See All Reviews
Rival Compact Garment Steamer
Rival Compact Garment Steamer
Was: $39.77
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 16 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love It! I was hesitant to purchase this model after reading the reviews. I don't need to do any heavy duty steaming-just clothes-so I decided to take a chance. I love it!!! It comes with a hook that hooks over your door. The hook holds coat hangers (items being steamed) and also holds the steamer head. I don't have to put the unit away. It stays in my closet with the steamer head hanging up. Unit heats up quickly, holds lots of water, plenty of steam to get wrinkles out of clothes, no leaking. I keep the steamer head on the hook (up high) when not in use so maybe that is why I don't have a problem with leaking. This is an amazing price for what it does. I have purchased two more to give to my kids. 08/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little steamer! Pros: Easy to use, heats up quickly, gentle on fabric, large water tank, long hose, even works on household items. Cons: Handle gets a little hot after a while, steamer itself smells off. I've had this steamer for a month and have used it at least twice a week every week. It is great for household use. I've used it on garments made of all sorts of fabrics and it is much faster than ironing. It also doesn't put creases where you don't want them, unlike an iron. I've also used it on some upholstery with very nice results. I've even had success using it for other household jobs, like cleaning the stove, shower, etc. However, this is not recommended by the manufacturer. Because it is designed to be used in an upright position, you have to hold it up for a few seconds every once in a while if you're trying to steam something unconventional; otherwise, you will create condensation and it will drip on you. I've had other steamers before but this one is my favorite (despite being one of the least expensive) so far. The steamer itself smells a little funny while it's working, but the clothes themselves smell fresh once they're dry. One reviewer said that they tried to use it for a bunch of wedding tablecloths--this is obviously not a commercial steamer, so if you want to use it for something like that, or for a ton of upholstery work, this isn't the steamer for you. 02/12/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Leaks & Not Powerful This is a great deal for under $30, but you get what you pay for. I used this once to steam out table linen creases for a wedding, but it just couldn't do the job. It heats up very quickly and there is a large reservoir for water, but the steam just isn't powerful enough to handle "tough" creases on fabric (poly). Even after passing and "ironing" out a crease several times over, it did nothing. It also leaked - A LOT and hot water dripping on your arms is not fun. It comes with nice attachments, but what's the use if the steamer itself can't do the job? I am returning this today. 04/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little product! I've wanted a steamer for awhile. My 15 y/o daughter pulling her choir formal out of her band locker (made for a flute) the morning of her concert prompted me to purchase this product. It did an awesome job on the satin dress! Looking forward to using it on my work wardrobe. Will update if I find any downsides... 10/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Man abuses steamer, Steamer holds up to abuse !! I bought this product to remove the window tint from my wife's car and my van. Obviously, NOT the intended use by the manufacturer! But, it did a GREAT JOB ! (Note: I bought this at the store for less than's price.# When I started looking for a steamer I noticed that over 50% of the reviews for all brands were negative, several reviews noted machines that were DOA or died after a few uses. I was surprised by the entire category of steamers being rated so poorly. Anyway, I purchased the Rival because I knew they had lots of experience building reliable slow cookers #crockpots# and the steamer is, after all, only a heating element with a hose attached to it. First thing, out of the box, I was impressed with the weight and feel of the insulated #woven cloth covered# hose, this made a big difference handling the hose while i contorted in the back seat of my wife's car removing the window tint, the hose got hot but not so hot that I burned myself. Steam was produced after only a couple of minutes and the wand was very comfortable to handle. As long as you keep the hose cleared of condensation, #condensation flows back to the resevoir and if the hose is resting on the floor the raised water level will stop the flow of steam# by lifting the hose occaisonally, the steam flows constantly. By the way, the product comes with a good assortment of attachemnts #presumably to use on your clothing) which would be helpful if you bought it for it's intended use. Overall, the product is well built and designed. I expect it will last for quite some time, even though, I will probably find some other way to abuse it before my wife gets a chance to use it on her clothes. 08/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I bought this to get some wrinkles out of my daughters prom dress. The dry cleaner would charge $25. I bought this steamer and it worked great. It removed all the wrinkles from the dress. i used it on all the clothes waiting to be ironed in the laundry room. I used it for one hour and only refilled once. I didin't have any problems with dripping, I followed the manufacturers tips. 04/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job for a great price I have beige sofas and 3cats... One of my male cats went on a spraying spree while in heat and all three tend to shed so i needed something to clean my sofas before it got to the point that i needed new furniture, i purchased this item and my sofas look brand new! 07/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Taking off Wallpaper!! I bought this for the purpose of steaming wallpaper to aid in removal. It's doing an excellent job. It's coming off in full sheets! Perhaps I'll write a review when I actually try it on clothing! 07/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by YES! 100% YES, I would recomend this product! I was at a dead end with a vintage Prom dress with 25 yr old wrinkles/creases. This item saved the day! It was like watching a magic trick...wrinles smoothed out in seconds! Be careful of the condensation build up (especially when using on fabric that will spot), but this steamer was a life saver for us! 04/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this steamer. The price is right and it does a great job. I'm very happy with this purchase! It does drip occasionally, but the instructions tell you this. Lift the nozzle up occasionally to let the water in the hose, drain back down into the machine. The handle does get pretty warm, but nothing that I can't stand. All in all, I think it's a great product. 02/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by works very well I used this to get the wrinkles out of my new room darkening curtains. They were a heavy lined material with deep creases from being folded in the packaging. Had to steam both sides of the curtains, but they took out the folds. I will use in the future on clothing, etc. as I hate ironing. 09/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by i bought this one and the handheld rival at the same time to see which one would work better.the handheld is going back and i'm keeping this one. it is a little bulky to store but it works great! i can have several shirts steamed in the time it would take me to drag out the iron and ironing board. so far it is worth every penny i have paid for it. we have 6 children and i just don't have time to stand and iron everything that needs to be ironed for 4 hours. 03/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid Value Very pleased with this purchase. I made the switch to steamers vs irons years ago, and use them almost every day for all kinda of outfits for me and my girlfriend (pants, dresses, suits, dress shirts, jeans). This steamer generates steam quickly (1-2mins), and has a heavy and constant flow of steam to get out those tougher wrinkles. Just like other reviews say, you do have to hold the handle up to avoid dripping, but that's common for steamers anyway. Overall, especially considering the price, I overwhelmingly suggest purchasing this steamer. (Honestly, I would probably pay another $10 or more for this product.) I don't have long-term experience with this model yet, but I have used it 12 or so times over the last few weeks (for work, a wedding, and few nights out) and its been great. 10/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This steamer did the job. I was a little hesitant to buy this steamer after reading the reviews, I sort of had no choice since it was the only one available for pickup near my house. But I am happy to report that the steamer worked beautifully on my wedding dress. It heated up very quickly & did not spit water at my dress (as some reviewers reported). I was careful to continually hold the steamer head up high & make sure that there was no water sitting in the hose. I would definitely recommend this product! 10/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice Design - Poor Quality I purchased this product to steam wrinkles out of a new set of draperies. The design seemed good, and I read the instruction manual, filled it with distilled water, and began steaming. When I has half way through the first tank of water, the unit made a clicking sound, and shut off.... permanently! Though the price was right, it only completed one drape before breaking! I took it back to the store and exchanged it for another brand that has worked great. 02/24/2012
1-16 of 16 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.