See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 11 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I always wanted to learn the canning process. I have been fascinated with it for some time. When I retired I promised myself I would learn. This small batch kit was the perfect size for me to get my feet wet. It looks like I will have to brush up on the math to make changes to recipes. I don't feel as overwhelmed with this small kit as I would have with the regular canning kit. 08/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ideal for small spaces I remember Mother canning but somehow managed to not be party to it. As a result my older sister knows how to can but I didn't. When I saw this kit, I was intrigued enough to buy it. The contraption fits in my soup pot but I needed one that was a little taller for it to work the best. I kept having to add water almost to the rim which could have been a disaster (add boiling water) It's nice that the basket is removable from the lifter part. It can then be used for a strainer. It's a good way to try your hand at canning or do small batches.... and for those who are bit intimidated by the large water bath canners. 10/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good starter kit This was a good entry into home canning. It included everything I needed to do a small batch. 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I use it during Canning Great! Very Useful! 08/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful tool for canning I bought this for the plastic basket. The plastic basket works much better for blanching fruit and vegetables than the collapsible metal basket I was using. Does not cool the water and stop it from boiling, and it does not heat the ice bath the fruits/vegetables go into after boiling. Have not used this as an actual canning rack so I cannot say how well it would work for that step. Would not recommend using the instructions that came with the kit - there is inaccurate info and info missing. The Ball Blue Book carried by Walmart is inexpensive and a much better intro to canning. The Ball web site, freshingpreserving.com also has very useful info and instructional videos. 08/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice first set this canning set is a basic set for a good price. basket with handle and 3 canning jars, a nice recipe book. in addition to this i bought a 4 piece set ( for 7$) has a wide mouth funnel / bottle grabber/ magnetic top grabber and bubble reducer. so for under 20 $ i am all set...would make a nice gift. 07/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product- super handy for small batches Love it- fits right into my stock pot. Nice to not have a huge pot of boiling water on stove- just a small one. Very convenient! 09/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by SMALL Canning set 09/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not quite what I expected This "kit" consists of 3 jars with lids, a plastic basket w/handle, and a booklet with a few instructions and a few recipes, none of which really appealed to me. The baket/lifter is plastic and it remains to be seen how well it will hold up and how long it will last. It could be useful if you are just doing 3 jars of something (that's all it holds). I haven't actually used it yet and will post again once I have. It is a decent value at just over ten dollars. 08/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Just had a small batch of pepper jelly to do and as I am moving shortly, had packed all my racks and the big stock pot. Saw this at my local Walmart and bought it. Worked great and fit nicely inside my smaller, still unpacked, stock pot. Great for small canning jobs :-) 10/15/2012
1-11 of 11 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew476
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp