See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 937 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Buy It! Seriously, just buy it! My daughter used my Kirby to clean the litter box and now I refuse to even turn it on because of the smell. She did me a favor! I love this Dyson! The suction is out of this world. I was disgusted with all the dirt and hair it pulled out of my carpets! I didn't know hair could "hide" in your carpet! I thought you could see hair! I ran the Dyson over my livingroom 4 times and emptied the canister all 4 times! I thought my $1,300.00 Kirby was an investment... but now it's a joke! I loved my Kirby until the Dyson picked up what my Kirby left behind! I like that the hose is attached to the machine unlike the Kirby, and the tools are easy to attach also and they lock so they aren't falling off. The only issue so far, I feel like I'm fighting the hose a little, it's hard to extend the hose because of the powerful suction, but I will suffer because I love the suction & power! I love the push button options! I love the miniturbine. I was worried it wouldn't compare to my Kirby's hand held attachment but it's great! My house smells cleaner too! I like the washable filters which my Kirby didn't have and always smelled like animals when I turned it on. Sad when a vacuum can make you this happy! 09/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic/Love it !!! I've had MANY vacuum cleaners over the last 30 years and by far this beats any Hoover, Eureka, Dirt Devil and even my last 2 Rainbows (at a third of their price!). My floors feel clean instantly. Even when I vacuumed spilled cat liter, instead of my feet being peppered with the pellets blowing out the back (like with the R'bow), it picked up EVERY one of them. the first time. The suction is unreal.... I have hard wood floors with area rugs, so there is no separation of padding for air flow beneath so I got quite a work out cleaning them due to the suction (not complaining, needed the exercise!) great on carpets, even better on the bare floors! Thought my house was clean until I dumped the canister .....the 2nd time! The amount of dust it picks up is unreal. Love it. :) 06/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW Outstanding vacuum. We have a Kirby cleaning system that we have owned for about 14 years. The Kirby does an outstanding job. But, the Dyson takes the Kirby hands down. We have two dogs. One of which is a black Lab. The Lab sheds year round. The Dyson is pulling hair and dirt out of the carpet that looks like it has been there for years. That's scary. If you are looking for something that will suck the socks right off of your feet. The DC28 animal is your bet. The controls are at your finger tips and it is light and easy to manage. I would recomend this to any one. Especially pet owners. 10/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing for the long haul This vacuum was incredible for the first year! From that point forward I have had nothing but problems with it. Almost every time I vacuum with it, I have to stop repeatedly to clear clogs. I have replaced the (lifetime) filter twice and hose is falling apart. I was willing to pay the money for this vacuum because of the warranty, (just try to get them to honor spend hours on the phone with them expecting you to fix it yourself). I have to blow out the canister about every 3rd use with an air compressor (recommended by Dyson) to clear the dust so it will work properly. This is the first time I've been displeased enough with a product to leave a bad review. Dyson is far over rated, I will never waste a penny on one again. I want to pull my hair out every time I use it. I am praying that today was the last time I will every use my Dyson. 02/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Continues to Impress! I couldn't wait to get my Dyson vacuum. After reading all the customer reviews, I felt sure I was in for something great. This machine is powerful. Every time I dump the canister, I am amazed at how much fine dust and dirt it is pulling out of my carpets. Also, it's so easy to dump the dirt! Your hands will never have to come into contact with the mess. I love the way it picks up the nap of my carpets. They look new again! I was worried that the hose would not be long enough to reach the top step. Not to worry. Power cord is more than adequate. I feel good about the 5 year warranty. This will be the best investment you will make. Don't wait another day! 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the vaccum This is absolutely the best vaccum I have ever used. After using this product you could instantly tell that our home was cleaner, simply because the air in our home was like if we had an airfilter running all the time. I absolutely love this product and would recommend it to anyone, even if you don't have pets. 02/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Defective out of the box - unacceptable for price! I gave this 1 star because it was defective out of the box. For $550+ dollars, defective out of the box is unacceptable!!! The brush bar is supposed to stop in three situations: 1 - When the vacuum is in the upright position. 2 - When the Bare Floor position is selected. 3 - When using the attachments (when the extension wand is out of the handle). I have a 3 bedroom ranch with rugs in almost every room. Well, I vacuumed two spare rooms and part of the living room before I realized that the brush bar was almost always going when the vacuum was in any one of the above three modes. Sometimes the brush bar would stop as it should. Sometimes there would be a loud belt vibrating noise and the brush bar would be spinning fast. I called Dyson and they explained to me how to use the vacuum, like Vacuuming for Dummies 101. I said I was using it properly, but the guy couldn’t believe the vacuum was defective, like it could only be Operator Error. Hmmm. Anyway, he said “It must be defective - bring it back to Wal-Mart.” Wal-Mart was great. I said it was defective and they took it back no problem (I only had it a few days). Now, let me explain the vacuum while I had it. The suction power for the rugs is awesome and I give the suction 5 Stars on the rug settings. I could not believe how much dust and filth was vacuumed from the rugs. I’ve owned a Fantom Lightening Canister for 15+ years, so a stand up vacuum is quite a change for me. The bin filled with cat fur faster than I expected, so I had to empty it more often than with my old Fantom. It was easy to empty, just push the top release button and the bottom drops out. Be careful of dust flying up though! I use attachments all the time and the use of attachments on this stand up is not user friendly at all! You have to pull the extension wand out from the handle in order to use the attachments. I don’t know how many times I stopped to pull the handle out and how many times I pinched my fingers pushing the handle back in. The attachments are hard to use as well because there is no manual suction value like canisters have. Because there was so much suction, the attachments would literally get stuck on the surface I was trying to vacuum. The optional mini blind attachment would literally suck the mini blind into the attachment. There needs to be a manual suction valve to regulate the suction power in order to vacuum “delicate” items. I tried to vacuum my ceiling fans, but the brushes would get stuck on the blades as well. The mini-turbine head is awesome - 5 stars!!! It picked up all the cat fur from my cushions and drapes in one sweep! The hose is supposed to stretch to around 17’, including the extension wand. Yeah, right. I stretched the hose about 3’ before the vacuum came flying back at me like a slinky! There should be brakes on the wheels of the vacuum, like brakes on my BBQ grill. There is a constant tension on the hose while trying to use the attachments too. I work out with weights, exercise and I am physically fit. Well, this vacuum is a constant workout and is not for the weak!!! Too much tension all the time!!! I give this vacuum 1 star for my bare floors. Even when I had the bare floor setting engaged, there was so much suction that the vacuum would get stuck on the bare floor and I could not move it forward or backward. I even used the bare floor vacuum head as an attachment, with the side vents open, and the vacuum head would still get stuck to the floor. Oh, the brush bar would also be spinning when it shouldn’t (defective). Because the suction sealed the vacuum to the floor, the cat litter was just pushed along the floor and was never vacuumed up. The bare floor vacuum head works great on the rugs to get under dressers, beds and couches. 5 stars here! I was going to purchase the DC23 Animal (Canister) so I could use all of the attachments easier, but the reviews said the canister wasn’t the best for vacuuming rugs. The bin on the DC23 is a lot smaller than the DC28 too, so I didn’t want to have to keep emptying it. The brush bar is not motorized on the canister model either. Since 3/4 of my house is rugs, I chose the DC28 Animal. I returned the defective DC28 to Wal-Mart and I re-ordered the same model, the DC28 Animal. I really like how it cleaned my rugs. I guess I will have to get used to the attachments and fight the tension in the hose all the time. I will submit another review for the second DC28 Animal. I hope that review will be better than this defective one out of the box! 07/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent high suction vacuum Cons are: It fills up to quickly. It is also a bit heavy Expensive. I used credit card rewards to get this. This is not one of the purchases, I would spend my hard earned cash on. Pros are: Excellent suction. Rugs become unnaturally cleaner. I vacuumed with my old vac first as a test and then vacuumed with this one. This vacuum really digs into the rug and pulls out so much more dirt than the old one. Makes rugs softer. 06/06/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 Great to use, short life span. We bought this thinking it was going to be good from all the reviews we had ready. It really was great at picking up the everything from the carpet. We have 3 cats and a Great Dane so we need hair picked up. We found it easy to use and seemed to stay unclogged as it promises. I only had to clean around the upper part a couple of time. Now Noticed i said "had". Well the fan motor stopped working within three months of purchase. I was no longer usable. The nice part is we were able to return it and get an DC25 Animal Ball. Lets hope this one last longer. 06/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Awesome Suction! This vacuum really does SUCK! I couldn't believe how much this pulled out of my carpet and continues to pull canisters full each time I vacuum. A definite must if you have pets. I have 4 cats and 2 dogs. The only downside is that it is a heavy vacuum but after a few times using it you get used to it. I can't believe I waited so long to get this vacuum. It really is a suction machine! 02/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Vacuum I ordered this vacuum because my son has terrible outdoor allergies with that said I started researching vacuums. Spending 400 plus dollars(which we did not have laying around) on a vacuum is crazy. WELL then I am crazy, I order the DC28 and will not live without it! I put it together in two minutes and started vacuuming. I vacuumed my son;s room yesterday with the old vacuum and thought it was clean. I used the Dyson and got a half canister full of dirty, dust. The suction is unbelievable. This vacuum is expensive but worth every penny! 06/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by So - So Disappointed because it doesn't have a edge vacumm for picking up debris up next to a wall or cabinet.. you have to use the flat head attachment. Also, the hose is not long enough to reach some places and I suspect is going to stretch out over time and not fold neatly back into place. Other than that it performs as advertised ... 05/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good I love this vacuum. It picks up everything in one sweep. I have many vacuums and this one is the best of them all. Wish I bought it a long time ago. 05/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product, too pricey Love it! I have 3 cats and 2 dogs and it's awesome at cleaning up after them! I will recommend to all my friends and family! I didn't give it a better rating because it's quite pricey. I had to save for quite some time to pick up this model. 02/23/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by For the price and delivery of this pricy machine Look at others!!! I purchased this vacuum about a 1 1/2 years ago. Upon the first year, this was the best machine regardless of the high price. Here it is a 1 1/2 later PIECE OF JUNK!!! This was purchased to help with the animal fur and findings are it severly has been clogging the machine. Now the vaccum isn't picking up at all and yes I have cleaned the filters and always dumped the dirty tank!!! Please do yourself a favor, save yourself some money and look at other vacuums. I have called customer service (calls are higher than normal<--hummm, wonder why that is) to find out the part we hope is the issue will take 7-10 days to get!! ARE THEY KIDDING!!! AND THEY DON'T PUT A RUSH ON THIS!!! Great I can't wait to see the fur on my carpets!!! I can't believe I can't vacuum for 7-10 days!!! Now, going back THIS MACHINE ISN'T WORTH THE PRICE IN THE LONG RUN!! 08/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pet Vacuum I was looking for an effective vacuum cleaner to pick up dog hair. I have a wonderful Golden Retriever who sheds like crazy. I'm constantly picking up dog hair (my car can attest to this). Upon recommendation from friends and family, I ordered this and am glad I did. 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum! I've had many Vacuums over the years both cheap and expensive and this is the best I've ever had. I would recommend Dyson Animal to anybody looking for a good vacuum. I have two very long haired dogs and a cat and it's great at picking up the hair off of everything. 01/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great suction...better than my Oreck! I bought the DC28 after a friend recommended it. After bringing it home, I decided to test it against my Oreck upright. I vacuumed first with the Oreck, and then followed up with the Dyson. I couldn't believe how much dirt it picked up! I shudder to think about how much dirt has been sitting in my carpet, when I assumed it was clean after vacuuming! I haven't had a chance to use the attachments yet, but I like that they're hooked onto the vacuum. Hopefully they'll be just as impressive. 12/19/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Yes and No I ordered this model and the smaller DC24 at the same time to do my own comparison. Hands down this machine beat the smaller one for carpets and had more features, carpet height adjustment etc. However, it was difficult to maneuver and when comparing the attachments - this one had far less suction than the other one. Not sure if they are all like that or if this one was malfunctioning. I returned it. 02/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow just love it Ok enough of my old vacuum with the duct tape. I decided to get the best of the best and I did it. I figured if I didn't think it was worth the money I would return it (never had a return problem at Walmart). Well with two dogs one of them a golden retriever and three cats (I must be crazy) it worked outstanding even my thrifty husband felt the same. I love the warranty because I know it will never have duct tape like my other one. But really you get what you pay for and this machine is powerful and well worth it. I don't usually write reviews so this is probably more info then needed but just had to say it. 02/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent vacuum for pet owners We have 3 cats and 2 dogs that live inside and were having a real problem getting our older vacuum to pick up all the pet hair. The cat hair was just wadding up in balls when we ran the vacuum over it. That is what convinced us to spend such a huge amount of money on a vacuum cleaner. This vacuum has amazing suction!! We vacuumed with our old vacuum before using the Dyson and still filled the bin almost completely up, just in the living room. Excellent for pet owners! My allergies have even been better since purchasing the Dyson. I work full time and go to school full time, so I only get to run the vacuum approx one time per week, but when I do, it does an amazing job!! My one complaint is that the bare floor setting is so strong that it has sucked the vacuum to the floor before. And, using the flat-out attachment on the bare floor works well, but is akward to use. 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOES ABOVE & BEYOND EXPECTIONS!! With two Siberian Huskies and a few indoor cats, we are not strangers to pet hair. We are also not strangers to having to buy a new vacuum every 6-18 months because it no longer works. With Dyson's 5 year warranty, I know we won't have to put any more money into vacuums for at least 5 years! We have had our Dyson for almost a month and I have vacuumed 2-3 times a week now any previous vacuum we've had has already started to lose suction...NOT THE DYSON! :-) Even after all this, my very favorite part of my Dyson is the Mini turbine head. We've had many of these that came with vacuums, but add any pressure to the brush (like touching carpet, couch, etc.) and it immediately stops...NOT THE DYSON! :-) I definitely recommend this vacuum to is SO WORTH the money!! 12/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love It! I couldn't believe all the dog hair this vacuum picked up! I would recommend this to anyone with pets! Love the attachments! 11/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very good product Have had it only a few weeks, but it is performing up to expectations 10/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by glad I bought it I had wanted one for years. 3 family members have one. I'm amazed at what it picks up from the carpet everytime and I consider myself a clean person! I do live in the country and dirt happens (as well as dog hair). 10/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vacuum! I own a cleaning company and needed another vacuum. I have had the 1st generation Dyson Animal for about 8 years and its still going strong. I did a ton of research on commercial vacuums as well as household vacuums. While a few other vacuums were tested and said to be as good as the Dyson, reviews and tests showed the durability wasn't there. I have a German Shepherd, 3 cats and a cleaning company and not only is my 8+ year old Dyson still going strong, this new model picks up even more! It's light weight, the attachments function have been improved and the ease of use with the carpet/bare floor buttons up higher and the changed they made with the detachable suction arm are much easier to use. I have a few million dollar homes with vacuums that cost 2-3 times what the Dyson costs, but the Dyson actually picks up more than theirs. I know that there are other vacuums that are rated as high, but for me durability was just as important so I chose another Dyson and after having it for a few weeks now, I'm very glad I made that decision. 10/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I replaced my 14 year old Hoover Windtunnel with this new Dyson DC28 and love it! I couldn't believe how much dirt and pet hair it cleaned out of my carpet. My carpet was looking grungy and I was considering having it cleaned, but the Dyson took a lot of the grungy appearance out of it. The mini-turbine tool is great for cleaning dog hair off my sofa. I really like the way it cleans bare floors too. They Dyson is quieter than my Hoover Windtunnel was, which is a nice surprise because some of the other reviews said it was loud. Also, you can't get under furniture with this very easily. There is a low profile attachment that can be used, but it doesn't have the power brush head on it. 10/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So glad I finally bought it! I have only had this vacuum for 4 days and I absolutely love it! My husband vacuumed the hallway first and showed me all that was picked up - amazing!!! I have vacuumed the house twice since then. LOVE this vacuum!!! We have a 90 pound redbone coon hound so this is much needed! 10/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacuum This is a great vacuum. It has incredible suction and the attachments are great. It is easy to use and has two filters that clean easily (I haven't needed to yet). The cord is nice and long. 10/14/2012
1-30 of 890 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.