See All Reviews
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 38 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my new all-time favorite period dramas! this is such a great series!!! Saw it when it aired last January and absolutely loved it. I can watch it again and again. Love having it on DVD bc there are quite a few extra scenes that weren't shown on tv. If u are a period drama buff, totally recommend this!!! Everyone should have it in their collection. Am watching season 2 online now and it's just as amazing! The plots continue to thicken. Can't wait till I can buy season 2 also!!! 10/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Even though I watched this on PBS, couldn't wait to see it all again. Great for a rainy afternoon! 02/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Series!! Highly Recommended!! If you liked Upstairs, Downstairs--You will like this. Has you sitting on the edge of your seat wanting more. Season One and Season Two are wonderful. Hope they do more seasons!!! 02/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Welcome Addition To My Library I loved the series on PBS, but missed a few of the episodes. Buying this set will allow me to re-watch it as often as I want to after it no longer comes on. I can't wait for season 2! 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love, love, love this show!!!! 10/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Series Downton Abbey is a period piece with universal themes of love, loss, revenge, duty.... The characters and acting are top-notch. We can't wait to see Season 2 on PBS in January! 10/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS SHOW ! Really, what is there to say? WATCH IT- BECOME A FAN! 09/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I ordered this series as a recommendation from a friend. Loved it!! I had it sent directly to my home. It arrived in 3 days. Now I have ordered part 2. Decided to pick it up at the store to save money on shipping. It has been 9 days and it still has not arrived......... 09/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spectacular Series! I absolutely ADORE this series! 08/15/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Downton Abbey Season One I recently purchased Downton Abbey season one. It was money well spent! So, I ordered season two. I cannot wait for it to arrive. Great acting, interesting storyline, and beautiful scenery. If they were to get a little more naughty that would be even better.... 07/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!!! This is one of those DVD's that you just never get tired of. Everything about this series is amazing. Begining with the story, the characters, and the actors....love it!!! 07/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrifice series! Bought it because I had watched it on TV and loved it. 07/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Downton Abbey DVD has stopped suddenly twice then begins again. Also, some editing done to leave out parts that were in original story. Disappointed in that! 06/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Product came damaged One of the DVDs came loose in the package and was quite scratched up. I will be returning this and hoping for an exchange. 05/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Entertaining. I would highly recommend. Although, it did take twice as long to get as the website indicated. 05/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A MUST HAVE IF YOU ENJOY DOWNTON ABBEY! AWESOME DVD Series! So glad we've purchased it for our collection! 05/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOOD 04/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent series 04/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Series! I researched all different places on the internet for this series. Walmart was absolutely the cheapest. I got both seasons and can't stop watching it. It's fun TV. 03/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth purchasing, will watch it often I highly recommend the purchase of this product. The series is very well written and produced. If you liked Upstairs, Downstairs of many years ago, you will enjoy Downton Abbey. For the younger audience, if you enjoy British period dramas, this is worth your attention. The acting is very enjoyable. The set is an actual English estate. The costumes appear authentic and very lovely to view. The story line starts with the sinking of the Titantic and ends with the beginning of World War I. The writers have an ear for each character. The characters are several (16) and varied as they represent the servants and the aristocracy of England. I have watched each episode three times in 2 weeks of ownership. I cannot wait to see Season 2. 03/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Downton Abbey I is terrific! I bought the first season of Downton Abbey so that I could see it again after enjoying it on TV. This is one of the best productions I've ever enjoyed - the characters are interesting, it was historically accurate, the actors were terrific, and the writing for the script made it all interesting. With about 20 different characters in DA, each one of them were featured individually, many of them weekly. Each character is a story in themself. Season One is essential to understanding all of Season Two. I recommend Downton Abbey without reservation. 03/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by this is the first season of Downton Abbey, and it was so good I hade to get season 2, now i await the 3rd season to come out. very very good,. 03/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have just purchased both First and second Season to keep forever. Easy and enjoyable to watch. You fall in love with all of the characters, even Thomas and Ms. O'Brien. But for those that love Downton Abby, I think there should be at least one more season and we should all contact BBC and let them know. They stopped Lark Rise to Candleford after 4 seasons and got worldwide complaints. I believe the same should be true for Downton. It is a great DVD for your library. Like a book, it takes you on a journey. Thanks 02/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great pbs series.this is a very good copy.i love it 06/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great period piece This is a great series- I watched it all in three nights! Season 2 will be on PBS in the fall. Wonderful acting and period details. I highly recommend if you love PBS productions. 03/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful I loved the entire movie and wanted more. I was disappointed only when it ended. 02/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful new Masterpiece Classic PBS series! A bargain at $16.99, this 3-disc set has all 4 episodes in the UK uncut version. Special features include The Making of Downton Abbey and Downton Abbey: A House in History. The story starts in April, 1912 and brings us the story of the inhabitants of this lavish Edwardian house, both the servants and the family. The costumes are stunning, the acting superb. This series was created by Academy Award-winner Julian Fellowes (Gosford Park) I'm looking forward to season 2 due next winter. 02/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Dowton Abbey" is one of those Edwardian Costume dramas in the best British tradition, an elaborate soap pitting the working class minions against the British aristocracy. For anyone who was a fan of "Upstairs Downstairs", you are in for a treat. Character development is a bit thin and the storyline is somewhat episodic. Well worth it though, if only to see and fantasize about those English country estates and what it would be like to live in one of them, above stairs, of course. I am already looking forward to the next season and how the Great War affects the drama characters. Owning the first season episodes will act as a nice review to transition smoothly to the second season. Cheerio Masterpiece Critic 01/30/2011
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew482
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp