly 2 weeks. Perfect for spare bedroom! So far so good! 03/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great affordable dresser Really happy with this dresser. My girlfriend loves it and finally has a place to put her clothes instead of on the floor! Really like the larger door cabinet where you can adjust the size of the shelf. Definitely recommend this. I advise you to be delicate with the drawer bottoms as they are softer wood, but once assembled it all works like a charm 09/29/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great piece for the price. I bought this because we needed a dresser for our newborn's room. The closet space she had in there wasn't enough for any of her clothes and most of them didn't hang. I was browsing around on this site and saw this and it looked like a great dresser, like it wouldn't be too difficult to assemble. It looked sturdy too. I was pregnant at the time so I had my husband help put it together. We later ended up calling my father over because it was so difficult to put together alone. My father was a carpenter and even he had a terribly obnoxious time putting it together. It's extremely heavy, the "wood" has already chipped off for no reason at all, parts of the base have cracked. I would not recommend this for the price. 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value Bought this with the matching 3 drawer product by south shore and I set up the two the same evening. Once I completed the 3 drawer one, this one was even easier to put together. initially, I was a bit worried especially after reading the reviews about setting it up and so I think based on that i was EXTRA careful when reading the intructions and putting it together. Hornestly, it was NOT difficult at all. It's quite sturdy. I am very happy with this purchase. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Value! 2 hours to assemble, extreme value for money, and good looking and smart dresser. 08/27/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I needed something to hold "stuff" and it works for what I needed. I was not looking to spend a lot of money, just needed something to store stuff + It works fine for what I need. I have it in my computer room and looks good too! I am pleased with the product. 08/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont' waist your money or time :( First - I will admit this is a low cost dresser and you get what you pay for. Let me tell you what you get that you don't bargain for. The drawers (3 of them) are about 3 inches deep. Material is damaged easily especially at the corners and edges where the laminate surface. While putting this together we damaged several of the edges on the piece and not it is black-ish rather than black. I purchased 3 of these on-line for my 12 yr olds bedroom. We could tell after putting the first one together that there will not be nearly enough storage in these for her to use. We are keep the one we put together and taking the other two back. even for $100 I would expect something that like the picture appears to hold several items per drawn not 3-4 per drawer. The material was so cheap that it is constructed with it is almost impossible to put it together without having a nail or screw come through to the finished surface. More importantly - it doesn't seem like it would hold up for more than 6 months to a year. 07/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall OK for the money Missing piece "D" - I emailed the company and am waiting for it. I purchased two of these units and hopefully there is a "D" in the other box and I will use that to assemble one dresser for the time being. I had a hard time figuring out what the "X1, part 221" was and why it was needed but then my husband showed me and it's a nice sliding tool to use while hammering the plastic pieces into the holes to make sure you don't crack the cheap plastic pieces. I am not sure why they could not provide some metal pieces instead of plastic on this unit and hopefully that won't matter too much. I'd recommend not using any heavy items in the drawers due to the plastic pieces that roll the drawers forward. I do like the handles and overall look of this unit. I bought two of them and will screw them in back to back to make a kitchen island and we will have to add about 4 inches to the bottom to make it taller to work in our mobile home kitchen area. We liked it because it was black (matches our appliances) and it had drawers and the cabinet. We will then put something over the to so it looks like one unified custom island. 06/27/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by All I can say is you get what you pay for. I keep it in my guest room so no big deal but if it was for everyday use it would probably be in the trash. Also took some to build. Other than that ok for price if your just going to look at it. 06/19/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Came in damaged Got this with the main board damaged and looked used up. Had to return it. The board looked good quality and sturdy though. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent cabinet for the price The only con I can say about this piece is that it took a while to ship to the store. Other then that, I love it. It was fairly easy to put together, and it looks great. I am using it for a home office and the drawers have tons of room. Everything is very sturdy and it exactly what I expected. 02/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A REALLY NICE DRESSER BUT REALLY SHORT. WHEN I FIRST WENT TO BUY THIS DRESSER IT WAS OUT OF STOCK, I HAD TO WAIT FOR IT. I WAS REALLY EXCITED TO GET IT OUT THE BOX AND BUILT, WHICH DIDNT TAKE ME AND MY HUSBAND LONG AT ALL. IT WAS REALLY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, BUT IT WAS HEAVY MY HUSBAND HAD TO CARRY IT ALL BY HIMSELF, AND U COULD TELL IT WAS HEAVY. WE BUILT THIS TO HELP UPDATE ARE BEDROOM IT IS VERY NICE BUT REALLY SHORT. IM 5FT, AND THIS THING IS SHORT FOR ME. I AM BUYING LEGS TO MAKE THIS WORK IN OUR BEDROOM, I DIDNT FEEL LIKE RETURNING IT. ALL THAT IS WRONG WITH IT IS IT'S SHORT, SO IM GOING TO FIX THE PROBLEM FOR A COUPLE EXTRA DOLLARS MORE BY ADDING LEGS. I FEEL, I GOT MY MONEYS WORTH TO A CERTAIN EXTENT. IF THIS DRESSER WOULD HAVE BEEN TALLER, THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN THE BEST DEAL EVER. I STILL WOULD RECOMMEND IT FOR PPL WHO HAVE A BUDGET. HOPE THIS HELPS. 02/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by South Shore Dresser great product South Shore Dresser made very well easy to put together!~ 01/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Covered in sawdust and there were scuff marks and a bit of chipped off paint on the top, nothing too awful but a little disapointing. Pretty easy to put together except we had trouble with getting the door on straight & closing properly. Took at least a half hour just for that part. Nice wide drawers & I like the adjustable shelf. 10/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kinda disappointed! After reading the other reviews I had high hopes! Several pieces had scratches right out of the box. It looks pretty nice once assembled, but is much, much shorter than it appears in the picture. 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A lot of assembly but worth it It was a little overwhelming with all the parts in the box but I followed the directions and put together the dresser all by myself and I have never put together furniture before. It took me about 5 hours to do it. I was happy with it. It seems sturdy. It was exactly what I wanted. I like having the cupboard part for storage. The drawers are not very deep but worked for what I needed. Overall I am happy with the product. It's very nice to look at and can't beat the price 08/16/2011
1-30 of 33 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew365
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp