See All Reviews
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't leave your neighborhood or go long distances For the money, this is a good bike for very short trips and no more. (Max 3 miles at a time) I've owned this bike for a year (same model- Schwinn Avenue 700c Men’s Hybrid, only difference is paint scheme). For the first 6 months, I would ride around the neighborhood once in a while and the bike was fine. About 4 months ago, I started riding with some friends more frequently. 10 miles during the week and 35 miles average on the weekend (every week). After the second week of this routine, the bike needed to be adjusted (big time $$). After this adjustment, the bike was only good for 4 weeks. Derailleur started jamming and front crank sounded like it was going to break (I'm not very technical) and it would not shift right. This weekend, in the middle of a 35 mile ride one of the gears broke and the back tire blew 4 spokes. (I.e. I was on foot after this). After this weekend, I am no longer putting any more money into this bike. (Giving it to goodwill) I'm on my way to purchase either a Cannondale or Trek from a local shop. When you think of what this bike costs, plus parts and service (if you are going to be more than a neighborhood rider), you’re better off going to a local bike shop and getting a better bike from the very beginning. I am not a bike shop owner, I'm a financial advisor. Most local bikes shops include after the sale service for free (tuning and truing). Another lesson that I learned the hard way is that Schwinn (at least from a big box store) is not the same quality Schwinn that we were used to hearing about from 20 yrs ago. To add to this, just because a bike has Shimano parts does not mean it’s a quality bike. Shimano is the largest maker of bike parts in the world. This means that it has an entire range of parts, from very poor quality to higher end ones. I would urge you to do your homework and get something that is going to fit your needs and budget. Think of the long term vs. how cheap it is to buy now (because that's exactly what I did a year ago). Hope this helps. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice ride Bought from store stock. Nice riding bike. Only had to put air in the tires. I had to return the first one I picked up. Who ever assembled the bike fouled up the chain drive. If you buy in the store test it in all gears before you go to the register. Will save you the drives back to the store. Was an easy return and replacement. Employees were helpful an cooperative. 05/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall a great bike Purchased this one after stopping in a local bike shop. I REALLY wanted a trek and to buy local rather than a chain, but the most comparable bike started at $409, and I really didn't have the extra money. I got this for going to work and back almost daily (only 1.7 miles each way), but on the weekends for a little more exercise. I just took my first weekend ride for 15 miles and it did great. Bought mine online at walmart website for $20 less than their store sale price and got it shipped free to my house. It took only 3 days to get it which was faster than the site-to-store option. Had several compliments on the spokes being a different pattern than the normal boring style. Overall happy so far, and I've convinced 2 other coworkers to buy / get their bike out of the garage and start riding. Perhaps they were jealous... 06/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Value for Money This bike is value for money. I ordered and arrived on time to store. Store did the assembly and works fine for me after a month. Note that I am a casual rider and do not have much Technical expertise with Bike and I am enjoying my ride with no issues. 05/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 350 miles and no problems Got a great sale price at local WalMart.Rode for about 50 miles and took to local shop for a quick tune up which is normal on all bikes. Rode the GAP trail from Pittsburgh Pa. to Cumberland Md. (140 miles) with no problems. Have about 350 miles on bike with still no problems. Great bike at any price.. 09/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for the occasional rider Got this bike so I could ride around the local lake (around 3 miles) some hills and rough terrain, some main road. Could not find anything wrong with the bike, looks great, rides smooth and met/exceeded expectations that I had. Could not go wrong with buying this bike. I am now looking into riding it TO work. Overall good bike and worth more than a Walmart price. 06/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bike Outperforms me. I read the reviews and got this bike, well I meant to get the brown version with a rear rack already installed, but went with this one instead when I got to the store. Keep in mind this is a Walmart bike not a professional $500+ touring cycle like some of the people posting reviews always forget. Right off the bat it seemed decent in the store, I later realized it needed some minor tweaks, which with its setup weren't really rocket science. The clerk who put it together had the handle bars slightly off, and the seat was just enough slanted I didn't notice it till its maiden voyage. I picked up a bell multi tool, basically a Swiss army knife of allan wrenches etc that most bikes used, and easily did any minor adjustments with just that. The tire pressure seems to not want to go above 30 on mine for some reason, well not stay above it for long, could be the route I use is awfull for biking so I spend a good half mile in gravel; min pressure on the tire however is 50, so if I don't check it before a ride I find myself shattered when I pass over the canal near my house, which isn't that steep of a grade. I have since put a decent amount of cash into it, nothing like a tuning just lights, water bottle holder, lock etc and have yet to regret anything other then thinking on that first ride that I could 2.5 miles after not riding a bike in over 12 years.. big mistake. Like I mentioned before I check it over every time it leaves the garage, knowing full well with my first motorcycle, car, etc simply doing that can vastly improve a vehicles life. Keep in mind I am no mechanic, but after fixing a slipped chain on a motorcycle (not a bicycle, but similar in principle when chain driven) not to mention driving it into the ground the first 6 years of my licensed life, I know a thing or too about minor adjustments, and got an idea of what something should look like. In conclusion this bike still wears me out, but I am slowly mastering it, and it runs nicer now then when I took it out of the store last month. Just remember if your not gonna buy the more expensive, don't expect professorial endurance, and never take it for granted, no matter how great it feels that first month. Never neglect the once over, and the basic maintenance, it always comes back to bite you, its easier to notice a potential problem early on and end up with a spare, then pay for repairs, and still need a new one. 01/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for under $200!! Great bike for the money...actually FANTASTIC bike for the money! I opted to assemble the bike myself and the brake assemblies do require a bit of tweaking. Most of it comes pre-assembled and the job doesn't take long at all. If you want a premium bike, go spend $800-$1000 if you have it. I doubt it will do much more then this bargain!! 06/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Value There simply is not a better bike for the money. Spend three to four times more money than you would have paid for this bike and then ride this bike. You will take the expensive one back. What a value this bike is. 09/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike esp. for the Price Less than half of the price of bikes you would get from the local bike shop. If you are going to ride everyday for distance, pay the money to by the brand name. This is a good bike for 2-5 miles, and will likely last 2-4 yrs, but no set up on hardware, and the parts/frame are not f the quality you expect form the bike shop. I did a month of research, but don't ride enough to justify the better bike. The hybrid is the way to go, the reviews of this type of bike are spot on. 10/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't miss this bike! Looked at a Trek for many hundreds more and not as good in my opinion. I now have two of these Schwinn 700's and they are a dream to ride. My rides are 9-10 miles each way, so I burn calories and not $4 a gallon gas. The workmanship and welding is excellent, the seat is more than comfortable, 21 speeds are more than I need, and the "click shifting levers" are perfect. I am so glad I did not waste money buying a Trek....all that is, is a status symbol which means nothing to me. You can check this bike from one end to the other and not find a shortcoming. This hybrid is the best I have seen. If you ride a night, I would suggest a 1300 lumen light and rechargeable batteries. That light is "motorcycle" bright for safety. Only available on line for about $30. Other headlights are not so great. You will not be disappointed in the 700. Do it! 02/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by was not exactly what i was expecting, once i got it adjusted to my build pretty good ride and comfortable wish there was a bigger frame available meaning the distance from seat to handle bars i am 6ft and 300lbs not fat just big, assembly was easy and i save couple hundred and more versus high end or custom bike 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good bicycle for the money I bought this off the rack from my local store along with a ladies model for my wife and a bike trailer to do shopping for groceries and such. The service was great. Overall I have had no issues with the bike as far as general riding goes. It pulls the trailer quite smoothly up and over an overpass near me, loaded or unloaded. It was nice to see that the bike has trigger shifting and not the more common and cheaper twist grip style. The only problems I have had is that Wal-mart does not sell the tubes for this bike. Or if they do, they sell them with Presta valves instead of the more common Schraeder valves and non-puncture resistant. I had to go to a bike shop for to get the tubes that I wanted. Another problem I have had is that the kickstand housing broke after about a year of ownership and I have had to use one from a previous Wal-mart bike that I have since discarded (non-Schwinn). I ride this bike at least once a week to church and back and to do my shopping for groceries and such. Occasionally I will take a 20 - 30 mile trip, but not often. I would have also like to have seen fenders offered on this bike. I may buy some to put on at a later date, depending on if I haven't upgraded yet. If I was going to do some serious bike riding, I think I would spend the money and get something different such as a Trek, Cannondale or Specialized. I have had full suspension bicycles before and I would have liked to have seen the rear suspension with a spring on the frame instead of a shock on the seat post. I would not recommend this bike for off road usage, but for general usage on paved roads it is great. Schwinn is now owned as a subsidiary of Pacific Cycle (foreign, China I think) and is not the Schwinn that I grew up with as a kid. 09/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for riding around town! I have ridden this bike around my town for about 3 weeks now. I have put around 70 Miles on it so far (5-20 Miles on a nice day.) It gets me around town quickly, for a good price. I got it on sale for around $160. It shifts gears with one click of the gear changer, very nice derailleurs. I am 15 Yr's, 6" 1/2 tall at 150 LBS. I would recommend this bike to an everyday rider. 02/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great quality, especially for the price I did a lot of research for a bike I could comfortably ride to work and back (about 3 miles). I finally decided on the Schwinn 700c and couldn't be happier. It's definitely higher quality than some of the cheapos out there and I really like the looks. I've been riding this for a couple weeks and love it so far. 07/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value hybrid bike I just got the bike for Father's day and I like it! It was assembled at the store, correctly, and besides putting air in the tires, adjusting the seat height, and adjusting the angle of the gear shifters on the handlebars, required no other work. I just went for a long ride through our neighborhood with my daughters and it worked great, and was very comfortable. A similar bike, like a Trek, from a bike store would cost around $350 - $400, so this was a great deal for someone who wants a comfortable, well balanced, lightweight, and easy to use bike. For the reviewer that wasn't happy, given the amount of riding he was doing I think he will be happier longterm with a bike from the bike store. For the average guy who isn't planning to do serious biking, this bike is great!! I will probably get the girl's version for my wife very soon!! 06/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good entry level bike Assembly was easy. All things pretty solid for a bike in the $200 range. Two minor issues: 1) Rear wheel is slightly "off". It's most noticeable when I'm going faster than ~15mph, and i get slowed down by it. 2) The front derailleur has issues getting into 3rd gear if the rear is already in 6th or 7th. I believe both of these issues can be addressed by bringing the bike to a shop to get "tuned", but that would add >25% of the cost to the bike. 09/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many broken spokes I definitely wouldn't purchase this bicycle again. It has a new spoke design and the spokes break too easily. (I had my old bicycle for 2 1/2 years and it never broke a spoke.) My bicycle repair shop has confirmed that he has seen this problem with other bicycles of this same model. I've had the bicycle for less than a year and have had 7 spokes break at different times. It's currently breaking a rear spoke about every 120 miles of use. I've e-mailed Schwinn with the problem and not response. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bike for the money I have had this bike for a few months now. I am 6'5" tall and 245lbs. This bike is very comfortable and durable. I purchased a Raleigh bike from a bicycle shop for $350.00 a few years ago. That bike was not as good as this bike. I am glad I purchased this bike. 05/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by I ordered this bicycle online because I could not find the mens in a retail store, it was delivered on time, very quickly Friday afternoon. I assembled the bike on Saturday, planned on taking a ride the next day (Sunday), BUT, the rear tire was flat, turns out the tube had a hole in it, I could not find a new tube quickly so I gave up until the next day ( 3 days have passed since delivery and I cannot ride it). So I found a tube, installed it, then discovered both front and rear deraillures were not adjusted properly. I spent several hours adjusting both deraillures, now the bike seems to work fine. I have to add that we, (my wife and I) bought the womens version of this bike at a retail store and it has worked fine. Don't expect to take it out of the box, do a quick assembly and have it function. 06/18/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice bike Very nice bike, light, inexpensive, easy to put together. It is a bit small for me (6'2") but it will do for quick runs around town. 07/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Bike! I ordered this bike online. I wanted to assemble this bike due to the number of bikes I seen inside several Walmarts. It seems that people don't pay attention to details or follow the instructions of the manufacture. This is a major safety issue. Poorly routed cables can and will cause a possible failure. Resulting in injury or worse. The bike went together very well. After checking the brakes, front and back dérailleurs, and the wheels. I spent the rest of my time installing all my accessories. Today I broke in this bike, a 12 mile ride on the Rails-For-Trails. The bike handled the ride very well. Gear shifting was very good, no problems as I went through every gear. I like the upward style of seating. Road use was even better. Sure there are better bikes out there, for the money this can't be beat. Again, these are not the old Schwinn's from the past. Still a good bike for the money. 08/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for my needs. I'd been looking at many sub-$300 bikes for several months with the intention of buying something that would be fun to ride as well as good for increasing my exercise levels. I was hesitating in purchasing something as I struggled to decide whether a road bike or a mountain bike would best serve my purposes - with this bike I have the best of both worlds. The Shimano EZ-Fire trigger gear shifters are perfect and sold me on this model. I dislike the (cheaper?) grip shifter type gears and it's fairly unusual to find such Shimano trigger gears on such a low cost bike. Upon buying the bike and getting it home I spent a couple of hours fine tuning the bike and installing various upgrades, (adjusting the handbars and seat, making adjustments to the gears and brakes, a general check over all the other nuts and bolts, installing a pump, water bottle, wireless speedometer all also bought from Walmart), and I couldn't be happier with this bike. I've owned the bike less than a week and have already put many, many miles on it. If you are wanting a good bike without spending a large amount of money in a specialist shop on a better model, you really can't go far wrong with this Schwinn model. I love it. 07/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Checked the bike out in my local store and liked it. Went online and found it was alot cheaper. The bike was delivered to the local store free of charge and I put it together. Great deal on a great bike. I am very pleased. 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality bike at a very affordable price I recently purchased this bike from as ship to store. I received it within a week. The store associate was kind enough to assemble the bike and called me promptly when it was ready. As far as the bike goes, I was looking for a hybrid bike for casual ride around our community. The bike is very well made with aluminum frame. It is not as light as other road bikes but for the price I paid, I am not at all complaining. I will recomend this bike and 07/17/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheaper than in-store, but not the same quality I ordered the bike online and had it shipped to the store to save some money. The product was in good shape, and it assembled easily. When I took it out for the first time, there were a lot of problems while shifting gears. The lower gears work fine, but the chain won't shift to the higher settings. It may be something that will work itself out, but it is pretty annoying right now. 04/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a piece of garbage! My guess is that virtually all of the reviewers on this site have only just purchased this bike. Ask them how they like it in six months! The entire, needlessly complicated, gear assembly on the rear axle rusted to pieces in less than a year. The bike was never left outside--always garaged--and was treated with great care. No matter, the cheap, thin metal parts rusted apart. The nature of this design flaw is such that the bike is rendered completely useless--can't be ridden, can't be fixed. We had chosen to pay a bit more in hopes that we'd have a bike that would at least last a couple of years. Schwinn has lost my business forever. Total trash! 09/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good bike for a tall rider I'm 6'4'' & 265 and this bikes seems to be good fit. Though, I've only ridden it a few times. A long ride will be the test. 06/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice bike for the price bought mine about two months ago. I ride about 12 miles a day .I have a couple hundred miles on it.Its a very nice bike and well worth it. 05/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent bike for the money Used this to replace a mountain bike that I'd added an electric motor to. Since this bike is so light, and the trigger shifting is so easy, I don't think I'm going to transfer the motor over. We'll see how I feel after taking it to a place with more hills. It's a pleasure to ride this bike! 07/19/2011
1-30 of 48 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.