Rated 4 out of 5 by 26 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm 23 years old, bought this just to fool around with and have a bike (I came from riding BMX bikes (dirt)) but needed something easier on my body (getting old lol). I paid $200 for this thing, not expecting much, I thought it was probably a cheap bike that won't do very good off roading but thought it would be fine for just riding easy trails and on concrete. boy was I wrong, I took this thing on dirty muddy trails, went 30+mph down hills and over jumps (I'm 220lbs) and thing shifts pretty good and rides extremely well, mongoose used to make kind of junk bikes, but I have to say, this bike did pretty darn good. The front shock was a little stiff but after a 10 mile ride it works a lot better, had to adjust the front disc brake cable, made it grab a lot better, seat is pretty narrow as well. I really like how it has the mounts to put a rear disc on there as well, tires are knobby and works very good in the dirt and mud. It has a bunch of features from a higher end bike (trek 3 series) but cost is low. I plan on taking it on a 15 mile advanced trail, will update my review, but based on how it performed, i believe it will do perfectly fine. Only ting I would change is put rear discs on it, the stock rubber ones seqeal from time to time, but they might need to be broken in or adjusted. I plan on changing those as well as the seat and a bunch of things (I'm a modder by heart :) ) I also took off the xr200 decals and the 21 speed one and the aluminum tubing one, looks a ton cleaner. 06/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deserves to be ridden on a rough trail I bought this bike for something to primarily ride on roads. Though it probably seems obvious, it didn't occur to me that an extremely heavy mountain bike with knobby tires and full suspension would not be an easy ride for long distances on pavement. This isn't to say the bike is bad--it's fantastic, but only on abusive trails. The bike is called "All-Terrain", but I'm pretty sure that doesn't include roads. The gearing is very low; only the two highest possible gears met my preference for road riding, so this obviously means the bike is meant to handle dirt and debris. The bike was assembled at the store and the gears shift very smoothly. The whole bike is well built and rugged, and if I did more trail riding I would have undoubtedly stuck with this one (I returned it). The handlebar grips can get uncomfortable after a while, but the seat is surprisingly comfy. Some tips: I bought this at a store, and the price online is actually about $30 cheaper. The handlebars use some sort of cartridge system--you need to add little ring-like things to raise the handlebars. No extras came with the store-bought bike, and I don't know about buying it online. The kick stand is mounted near the back wheel and has a little lever that serves as a lock. If you don't put this lever in the right position before putting the kickstand down, the bike won't stand up. 06/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ride Like The Wind This Mongoose XR-200 is a fine bicycle; sharp-looking, well-built, and feature-rich. A front disc brake is responsive and something usually found on far more expensive bikes. Its quick-release front wheel is great. The 21 speeds will serve even the most ardent cyclist's needs. It has a fine design. Dual suspension always provides a better ride and this has it in an updated configuration that seems more functional and looks better, as the bike doesn't have that "hacked" look seen in so many MTBs' center posts. An aluminum frame keeps overall weight down. The rear kick stand locks for additional stability. After recovering a stolen bicycle six years gone and the frustrations of trying to resurrect it from past abuses, a new bike seemed a better strategy for enjoyment with my renewed interest in biking for fun and fitness. I had the good fortune to find this model in the racks and took a shine to it. A Walmart associate who assembled the bikes gave me the rundown on this model and when contrasting it to other bikes in the rack, it was a thrifty choice as well (it was clearance-priced at $149.00). Now an aging enthusiast (in my 50's, 6'0", 235 lbs) but not an avid rider in many years, certain considerations and modifications seemed apropos. These included a more comfortable seat (the Bell gel cushions model); a Schwinn Xenon light kit for night riding (the black housing looks good with this bike); Slime 5X Thicker self-sealing inner tubes (patching punctured tubes is less than an agreeable activity), and different tires (since most riding will be of the street variety rather than off-road). It is now an exceptional bike for all practical purposes. It rides well and I've had recent experiences with "wind riding" - the wind so strong and gusty that it can almost keep you stationary now matter how hard you pedal. The gear ratio proved invaluable to continued progress in those instances - but when you grew up in the era of 10-speeds, anything beyond that is, well, expansive. Would I recommend this bike? I have, to friends - and even bought a backup for myself, I liked it so much (Walmart had them online here clearance-priced for $149.00 at the time so I checked for local stores with stock and probably got the last one in town). The plan is to keep that one stock to use off-road as I become more adept at renewed riding. If you too become a proud owner, then tweak the seat height, adjust the brake grips for your hands, possibly consider different grips (they are a little on the hard side). This isn't a bike that lends itself to just sitting around. Once ridden will lead to more and more. Oh, and buy a good bike lock to keep it close. I got one of the combination locks by Kryptonite so I didn't have to have another key on my ring. 10/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike Absolutely love this bike. For the price can't find a better bike especially with disc brakes 06/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A lot more than intended I used be a mountain biking fanatic a decade or more ago and needed one for some event in the desert, plus I'd like to have a casual bike around town. Went to Walmart and scored this baby and have been pretty happy with the result in either situation. Positives - This bike survived Burning Man without breaking down (or being stolen). That's a lot of alkaline-rich dust and unfavorable riding conditions (vibrations, etc) and this bike took it wonderfully. - Front disc brake system = big win at small price. Even more apparent in dirty/muddy conditions. Rear V-brake is plenty strong and reliable. - Front and rear suspension may take a while to break in, but...well... full suspension at this price? Amazing! Front dampening not adjustable. - Looks awesome. Stickers are removable. - Black 26" rims. Show them gangstas who's ballin' now. - Knobby tires worked pretty well and held up to harsh environments - Seat is better than the XR-75 and better material - Compared to the XR-75, you can actually install a water bottle/air pump attachment on this '200. The '75 does not, due to its frame design - Quick-Release Front Wheel (XR-75 does not), so you can quickly detach the wheel and throw the bike into the back seat your mid-size sedan. - Sprocket-guard decently keeps your pants from being caught in the gear - It works well with the Walmart attach-a-basket Negatives - It was Walmart-assembled. The front derailleur was slightly off alignment (before adjustment), the cable system slipped out of its retainer once, and the handlebar clamp loosened during the week which required tightening. Probably fine if you know what you're doing to fix it. - I don't like grip shifters - Heavy for an aluminum bike. Mostly bc of the components and wheels. The frame is fine. - Gearing is very mountain-y. It's still better than a cruiser or bmx, but if you're street riding, don't expect to go 30 mph without pedaling very fast. - Grips are short (and taken up by grip shifters) so if you put on bar-ends, they're even shorter and funkier looking - Funky rear-locking kickstand takes some getting used to, but it's not too bad if you park it with the bars turned to the right. Final It's not near pro level, but closer to something like ex-Pro, mountain bike retiree level. Great as an all-purpose bike. 09/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surveyed took this bike to the extreme and surveyed awesome 05/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Bike for the $ I just picked up this bike 2 days ago for the unbelievable clearance price of $70! I did end up having to return it the next day because the front derailleur had something wrong with it, but I easily exchanged it for another one. They actually had 3 more bikes on clearance at this price. I took the bike immediately to a bike shop called the bicycle kitchen (in Hollywood, this place rocks) and tuned the whole bike, and it needed to be completely gone through. I had to true the wheels, tighten the hubs, tweak the crank, tweak the handle bars, tune the brakes and derailleur. From what I hear, this is pretty much the case always, you need to do a complete tune-up on a bike when you get it from a department store and not a bike shop.. But now, this bike feels fantastic! I also put aftermarket tires on it (the kind bike cops use, slick in the middle with nobs on the side, because I really just ride the streets). The bike flies, smooth suspension when jumping up and down curbs. i have only just started riding it but I love it so far. My only complaint might be that that I can get it going so fast that I wish it had another gear so that I could pedal it even faster, but its a mountain bike, and not a road bike. As long as the components hold up I am very stoked. i need to find out how long the manufacturer warranty is, but I also got the walmart 1 year warranty which kicks in after the manufacturer warranty expires for $6. 09/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike for the money I've been looking aroung for bikes and this was the best deal out there for a beginer Mt. biker. one thing is to make sure you tighten all the screws and nuts on the bike before riding it, all the adjustment are easy to do, but a it takes a while to get them right. its a smooth ride. I'm really happy with it. highly recomend it to anyone trying out mt bikeing. i like the caliper and disc brake combo. 07/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Deal Great bike and low price plus free shipping. No one could come close. 06/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this bike for my husband as a birthday present. We were riding today and the chain popped off and the plastic piece that guards the gears busted.This is the second time he rode the bike. It's still usable but its alot of money for something to be broken already. 04/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT bike for the price. Paid 169.00 and got FREE shipping. My son loves this bike! Highly recommend!! 08/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A great bike for the price and free shipping. Could not find a better deal in this range. 08/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by ok but had a lot of problems the bike has to many moving parts so they put in cheap shocks that dont work i had it for 2 days and the front disk brake bent. so i could not use the front brake at all. the front derailuer never work so i could not change front gears. for somthing this price you want less moving parts so the moving parts can be a higher quality that actually work. 08/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Purchased this for my son and had it delivered to him in California. Bike was nice but the pedal bar came off where it screws into the bike body and would not go back in. I've purchased two similar bikes from my local WalMart store (Birmingham)and had the same problem but I thought that it was poor assembly at the local level but it appears to be a problem with the bike. It was returned to a WalMart store in California and credit was given with no problems but these bikes have a issue. 09/29/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I ordered the bike online and had it delivered to my home only because that was the fastest way to get it and shipping is less than a dollar so I thought it was worth it. As I began to assemble the bike, the rear wheel wouldn't move, and i believed i just needed to adjust the brakes. After having finished putting this bike together and adjusting everything, I finally arrived at the rear whee's brake. Upon closer inspection, I noticed it was not the brakes stopping the wheel from turning, there was actually spoke missing in the rim. I'm returning this to the store tomorrow, but this is such a disappointment. In my opinion, a missing spoke tells me the quality that must go into making these bikes and the poor QA they have in place. 04/06/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The bike it looks great and it works ok , my only complaint is that is way too heavy !! 08/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great bike Great bike for exercise and some off roading. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for learning The bike is extremely durable and the design is far superior to the previous XR200 model. It's slightly lighter than the previous model and has a better riding position as well. It's great for road riding if you have road tires and does incredibly well on the mountain bike trails. For the beginner it helps in learning about bike maintenance. It will need constant maintenance if you do decide to use it for mountain biking but the required maintenance is minor like break and gear adjustments and tuning. Upgrades: From the previous XR200 model, this bike has improved in several ways. The pedals are now all metal compared to the plastic ones on the previous model. The rear suspension is positioned to make the bike more sturdy and rigid while still providing shock absorption. The front wheel is now a quick release. The rear fork is less bulky and uses less metal making it slightly lighter than the previous XR200. Finally the riding position allows the rider to be less hunched over while still achieving full extension of the leg on the down stroke while pedaling. Downgrades: The tires on this model are a serious downgrade from the previous model as far as mountain biking is concerned. The previous model's tires had thicker and wider nubs with side flanges that handled cornering amazingly, they were also 26''X2.35'' which gripped all sorts of rough terrain, plus they looked cool with the mongoose logo printed on the sidewalls. This model has smaller width tires that do not corner as well, recommend buying new tires because they do not work well on road either. That's the only downgrade I see. Overall the bike performs amazingly on both road and trails, If you're a stickler for weight then shell out the money for a more expensive bike. The weight of this bike helps the beginner rider to understand the physics involved in trail riding as well as build up the muscle to conquer the tough trails to the point that if they upgrade to a more professional bike the trails become more fun, the same applies to road. the derailleurs are simple and easy to maintain and so are the brakes so its easy to take the plunge into servicing your own bike. The rear fork comes with the mounts to add a disc brake, however you will have to buy a new rear rim to make the upgrade. And while you're at it you might as well make it a quick release because those fare much better on trails as the solid axle wheel that comes with the bike tends to bend and warp, sometimes even break, if the bike is taken too hard on the more advanced trails. This Bike has performed well and met my expectations and needs both on and off road and it takes all the punishment I throw at it, and I push this bike really hard (replaced rear axle 3 times already) , but I service it regularly too. Its reliable and I will ride it as long as it will allow me to. 10/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over priced for the quality. This bike is low end everything which is fine if you are paying a low end price. $199 for this bike is a bit much. That said, the bike it's self is a decent low end bike. The other thing that is a Walmart issue, is that, although clearly marked on the box not to lay on it's side, the original box was covered by the Walmart shipping box and therefore layed on it's side by the carrier. Do not buy bikes from Walmart online, go to the store. If you must buy it online, be sure to thoroughly inspect the bike before accepting it from the carrier. You have the right to refuse the delivery if the product is damaged. Open the box and inspect it. 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product great price.... 07/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike for the money! The bike shipped fast and was relatively easy to assemble and tune up! Remember YouTube is a great resource for learning how to do tune ups! The bike shifts great and I love the suspension of this bike. I'm a new rider that's 6 foot tall and about 200 lbs! I ride this bike a few times a week for atleast a few miles each time and it has performed flawlessly! 06/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great bike! My husband loves his new bike. It rides smooth and easy. I would recommend this item to anyone. 05/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by just the bike he wanted This bike was purchased for a man in his 40's who wants to have fun getting same exercise. He loves the bike. That says it all. 12/31/2011
1-24 of 24 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew319
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp