See All Reviews
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 19.99 Great Value! 19.99 Great Value! I have posted some pictures of the actual kit. The small spools of thread have only 25 yards and the larger spools have 150 yards. The description does not specify the yardage and it should. I think the kit is a great value because just 1 spool of all purpose thread is 2.17 at Walmart. The spools are half as much yardage, but even at half the price for 20 spools adds up to the total cost of the kit and you get so much more. I love the variety of colors. The threads do not fall out when I open the case, if I push the thread spool all the way down they stay just fine because there are little protrusions that hold them in. I used some of the thread with my Brother sewing machine to make button holes and sew on some buttons, I did not have any problems with breakage, but this thread is just average nothing special. I never have problems with thread getting caught on the rough edges of a spool because my machines thread holder does not sit upright, it is sideways and has a cap that holds the spool on. The kit does not open as smoothly as I'd like but it is not a deal breaker for me. 04/08/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the price Unless you keep the storage case upright and open very carefully all of the spools of thread fall out, and the side pockets for patterns are slightly narrower than the patterns, so you can only jam in 1 pattern on each side! Came with lots of black thread, but only 1 very small spool of white! All in all, not worth the price! 04/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by sewbox Terribly unhappy with product, poorly made. Cheap, small amounts of thread on spools and thread cheap that it broke. Side cases would not stay shut and once opened, everything would fall out. Best thing was the plastic case! I took everything out of case and using what I can salvage of the $ 57.00 spent on this product that is not worth $10.00 to me. 04/01/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok for beginner & on sale I bought this when I bought my first sewing machine here recently. Its a very cheap case, the side containers dont stay shut when its closed. The spools all fall off everything you open the darn thing and its rather difficult to open. Overall, it did come with everything thing I needed to get started and it was on sale at the time for $19.99. I do small crafts so it worked for me. 01/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great storage system When I received this after many years of not sewing, this had everything I needed to get started again in a compact, easy to carry and store, unit. I bought this one for my daughter who has just started sewing crafts. It keeps it out of the hands of her 2 year old so she doesn't get into things she doesn't need to have. 06/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by It's going back to the store! The case is horrible! It's hard to get closed because the side drawers keep popping open. But my biggest complaint is that all of the spools of thread fall out when you open it! There should be something to hold the spools in!! I bought this today and after opening it (very carefully) and having a bunch of spools would fall out multiple times, it's going back tomorrow! 06/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a good idea! I saw this same EXACT storage system being sold on HSN. I read their reviews, then started checking out reviews on-line. I started with Wal-Mart to see if they even carried it. Sure enough, it was completely the same excet it was $10.00 cheaper! Off I went to Wal-Mart and thank God I opened the box (with permission) to compare it with the reviews I had read. This product is made VERY poorly. Everything was made with very cheap plastic and as the reviews had portrayed, the spools of thread (which had only STRANDS of thread on them) fell out as soon as I opened the case. I think they expect you to keep the cardboard template over the spools all the time, in the closed position. The outside pockets will barely hold 2 patterns, and the plastic compartments inside would never suffice for ample room for notions needed. I ended up buying a very pretty sewing basket made out of beautiful material for $19.97. I bought all of the notions that the "Storage System" offered PLUS more, and ended up with a very well-made, put-together Sewing Basket that I know I will have for many years to come, at a great total that I knew I could afford. If you are serious about your sewing hobby/business, it is so well worth choosing items that you know you won't have to replace for many years to come. "Following with my gut" sure saved me alot of stress , aggravation AND money that I undoubtedly would have had to endure otherwise! Doing my homework has paid off once again! :) 07/14/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I dread opening this thing! Good concept, but I dread opening it. Every time I do, some of the spools fall out and all of the little compartments fly open and spill. Nothing stays securely in place. As most reviewers have said, the quality of the thread is terrible. It breaks very easily and I ended up just throwing it away and using my own thread. Don't waste your money! 04/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Use Everything you need in several pull outs 01/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I originally bought this product for myself so when my daughter expressed interest, I bought her the same thing and she is very happy with it. 07/07/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for a beginner I am hoping that this will last. The item has the Singer name, but it is really kind of cheap in person. I will probably take everything out and put it in some more sturdy. Nice assortment of different threads. The scissors, seam ripper all look cheap and not appearing to last the distance. 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the Money My husband purchased one of these a few years ago with a sewing machine he got me at Walmart. I thought it was just a thread caddy, but to my surprise it was full of spools of thread, and included straight pins, pin cushion, seam ripper, scissors, bobbins, sewing needles, tape measure - in essence, all of the things needed to get me started sewing. It was MUCH better than just an empty box to store my notions. (And a few years ago, it was only $19.99). That being said, there is not a whole lot of thread on the spools, although there is a good variety of colors. And, the quality of the items included is not spectacular. However, everything is quite functional, and you have a good variety of threads to do any mending and small projects. As my spools give out I just replace them with normal capacity ones. I've purchased this to go with a small machine I gave my son for mending, and for a friend, and have purchased a new one for myself for my new machine after my house burned. The newer one has tiny flanges on the spindles to keep the spools in place when opening the case. 01/02/2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Low quality Poor quality thread...loose thread ends popping out from the spools. Items included are a joke such as the tiny pin cushion or the toyish scissors and stich opener. Spools of thread are smaller than what the look like in the picture. On top of that it was obvious that the threads were broken on the spools and the quantity and not just the quality is minimal. The case is ok. Not worth the price. We only opened it and immediately decided the quality is sub-par. Not what we expected...quite dissapointed. Not what we expected from Singer. We will be returning it straight away. 04/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product I was so surprised at how much I really got for such a reasonible price. It has everything but the patterns and the material to start a project. This is so highly recommended by my self. As usual Walmart gives more bang for your buck, which is hard to come by now a days. 05/03/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Buyer beware This sewing kit is adequate, i.e., the contents are quite helpful for one on his/her own who wants to mend and maintain clothes. The problem is the overall container. It's well designed, but it's rather cheaply made and, as a consequence, not as robust as it really needs to be, given the frequency with which one can expect to use it. Some of the contents are on the cheap side, but one can always upgrade as the need arises, e.g., thimbles. Overall, it's worth $20; however, it's not for kids who won't handle it as carefully as necessary and will undoubtedly break it. For what it's worth, it's better than anything else I've found. I suppose that classifies it as the least bad choice rather than the best choice. 01/03/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible quality...DON'T PURCHASE. I bought this sewing kit because it was displayed next to the Singer sewing machine I bought at the same time. I've recently started a small from-home clothing business and needed to start with the essentials. I am extremely disappointed with this entire kit and every time I have to use something in it, I get more and more infuriated. I quit using the actual plastic kit long ago, as the latch was extremely frustrating and hard to open, the spools usually fell out, and the small side drawers constantly slid out. However, I'm still using the supplies and so far, virtually everything has been of the cheapest, poorest quality. The thread is weak, thin, and frayed, and has multiple times broken off while I'm in the middle of sewing a piece. I got down to the spool one time and the thread again broke off because of unfinished rough plastic edges on the middle of the spool itself, which made the rest of the thread unusable in my machine. The needles appear to all be the same size and have such small holes that it's extremely difficult to get this poor quality thread through them. When I tried to use the thin, flimsy needle threaders that came with the set, they won't even fit into the eye of the needle. The pincushion is too small and seems to be hard in the middle, as half the time, it's difficult to even push pins into it. The bobbins that came with the kit are too small for use in my sewing machine, which is a Singer Esteem II, nothing unusual. While the kit has a couple dozen different colors of thread, there is no white, which was frustrating, as it required yet another trip to the store. There is NOTHING about this kit which I have been pleased with and I am now working slowly to replace everything I wasted my money on. I purchased it originally because of the Singer name and reputation, but my advice to anyone else would be to NOT purchase this item. 02/23/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly constructed I bought the storage system thinking I could use the thread and could also store some of the items I already had. I was wrong. It was so poorly made that it fell apart when I finally managed to unlatch the stubborn clasp. The thread was very thin on the spool and the accessories are cheaply constructed. Please do not waste your time on this product! I returned it to Walmart with no problem. 07/28/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of Money Bought it for a birthday gift for my 10 year old granddaughter. It was awful. Everything is made very cheap. Even the spools of thread were warped. Sure not worth the money. It went back to the store. 07/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great storage case. Wife reports Meets expectations. Needles became loose and were scattered throughout the case. Singer needs to come up with a better holder for the needles. 11/06/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Messy the casing is cheap and very easy to break when trying to close. nothing stays where it should as far as staying organized so you constantly have to put everything back in its spot 01/07/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good to keep toddlers out of your things I love all the compartments and you can swing open the sides instead of opening the whole thing. The only thing I don't like is that it's a little hard to open wide and if you put any scissors or other things in the bottom basket area they want to fall out if you open it tilted and most times you have to tilt it to get it open. I do love everything else that came with it and all the features, it's very handy. 03/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for beginners or expert sewers I love this package it has every color thread I needed although the needl threaders dont hold up very well broke after one use the rest of the items are wonderful i would reccomnd this for beginners as well as expert sewers I use mine every day 09/22/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for organization. The kit provides easy selection of thread and accesories. 09/06/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This item is great to have and the price is excellent, the case is completely stocked for all the crafty sewers. I highly recommend this product... 08/23/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the beginner and travelers This sewing box helps to keep things neat and it's great when I need to travel with my sewing machine. The scissors that come with it are surprisingly of good quality and are very sharp too. The side panels are perfect for holding my extra buttons and other small tools that I use too. This is a beginner's treasure box. It has everything you will need to get started and the pins are pretty. 08/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be Careful - New Box full of dust! We purchased this storage kit as we had a lot of faith on Brand Singer and since we loved the idea of getting all essentials in one kit.. However, when we opened the box it was full of some kind of dust that looked like saw dust. Very Disappointed... as we were not able to use this nice kit due to faulty packaging.. We returned it at Walmart today.. My wife is scared of getting another kit due to this bad experience.. 04/21/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product for the price. good 11/29/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellant excellent. Just the right size 11/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great! My friend showed me her set and I had to order me one. If you have a sewing machine then this kit is essential! 01/27/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Singer Sew Essentials Storage System Got this for my granddaughter's birthday. Great variety with all the essentials...as advertised. Easy and prompt delivery and pickup at store an outstanding option. Very satisfied. 10/30/2015
  • 2016-02-12 T07:58:13.432-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_52, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_15266890, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 49 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew373
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp