Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 1913 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love it I ordered this product for a new bedroom in my home. after i ordered it i had read some reviews saying it was flimsy or lop sided, which made me extreamly upset but i decided to put it together anyway. I found that the dresser is as sturdy as can be and not lop sided at all. i am impressed with the dresser and will be purchasing other smaller South Shore dressers from walmart.com. the instuctions were easy to follow and i was able to put it together all by myself 01/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this dresser!!!! I dont understand all the bad reviews about this product! Me & my husband love this dresser! The drawers slide in & out very easily & are roomier than our old dresser! We love the way it looks! It compliments our bedroom very nicely! It did take awhile to put together but we did put it together without any problems! Its very sturdy, we have our 42 inch plasma sitting on it. We are so pleased that we are ordering the maple one for our 5 & 7 year olds bedroom! I couldnt be happier & I wouldnt pick any other dresser! 11/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing!!!! it looks really great and it has a lot of space to put in your things and it is also very strong and easy to put together I love it!!! 12/01/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product This dresser was a great value, especially for the price. It looks very nice, appears to be very durable, and goes well with the rest of my furniture. The assembly took some time--a lot of repetition in putting the drawers together, but overall an easy task. If you're patient and follow the directions, there shouldn't be any problems. When I read reviews prior to buying, I was concerned about a few things, including the plastic runners. They are actually fantastic....they make the drawers move smoothly and quietly. If you don't attach them correctly, I'm sure they'd be a pain. Also, all of the drawers line up just fine. I do believe some of them are meant to go on the left and some on the right, so that would be an easy fix if you're having that problem. Also, I purchased 2 night stands that match, and I love them just as much. 08/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT FOR GUEST ROOMS, BUT NOT FOR EVERYDAY USE I needed a dresser/mirror for my 2nd guest bedroom and decided to purchase this dresser for practicality. I like the look of it, but not the quality of it. The drawers are flimsy, but it will do for a guest bedroom or for a room that won't get used as much. I had this product delivered and it arrived FedEx. No damage when I received it. The box weight is 111 pounds. VERY Heavy and it states that 2 people are needed to move it. I, however, moved it myself easily across my laminate floors :) When I got to the stairs, I had to carry it up by pieces. Assembly wise, it took me close to 3 hours to put the dresser/matching mirror together. You'll need a hammer, philips screw driver as well as a flat head. I used my power screwdriver set to put the dresser together (saved alot of time!) The matching mirror wasn't easy to assemble by myself, but I did it! You should really have someone help you. Over all, I like the look of it and it fits perfectly in my guest room without taking up too much space. 02/11/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a nice dresser for the price. It feels heavier and more solid than most inexpensive dressers, and it doesn't look look cheap like most. I put this together by myself and I am definately not experienced at assembling furniture. The instructions are easy but there are lots of pieces and hardware to assemble and it took me 3 hours to complete. The only thing I am unsure of, is that the hardware that the drawers slide in and out on is made of plastic and Im not sure how well that will hold up. Overall I am happy with it. 05/03/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great BANG for the BUCK I am writing this review to hopefully help future buyers with their decision. I recently bought this dresser and after assembly was a little irritated but very happy with the end result. The instructions were very user friendly and easy to follow. The overall assembly took a little bit of time but all of the pieces were present and I had no issues distinguishing between the various sizes of screws. A word of advice, when you are finished with the main box portion of the dresser, make sure it is square like the instructions say. Don't assume!! The only complaint I have on the whole assembly portion of the dresser is that one step of the drawer assembly is a pain in the butt if you screw it in by hand. I would suggest completely one drawer by hand and then bringing in a screw gun to finish the rest of them. This will save the palms of your hands from pushing and screwing manually! As far as the quality of the dressers go, I am very satisfied. They look absolutely great. They are very sturdy and I have no fears of them tipping over or falling apart if I have to move them. The only complaint I have as far as the quality goes is that the drawer sliders are plastic. Though I was somewhat upset when i first opened them up and saw plastic sliders, after a little bit of research I have realized that they get the job done. So far I can't say the plastic sliders have done me wrong, but I can't help but feel they won't last nearly as long as stainless steal sliders. Overall this is a great product. It's not going to be a solid oak dresser that is going to last 50 years or more, but it will definately stay together a long time for you. I would suggest this product to anyone who wants black furniture in their bedroom at a very affordable price. I am very pleased with what I have gotten for the money I paid. Hopefully this review helps you! 08/18/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cant beat it for the price Product is suitable for the price, could be better without plastic rollers on the drawers could of spent a little more money on them. Dresser very simple to put together. Looks very modern would recommend to anyone looking for a low price dresser, seems durable. 12/23/2007
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine and Dandy I started re furnishing my bedroom, and my husband doesn't like to spend a lot of money for my hobby haha, so i got this dresser, and two of its matching small 3 drawer dresser that i used as night stands on purpose, and basically built the same way as well, which turned out awesome by the way.. so after building those first, by myself, a woman that doesnt do much of the building in the house, and getting them done easily after i got everything organized, i moved onto the dresser with my husbands help, i got all the parts lined up like a production line, which is so easy with the parts list and step by step instructions, i did all the peg and screw inserts while my husband screwed them together, it took an hour or less since by then after the two night stands (small same brand matching 3 drawer dressers) i was a pro haha. So i have them all in my room i was worried that the dresser was going to be as short as my nightstands, which thankfully it was not, its perfect size, im 5 '10 and it goes up to my waist, i have it decorated with picture frames, i picked white because my room is painted grey, it looks fantastic. one of the awesome things is that the drawer hinges or slide brackets, are plastic, they seem pretty sturdy, and its so nice because early in the morning when my husband wakes up and goes through to get his clothes, i hear nothing, and thats awesome. The drawers dont seem deep, but we can fit 3 pairs of jeans stacked on top each other, in two rows in each drawer, they are perfect. and we are big people so those jeans are pretty thick. the price.. i think for a cheap dresser it could of still been cheaper because we are cheap lol, but i cant complain when i got two small dressers as night stands and a pretty descent dresser for $260 something.. still less expensive then a fancy dresser and only a fancy dresser nothing else added. im happy with these, and some people are bothered by the "new" smell, but its only lasted less then a week.. i mean its new, smells nice to me lol, and im paranoid about my house smelling or myself sooo. i think the only one thing i dont understand is my dressers and night stands/mini dressers, dont have the same handles, the dressers are more shiny and shaped just a little different, but you know, if your not picky, i didn't even remember that till now, and i am picky, i hardly notice, and of course if you want to be creative you can find unexpensive drawer handles since you can change them out if you like. so over all, i give it two thumbs up, and my husband thinks they are nice to, and he's not upset about spending money on them lol, and friends and family that walk in, are always complimenting me on my house ideas and how awesome everything looks, so .. thats nice =) hope you all enjoy it as much as i am. 04/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay for the price I thought this dresser came out really nice. However, my husband the carpenter did not agree. The last step of putting it together is taking the big sheet of cardboard and lining it up along the back. Well, he says this will not make it square. Also, the pieces where you slide the drawer together are made of plastic, pretty cheap looking and feeling. Also, do not just start putting drawers in when done, specific ones go to specific spots! For what we paid I am happy. It looks more expensive then it was, but it was poorly made in my opinion and could have been alot better. 08/16/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Drawers are a mess The dresser looks nice and seems to hold up well. However, the slides that the drawers should sit in are not very well made and the pegs and holes do not line up exactly, so when I tried to put the drawers in it was almost breaking my back, so I let my boyfriend do it. Now they are in, but the drawers are so hard to pull out and push in my kids still can't get to their clothes. Otherwise the dresser seems to be OK. Maybe they should go back to the wheel and track method for sliders. 07/09/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by For the price, good dresser Overall, this dresser is a bit lack-luster -- but you really can't beat it for the price. Putting it together was not easy -- and I've done far more complicated projects. Once it is done, it is nice though. I wouldn't recommend storing anything too heavy in the drawers though, the sliders are just plastic. 02/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by hard to put together, but looks nice This dresser was a little difficult to gt together. i got the dreeser part put together pretty well but then the drawers were really hard. i had 3 different screw drivers and they would all keep slipping. some of the holes werent lined up very well. But after a while we got it done and it looks amazing in my 5 yr olds bedroom it is white and her tv is pink so it really brings out all the color of her bedroom. I love how it looks!! also the drawers fit quite a bit of clothes. There is six drawers and she has tons of clothes but it worked out pretty nicely. All in all it took some time to get together, but it is very stylish and i would recommend it to anybody. product was packaged nicely and i did not find one scratch on anything. 04/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by At first I wasn't sure... When I opened the package and saw plastic drawer glides, I was quite sceptical. It wasn't difficult to build but it was a little tedious to assemble 6 drawers plus the dresser unit. Now that it is assembled and I am using it, I have come to really like the plastic drawer glides - the drawers don't roll, or slam shut, nor do I get my fingers pinched. It opens and stops exactly when you stop pushing/pulling. The drawers don't drop when opened fully either. It is a Walmart build-your-own with a very inexpensive price-tag, so it isn't perfect but overall, I am quite happy with the purchase. 05/16/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 95% Exactly What I Expected First, I'd like you to know that I am 30 something SWF and I've been waiting, for what seems like eternity, for the furniture I would truly love and cherish, and be able to afford to appear. As by this product review you can see that it has not and I was forced by the rapid decline of my current ensemble to do something.... I did my homework and read all the reviews and eventually settled on this set. It suited my style, and is functional for me and, of course, it was in my price range. I was a little hesitant based on some of the negative reviews I read and now that everything is assembled I think I understand why: 1) Some folk were surprised that nothing was at least partially assembled: It says right on the product description that assembly is required. 2) Some thought it was flimsy: I feel it is exactly what is to be expected from MDF furniture. 3) Some thought it took too long to put together: Are these people who have some basis for comparison as to how long it takes to build furniture? 4) Some said the hardware didn't line up with the prefabricated holes and that additional tools were required: Although some of the hardware required a little manual manipulation all of my 'Tab A's' fit in to my 'Slot B's' and a hammer and screwdriver are all I used for all six pieces. I put most of these pieces together by myself with an occassional hand from someone of the muscular persuasion. If you read the instructions thoroughly and have patience you should have no problem assembling these items. Here are my top complaints: 1) The furniture boxes are so heavy we could barely get them in the truck & up the stairs. 2) The fixing bracket for the drawer is a nightmare. Try to get the bracket flush to its piece before trying to screw it in the attachment piece. Trust my bruised thumbs on this one. 3) The drawers are smaller than I expected. 4) There isn't enough hardware provided to ensure the stability of the headboard to the bed frame. The headboard is waiting for my trip to Home Depot for help. All in all I am most pleased with my $750 bedroom set. 05/24/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by do not buy this dresser it took forever to get to the store...........there is no stabilizing support in the back- there is a cardboard cover..............the drawer slides are PLASTIC ..........the drawers do not fit correctly -it is a piece of junk 02/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 Awful! I don't see what happened, but I was not able to line up the holes for putting it together, so I had to drill all new ones. The drawers are nearly impossible to slide in and out, I wish I had not bought this. I have the bed also, and thesame problem occured, the holes did not line up plus it came with no headboard. Now, looking at the picture I realize the it was sold seperately but I still am not happy with Southshore products. I say avoid them. 08/20/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by You get what you pay for... I am actually pleased with this dresser. It did take me well over a day (with many breaks and sleep) to put together. In my opinion, the time it takes to put something together shouldn't be a factor. It's nice that in the end, it's worth it. The drawers are a little crooked. Only I could tell because I put it together. However, I believe I'm to blame because I used the wrong screws. Just be careful and realize that the screws that are in the little baggies aren't for the rollers. The screws for the outer side of the drawers are mixed in with the handles. Also, I'd be more satisfied if the bottoms of the drawers were sturdier, but really.. that's my ONLY complaint that isn't my own doing. I got the 5 drawer dresser as well and it was SUCH a breeze to put together because I knew what I was doing the 2nd time around. I would absolutely (at this point) recommend it. I've only had it for a few days though, so only time will tell. I do absolutely love the look though. 12/15/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Its held up! I bought this dresser 2 years ago. It has made it through a move from Ky to Ga and Ga to AL. My drawers are over stuffed with clothes and not one piece of this dresser has yet to give out (knock on wood).. I remember it took hours to put it together and I was shocked at the cheap plastic and cardboard but I am OVERLY impressed this dresser still seems like new two years later. Im about to buy a matching piece. 06/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy and looks nice! I bought this dresser for my sons room and it goes good with his black and red race car bed! I am a 22 year old female and did this by myself and it did take me about 3 hours with breaks but it was not hard at all! It just had a lot of pieces and the directions were very easy to understand to me, I don't get why people say they are confusing or that this dresser is hard to put together, it just takes time. And it is also very sturdy, i guess if you do not put it together right it will not be but mine is and will be able to take the torture my son is sure to give it! After it was all done it looked great! The only problem I had was that one of the sides on the top was a little crushed but nothing that you can really see. 02/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected After reading some of the reviews I was a little hesitant to purchase. So glad I made the purchase…Can’t beat it for the price. It took me about 5 hours to put it together. Everything is nicely labeled and the directions are easy to follow. It seems to be very stable and sturdy. The only complaint is the backing is card board. I had thrown it out with the box until I realized I was missing backing …Had to go dumpster diving to find the card board backing. 06/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Time Consuming to Assemble I am very pleased with the ending result, but be forewarned, it takes a while to put together. It is not an "easy assembly." Otherwise, product was worth the money... the drawers are nice and large, love the stainless looking hardware for the handles. Overall- a good product. Also- I chose the Site to Store shipping option, and when I picked the product up, the box was not bent, scratched, opened, etc. However, once I was putting it together, I noticed several scratches on the wood. But since I had made it halfway through the process of assembling it, I wasn't going to return it. 08/15/2007
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beauty From Afar I have the bed, nightstand, and 2 door chest from this set as well. I am very pleased with my purchase considering the cost. It looks absolutely amazing in the room. Upon closer look though it can be seen that it is merely a piece of wood with a fake wood sticker over top of it. The wood easily chips and splits when putting it together, so just be extra careful when putting it together. Also, during assembly make sure the product is square or else the drawers will not go in exactly as they are supposed to. Overall, I am please with this purchase. 12/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product, pain in the butt to assemble Nice looking product but was a pain to assemble. 04/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by stylish and useful product I think this product was well worth its money, some of the reviews are very negative but i have to disagree. I myself 20 year old woman put the whole piece of furniture in 3 1/2 hours. The dresser goes well with any room and it came out to look exactly like the picture. I strongly recommend this product! 06/10/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't Be Scared!!!! I saw this item online and was scared to purchase it. I'm glad I did because I needed a dresser badly. I had it shipped to my house because I knew it wouldn't fit in my sedan. FedEx left it outside and I wasn't here, I was out of town and returned two days later but because it's so heavy no one stole it! I was able to drag it inside and was forced to break the box down in my living room. I suggest you break down your box and account for all parts when you first receive the item. My P board for the front of the dresser was cracked in the middle, board A-the top, was dented in one corner and one of the U boards for the bottom of the drawers was scraped. I didn't bother asking for another top to the dresser because that damage was minimal but I did request a new baseboard and dresser bottom. The baseboard (P) came in perfect condition about a week later along with some boards that would make the bottom of a dresser drawer but they weren't the correct pieces so I just used the scraped one. While putting together the dresser I downloaded the PDF file from this site because the instructions in the package were hard to see. It took me about 10 hours altogether to put the dresser together. It looks good but isn't perfect. I followed the directions perfectly but the drawers don't exactly line up. If you zoom in on the picture provided above you will see that they don't on there either, so if you're someone that requires perfection this isn't for you. The drawers aren't hard to put together but it requires time, about an hour a drawer for me. I'm very happy with the product though. I purchased it for $149 and had I gone to a furniture store I would have spent $600 in a similar product. This works well and looks really good. I just needed something cost effective to hold my clothes, this works perfectly. My only issues were damaged parts but the company quickly replaced the most important part. I recommend this if you need a dresser because once it's up you'll be satisfied. 05/05/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad.... This dresser is a very nice one for the price. It looks sharp and can be used in an adult's room or a child's room; however, it was a pain putting it together! The holes didn't line up so it took us at least 2 hours to put it together. Now that it is all put together, it looks great but the drawers do not slide out easily. Minus the fact that is was a pain to put together and that the sliders for the drawers don't seem to be the best, the dresser is pretty good. 07/20/2007
Rated 1 out of 5 by Putting this together was a nightmare I assemble furniture and have never complained on line about anything, but putting this dresser together was a nightmare. The directions are shotty, just pcitures, no verbiage. There must be over 100 pieces, and putting this together took over 6 hours. Once completed it looks good, but you should not buy this piece of work. If the manufacturer can not do better with the instructions, I would never, ever buy again from these people. It was absolutely a nightmare. Not only would I not recommend this to a friend, I would not recommend this to my worst enemy. 09/06/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falls Apart!!! First of all, it took my fiance a few hours to "attempt" putting this dresser together. When I saw it online I loved the overall look and the price. It was incredibly flimsy and cheaply made. My fiance actually had to bolt the top of the dresser on so that it wouldn't completely fall apart. Then, after a week of having it...I go to put in a few shirts in the middle drawer and the bottom of the drawer falls out!!! Not worth the money at all, and now I am back to square one with trying to find a new dresser! 05/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Dresser for the price I love this dresser. It looks perfect in my bedroom and even better with the matching mirror. It will take 2 people to put it together and moved where you want it. The black touch up pen that comes with it does come in handy. 12/08/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T08:24:00.692-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1913, tr_1913
  • loc_en_US, sid_12557616, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 1,736 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  58 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew308
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp