See All Reviews
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 22 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Reel This is a great reel, I have three of them 1000FG, 2500GF and 4000FG. Very smooth, and the trigger is super. 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Purchase This reel did not arrive in the blister pack, but in the boxed version. This means that the parts list and full instructions were included--nice! This is absolutely the best reel that I have ever owned, save for the 2000FG model, that is! I purchased this reel to replace an aging Shakespeare Cirrus reel that had the same QuickFire-like trigger system; however, this reel is superior in that the line does not wrap around the trigger as the Shakespeare model did. This reel is far more balanced and smooth when compared with the Shakespeare. At this time, it is a little tough to get the bailer to reset on retrieve, but this should soften after use. The best feature of this reel is definitely the Quickfire II; for a kayak angler, setting the bailer at the right position is one less thing to have to worry about! 07/12/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shimano is the best This is my 5th Shimano reel and it won't be the last. It has a wobble free retrieve that's hard to beat. The quickfire casting is sweet. 06/04/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shimano reel Grandson was extremely please with the reel. 03/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't go wrong with Shimano I bought 2 of these, 2500 and 4000. I've bought a few before so I've been using the Syncopates for years. Long casts and smooth retrieves. Easy to fight fish. Third cast with the 4000 brought in a 6 3/4 pound bass on the pond in my back yard. 12/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great deal for a medium sized reel The Shimano Syncopate is a quality fishing reel, the 2500 that I purchased is a medium sized fresh water reel and features a "quick fire" casting feature that is hard to find in other reels. I use the reel primarily for lake fishing, shore and trawling (kayak). Overall the reel operates very smoothly and is easy to cast.......... 06/10/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great economy reel smooth, durable and reasonably priced 05/21/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super nice reel-smooth I bought this to replace an old ultra-light reel I had for many years. This reel preformed wonderfully, with being so smooth. It also added about 20 ft to my casting compared to the older reel. The price is right and it seems to do everything I needed. It's so smooth on the retrieval you feel everything with those 1/4 ounce jigs. Very quite also. Only have had it out once since I got it but I have to brag it up. 07/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shimano Reel: This is the best spinning reel for the money that I have ever used. At my age I have tried a lot of them. The action is real smooth and the reel-in is smooth. You can lose a lot of fish if you have to fight with the reel. There was real good operating instructions in the package. My neighbor recommended this reel to me and I tried it out. Really liked it and went home and ordered one. The delivery time was fast and no damage to the package. I tried the local WalMart store but they were out so I used the website to get mine. Highly recommend this reel to all of my friends. 09/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great reel! Even better than Spirex. The reel is very smooth. Hard finding reels with trigger anymore, which I love. Spirex is more money but is subject to freezing up a bit when it gets wet. I don't seem to have that problem with Syncopate, and is every bit as smooth but more reliable. Can't beat it for $30!!! 03/08/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shimano Syncopate spinning reel I have used the Shimano products for years and find them hard to beat at this level of price.. I use the 1000 series for light weight tackle on crappie and white bass. Does excellent job. Quick Fire action on the reel is a great benefit 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good reel for the price. These Syncopate reels are built fairly well for the price. I have always liked the Quickfire System on Shimano's, it's really helpful when you want to cast fast. I prefer the Shimano Spirex RG reel over the Sycopate because of its fighting rear drag.The Spirex model also seems like a much smoother reel when you are retrieving on it. The Spirex is defenitly better reel but it cost twice as much. The Syncopates is good value reel, and it cast really well, and it works good with braided line. I have heard people make comments that the braided line slips on these reel. On almost all spinning reels you have to put on a backing tape or a small amount of monofiliment on the spool so that the line doesn't slip. For the money you can't go wrong with a Syncopate. If I lose one, or tear it up, I will be replacing it with another one. 09/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great reel... can't believe the quality... Great reel... can't believe the quality for such a low price. I have used Shimano reels since the mid '80 and love them, this one is no exception. I actually bought it in 3 sizes... 1000, 2500, and 4000. All 3 are Awesome. Super smooth action, Great balance, Nothing bad to say... seriously... not a single complaint. 07/24/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by For the price this is an alright reel. I bought this reel and a Pfluger GX Trion at the same time. The Pfluger is $10 more but it is worth it. I would recommend getting the Pfluger over this reel. 06/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this reel I love my new Shimano Reel and it goes well with my new Ugly Stick Spinning Rod. Great purchase in my mind. 06/07/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great fishing reel We own several fishing reels, we bought this one for our 20 year old granddaughter who loves fishing anything outdoors! Her grandfather let her use my fishing rod and reel with the trigger handle and she loved it. So, with this one she'll really be excited and will go fishing ASAP as we have 2 large ponds on our farm on Easter Sunday "her birthday". 04/18/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great one handed casting reel This is a Great light weight (1000 model) one hand casting spinning reel. it is quiet and smooth and has given me no troubles with line tangles. Shimano is a good name, I have a 20+ year old Shimano rod and reel I still use regularly I just wanted another. 07/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid reel. Quickfire II is a plus. 07/20/2011
  • 2015-12-01 T05:53:53.581-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_22
  • loc_en_US, sid_15550372, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-21 of 21 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.