See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 385 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Like it ... not Love it! We purchased this chair completely based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews as I was actually ready to spend $800 on a chair I loved... I talked myself out of it since that is truly silly. I thought we would give this a try since there is no risk... could be returned and didn't have to pay shipping with the site to store option. My husband was VERY leary. Anyhow, it arrived and probably took me about 40 min to put together... not really hard, just a bit time consuming. The chair is made rather well with the materials given, however the materials are rather cheap! Looks like cheap wood as the frame and cheap batting material covering the barely there padding! The rocker portion however seems nice, sturdy and heavy... too bad the whole thing wasn't built to that same standard. Anyhow, got it put together, it's cute... rather small compared to the pottery barn dream chair, and far far less comfortable. True, it is extremely firm... very little padding in the seat cushion, and chair back, and almost non existent in the arm rests. I am 5'8"" and my head comes up over the back of the chair... have to slouch to rest my head. I also agree with the other reviews that state it is hard to rock on carpet... not impossible, but really nice to have the ottoman (which we did get)... just not nearly the glider motion we are used to in our other nursery. So.. overall, rather cheaply made but feels pretty sturdy and secure. Certainly not comfortable but not terribly uncomfortable either unless perhaps the head rest issue will plague me down the road when I end up breastfeeding... I can see how my neck will be stressed with no where to rest my head. Chair is cute.. but I disagree totally that it looks just like the pottery barn chairs as I looked at those at the store and they are nothing alike in look or in size but similar in style only. Soooooooo.... even with the middle of the road review we still decided to keep the chair! After all we decided we were saving $500 by keeping this one and since it does look cute in the room and it at least serves the purpose we decided for the money it was the smarter move. Hope this helps! 07/09/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by If only it came with slipcover -Very Comfy, but if you're picky like me you may want a pillow for lumbar support -Fairly easy to assemble -Good for the price -Doesn't rock very easy on my carpet -Very bulky in my tiny nursery (as seen in the photo) -I have been waiting almost a couple months for a slipcover ("out of stock" right now). If only they came with the chair. So for now, I just use blankets to upholster it. 07/15/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Where are the slipcovers? I think if you're going to sell a chair that requires a slipcover, you should have slipcovers available. I purchased this chair 2/19/10, it arrived in great condition & my husband put it together with no difficulties. It's cute, comfortable, but covered in a cheap, temporary material that cannot be used without a slipcover - yet there are no slipcovers in stock - in any color at all. I've had a lot of trouble finding the right style/size/fit slipcover at other stores & online so I hope Walmart gets these in stock soon. I have a baby on the way. 03/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Chair I read all the reviews on this chair before buying, and it prevented me from buying it for a while. The major complaints I read were it was stiff: I think it's better to say sturdy. If you're looking for a chair that when you sit down you melt into magical softness then don't buy it. But overall the chair is comfy. The other complaint was the rocking: I do think the rocking factor is off a hair, it rocks, but to rock all the way back on the legs you do have to push a bit. My dad is going to shave a hari off the back of the legs so it naturally falls back easier, that's a quick fix to the problem. My other comments, the cover, not an option! You have to have it, i tried to get it without and it has zippers and holes in the sides and back showing, so it's not up for discussion you have to buy the cover. As far as putting it together, it was like 5 pieces, super super super easy, not sure who or why said it took like 3 hours, but all i can say is this chair should not be a challenge for anyone to put together! I think for $229 it's a great investment. It's a very nice looking chair, it doesn't look cheap at all and it's a great size, and it's comfy enough. 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great chair, great price! Perfect I really wanted a nice chair to put in my son's nursery, but didn't want to spend the $400-500 to buy one. So, I found this on walmart.com and decided that I'd give it a try, the price was right and it looked nice...and it was! It was easy to put together, the slip cover was nice and it's even comfy to sit in. My only complaint is that walmart didn't have all the slipcovers in stock, as I wanted to order another color to have either as a backup or to be able to move the chair into another room later on when I don't need it in my son's nursery anymore. Otherwise I'm very happy with this chair! 06/04/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase! I really wanted an upholstered rocker or glider for our baby's nursery, but learned that the style I was looking for usually came with a hefty price tag. I was excited when I saw this particular rocker...and the price was very reasonable! When it arrived, my husband had no trouble putting it together, and I was thrilled with the style and overall comfort. We have been using it for 2 months now, it is perfectly 'broken in', and we continue to love it! Prior to ordering, I was concerned about finding a chair that would fit me and my husband (I'm 5'8" and he's a broad-shouldered 6'2"), and also fit in our small nursery. This chair is comfortable for both of us without overtaking our small space. Also, I was worried about how the wooden rockers would work on our carpet. We aren't rocking wild or anything, but it is enough to lull our little guy to sleep. It does slide on the carpet a bit at times, but it is easy enough to put back into place if it does shift some. If you are considering purchasing this, go for it. I am fussy beyond fussy, and I have been delighted with this purchase! 06/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Buy! I was a little skeptical when I first purchased this chair - but my husband put it together last night (took about 20 minutes), and it is wonderful! Very easy to assemble and is the perfect size. Not too big for a nursery and still large enough for a 6-foot, 205lb+ man. The cover fabric is very soft and fits the chair perfectly. The attached Velcro makes the cover "idiot-proof". My neighbor bought a similar version at a baby store and paid twice as much - this chair is just as nice and is very well constructed. Cushion is comfortable and the rocker frame is real wood. Chair is fairly light weight and arm rest are comfortable to lean on. Brown cover is true chocolate brown. 06/10/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Bad For the Cost I was really excited to buy this chair because it was so cheap. But it's true you do get what you pay for. I have committed myself to keeping this chair but it took a few days for it to grow on me. Here is a summary... Pros: 1.Cheap price 2. rocks well on hard floors 3. Roomy (unlike glider/rockers, this chair is roomy, perfect for snuggling with older kids as well as newborns!) Cons: 1.Doesnt rock well on carpet 2.No lumbar support and generally not extremely comfortable 3. Bad quality (I am not expecting this chair to last long being as the cushion is already indented and we have only had it a month. 4. Not real fabric on the chair. it's a very thin almost mesh that is not durable (unlike the picture you see on the website, this chair doesnt have any real fabric, the idea is your suppose to get the slipcover, which is unavailable. IN SUMMARY: if you want a cheaply priced chair and dont mind sacrificing a little comfort and quality, this is the chair for you. 03/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dorel - Rocking Chair I absolutely love this chair!! I didn't want the typical glider so I started searching for modern-style rockers online. Well, all the chairs I liked came with a very large price tag. Then one day I was looking on Wal-Marts’ website and came across this rocker....and I fell in love. The price was right up my alley!! I was nervous about ordering it since it didn't come upholstered, but thought I would give it a shot. When we got it home it was super easy to put together. The slipcover was very form fitting so it took a little maneuvering to put it on...but once it was on it definitely completed the chair. The chair's back has a very firm cushion, which I prefer to give my back support. I love this chair so much I have already order more slipcovers for it....it is very convenient for switching out the style. I have also attached some pictures for everyone to get a feel for the overall size and style of the chair. 01/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Chair for the price!!! Okay so a couple of things: 1) It was super easy to put together (did it myself at 7 months pregnant) 2) Hardest part is putting the slip cover on (it was very fitted) 3) For the people who say that it is cheap, etc...what do you expect for the price? Don't get me wrong this chair is not the most comfortable thing in the world...but I wouldn't say it is uncomfortable. It rocks well for me and I enjoy sitting on it...I do almost every day. 4) IT IS VERY OBVIOUS that the slip cover is sold separately...and yes you have to have the slipcover unless you can make a custom one. I waited until the slipcovers were available again BEFORE I ordered the chair. They are slowly trickling in under the name Dorel Slip Cover (not through the link provided on Product info) 5) I ordered the green slip cover. It is NOT minty green, it is a VERY light green almost taupe colored 6) I LOVE THIS CHAIR and would defiantly recommend it...unless you just are dying to pay $1,200 for a Pottery Barn chair. So wait till the slipcover color you want is available and order the chair and slip cover at the same time...I was not disappointed! 10/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded expectations...is now 3 yrs old This chair has been great and is lightweight and easy to move but sturdy. I've had it since my 3 year old daughter was born and am now ordering a new slipcover because I am updating color schemes in the family room. Great chair and highly recommended! 07/21/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad description on chair- ottoman and slip cover This chair says that it comes in a "bundle" with the ottoman which basically means sold separately. The website is NOT clear that the cost of the chair does not include the ottoman. Also it says that a slip cover is optional, that is NOT the case. You must purchase a slip cover the chair comes in a fabric that is rough and resembles a burlap texture. So now I have to wait for my slip over and ottoman to arrive, all costing extra. You think you are getting a value on the chair until you find out you need to purchase everything separately. 05/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lured by price - can't get over functional problem I read all the reviews for this chair and opted to ignore the issues with the ease of rocking and the confort level because it was a good looking chair at the right price. In my opinion, I didn't want to spend tons of money on a nicer chair and this was stylish and functional enough for the amount of time I felt I would use it. Well, I am returning the chair. It is designed in such a way that the second you sit in it you are propelled forward and have to tense up your back and push off something in order to get enough momentum to rock it. I tried on hardwood and carpet...it is not the floor, the pieces on the bottom are designed to sit too far back on the chair for it to work properly. Unfortunately, in this case, I can't just live with it. Everything else about the chair is great. Too bad. 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THIS CHAIR I purchased ths chair for my son's nursery in July 2008. I have had no regrets! I was nervous about buying a chair that wasn't upholstered for fear that the slipcover would look too obvious. I couldn't be happier with the results! It was easy for my husband to assemble & the slipcover covers it perfectly! You can't even tell that it didn't come upholstered. It was also comfy for me to sit in during my 3rd trimester of pregnancy & during the nursing stage. We now use it to snuggle up with our son & read him a bedtime story. At the time, we did not buy the matching ottoman b/c our nursery was too small. We've since moved & now have the room for it so we just ordered the matching ottoman b/c we want the complete set since we love the chair so much. A friend of ours saw our chair & is now ordering it for her nursery as well (that is, if her slipcover is ever in stock)! If you compare the prices of this chair relative to others like it, it is a much better bargain. It may not be as comfy as a $500 chair would be, but for under $250 (with the slipcover) you can't beat it! You would never be able to tell that it came from Wal Mart! 09/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value and Product I've been looking around for rockers and was disappointed with the prices being so high... When I saw this one, I liked at first. I read the reviews, and took a chance and bought this one. I'm so glad I did. Very easy to assemble (husband did in about 15 min). I found it pretty confortable. I sat in it for a long time, and my back never hurt (though having a small pillow in my lower back make it even more confortable). I can't tell you how it is sitting with the baby, but so far I am in love with this rocker, and very happy that I bought it. You do have to buy the slip cover separate, and the finished product looks very pretty in the baby's room. I'm sure people won't be able to tell we bought it Wal mart. I'm very satisfeid with this rocker! 04/02/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value & Nice Have you looked at the prices of rockers today? I wanted one to go with the "look" of our house, and when I saw this one I fell in love. There are similar ones at higher price kids stores, but they are all in the $400 range. I read the reviews, and took a chance and bought this one. I'm glad I did. I'm 8 months pregnant, and put this rocker together by myself (6 pieces). Piece of cake. It's very light too. Now the back test. I sat in it for a long time admiring our babies room, and my back never hurt sitting in it. Granted I can't tell you how it is sitting with the baby, but so far I am in love with this rocker, and glad that I bought it. You have to buy the slip cover separate, and it has velcro in certain areas to make sure it stays in place. It's all hidden, so only you will know this. I kind of like this. We bought it in the light green, and it goes perfectly with the rest of the room. 02/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by .... I was very hesitant to purchase this rocker based on reviews... The biggest complaint was the slipcover. When I received the rocker it was just as as described- frame ONLY. It was unfinished and I didn't take my chances ordering a slipcover as most said they were always out of stock. In the end I had it upholstered and it looks FANTASTIC. All together I spent roughly $550... And luckily I'm a small framed gal (5' flat) because I don't think this would be very comfortable for someone tall. My husband is 6'0'' claims it's not the most comfortable thing he's sat in...not to mention he looks a bit awkward in it. When rocking I didn't find that I was "propelled" out of it as some had mentioned... I didn't get the ottoman as I didn't know how much room this would take up, but I don't think it would hurt to have. It also rocked okay on my carpet- so no issue there either. Overall, I'm not going to complain. Good deal for price. 08/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Love It!! I am due in a few months with our first baby. I have been looking all over for an upholstered rocker. I originally fell in love with the overstuffed glider from Pottery Barn Kids...unfortonately, I am not spending over $1200 dollars on one! i searched the internet, high and low, to find something comparible at a lesser cost. To be honest, I was very skeptical when looking at this product. I could not believe I could get a rocker, ottoman, and slipcover for under $300 dollars. What was wrong with it? I read several reviews and decided I could always return it if it wasn't something I thought was going to work. I ordered everything at 10pm on a Sunday night. I chose to do the sight to store shipping because its free. All four peices (the rocker, ottoman, and each slipcover) came seperately. By Friday of that week, I had the entire order set up in his nursery. It was SO easy to assemble. I went with the green slipcover and it is perfect. It is a very subtle shade. The chair is a little firm, but I plan on sitting in it a lot before the baby comes, hopefully breaking it in as others have said in their reviews. I will also be adding a lower lumbar pillow as an accent to the chair, but im sure it will make the chair that much more comfortable. You really can beat the price on this item. I am more than thrilled with it and cannot wait to rock my son in it =). 07/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great chair for the price. Was very easy to put together and sturdy once complete. I had been researching rocking chairs for my baby's nursery, and most I looked at ranged from $400 - $700! We purchased the slip cover in brown and we feel it looks just as good as the pricier chairs. It's not a bulky chair, so it takes up less space than most. The slip cover is a little tough to get on, but once on looks great. I wouldn't necessarily buy one for my living room, but a great chair for a spare room, bedroom or baby nursery. 06/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Alitle disapointed We purchase this rocking chair knowing it would not be like a glider. This was in our budget and I liked the design. After my husband put it together (which was easy he says) we tried it out. It does not rock well, its hard to explain but you have to put alot of effort to barely rock back. Comsidering I bought this for our sons nursery, I will be rocking alot. And it seems that the chair forces you to lean forward, very bizarre. But we will be taking ours back and purchasing something else. 01/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great purchase for me So far I'm very pleased with this chair. I'm 8 months pregnant and found it very easy to put together myself. My husband came home from work and was shocked to see I had done the task as he expected it to become one of his to do list items. I'm 5'10" and find the chair comfortable. I feel better with a pillow supporting my lumbar area, but that's typical for me in any seat. At my height, I cannot easily rest my head on the back of the seat, but I don't consider that a negative as I don't want a chair I'm likely to fall asleep in while nursing. I have the chocolate cover and absolutely love it! It seems of good quality and the color is exactly what I wanted. It looks great in my little boy's room and I'm excited to rock him in it. 06/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loveee it ! Some complain that it pushes you forward when you sit. Well, it's made so you can nurse your baby and rock her/him in it. I don't know about anyone else but I have to sit up to nurse my daughter. This is a plus because it makes me sit correctly, back straight and all. :) Better posture people!!!! The first time you sit in it, the back will be hard but give yourself some time to get used to it. If you're looking for a chair with more cushion then I'd advise you to spend the money on something better. If you wash the slipcovers, watch your dryer settings for the rocker slipcover because mine shrunk and I dried it on medium! The ottoman slipcover held up well and did not shrink one bit! I did see reviews where other people let it vent for 2-3 days. I had to buy another and I'm returning this one today as soon as I get my other one. This chair takes up quite a bit of space so if you have a small nursery then you might wanna consider getting something else or just put it in your living room. That's what I did! We're currently looking for a new place so I figured what the heck? I'm only here for two more months! Overall, this is an awesome chair! To me there's really no cons at all. Just watch your dryer settings if you wash this! You can buy other slipcovers so you can change up the color anytime. I got the rocker for 60 bucks on sale. I should've bought another because now it's 170! Sheeeeesh, what a difference. I suggest waiting til it goes back down. But you can always buy the ottoman and cover for now. It's actually pretty comfy to sit on! 04/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rocker for the Money I ordered this thinking it would be a bunk purchase and I would have to send it back. It was perfect for our nursery. I loved the rocker. It was easy to put together and comfortable. The chair is a good size and I love the look of it. I got the beige slip cover which looks a little yellow in the pictures because my walls are brown, but it doesn't really look yellow. I also got the ottoman, which is HUGE! I wish the ottoman was a little smaller and took up less room. Baby is not here yet, so I can't comment on how well it works with a little one. NOTE: I did steam the slip cover once I put it on the chair and ottoman. I have a steamer for clothes and it worked great for the slip cover. I used the steam directly on the cloth, but I did NOT use an iron. I would definitely make this purchase again. No regrets. 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 stars and more! Love this chair beyond all belief! You won't be disappointed! For the price it's better quality then I could have hoped for. You will need to buy the slipcover without a doubt though. They make the fabric very cheap so that you have to but with the price of this chair it's not a problem in my opinion. I had previously looked at chairs running for 500+ and I think I am more satisfied spending the 250 total then I would have with any other buy! Also easy to put together as well! My husband and I put it together in less then 30 min. 06/25/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great chair very comfortable, the only problem is its hard to rock on carpet. 02/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The chair is not overly large, it fits very nicely is a fairly small room. This chair rocks well on hard wood floors- I plan on putting a throw rug under and do not feel it will change how it rocks all that much. This is not the type of chair you "sink" into, however it is still comfortable to sit in. For what it is, and what its purpose is, I feel this chair is a great value. I am one who had my eye on rocking chairs from Pottery Barn Kids and Serena and Lily- for $300 you can beat what you get. This chair will maybe be used for a year or two and saving $600- $800 dollars was definitely worth it. I would recommend this chair to someone who is looking for a Pottery Barn "look" (not necessarily feel) for a significantly smaller price. On a side note, this chair was very easy for my husband to put together- it took him about 20-30 mins. 07/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cute chair We are on a budget and ordered this chair for our 2nd baby's nursery. It arrived quickly and was easy to assemble. It looks great. It's not terribly uncomfortable (but of course not as comfortable as the glider that we bought for our older daughter which was a bit pricier). It doesn't rock easily though and therefore, I'm not sure we'll keep it in the nursery. I do really like the size of it and the appearance, but if we can't rock in it, I'm not sure how practical it is. 06/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value for the price. Needs a pillow for your lower back, but looks great! 01/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Value I picked this chair to go in my son's nursery. This chair has by far exceeded my expectations. It was easy to assemble and the slip cover fits very well. The chair had the look I wanted and is large enough for me to rock and feed my infant comfortably. I searched the net and could not find a better deal. 07/08/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice Chair/No slipcover My husband ordered this chair 2 weeks ago for our nursery. I like it but need the slipcover. There are no colors available. This chair should come with the slipcover because the chair is not covered as it appears to be in the product picture. I will have to make my own if none are in stock by the middle of April. Our little one will arrive April 28th. 03/07/2010
1-30 of 367 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw333
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp