Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 159 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by South Shore Smart Basic Dresser, Pure Black I love this dresser! It was easy to assemble and the price was way below what I expected to pay when I started shopping. I purchased it to use as a sideboard in my kitchen for extra storage and for putting my plants on top (it's in front of the window). It looks classy, not at all like a flimsy home assembly piece. It's also very sturdy. I would certainly give it my recommendation. 05/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great purchase but some things to keep in mind... I'm very happy with my purchase because it fits my needs perfectly and the price is killer (in a good way) but a few notes on the dresser... Like another poster said in their review, the color is much darker then the pictures makes it look. That ended up being a plus for me because it matched the other furniture in that room better then I thought it would. Also, it's pretty short. I was a little surprised at how short it was. I guess I would have known that if I cared to figure the measurements provided but like the color it worked out good in the room I have it in anyways (it's for a toddler's room - perfect toddler size. They'll be able to grab things on top of the dresser too.). I don't think I'd elect to use this dresser in anything but a child's room because it's just not big enough (in my opinion) for a teenager's clothes or an adult's. It's pretty small. The assembly instructions seem a little overwhelming at first because you literally have to assemble *everything* but once you get going you'll get the hang of what needs to go where quick. Just do stick to the instructions CLOSELY, my dear hubby thought he'd do it without actually READING the instructions (just looking at the pictures) and ooopps! That mistake resulted in some damage to the dresser facade. Also, not sure if it mentions it in the description but the drawer tracks are not metal nor to they have wheels - it's all cheapy plastic. So you are essentially just lining up the plastic strip that sticks out on the drawer to the plastic track on the inside of the dresser when you first insert the drawer and that's how it glides in and out (once again, no wheels). Right now it's fine and pretty smooth but given my previous experience with this kind of dresser, after a couple years it's going to be less smooth and jam up easily. It does have a stopper piece that prevents the drawer from being pulled out completely so that's good. Lastly, it's really heavy. Like REALLY heavy. Like two people need to carry it or it's not going anywhere heavy - that though might be partly due to the fact the bottom is not flat, it's the unfinished, rough sides of the wood panels which makes it dang near impossible to drag across carpeting. With all that said though I am VERY pleased with my purchase. It works perfectly in the room I needed it for and I think the price is a better deal then other places (I did get it on rollback though). Hope this helped!!! *PS I am uploading 2 pictures with this review. The first shows the assembled dresser. Lighting is bad so it looks black. It's a very dark brown but not black. You can see the color better in the second photo. Also in the second photo the bottom drawer is extended out as far as it'll go. In case you were curious. 11/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Ordering this online worried me- we have gotten broken pieces in the past with wood furniture, but it made it just fine. It isn't a quick easy assembly, but the pro side is that it's put together very durable, where you aren't worried about it falling apart quick like some furniture does. So far, it's held up nice and very attractive. We've used it in our boys room and so far they haven't managed to damage it. Definitely worth the price. 11/24/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money. This dresser is worth every penny. It looks great, has a pretty sturdy feel to it. Only complaint was that I was missing parts and I contacted the company and they said they would send an email conformation saying the pieces have shipped. I got the pieces I needed but never the email so I was getting frustrated while waiting for them since I didnt know if I was getting them or not. In short if this looks like the dresser for you and its in your price range get it. 05/01/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by check your colors OK, as far as value for dollar goes, this was a great product. It was super heavy and for the price, suprisingly sturdy. BUT: (and this is a big one) the chest was WAY darker in person than in the photos, VERY difficult to match up to other pieces. 05/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best value around I bought this for my new sons nursery. I will also use this as a diaper changing station. It's a little shorter than I expected but since I am 5'3 it works for me. I am pleased with the purchase and I shopped around to different furniture stores, target, kmart, babies r us and this was the best match for us. The drawers are perfect for his little clothes and I love the space that the side door/compartment provides!! 11/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not buy!! Worst dresser ever! I picked the product up many of the pieces were broken! After assembling it the drawers had a extremely tight fit. It looks really cheap! The drawer glides are cheap plastic and broke without anything in it! Extremely cheap dresser! Do not buy! If I could rate this a negative 100 I would! 02/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This was a gift from my parents for my unborn son. I was very excited to get the dresser and I loved how the dresser looked and better yet, the price they paid! Once I had received the dresser I was disappointed to see that a main piece on the dresser was broken, I called the South Shore Company and the sent me a new piece (granted it took almost 2 weeks to come I was happy to get the dresser put together). Once my husband got my husband put the dresser today we then realized that one of the hinges for the door was missing the screws, so once again I had to call the company, they apologized once again and told me that they would "overnight" me the screws, that was music to my ears because the dresser would be complete. 2 days went by and still nothing, so once again I called and asked what the problem was, I was informed that they never do overnight shipping and she didn't understand why someone would tell me that (making me sound like a liar). I was very upset to say the least. She then told me it was being sent out "express 2 day shipping". Well, I called on a Tuesday, it was already Thursday and still nothing. I asked her when exactly it would be here, and she said by Wednesday the following week. I kind of lost my top...I mentioned to her that I called on Tuesday, even if it was sent "express 2 days" that it would take OVER a week to come to me and what was the point in even putting on express 2 days when it was not 2 days? I was done listening at that point and told her to have a wonderful day and hung up the phone. The overall appearance of the dresser and the price you pay for the dresser is great. The company however, is a nightmare to work with and I will not be purchasing nor will I ever recommend someone to purchase from this company, which is a shame because I do like the dresser. 09/09/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it! I purchased this dresser for my 8 year old son. I love it more than he does. Of course the directions say put it together with help but I did it myself. Looks great and holds a lot of clothes. The draws are spacious. The finish is nice also. 02/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect storage We purchased this for our son who is 10. He had been living out of those plastic drawers far too long. Like previous reviews it is short, but for us its perfect because we wanted to place a TV and gaming systems on top. I did the assembly by myself and it took about 3 hours. I am a very meticulous person though! Instructions were very detailed and easily understood. He may grow out of it before we get our monies worth, but it will be a great addition to a guest bedroom. The top drawer held socks, underwear, and undershirts. Middle drawer held gym shorts folded in half both ways so that I could use the other side for PJ pants. The third drawer has all his school shorts again folded in half both ways but I could get three separate stacks this way. I will interested to see how long the plastic gliders work. It has a 5 year warranty so I have kept all my information! 12/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value for the price! I ordered this dresser based off of the good reviews other people gave it and it was well worth it. The dresser goes beautifully with my other South Shore pieces in my bedroom. Took around 3 hrs to assemble by myself, even though it says use 2 people. I am very pleased with all of the South Shore pieces I have purchased. The dresser looks classy, handles are sturdy, and is a good height and size. 11/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dresser Bought this a dresser online and received it about a week ago. The color is dark but looks just like the picture. It says its a two person job to put together, but I did this myself in two hours easily. My only issue was that the small screw's and such were not labeled as well as should be, the pictures had to be used. Once you get started it goes fast. I love how it looks in my boy's room. Its small and perfect. The drawers roll smooth and are a good size. And I use the cabinet for his toy basket. It is very well made and sturdy, not garbage wood. Very happy with this dresser and the price was amazing!!!! 11/05/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed I was not expecting high quality but was still very disappointed. The design of the dresser is perfect for our needs but that is it. The finish is laminated PAPER of very low quality, the drawer slides are plastic and not smooth at all, the corners of the drawer fronts and doors are finished very poorly and do not join the white laminated paper so you can see a rouch looking patches of brown through out. The dresser was not packaged properly so when the box was obviously abused during shipping the finished sides were smashed and damaged. I contacted South Shore and requested replacement parts and am still waiting. 01/25/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I expected. I finished this in about two hours by myself. It's fairly small compared to other dressers, but that was what I was looking for. I have a small room. I only ran into one small issue. The dresser was missing one screw that holds the plastic track. So, I deducted one star because I expect the product to be complete. I will be calling the manufacturer to try to get that one screw that I'm missing. It's not absolutely necessary, but I want a complete product. The finish is "ok" as I do expect the edges to wear/chip a lot quicker than any real wood. I'm rating this as a low end dresser. Don't expect a rating compared to an Oak Wood dresser. It's a cheap dresser and for the price, I don't think I could get a better one. The key to building this yourself is patience since you can damage the dresser by your clumsiness. I thought I was missing pieces at first, but once I got started it was all there. Make sure you don't unbox everything and assume you're missing things. 01/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It is a great dresser for the price! It's exactly what you hope for when you buy cheap furniture. It looks better than the picture in the ad, has more storage than expected for the price, is sturdy, and the drawers slide effortlessly and silently. The only downside is that it took 3 hours to assemble. Once it was all put together I was very happy with my purchase! 11/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid piece I ordered this chest to be used in my office for storage, because of its convenient size and my other pieces are matte black in finish. It is solid and was not that difficult to put together. Unfortunately Fedex was less than gentle in their handling and the top was damaged (crack). Walmart was helpful in directing me to the manufacturer and the manufacturer is sending a new top. Fortunately the top was the last piece to be attached so it should be relatively easy to switch out. Just hope the carrier delivering does not throw it around. Thanks. 03/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I bought this dresser for me and my boyfriends room. It was very easy to put together, and has a very nice color to it. Its more of a sleek black rather than a flat black. The drawers were a little bit hard at first when i would open and close them, but after about a week of using them, they stop being so stiff. Its a great addition to the room! I would definitely recommend this product!! 03/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by South Shore 3-Drawer and Cabinet This was exactly what I was looking for. It was inexpensive and actually looks great. They could have done a better job on labeling the parts. The part numbers were stamped on the side of the wood and not readable from a distance. Took me a couple of hours to assemble. 03/23/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing Pieces & Damaged Furniture Overall, the furniture is good. It's basic in its design and well-priced, which is perfect for furniture meant for children. I am, however, disappointed that both of the dressers I bought had huge and obvious cracks on the top of the dressers. One of them also did not come with enough cam screws necessary for assembly. I'm sure this will not happen to every customer, but be aware that you may end up having problems. 02/13/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by excellent i love this dresser i have my tv on it perfect height for my bed. Assembly took a long time,hours... and there's 2 problems with it,the particle board falls apart easily if i miss placed a nail it would tear it up. and the other is trying to get the sliders in for the drawers they are plastic and you must pound them in..hard and try not to break or dent them. im sure if you have a husband who is crafty and strong it wont be a problem,but me,a kinda strong woman in an ok sized apartment..it required some help. if you buy this,i say have fun and get some assistance. 02/15/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would NOT recommend This dresser is a nightmare! The iinstructions were on regular printer paper and the printer had ran out of ink. The words were faded. Couldn't read the dang manual. The dresser had many scratches on it. Very cheaply made. I would suggest to invest a little more money and get your money's worth because this product isn't. Wish I would have listened to the reviews. 07/27/2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing nails, and smells funny, but looks good A whole bag of nails needed to put the back board on was missing, but since they are standard nails we had some. Door with hinge needs adjustment (which is included in instruction) to line up properly. Otherwise my teenage daughter did most of the assembling then got some help from her dad, and instructions are adequate to get us there. We can't use it right away because of the smell. Will need scented lining or need to spray it with odor neutralizer or something. Looks good! 07/10/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for hard moving little boys Bought two of these dressers for my grandsons. They tend to be hard on everything and so far so good. We used furniture glue on all pieces for a stronger hold. One down side, a bit more time consuming than we thought. 06/04/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good product. but missing peices The dresser is just what i need for my 4 year old son. The drawers work great and is sturdy. The only problem is that it didnt come with the hinges needed to put the door on. 06/01/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great dresser It was easy to put together . I love it it matches my other dressers 04/30/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great Product is to be used as a dresser with a changing station on top for my newborn son. It is the perfect height for this use. For the price it is a good product. 04/30/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sturdy Cabinet We bought this to go under a counter in the bathroom. The lower height made it a perfect fit. Easy to put together and pretty sturdy. The outside is easy to clean. We dripped some water into one of the drawers and the surface bubbled so I don't think the inside is meant to get wet. Haven't had it long enough to know how the outside will do in the humidity of the bathroom. 03/01/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Slight misalignment of predrilled holes. Its cheaply priced. You get what you pay for. The only reason i didnt return it was because it would have been a pain to rebox and haul back to store. I felt committed to it at that point. CHEAP product in all respects 06/24/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by clean sweep Anytime you are dealing with compress wood you need to be extra careful. I had my assumptions about this product, but over all it held up. 05/28/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good thing it was for a kids room This unit was easy to assemble. A little time consuming but everything fit perfectly. My only knock on this would be is that it is vey short, and smaller than I thought it would be. My fault fir not paying attention to the dimensions anyway. Luckily for me it is for a kids room anyway and doesn't really matter in my case. Have a feeling the wood covering will start to peel in the long run, but overall it is a good piece for the money. 06/25/2012
  • 2015-10-07T08:05:32.463-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_159, tr_159
  • loc_en_US, sid_42423497, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 138 total reviews
2 3 4 5 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.