See All Reviews
Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker
Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker
$19.94
List Price: $24.88
You Save: $4.94 (20%)
Wal-Mart Exclusive
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 789 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by RewiewIWishIReadBeforeIShopped4TwoWeeks I shopped for about two weeks trying to decide which crock pot to buy. They range from $16.00 (this one) to over $150.00. I took a heck of a chance buying the least expensive one out there but my gut told me my roast beef will be great no matter how little I spend. I WAS RIGHT!!!!! I know the manufacturer of this product makes much more expensive crock pots and I hope they don't delete this but here's my tip I wish I could have found when I was searching: DON'T SPEND ANOTHER PENNY MORE that the $16.00 this one costs. This crock pot cooks perfectly. Roast beef is tender and cooks perfectly after 10 hours of cooking (I could cut it with a plastic butter knife). So if my food comes out perfectly and tastes great what more would I have gotten for an extra $30, $40 or $100. Nothing! I would have just felt more fancy because I spent more money. Don't do it, if this is about your stomach and not impressing someone with how much money you spend, buy this crock pot. Food comes out perfect. 12/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Value I bought this to replace a much smaller slow cooker. I've used it several times and I'm very satisfied with the results. It has a rubber seal around the lid which is great when you want to transport food to another place. There is also a rubber type band that you can put over the top to keep the contents from spilling when you are transporting the food. It's very easy to put on and keeps the lid secure. The seal is tight and what I especially liked is it keeps the aroma of the cooking food from being over powering. I don't like for my house to smell like what I'm cooking all day and this seal does help prevent this. The seal on my crock pot did not have any odor or change the taste of my food like one commenter complained about. The lid also fits very well. It has a nice "keep warm" feature which is great for a dinner or buffet where you just want it to stay warm and not continue to cook. The crock is thick and very durable. It is removable and cleans easily in the dishwasher. I bought the red one and love the color and the way it looks. It holds 5 quarts easily and cooks very well. I also noticed that the outside did not get very hot to touch like my old one. I'm very happy with this product and look forward to using it for a long time. 12/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the price I paid $14.88 for this at my local Walmart. It truly holds just a little over 4 quarts. The rubber seal does hold odor but I can't imagine it interfering with the taste of the food. I plan to wash it by hand as I believe the harsh dishwasher detergent is what deteriorated my previous lid's handle and it broke. I will also try adding little vinegar to the dishwater and see if that helps with the odor. Storing the lid upside down on the crock will also help to air it out and not trap odors in the pot. It works fine, I've had no problems with it and having a smaller sized pot for dishes that don't require a large roast or other big cuts of meat is nice to have to avoid burning. There is a steam hole vent on the glass lid and that's unlike anything I've had in the past but it's just a different way to let the steam out. Many people think the traditional lids don't fit "tight"...they aren't supposed to as they need to let steam out. This one has the rubber seal which allows a tighter quieter fit therefore the steam vent hole is required. It was a bargain and overall I'm happy with the purchase. 10/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by super cute! I love the new rubber rim and the steam vent on the lid - my slow cooker doesn't rattle like the old one. My husband took chicken and dumplings to work and had NO problems and NO spills! The only reservation I have is the last time I cooked chili it took the shiny coating off the inside of the pot. I guess I'll have to call customer service. That happened with my old unit too. 12/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great item I got 2 crock pots for Christmas, one my husband spent WAY too much on and then this one!!! The more expensive one is ok, but the outside gets so hot and the lid never seems to fit. But this one is amazing...heats quickly and transports wonderfully. My daughter later admitted to me that she found this one on clearance at Walmart for $10 bucks!!! I told her that had to be the best $10 she ever spent. 05/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have been using the product non stop since I got them home. They are AWSOME!!! Easy to use. Great on power use. And cooks food in the right amount of time & keeps it good and warm. Would buy more when it wears out. 12/06/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overrated I was really excited to buy this slow cooker after seeing the hundreds upon hundreds of positive reviews. When I couldn't find it in my local Walmart, I even went to a neighboring city that had them in stock. This slow cooker works okay, but I am completely unsatisfied, disappointed and put off by the lid. This lid does not close tightly at all. It's as if it doesn't even really fit. Placing it down leaves misshapen gaps on both sides of the cooker which can barely be remedied by using the glorified rubber band that's included to hold it down tight by putting pressure on it. It feels as if the lid just isn't quite wide enough and shaped the same. It will sit on top and not fall down into the ceramic portion, but there's open area on both the front and back while using it. That in itself was enough for me to return it. I also concur with other users that the outside of the cooker isn't very thick/sturdy. Expect some dents (easily!) if you drop it or bang it on something by accident. I would have happily kept using it if not for the issues with the lid. 12/27/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not meant for the quicker 4-5 hour recipes I bought this because of the great reviews and price. Decided to try out a recipe in the instruction booklet. Used a 5.5 lb whole completely thawed chicken. The vent in the lid is great for sticking a meat thermometer through. After a hour on "high" setting, broth was barely warm. After 2 1/2 hours, broth got up to 190 degrees and meat was 140.At 3 hours on high, it finally started cooking with the broth being 200 degrees and the breast meat at 150.It took a total of 6 hours to cook the "4 hour" chicken recipe with about a hour and half for the veggies. It never got hot enough for steam to come out of the vent. I can't comment on low or warm settings. It seem to be smaller than 5 quarts. The chicken, small amount of carrots and 1 onion, put it past the 3/4 recommended level. I had to boil the potatoes separate.I cleaned it up and took it back to Walmart the next day in exchange for a larger 7 quart one for a few dollars more. Walmart is always great about returns when their customers are not happy with their purchases. 09/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and price. Great Product,works well.I love the oval shape and the spacious inside.Easy to clean and store 12/30/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pays for itself in a single meal! I live in a dorm, and the on-campus food is ungodly expensive. I decided it was time to take control of what I'm eating and bought this slow cooker. Size: 5 quarts is very large for one or two people, but it's great for fixing huge batches of stuff to freeze and use later. I'd recommend this size more for a family, but if you have room for leftovers, it could work for you. Operation: Keep Warm, Low, High, Off. There's nothing fancy here and no timers, so you will need to be around to switch to "Keep Warm" when your stuff is done cooking. It's so easy a monkey could do it. Style: The lovely robin's egg blue I got mine in at my brick and mortar Walmart isn't available online it seems, which is a shame, because I adore the color. The other colors I saw that were available were lovely as well. The ceramic insert is plain white (black on some models) and will go with anything on your table. Quality: The rubber gasket on the bottom of the lid makes me a little nervous. I'm used to my mother's slow cooker lid that settles in nicely no matter how you put it on, but the rubber on this one's lid grips the ceramic insert so you have to make sure it goes on right or steam will escape. That said, it's not too hard to put it on right. It heats nicely. Like all newer slow cookers, it cooks much hotter than older ones, so if you have older recipes, you may want to pay attention the first few times you cook so your meat won't dry out. The build quality is nice, and the giant rubber band that was supplied for moving the cooker with the lid on is surprisingly durable feeling and does its job - no spills during transport yet! Value: Between slow cooking being a traditional way of using cheap cuts of meat and this cooker costing less than a meal for four at McGreasy's, you'll make back money super fast. Did I mention it's convenient? Time is money, and the meals I've prepared so far in this have taken about 15 minutes, tops, to prepare in the morning, and they're ready to eat by suppertime. Final word: If you work away from the house all day, you might want to look into a programmable slow cooker instead. Otherwise, this is the perfect choice for students, work-at-home employees, and stay-at-home parents. 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Slow cooking all my nom's Love it, works beautifully. Food was so good, made me want to slap somebody. 01/27/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Christmas gift for mama The product is very durable, nice to look at and a good quality. 12/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've only used it once, but was very satisfied. Great in appearance, price and operation. The rubber ring that holds the lid in place is a bit hard to stretch but will do the job nicely, once on. The crock is very heavy to lift out but is easy to clean. The shape and height of it makes it easy to store away. 11/06/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doesn't have on/off light I probably would have liked this slow cooker more if it had an On/Off light, but it does not. Sorry, but you don't realize how nice that little light is until you don't have one. I have never purchased a product that didn't have some form of illumination whien the power was on. You just have to plug it in and wait until you feel it get hot, and then you know that the power is working. Anyway, with that aside, It appears to be well built and is easy to clean. Switch moves from OFF / Low heat/ High Heat. This is my first slow cooker and I guess Low Heat and High heat is all you need. I cooked a pot roast and it came out very nicely. In all good for the money, but I still miss that light. 11/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Slow Cooker! I used the slow cooker last night to make beans and smoked turkey dinner for my family. The food was delicious! The slow cooker is designed very well. The heavy crock on the inside is removable and easy to clean. The glass lid is rubberized along the edges which makes it easy to sit it on top of the crock without the clanging noise. The vent in the top of the crock helps with letting steam out and the keep warm feature is also a plus. The shell of the crock is lightweight, would have liked it to be a little sturdier, but overall a good value for a good slow cooker. 11/13/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 200+ reviews can't be wrong! I chose this item SOLELY on the reviews. A few disgruntled posts are to be expected, but 95% of the ratings were 5 star! I bought in and like it. I had a smaller one by another maker, but it boiled on low and had only high and low settings. This has a KEEP WARM setting, and I go home for lunch and supper and the food is ready to eat with no microwaving needed! I read a complaint about the vent hole, but personally have no issue with there being one at all. Nevermind the fact that this thing costs less than a two person supper in town. The price is astonishingly low. I am completely thrilled all the way around. 09/10/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value - Poor Delivery This cooker is a very good value at the price, though it does seem to cook a bit on the hot side. Even on low, my meats are finished an hour or so sooner than the recipes would indicate, in one case leading to quite dry turkey thigh meat. I won't be cooking anything while I'm at work, and won't be sleeping late on mornings when I cook overnight recipes. Using during waking hours, when I can monitor how well done my dishes are, seems the way to proceed. It's attractive and a good size but did have some trouble with the delivery in NYC. Since there are no Walmarts here, I was offered the option of free shipping to a FedEx office, rather than a store, but when it arrived, Fed-Ex sent it back, as the Fed-Ex office Walmart's website offered as a pick-up site, does not hold packages. This caused a one week delay in getting it sent, Free, to my home, and a LOT of frustrating time on the phone. Still.....I like this pot very much and am looking forward to using it more. 07/18/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great crockpot I haven't stopped using it since the day it arrived. Love the color! it works awesome! I have looked at many others and foe the price you can't beat it. Try it and you will see it is a fantastic crockpot! Very easy to clean as well. Don't miss out. 08/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT PRICE FOR AN AWESOME CROCKPOT Just make sure you read the directions for what setting to put it on or you will overcook or undercook your meal. It worked great & had a low price. I was very very impressed! 01/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Quart cooker is a star !!!! Wow, I am so impressed with this crock-pot. Did a pot roast and veggies and it turned out fork tender, and lots of juice for gravy. I used a can of beef gravy as the only liquid along with the beef pot roast, carrots, onions and potatoes. Cooked all day and was a hit with the folks for dinner. I even used the liners you can buy to put inside a crock pot so when you are done no mess,no washing. 04/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Smell The rubber rim around the lid has this awful smell and you can not get it to wash out. Not only is it nausiating to smell when something is in the crock pot but that smell gets into your food. The rubber rim is a permanent feature and can not be removed. I would not suggest this pot to anyone. I guess I got what I paid for. 12/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Smells Awful! This product gives off a horrible smell when it is cooking that transfers to the food. When I first got it I followed all of the cleaning instructions, and used it to make pulled pork. It smelled so bad that I was sure that I must have used rancid pork! I just tried the crockpot again -- this time with just water inside -- and the smell came back. I wish I could return this product, but unfortunately I threw out the box and receipt as soon as I received it -- I was fooled by all the great reviews. 02/28/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Cooker with AUTO setting and a bungee cord Rival actually invented this appliance category with their "Crock Pot", but Hamilton Beach appears to have perfected the form. This is a great (larger) slow cooker. The oval shape allows it to more easily accommodate a whole chicken or a pot roast. So cooking these longer shaped entrees is a cinch. Of course it is still great for soups, stews, and chili, but it excels at the preparation of entree meats. The addition of a bungee cord is very nice (it slips over the handles and holds down the lid) and the rubber gasket on the lid creates a better seal. But this is not really a very good travel cooker since the power cord just dangles down and gets in the way. This model has the Auto setting as well. That's a very nice feature. For those who don't know about it, most slow cookers have only LOW or HIGH heat settings. And most cooker recipes call for setting the cooker to HIGH for the first couple of hours and then shifting it to LOW for the remainder of the cooking time. That's just fine if you are at home and able to attend to the cooker; but if you are preparing a meal in the morning to be ready when you get home in the evening, then that isn't ideal. The AUTO setting fixes that problem. Just set the cooker on AUTO and it will begin the cooking cycle on HIGH and then automatically shift it to LOW a couple of hours later. That's a big help. Of course, the LOW and HIGH settings are also available. ALL and all, this cooker is a great model and a fine value as well. Highly recommended. 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great crockpot for a single person I bought this crockpot to pre-cook meals so that I do not have to eat out each night or dirty up the kitchen. I am single individual and this crockpot works well for me. I am thinking of purchasing another one. Vey easy to clean. Would highly recommend it, especially for the price. 11/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's been a long time I had a crock pot when I was first married 38 years ago and used it a lot. Now, as a widow, I want to make large quantities of soups and stews to freeze. This is perfect for me. This cooker is the right size, attractive, and easy to clean. I shopped around alot and this was the best buy for my buck. This would be a great wedding gift to be used by husband or wife. 12/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this! I got this for Christmas and use it all the time. My husband even loves using it to make meals. It works great, the outside gets warm but not enough to burn you. It is great for the two of us, and we get plenty of leftovers. I would definitely buy this again and again. 01/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great I got this for my son so he could have some meals done when he got home from work. He is the single father of two growing boys and it has worked out great from him. Size is great and being able to take the center out and wash it. Thanks 12/27/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by So Glad You Asked... Bought this particular model because it said "Portable". I made up a huge batch of soup to take to my co-workers at our church feeding program as I had promised. I don't own a car. I packaged the cooker on my cart in a large plastic bag and took off toward the station. Buy the time I go to the platform, I had already lost 1/4 of the soup in the plastic bag. I set the cooker on the platform, poured out the soup from the bag, and decided to hold it in my arms, replacing the top as directed. I walked about 12 feet and began to smell soup. YES, I was soaked in it. My raincoat, pants, sneakers, it was a nightmare. I had to poor the rest of the soup onto the tracks, and walk the empty cooker back to my apartment. I disappointed my co-workers and I was beside myself. The cooker itself works fine. As for its portability--NOT AT ALL. 10/26/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not recmmended The Rubber strap that keeps the lid on broke the first time I used it. The metal on the outside of slow cooker is made of light tin and will dent easy. 05/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by There's an unidentified VENT in the lid! I bought this as a replacement, and was shocked to take it out of the package and find a vent in the lid. There's no mention of it on the package (you can see it on the package picture if you know what you're looking at). The enclosed book doesn't mention it, and there is nothing included to plug the vent if desired. I used it one time, and had to add additional water twice during cooking, which defeats the purpose of a slow cooker! I'm returning it tomorrow. 09/02/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T09:26:02.390-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_789, tr_789
  • loc_en_US, sid_15229926, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 677 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew386
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp