See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 23 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Money Saver I am so glad that I finally purchased the Rival Vacuum Sealer. It has already proven itself as a money saver. As you know, going to the market can be very expensive. I pre-sliced Bell Peppers, and Onions andn placed in the Rival Sealer and they really hold up to the freshness. I have also used thisproduct with chicken and steak. and they freeze perfectly. GREAT PURCHASE!!! 04/26/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inexpensive vacuum sealers This vacuum sealer is an inexpensive, no frills, starter unit. I too had a problem when I first starting using it till I called Rival customer service. This unit, and I suppose other more expensive ones, will only work correctly if the end of the bag is ENTIRELY in the channel with NO WRINKLES. But it will NOT work properly on overly wet foods. An example would be a fresh RAW steak. The moisture content will not allow a sufficent vacuum and will prevent it from sealing. Pre-chill these type foods for an hour and the machine should work. To seal the END of a new bag put it on the heat strip ONLY. If the end of an empty roll type bag is placed in the channel the machine will pull a vacuum but NOT seal. If the bag is placed over the sealing strip ONLY the machine will SEAL but NOT pull a vacuum. Remember, To seal a bag you MUST have the vacuum. There is a good reason for all this but not enough room here. Good luck. 05/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Thought I could get away with a cheaper model but after sealing up a few things We noticed the bags leaked over the next couple days and never stayed fully sealed. :( Not good when you are sealing up survival food! 04/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good I look a round for a food saver and saw at walmart the Rival , glad I took a look at it . for the price it was a good deal and after a few times going back , though forth, The price I try it. Took it home and had some food left over from the night before and put the left over food in the bag and it work like a dream. for the price it a good buy and no bells on the unit just does what it does. suck all the air out of the bag and seal it . I give it a 5 star as for the cost of it it wourth every penne and all ready it save me $25 in food this week alone. for $49.00 it a great buy.And the gags are not to much to buy as foodsaver are a little more and it use more bag the the Reval does to seal the bag. Good little unit. N.S. 05/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expensive units My old seal-a-meal died. Bought $89+ and the unit kept sealing bag without a full seal. Took it back to store (not Walmart). Then bought a "pro" version, same thing, and returned to warehouse store. Was desperate, read a review, and thought, 1 more time. This little unit is the basic, no frills, but does it pull a tight seal. Works everytime. Have had for a few months and use it often. I am thinking that without all the "fancy" stuff, it allows the machine to work as intended. Glad I bought it. 12/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It really does do exactly what it says it will do - vacuum seal. No fancy extras, but works well once I got used to how it works, and the bags on the roll make this a pretty good bargain. 09/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value I bought this today so I could pack up some fish i caught last week, but didnt want to spend a ton of money. I'll tell you this sealer works pretty darn good, really wish it took more air out of the bag but it did a good enough job. It is loud though. No frills but gets the job done, includes 6 medium sized bags. Hope this review helps. 10/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Hard pressed for an answer It really sucks, which is good. It works well but I think it is a little fiddly sometimes. It absolutely positively wants a seal before it goes through its program of hands free then seal. So you have to place the top of the bag in the vaccum well just so and the bag over the gasket just so. Probably an end user training issue. I kind of wish it had a vaccum bypass for when I am just making up bags from a roll or pegging bag corners to make bag bowls. You will have to develop a technique for those operations since anything in the vaccum well, even well sealed and it has trouble choking up. 05/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cheap for a decent sealer Me and my husband drive a hour and a half to get our meat from a very nice meat market, with fuel and food prices going up we thought we would rather buy all the meat in bulk (we have a green house and a big garden for veggies) and perserve it. We bought this sealer knowing it wont probably be the best. We started to seal some hamburger and noticed little air pockets in some areas, so we started using some press-n-seal then use the vacuum sealer and it works wonderful. Though the machine itself is quiet loud, you can't beat the price. 02/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Sealer for the Price It's just a basic vacuum sealer but it seems to do the job well. A good deal for the the price. 10/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect i was looking more for a sealer than a vacuum but this one has hit the jackpot. most important, it puts on a 2mm wide seal that does not open and i am using those zip lock bags i got from uline for sealing dried ingredients for samples. thumbs up, worth the $$$.... 09/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by When I first bought this item I was very excited I always wanted a vaccum sealer. What a disappointment the first several times I used it it worked great. When I pulled it out today after having it put away for 2 weeks now it don't work at all. I've only had it since Christmas of last year. There-fore I will say buyer beware it looks good works good first few times and then nothing. 02/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rival Vacuum Sealer It took forever for this thing to seal anything. It quit working after less than a month, so I returned it. It i extremely noisy too. 04/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Machine... ABSOLUTELY Fantastic machine. NOT necessary to purchase top of the line machines. Simple as it can be.....yet does not compromise quality with lower price. Bought one of the original Food Savers when they first came out and this one smokes the Original at about half the price. They have gotten much better in the past 15-20 years. EXCELLENT PRODUCT! 03/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by it all i need and it works great. 06/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT I have used this product everyday since the day I purchasd it. LOVE IT!! I seal up our meat for the freezer, home soup bases, dried & dehydrated foods, and any package that I open (froen veg., rice, etc.) I just stick it in and let this machine seal it up!! Saves me on having to find those blasted clips, plus heat sealing it I don't have to worry about things spilling all over the place. Just place the bag that the food came in in the sealer and seal (no so much on vaccum sealing on these bags). For the price I can't complain expect to say that the bags that come with it are awful. I bought the food saver rolls and they work much better in this machine than the rival ones. 05/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I recently bought this inexpensive sealer and it works great! Easy to operate and does what it is suppose to do. I will recommend this product to family and friends. 10/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great deal I got this a year ago and I am very happy with it. My household is only 2 people, but I buy bulk and then freeze it. So I didn't need a super machine but wanted something that would last. This was a great deal. The small size makes it easy to store and it's easy to use. I researched quite a few sealers before buying this and they all have their faults. So I figured why spend all that extra money when it has the same fault as the cheaper one. If you use the rolls, you do have to make sure you cut straight the sealer doesn't seem to like uneven edges. And I read a review that said about refrigerating the food before you seal it. I've been doing that and have had no problems. 09/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have already owned two Rival vacuum sealers. This second one is starting to exhibit problems (taking way too long to suck out air even from a small bag). I plan on buying another one ASAP and will buy one for my son who is the cook in his family. I could not live without this product. I have told so many people about owning a vacuum sealer. It has saved me so much money over the years. I use mine constantly. I wash out and reuse the bags (like they say you can) and get more bang for my buck. My first one had vacuuming AND separate sealing buttons. My second one didn't (one buttom just to vacuum, then seal). I liked the first version a little better. 09/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product, but won't last too long. I purchased my Rival Vacuum Sealer in November of 2010, so it is about a year and a half old now and has taken the dive. Worked wonderfully up until a few weeks ago. The unit is no longer vacuuming out the air. Good while it lasted, wish it would've lasted longer for $50 though. 08/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have had so much trouble getting it to seal. 07/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shoot! Bought this sealer last night at my local WalMart and will be returning it today for a better model. After several attempts at trying to seal, I have given up. Guess that's what I get for only spendig $50 on this. Should have forked out the extra money and purchased the Food Saver system to begin with. Now -- I've got food in the freeze not properly sealed :( Shoot! 06/27/2012
1-23 of 23 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw278
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp