See All Reviews
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slim and Modern Dresser Overall, my husband and I love this dresser. There are a few problems with it though that buyers need to be aware of. We had the same problem others have mentioned with screws going through the top board. To elaborate, when the directions call for you to screw two small pieces labeled D4 into Board A, make sure you hand screw them. I used an electric screwdriver so I think the extra power caused the screws to go through the top board. I debated whether or not to call South Shore to get a replacement for the A board but decided against it. It only happened on one side so I thought maybe it was a structural error. I tried to take a picture of the two blemishes but I can't even get it to show up on my camera, further leading me to believe that it's not that serious. Also I have my accent pieces sitting on the two blemishes so out of sight, out of mind. However, I would recommend hand screwing the boards and leaving the D4 Boards a little loose when screwing them into Board A. I also noticed when nailing the drawer bottom in that I split the wood. This was probably my error and it only happened with 2 out of 36 nails so it wasn't that big of a deal. Plus, the split was in the back of the drawer (where no one will see) so I didn't really care. Just make sure you are very careful not to split the wood when nailing. The boards are thin so you only have so much room to get the nail in. That is the only problem I had with the drawers though and they all aligned perfectly in the end. This dresser is very slender, in my opinion, but that is part of the reason why I love it. Even though our bedroom is pretty roomy, I think this dresser would be ideal for a small bedroom. There isn't a lot of drawer space but my husband and I also bought the corresponding 5-drawer chest so it works for us. I know that my experience was probably good because I have experience with building furniture, specifically this brand. So far, I have built two South Shore (SS) platform beds, two SS nightstands, one SS media stand, one SS dresser, and one SS 5-drawer chest. With this in mind, I know that my opinion might be a bit biased and this might not be as easy for those unexperienced with building furniture. It is worth the money you save though and you'll definitely need two people. The best advice I can give to those assembling this piece of furniture is TAKE YOUR TIME. There were a few times the directions had me stumped but I took my time and figured it out. As far as the board labels go, make sure you look on all four sides. It might be a little worn but it should be there. If not, label all the other boards with sticky notes and use the process of elimination. I would definitely recommend this dresser. Even though it's a bit of a challenge, I think it's worth the money you save and the final product. 08/13/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by cheap and flimsy I would not recommend this product. The drawers stick and do not close evenly. The directions were vague because none of the items were labeled. When I went to rotate the dresser while building it, one the the locking screws ripped out of the particleboard. when I screwed the supporting wood pieces into the top piece of the dresser, it went straight through the top so now I have two screw holes sticking up out of my dresser. The product looks decent when completed but is less than appealing upon further inspection. 05/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by lots of time needed! This dresser came well packaged. there were no dings or scratches on any of the pieces. The assembly took me hours! If you have lots of time, and/or another person around to help, then this is worth the price. 11/23/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by great value Not the highest quality stuff here but I wasn't expecting that either. Since it's for my two-year old's room, it was practical since there is a lot of rooms in the drawers. Plus it is wide enough to set a small CRT TV/VCR on top of it along with his collection of plush toys. Assembly was time consuming but if you're somewhat mechanically adept and can follow printed directions (with pictures), you shouldn't have any problems. One thing to note is that it does stink quite a bit and may take a week or so to completely dissipate that "chemically" smell. The tracks are plastic so they are fairly smooth. If it lasts two years, I'll feel like I got my money's worth but it does come with a 5 year warranty. Great Value! 06/04/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by First of all the darn thing came in way too many pieces !!! it was absolutley rediculous. My brother-in-law, sister and I all worked on putting it together and it took us over 3 hours !!! Once it was put together the drawers are very hard to open and close, I am hoping with time they will loosen up. I have had the dresser for almost 2 weeks now and they are still very hard to open and close. I will pay the extra $$ and buy things already assembled from now on !! 12/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not functional The bottoms of the drawers are made of cardboard, may even fit in the bottoms of the drawers if they fit together. Enough said. 08/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Packaged well. Took 4 hours to put together. Directions were fairly easy 06/10/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good for the price First off, this is a $200 dresser in a box - assembly required - so if you are thinking this is high end furniture - you need to keep shopping. However, for the price, I find the piece to be more than efficient, well constructed, and not that difficult to assemble. It is a great size for the price. Well satisfied. 05/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great dresser great dresser for a reasonable cost. Easy to put together. Looks nice in my room. 04/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just ok... Great price, but I guess you get what you pay for! Looks a little cheap but with my other decor, it blends into the room just fine. Drawers are a little small, but it does the job! 04/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by it's ok Ugh this was a headache to put together, i live alone so had to do this on my own, it says not to use power tools, but there would have been no way i would have put this together only using a screwdriver; you do need to be careful when using the power tool that you don't crack the wood. Overall it's ok, it's cheaply made like the rest of the collection, took me awhile to put it together and the instructions were somewhat complicated, this is definetly a two person task. I would probably buy it again because it does look nice, but it's way over priced for the quality. Also measure the space before you buy it, thankfully it fit in another area of my bedroom, but not where i origionally wanted it. 02/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by eh... The parts were not built square, so the drawers do not match up and make straight lines after being built, there's gaps here and there thanks to the holes not being drilled straight or in the right spot. Over all, it's a pretty dresser, but some of the wood is cheaply made and for how much it cost and how long it took to put together, about an hour and a half, it should have been made better. Now I know NOT to buy from this manufacturer again... 01/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by decent not as sturdy as i thought for a wide dresser, paint chips easily, but looks nice and was easy to build. when i received item the main top board was broken in half, i called company and with no problem i soon after received a new top board for free *major plus* ill b using this dresser temperately so it will do but for long term i would recommend buying diff. 01/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This is a really cute dresser. It took a while to put together but I did it by myself and it was ok. However, the drawers didn't line up correctly and I did everything according to the book. That was the only problem. Other than that, it's perfect. 09/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to put together, and it looks fantastic, as does the rest of the pieces in this bedroom set. 08/31/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A lot of work but worth it in the end. I put this together all by myself and I'm 5 months pregnant. It took me about 3 hours all together. At first I was overwhelmed but once I got started it wasn't so bad. The worst parts are that the instructions aren't written out, there was a step or two that I had to use my common sense to figure out which side the finished side of the wood should be facing and the hardware is not really separated or labeled into any clear pattern. In the end the dresser looks very nice and the drawers open easily. It's hard to say how long it will last but it doesn't seem flimsy so as long as I'm smart enough to not cram each drawer with a ton of heavy jeans or sweaters I don't foresee any problems with it. 08/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Dresser! Def take 2 ppl to put together The look of this dresser is really nice and a lot bigger than I though it would be... deep drawers. This took several hours to put together and the directions were not that helpful...could have used some words to better explain the diagrams and the screws/nails, etc... also missing some of the hardware as well. Also the paint peels easily on the drawers which looks tacky even though a touch up marker was included Other than that the dresser is very nice looking for the price and I bought the matching mirror and it looks great! 08/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Scratches everywhere Straight out of the box, 4 of 6 drawer faces and the dresser top all had very noticeable scratches- Very possibly due to the poor packaging it was shipped in. Took it back immediately to a store and got my money back. 07/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do NOT buy this dresser I just recieved this product and put it together. I wish I never would have wasted my money on this . The finished product was a nice looking dresser, if you dont mind crooked drawers that dont line up. The people who made this item should take there time and make sure all the pre drilled holes actually line up. I will not be buying another one of these products ever again. 07/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This was awful It had pieces missing and pieces broken when i finally got it together it was not even..I was so disappointed for my daughter on her birthday.. 07/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good dresser for the price. For this price you have to expect to put it together yourself, but it was ALOT of work. My daughter and I did it together, but it still took hours. For the price though, it is a nice dresser once put together. The drawers are good size and it's pretty sturdy. Just go into it knowing you'll put in a few hours to get it put together! I would probably buy it again, even with the work! 06/24/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected. The runners for the drawers to slide in and out are plastic. I was expecting it to be made of medal. It would have helped if the directions were written along with the pictures and not just picture directions. It took my fiance' and I a few hours to put this thing together. He figured it was too late to take it back after we already put it together. He was not too happy with it, but he is adjusting now. 05/10/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Girls Dresser The dresser was a pretty good buy... the drawers are a little tough to open but you get what you pay for; and the price wasn't bad. It serves it's purpose for now! 04/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great dresser This dresser requires to people to speed up the process and get it done, but in the end it's all worth it. The dresser looks amazing in my room! I love it, it sleek, beatiful and best of all cheap! 04/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by What a piece of junk! I purchased this dresser for my daughter's room, thinking it would be easier to assemble than one from IKEA, which was similarly priced. I was VERY wrong. This thing has about 250 parts and photo-only instructions. One of my hardware pieces was broken in half and the face was peeling of one drawer front. It took me almost 3 days to assemble. Also, in photos the drawers look nice and deep, but in reality, the front face is large, but the drawers themselves are less than 6 inches deep. Also, the main body of the dresser is wide open, so anything can fall out of one drawer and into another. Save yourself some time and aggravation - buy something else. 04/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by very hard to put together this item looks great but it took 3 hours to put together.... there are alot of peices and it is very confusing.... for some reason the bottom is not the right fit it just doesnt line up... but as long as i dont move it i will be good to go... i would reccomend to buy a already put together dresser its not worth the work... 04/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I bought this since all the reviews on it were pretty decent and it was in my price range for a dresser. Upon recieving this it is very heavy so make sure you have at least two people to carry. I ended up having to assemble alone and would not recomend it lol.. I was able to get it done but not in the easiest way. The finished result is great nice sleek black dresser, but the drawers are not as deep as i would have liked but it holds everything i need! So overall i would definatly recomend that you have at least two people to put together! and if your looking for deeper drawers in a dresser this one might not be the one for you. But over all really nice! 04/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by A lot of time this dresser has a lot of parts and take some time to put together. so if you don't have the patience this is not for you. After the dresser is completed it does look very nice 04/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Southshore Dresser Overall I have been pleased witht the product, my only complaint is the drawer slides are plastic oposed to metal so they don't slide very easily. 04/07/2011
1-30 of 62 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.