See All Reviews
Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger
Black & Decker 12" Trimmer / Edger
Was: $124.00
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Trimmer!!! I was a bit skeptical about purchasing a battery powered trimmer. I have been using a gas trimmer for years and I didn't think a battery powered trimmer would really be able to hold it's own against a gas unit. After buying this battery powered unit and testing it out for about a month here is what I've found...... It is very light weight compared to a gas unit (less than half the weight). I could almost operate it one handed. The plastic parts feel a bit cheap but they seem to hold up well. I am very rough with my tools and it hasn't broken yet. The replacement spools are very easy to install and upgrade. I love the auto-feed feature (this way I'm not wasting time adjusting the line length or re-feeding new line when it goes bad). It eats weeds and grass with ease. Just as good as my gas unit but it takes a few more passes and it's not as fast. (wouldn't be practical for commercial use). I like that the unit comes with two batteries....however the batteries last about 12 minutes each (if you are running it full throttle non stop). It doesn't sound like a lot of time but for a small to medium yard with light weed eating needs it works like a champ. Batteries take forever to recharge all the way. About 6 hours. I would highly recommend picking up at least one more battery to be used as a backup. All in all this is a great product for the money. I don't have to worry about gas and oil. I pull the trigger and this unit starts every time without having to struggle with a pull cord. It's light weight so my arms don't feel like jello after using it. It's small and adjustable so it doesn't take up a lot of space in my shed. The lithium ion batteries hold their charge for a really long time when not in use and you don't have to worry about over charging them (also they are better for the environment). 04/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product! I have always used a gas powered trimmer and when it came time to purchase a new one I was unsure about a battery powered trimmer but read some reviews and decided to try it out. I absolutely love it! No fumes and odor to deal with when trimming and edging. The two batteries are great! The trimmer/edger has exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend! 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Off the Chain (A BEAST)...Brilliant I've had it for 1 week now. I'm very impressed. It came with 2 lithium ion batteries (small batteries with a strong punch) (i needed them both). Takes about 6-7 hours to charge. Line feeds automatically no tapping. No problems yet...So far I love it. Remember to fully charge after every use. This way you wont diminish the power of your batteries. Enjoy yours. 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets value expectations Is everything as advertised. We have quite a large yard and the edging is almost accomplished with one battery. However, no complaints! 05/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very lightweight, however.... Am I the only person having an issue with this particular product? Personally, I think it does it's job very well, except for the fact that the batteries do not keep their charge. We charge them over night, for a minimum of 6 hours each, yet they both last only 15 minutes. The batteries that came with the product are the Black and Decker 20V Lithium Batteries. I was surprised to read all the great reviews as I have not been completely impressed with this product; due to the fact that I can only get 1/4 of our yard edged before it's completely dead. It's quite frustrating to be honest. 07/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a rip off! I was thrilled to find this weed eater; light weight and with an easy push button type starter instead of the crank kind that you have to pull the rope to start. Got it home, topped off the batteries with a charge and went to work the next day trimming up the yard. Within 30 min. or less of actual run time, the battery was dead. I called Black & Decker thinking my battery was defective. Nope, the rep at Black & Decker said these batteries only last 12 minutes each. What???? I was very dissappointed. It runs good and cuts excellent. It's a shame that the battery only last for 12 minutes per job. On a 1/2 acre, I would spend more time recharging the batteries instead of doing the actual work. It's going back to Wal-mart tomorrow for a full refund! 05/23/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Well Balanced Review The B&D trimmer has worked well for light trimming of grass and weeds around my house. It is lightweight and it is easy to replace the string. The unit is a little awkward to use in edge mode, particularly when you need to bump the unit to feed more string. Overall it has been reliable. I my opinion the length of the trimmer rod is short. Battery will work for 20 mins. Charging will take 8 hours. 07/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very good edger and trimmer This is my first edger and trimmer, I decided to get the better instead of just good trimmer. It has all the features I wanted and it was at a reduced price, so I went for it. I have used the trimmer feature and it is very good, I assume the edger part will be as well. When I talk to people they always ask if I got the automatic spool release feature and I tell them yes, it is part of reason I got it. 05/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for smaller yard I purchased the smaller B&D string trimmer (w/o the removeable battery) and was extremely disappointed. But, I gave them a second chance by returning that product and getting this version and it is wonderful. I have a quarter acre property and between the two batteries I can trim everything that needs trimming (plus some). Not intended for LARGE yards (acres), but will work well for most residential lots. After over a year of use it's still going strong! 02/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Trimmer/Edger if you have health issues. Wonderful Trimmer/Edger if you have a small yard. Do not recommend buying this for a large yard. 07/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just didn't "cut" it. Purchased because I thought it would be easier on my shoulder vs. a gas trimmer. The first time I used it I tried trimming around our 60' dia. pond. One battery did about 1/4 of the distance. After doing 1/2 of the pond, I had to wait about an hour for the first battery to re-charge. It was taking so long I decided to go ahead and trim around the driveway. It wouldn't even cut through a San Augustine runner. And the re-charged battery kept going in and out. Also, the ergonomics are off. The way you have to hold your right arm back to squeeze the trigger, really leaves your arm in discomfort. I had to keep switching arms. Maybe for a small garden home lot with Bermuda grass perhaps. 06/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by B&D Cordless Trimmer Rocks! The Trimmer arrived in a very timely manner to my local store. It was easy to do the final assembly out of the box. It is not a weak trimmer, it plows right through grass and light weeds. It can really trim away like an edger on driveway and sidewalk trimming. The only downside is the length of time for batteries to charge up. The unit comes with two batteries and both of them will take care of the trimming around my 1.5 acre yard. The trimmer line is pretty strong an does not require a tap to lengthen it back out very often. 05/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by two batterys are more than enought for my yard. 08/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good trimmer 1) The angle of the head could be better. I had to bend over a little too low to edge 2) Uses a lot of line. I prefer bumping. There are time when I want shorter line. 3) Adding line & spool installation is easy. Much better than the Weedwhacker I have. 4) Two batteries a definite plus. 07/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The battery life is not as long as advertised and I'm having difficulty purchasing line refills. 07/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have a large city yard & bought this to replace a heavy gas trimmer. The New B&D trimmer is light and it trims great. The only problem is the battery life is short. I priced a extra battery & found that it would be cheeper to buy a extra trimmer. For around $30 more than a replacement battery you can have two batterys, Extra charger & a replacement trimmer. Even with the short battery life I will order a extra trimmer so that I can finish my yard in one day. Over all I love this trimmer. 06/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by worth it! Works well. Be sure to charge one of the two batteries at all times. The battery takes a while to recharge. 05/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Black & Decker 12" trimmer/Edger Fantastic Prize and Effective Product. This edger/trimmer does everything that they claim it can do. It is amazingly powerful. It comes highly recommended. 05/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Going electric is good for the planet Great equipment, easy to use. You will use both batteries. 05/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cordless Trimmer is worth it. Easy to use, pretty quiet. Not too heavy. I should have bought one of these sooner. 05/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does a great job. I had a gas trimmer previously and got where I was not able to pull the cord to start it. I love how easy this starts and it does an excellent job. When I first got this and my new B&D mower out to use, every boy in the neighborhood wanted to help . 05/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice For Small Weed Eating This weed eater is meant for basic and small weed eating needs. It comes with 2x lithium batteries that have a strong charge (90-100%) that last for around 10 mins each. Beyond that time, the power noticably drops off. Very light weight and easy to carry around as well. The auto string feeder seems to work fine. The feeder tub seems a little light weight and one might take care to not use this for heavier jobs. Don't expect this weed eater to power through large weeds. It's not designed for that at all. For trimming lawn edges, light duty fence line clearing and yard borders, this thing works fine. 04/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gets the job done with ease!! I grew up using gas powered everything. I was unsure if this would work out but decided to test it out. It was easy to assemble. Charged batteries overnight and was good to go. Its's easy to use and female friendly as I do all my own yard work and don't want those heavy bulky products. 04/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does a Great Job on a small place Reading the other reviews and on another site it may be that Black & Decker got a hold of a bad batch of batteries. I only have a Double wide mobile home but around the home, decking, trees, and ditches the trimmer did an excellent job and one battery did one and a half jobs. I only had to change batteries half way through the second time I did the yard. I was going to purchase the fast charger at Wal-Mart for 40 bucks but I don't think I'm going to need it. One note that may help others is I charged each battery just until the green light went solid and then removed them. I didn't leave them on for eight hours like the instructions say to do. I'm happy with mine. No more gas/oil mixing and no more pulling a string to try to get it started. 04/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trimmer for the money I did alot of research online and talked to other people who had cordless trimmers before making my purchase. I can say it is well built and trims alot better than my old gas trimmer. I really like that it comes with two batteries and light weight too! I think it's a good value and would recomend it to anyone. 08/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by lightweight...does the job well..very happy with my purchase... 08/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great trimmmer Love not having a cord to worry about and it is lightweight. 07/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by This product works well for what it is...It is a 20 Volt lithium battery (with charger) operated trimmer edger combo tool..You are now free from gas cans, gas, oil and trips to the gas station....One thing I would change is the design. Make it a two mono-line trimmer/edger. Like the gas powered line trimmers are today...It will give you faster and quicker trim times and double the action at the cutting/trimmer head...I am going to redisign mine by drilling a hole in the replacement spool housing....Now the important part..Start with a bare spool (no line on it). and string it like you do a double gas line trimmer...You take a total of 20 feet of line fold it in half making two 10 foot sections then wind the two 10 foot (line) sections together in the direction of the arrow ...When you finish evenly winding all of the line on the spool in the same direction, stick the end of the line in the first whole and the end off the second line in the freshly drilled new hole...Put the spool back in it's designed place and pop the yellow cap over the spool and snap it into place. You will hear two clicks...If Black and Decker redesigns this product as described it will make a more powerful and faster trimmer/edger combo tool..... 10/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product Bought this because my old trimmer is heavy and the line changing is a pain. This trimmer is very light and easy to use. The line is very simple to change and takes just a few minutes. The battery life is about 20 minutes but it comes with two batteries. Yes, I agree with everyone else, the battery takes forever to charge. However, I bought the Quick Charger and it was totally worth it. I charge a battery in about 15-20 minutes. I also have the sweeper and drill so having the Quick Charger is worth the money. Would recommend the trimmer to everyone. 09/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing great. Battery run time is much less than I expected (less than 30 minutes). Charging battery requires a long time (6-8 hours). 06/15/2012
1-30 of 32 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.