See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 17 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gym is what it says it is, a solid compact piece of equipment, for home use, that gives you a variety of exercise options. While not of the level found in "Y"s" etc., it looks like it will work well for average home use. So far, with a little imagination I have been able to work on just about every area I have wanted too. It does take a while to assemble, but instructions are pretty good. I put it together alone. I did find one place where it would have been better to tighten a couple of bolts earlier than instructed. It appears to be well built for the price. My wife who travels a lot says it looks to be of better quality than some she has seen in hotel exercise rooms. I did go to the hardware store & buy spring clips to replace the chain links that come with it. What come with it works fine but takes time to change set-ups. The clips make changes fast & easy. (doesn't give me time to think about how tired I am between changes.) I might also add another short piece of chain to add a couple of other exercise options. Overall this was everything I had hoped it would be in this price range. It even has a couple of features normally found only on more expensive units. 03/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Home Gym This gym was very easy to put together and works great. All of the exercises work great and it has plenty of weight resistance for the average guy. I've worked out at a gym for 15 years and I'm impressed with this home gym. You won't become Mr. Universe with it but it will help you build muscle and stay in shape. Just make sure the cables are very tight. Do this by using the cable adjuster. This is important for the gym to work correctly. The cables do make a little noise but nothing to annoying. 03/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall a good gym. Haven't had much time to use it, doctors orders, but my dad likes it. It takes a while to setup. Took 3.5 hours and i had two workers put it together. 03/02/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought this home gym and love it. You can use it in the convience of you own home without paying high prices at the gym. If you are looking for a weight machine, look no further... 11/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything I need I guess I can cancel my gym membership now. Perfect for me and my teenage sons only thing I didn't like was the instruction could have been more detail took about 3 hours but still i love it. 01/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Starter This is a good home gym for starters, which my son is 14 and I am starting him on this machine. 03/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Home Gym Nice gym meets my expectations. It would have been great if the seat was adjustable. 04/18/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simply awesome but a few small issues. This machine has taken over from many traditional bench or free weights and allowed me to push harder and go further. As a complement to a free weight home gym it is exceptional. It has a lot of exercise options but the big problem with it is that there are not quite as many as you would like/expect for both the size and space it takes up (often a concern with setting up a home gym) and for the price. Personally I love it and see past those flaws but maybe they would be a problem to others. I recommend checking out which exact exercises it does, these are all it will do - I have tried improvising, it doesn't work - and decide if these are enough before buying. One other thing, I know the instructions for these things are always bad, I've built many of their type, but I found these instructions particularly indeciferable and infuriating. It took a great deal of patience and a lot more time than I expected, however once it is together it feels super sturdy and totally solid. So overall it's getting 'good's from me not the 'excellent's it narrowly missed. 09/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love it! This home gym has been great for my whole family. A variety of exercises my be performed on this gym. It is Sturdy and provides enough weight to tone and define. Good for beginners. Very easy to assemble. 12/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great home gym This is a good all around home gym. You can do about any type of weight workout you could want on it. 11/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good value this is a very good product and value. the only draw back is the top weight gets stuck sometimes at the top of the bars that guide the weights. but i love this home gym. 02/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Marcy home gym - great value A lot of home-gym equipment turns out to be really inferior in terms of quality or workout. This Marcy (bought mostly for my wife but used mostly by me) turned out to be an exception. SPACE: Remember that you have to get behind the weight stack to set weights, and you have flye motions, so don't back it up against a flat wall in the corner; the machine is actually set up to fit diagonally in a room of normal size. Place the base feet flush against the two walls. ASSEMBLY: The terrifying instructions, with all the cable diagrams, actually turned out to be very easy in practice. Takes a little while, but easy. Just keep your parts organized. My main concern was the weight masts which have little holes on one end and I couldn't tell which way they went; turned out the holes served no purpose whatsoever, so it didn't matter! QUALITY: Everything's quite solid. I've done multiple workouts with nothing coming loose, bending or whatever. WORKOUT: The thing works you hard! I was impressed. I'm 20-years ex-Infantry and know my way around weight machines. This gives you a GOOD range of basic workouts, and the available weights will push the limits of all but a dedicated bodybuilder. The cable/pulley arrangements mean that different exercises will provide differing resistance levels, so while the stack is 150# true weight it can wind up being greater than that in resistance weight. DISADVANTAGES: As with any "do-all, be-all" machine it just physically can't offer the benefit of a roomful of Hammerstrength machines. Biggest issue is a limited range-of-motion with some excercises, notably flyes (quite bad) and lat pulldowns. OVERALL: The machine impressed me. I'm having a lot of fun with it, and I consider it a terrific value. Easy to assemble, solid, safe and versatile. Recommended. 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!! I am 16 and i got this product for my birthday.....There are only few cons and many pros Cons- To long to assemble Pros- Perfect amount of weight Save money over years rather than going to gym Most exercises i would have done at gym Sturdy AND MORE... Hope this helps 09/24/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just plain awful i thought it would be good but it came with messed up equipment, missing parts, and the cable couldnt even take over 100 pounds without snapping. I would look somewhere else for a good workout. 12/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great for a work out i had a older marcy home gym stepped up to more weight love the system 04/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice product for the price! 03/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your money! The gym was easy to assemble and lasted for one week before the cable broke under about 60 pounds of lift. Don't bother calling for replacement parts -- Ipex (Marcy) does not honor their warranty. They've given me the run around for six months over a cable. I found a replacement at a 3rd party parts supplier. Do yourself a favor, spend more and get more. 04/11/2012
1-17 of 17 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw336
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp