See All Reviews
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 265 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Size/Assembly Shipping box is 7.3" x 84" x 22.05", store pickup is a good option if you have a car that handle the length. Walmart employees were very helpful in loading it and I unloaded it piece by piece. It took approximately 10 hours by myself to assemble with assistance provided approximately 3 times for about a total of 10 minutes. (Bar clamps work good in a lot of cases in working alone to hold pieces in place) All hardware provided includes an extra 1-4 pieces so and problems with hardware can be easily corrected. For preparation recommend setting aside hardware for each stage upfront to save time in the long run searching through the ~50 different type of hardware provided. The instructions leave something to be desired but with a little thought it was pretty easy to determine what to do. Slide must be assembled but is sturdy once assembled. I would definitely recommend assembly of the fort on a completely flat surface (I used my garage floor) to ensure that the fort is level prior to placing at the final location. During each stage ensure that all horizontal pieces are level but also make sure that the vertical supports (6/7' long pieces) (E1/E2) are level with each other horizontally (place level on top of both). This is important since you will otherwise encounter problems installing the roof section/swing bar attachment point. Level must be checked after each stage since the bolted points have large clearances which allow for flexing of the whole structure. 05/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product; but took 10+ hours to assemble The play set is durable and the instructions are easy to follow. The problem is that some wood pieces with pre-cut holes didnt line-up and many pieces required pre-drilling so that screws wouldnt split the wood. It took me and another person over 10 hours to assemble and we had all the tools handy and available before we began the assembly. In addition, we followed the directions to a point, but needs to make slight adjustments at times. One adjustment that was made, was where to drill a hole to fasten the slide to the plank. If you follow the directions, you are to drill a hole thru the slide and thru the plank that it attaches to. The problem is that the measurments require you to drill between where two pieces of wood meet, which is completely unstable. We decided to move the drilled holes over about an 1inch so that we created a more secured fastening between the slide and the plank. In addition, it will look like there are a million different bolts/screws/nuts, etc. I think they could have made it require more uniform hardware for assembly. Its decent play set for the money. Just budget that assembly will take all day. 05/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PRODUCT FOR PRICE!!!!! This swingset is definitley a great product for the price! Our son is 4 & tall for his age, he has NO PROBLEMS playing on this set! I swing all the time with him & I'm 115 lbs. We did however, purchase Thompson's Water Seal to weather proof/protect it. The stain is a nice color & if you don't like it, you could stain it another. I think applying the water seal once a yr will preserve the wood for yrs to come. Once put together, it's very sturdy, but it does take 2 people to assemble certain parts. I hope this helps anyone else considering purchasing this swing set! 04/30/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth Every Penny! We assembled it on and off over the weekend so I couldn't say how many total hours it took but the assembly wasn't very difficult. WE HAD ONE SET BACK AND THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT because it's not mentioned in the manual: You must place the E1 & E2 boards in the correct upright position. Just because the pre-drilled holes line up does not mean you have the boards correctly placed in the upward position. We had to disassemble and flip (bottom to top) the E1 boards in order to get the roof (canopy) on. If done correctly there should be about a 24 inch gap at the top between E1 and E2 and they should be leveled. I just stared at the thing and scratched my head until it finally clicked. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND prepping beforehand. There are several "phases" in the manual. We used ziplock baggies and placed all the hardware needed for each phase next to the corresponding boards. Not only was this a time saver but made it more efficient when assembling. You will have leftover hardware too. Overall a great, simple, and nice looking playset! My 2 year old daughter and 6 year old nephew are happy. Couple neighborhood kids also commented on how fast and cool the slide is. I agree. 06/29/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Plan to Spend 60 hours labor to get it RIGHT. Where do I start? --- Boards are not drilled properly, parts were missing (We had to make three trips to the local hardware store.) In our box the main beam that was sent was not the one intended for our set, but was "close enough" so we made it work. The wood smelled odd. It is not consistently stained and some board ends are not stained at all. Nearly every screw had to be pre-drilled or re-drilled to be placed. Once up, according to the instructions, you have to cover it with a coat of water sealer twice a year to keep it up. The boards had splits, knots and some were horribly warped. The instructions were not written clearly, at all. We had to do most of by guess, trial and error. Once assembled, we had to spend another weekend filling, sanding, staining and still have to spend at least one more weekend water sealing. Hmm... that said, after purchasing another accessory toddler swing, my son does enjoy swinging. (No, the telescope, toddler swing and steering wheel are not included, we added those on our own.) 06/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not the best Bought this for our granddaughter and her friends. The wood is not a good quality at all. The playset isnt even a year old and one of the main support boards has cracked and until we buy better quality wood and create a better side support it wont be able to have the children play on it. What happened to the day when you would spend good money for a product and got your money's worth out of it. 02/17/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Backyard play set This is a great choice for 1 or 2 young children. The rock climbers were missing but shipped out quickly. We took 4 days to put together but this was a bad weather period and to wait for the thunder storms to pass (days of storms). 03/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Swing for small yard I purchased the Prescott Backyard Discovery wooden swingset from Walmart. I have small area in my backyard for a swingset, and this one fit the bill. It was quite time consuming to assemble, and the directions can be a little bit confusing, but in the end my wife and I were able to complete the assembly in about 8 hours over 2 days. My only complaint is that a piece is missing. I tried to order the piece from the manufacturer, and I haven't had any luck. It's a small piece that I will probably just purchase from a hardware store, but a little annoying that the manufacturer hasn't replied to me. The swing is rated for kids 3-10, and my 3-year old loves it. It might be too small for an older child. 03/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Excellent value when compared to more expensive sets. My daughter is three and her friend is five, this set is plenty big enough for both to play on. The set is sturdy and supports me at 200lbs. Don't be intimidated by the reviews that say it is tough to assemble. The instructions are done in small phases, and all of the fasteners are individually wrapped and labeled. I completed the set by myself in 8-9 hours. You will want to have a cordless drill (two would be best), a carpenters square and level in addition to the usual tools. 08/23/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your $$$$ We bought this at the end of last summer, now its April and we are practically ready to buy a new one! My husband put it together according to the directions, no real problems there, just time consuming. He made sure every bolt was tight and secure. My kids are 3 and 5 and when they swing the entire fort twists every which way! I won't let them play on it until my husband gets creative to fix it or takes it down all together! Completely ridiculous, we haven't even had it a year and its falling apart! I'm calling the company, but I'm sure they won't do anything about it. We didn't want to spend a ton on a swing set, knowing that the kids would only play on it for a few years. But now I wish that we had either spent a little more on a nicer wooden swing set or just gotten a metal one! I would NEVER RECOMMEND THIS ONE TO ANYONE! 04/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Swing Set My son is having a great time on this new swing set. It does take some time to put together but it looks really nice when its all done. I was missing two pieces of wood in the set but the company sent out the new pieces no questions asked and even did 3 day delivery. Take your time when putting this together and pre-drill everything. 08/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Budget Swing Set Just finished the installation of the swing set. Kids love the set! Fairly easy to assemble. Can do many of the steps alone - however, recommend a friend for slide installation, cross beam to end beam installation and moving unit to the yard. Tips: 1) Parts in individual bags - label the bags (using letter designation) when performing the parts review. 2) Use a good cordless drill, with T-40 torx bits. Saved time with a second cordless drill w/ 1/8" drill bit for pre-drilling. Charge batteries ahead of time. Hand tighten to thread properly, then crank away on both sides with the drill - lock washers will dig in nicely. 3) Set did not include some of the parts listed (i.e. T-30 torx wrench and driver). This is OK, did not need. Set includes many spare parts - seems like 1 spare / part. Plus and added bag of misc. parts. 4) Assemble on a flat surface per recommendation in manual. Use a level then mark boards for correct angles. 12/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Do it!!!!! OMG save your money!!!!! Get something else!!!! The wood that comes with this thing is junk! We spent time and money making sure all was perfect and level. Within 6 months 2 of the wood supports had split. It is poorly designed. Looked so good and the price was right. MFG would offer no help or guidance. We took it apart and bought something else so my daughter could play. TOTAL WASTE of time and money!!! :( 04/15/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy Mommy I am very pleased with my purchase. The swingset seems to be just the right size for my 4 year old. This is a good product for the price. After reading several reviews I expressed the need for my husband and stepfather to read the instructions. My stepfather, who is pretty handy, was able to put the majority of the set together by himself in about 5 hours. The only thing remaining was attaching the swings and slide which my husband has taken care of. 05/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice for the money This set seems to be pretty sturdy and it looks very nice. It took my daughter and son-in-law several hours to assemble as the parts didn't always line up properly and so they had to make adjustments. But the final result is a very nice swing set for my grandchildren. 05/16/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible!! The quality is horrible! It wasn't hard to put this playset together, however I wish I had never bought it! This playset was intended for my two year old grandson, and my two kids who are 8 and 9. My 8 year old is small for his age, yet this playset is way TOO small for even him. Even my newphew's son who is four has a hard time fitting on to the little house to go down the slide. We are taking this playset back ASAP!! 05/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 My kids love it!!! It took about 4hrs to assemble due to preping all parts in advance. 06/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, I think this is a great swingset for the cost. It definitely takes a lot of time to put together but seeing my 3 year old daughter go down the slide for the first time was well worth the time and trouble! Perfect for smaller yards. I really hope it holds up in the New England weather and lasts us many years. 09/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value! I ordered this swingset for my 20 month old son. He's able to climb up the "climbing wall" with no problem. I think this will last a long time, and he will be able to play on it for years to come. 04/04/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Looks nice but wood isn't worth a darn For 300 dollars I'd rather have bought my own wood and swings and slide seperate the wood is the lightest they can possibly get I thought getting a wooden swing set it would be sturdy but it's not at all it amounts to the sturdiness of a cheap metal swing set the boards cracked very easily so if I had known this I wouldn't have bought it hopefully this will help the next person with their decision to buy this product 12/24/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed, poor quality we bought this swing set for our 4 year old and we are very disappointed. We've had it 6 months and its already dropping to pieces. The wood is of very poor quality. I regret going the "cheap" route. The savings was not worth it. 02/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of playtime. My daughter is very excited about her new playset, and we are to. I reccommend this to everyone. Worth every penny:) 03/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value This swingset is the best deal I have seen! It took my husband and father in law 5 hours to put together. I have a 6 and 2 year old and it fits the needs of both. I love the size of it because it doesnt take up too much space in the back yard yet keeps them playing for hours! 02/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok... Its a good set for the money. Set up took about 8 hours over 2 days. The predrilled holes weren't right, stop we had to drill our own. And its crooked. 07/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Time Consuming to Build, but worth every cent After reading other reviews on this swing set I decided to take the plunge. Per the advice of other owners I took my time building this set over 3 days spending about 3 hours a day each. This way I didn't suffer burnout. I recommend doing the same, because it does take 9-10 hours to build total. There a lots and lots of screws, but after the first go around you'll get used to where to locate the ones you need. Also build it on a flat level surface, like a patio, then move it into place. Overall build quality is good. The kids love it. 07/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible swing set! The wood is of poor quality, a cheaper metal swing set would hold up much better than this one. The age description is deceiving I would not advise over 10 years old. My 9 year fell of both of the swings because they literally snapped off! The bolts did not hold up. Even our youngest who is only 3 would make the swing rock a bit and that is with the anchors it came with. The swing set didn't even hold up a year. So we are keeping the slide portion and buying real lumber and building our own swing set. This was the biggest waste of money. Does not hold up in windy areas very well either. 05/04/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the moneu The entire swing sett shifts and moved. I have anxiety every time my kids are on it 04/19/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the kids and safe We purchased this for our grandchildren ages 6-2 yrs. Our son put it together in an afternoon and they were playing the next day. Wonderful value and sturdy. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product for the money. Bought this swing set for my 3 1/2 year old great granddaughter. It arrived promptly a week before Christmas. I assembled the set without any help. As others have said, collecting all parts for each step speeds assembly. I used plastic cups with the item key written on each cup for hardware. No parts were missing and all parts bags had at least one extra item. I assembled most of the set in the garage on a concrete floor which aided keeping everything level and square. Some reviews complained about having to predrill screw holes. This is only required in the member that a part is being attached to, the member being attached has the holes drilled. My experience with assembling wooden parts where all holes come pre drilled is that they don't often fit. Two drill drivers speeds drilling and fastening. Excellent play set for small children. 12/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the money It took 3 of us to put this together. I read the instructions and the parts. My husband & son did the hands on screwing etc.... It really helps if you have a power drill. All the parts were there and all the pieces came together really nicely. My 3 year old grandson loved it. 12/08/2011
  • 2016-03-24 T07:21:39.948-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_265, tr_265
  • loc_en_US, sid_15642075, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 242 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw292
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp