Rated 4 out of 5 by 67 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good Alarm clock Large dial...sweeping second hand no ticking...you can switch on lighted face or push the snooze button on top of clock to illuminate....time and alarm set by two ez turn wheels on back....activate alarm with switch on side...one C battery....love this clock. Caution: Not a small typical travel alarm clock, its more of a bedside clock even though I travel with this clock constantly. Will buy again. 04/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by just what I was looking for! This was just what I was looking for...the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is a little too shiny plasticy- but for the price (around $10) you can't beat it! I read all the reviews on goggle for bedside clocks - I was looking for something to replace the clock I had that finally died...luminous face in the dark, no tick, no jarring alarm, and, most important, a big snooze alarm on top that lit up the face when I touched it. I have had a regular clock face all my life and HATE fiddling with electonic digital things. This has all that I was looking for. It has an illuminous face and a dial that you can turn up for constant illumination if you want that, or dimmer, or none. That is green. When you press the snooze alarm it illuminates the face blue - The alarm starts slow and staggered - beep, beep - for maybe 20 seconds and then a little louder & quicker- bee,bee,bee,beep, -for another 20 secs and then the continual -beeeeeeeep. The snooze alarm goes off every 5 minutes - perfect - sometimes, that's all I need. It has very clear legible hands, numbers and second hand -all visible with the back light at night and very clear in the day also. It is a good size (5") similar to the old Baby Bens but the alarm in not so jarring. And it is SILENT. No tick or buzz at all. The dial to turn it off is on the right side of the face. It is a little confusing which is on/off so I put some red nail polish on the "ON" side to remind me. It takes 3 AA batteries (not included). At the back, the dials are easy to turn - they are similar to the old metal dials on the old clocks except they don't have the 'wings) Again, a little confusing which is which, so more red nail polish on the alarm! Even though it is black plastic, it is a solid clock. So if those are the features you are looking for, and a clock should cost $10, this is for you. I love it! I tried and returned 4 clocks from a store and Amazon before I bought this one! I should have STARTED with Walmart - I will next time! :) 10/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has unique features This is a good product, and I think that WalMart should carry it in their stores. I would like to thank the people who did the previous reviews and explained how the features work. I looked a lot for a new alarm clock that had these features, and this clock had them all: 1. No ticking sound - I hate a clock that goes tick, tick next to my bed and bothers sleep (this clock has a sweep second hand, meaning there's no tick) 2. A dial light that I can turn on when I want to see the time, but is not lighted all the time (I hate it when motels have a clock next to bed with bright numbers constantly lit - I always throw clothes over it) 3. Battery powered - takes 3 AA batteries. 4. An old fashioned dial face that is big enough to see from a distance 5. A snooze button and gentle sounding alarm. 6. If you turn the dial light down all the way, there is just a tiny glow that is enough to find the clock in the dark so you can push the light to check the time, but it is dim enough that it does not bother sleeping. I like my clock and hope it lasts for a long time. 01/21/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased with this clock I've only had this clock for a short while but so far I really do like it. It's got a gentle, quiet beeping for the first 7 seconds, then becomes more rapid after that. I like this because it only wakes me up and not my wife [which is ideal]. With a digital alarm clock, where if you set it for 4:23 am, it goes of at exactly that time every single day. This clock is a lot like the old wind up clocks of yesteryear, in that it is set mechanically with knobs, not electronically. So one day it may go off at 4:22, the next day maybe 4:23 or 4:24. But that's not a negative, it's just how things used to be and I'm happy with it. Don't know about battery life yet as it's too soon to tell. Very happy with this purchase. Thanks, MR 07/29/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I really needed this I had been shopping around for a battery operated alarm clock, and they were few and far between. So I ordered this one from Wal Mart and am truly satisfied with it. 02/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Great This clock is easy to use and looks good too. You don't have to wind it and just a flick of the button and the alarm is on. Easy! 02/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected better quality than I expected. 02/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Alarm Clock This clock is Great!! It is easy to set the alarm and I LOVE the fact that the lighted dial can be turned on or off and not on continuously. I cannot sleep with a light on at night so being able to accomplish this is wonderful. If you need to see the time, a button pressed lights the dial or if a light at night does not bother you, then you can leave the lighted dial on. Marvelous clock! Thank you Walmart!! 07/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Failed to go off the first morning I used it! After reading all the reviews, I thought it would be at least be half as great as was described. I would check the alarm before trusting it. 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Battery Powered Alarm clock I was looking for an old fashioned battery powered clock with hands and numbers to use where there was no electric outlet available. It had to be visible at night. They are very hard to find....everything is electric, and digital. I found this one and it fit the bill perfectly. It is a nice size, the face is nice and big and glows in the dark, and there is a button on top to light the whole face. It is reasonably priced and well made. Ordering it was simple, and I picked it up at the store. I am very happy with this purchase. 01/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quitness of Alarm Clock This alarm clock has a sweeping second hand and is very quiet so as not to disturb even the lightest sleeper. It also has a back light so that it can be easily read in the dark. It's a good size, not too small or too big. I really like it. 05/17/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elgin Alarm Clock The clock itself was bigger than I expected which was great because it is very easy to see. Good control over night lighting - I have it set so you can't see the clock at night but that can be changed if you want to see the clock hands. Best of all - it doesn't tick. Don't know about battery life yet. 03/01/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Clock NEVER worked! Got clock - tried to put fresh batteries in - had a very hard time installing them - clock NEVER worked. I even checked batteries - they were fresh & good. Had to take clock back for a refund. 12/01/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elgin battery clock this clock has wonderful features, you can shut the light off so that you can sleep , or leave it on dim so you can see time, love it and would recommend to everyone. 09/26/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stopped working after 2 weeks Bought this for my mother. She loved it for 2 weeks. Backlight on face was dimmable, plus brighter light to read at night by hitting snooze button. Clock was silent - didn't have an annoying tick. Alarm started quiet, got progressively louder. However after just 2 weeks of use, the clock stopped. Batteries were still fine, the light still lit. Returned clock. Value would have been rated highly if clock had worked for more than the 2 weeks. 10/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this clock! I was worried when I ordered it that I may not be able to see the face of the clock very well without my glasses but I can see it perfectly! Because it is made with black numbers on a white background it is very easy to read even in the dark with no illumination. When I got it and took it out of the box I was surprised and pleased that it was much bigger than I had imagined and was impressed with the overall look of the clock including the nice size of the numbers which make it easy to read. I was worried that the alarm might be too quiet to wake me so the first night I used it I also set my phone for a back up alarm 30 minutes after this one but I heard it perfectly and didn't even need my back up alarm which is a relief because it is so annoying compared to the alarm on this that gently wakes you. I don't really care for the bright blue illumination that comes on when I press the snooze button because it is so bright but considering everything else it is something I can overlook since I am not usually looking at the clock when I press snooze anyway. I also bought one for my 11 year old son who loves the bright blue illumination because he uses it for a flashlight in the night to see in the dark!!! He just picks up the clock, pushes snooze, and he has a handy little flashlight! Wow! I bet Elgin didn't know it served more that one purpose :) This clock is also great for Feng Shui...no emissions, no noise and, no light since the light can be turned off. Love it! The item description says it takes 1 C battery but it takes 3 AA batteries. 10/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by elgin alarm clock...analog I paid less than 10.00 for this clock and for quality and performance I would have paid twice that amount. Thank you, as usual, another good product from Wal-Mart!! 5 stars!! 05/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elgin Alarm clock Just what I wanted, small easy to carry, rings low and is great. one battery it is great clock 04/07/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does make a whirling sort of noise, but not too bad 03/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by good buy for the price Good alarm clock. Has an alarm that starts off soft and gets louder as it goes. I'm a heavy sleeper so it wasn't enough for me. I ended up buying the old fashioned looking alarm clock with the bells on top which is also battery operated. I still kept this one since the price was so reasonable. 02/20/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Alarm Clock broke on arrival. It came in damaged. The second hand was off the axle of the clock. I repaired it since it was a simple thing of putting it back on the top of the axle. It never worked! The clock would get to 6 and then it would stop working. Had to take it back to the store and get the money back. The clock is very light. It looks nice. Sad that it was broken. I got an even cheaper model from somewhere that has the product on the shelf . . . hint to WalMart and their put everything online management. The one from the store that actually has the product has worked fine now for a week. I understand shelf space. I understand you cannot carry everything. But I remember a Walmart that did have a nice selection of a good variety of items. Maybe you should go back to that management instead. 03/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ok... but looks cheap Its only 10.00. Serves its purpose but looks cheap & not a penny over what i spent on it. Clock is big & bulky to travel with however I can see the time from across the room. 05/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cheap because it is cheap. You get what you pay for. This clock is cheap plastic and looks the part. After I inserted the three batteries, the compartment cover kept falling off. I tried several times taking them out and reinstalling them to no avail. The cover fell off no matter what I did. I sent it back and purchased a completely different type for a few dollars more. 09/14/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Movement failed in less than 2 months Nice clock - got it for my 91 year old mother who wanted a large dial, battery operated alarm clock. However it stopped working. She didn't drop it; the batteries are good (and checked with several), the light works but nothing happening with the 'hands'. After 2 months it's outside bringing it back to Walmart (since purchased online) and the supplier who shipped through Walmart also has only a 30 day return policy and refers warranty issues to the manufacturer. The only reason I didn't rate it a 1* is that I just called the manufacturer who said they'll ship a replacement clock. At least they stand behind their product. 08/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I wanted! I did not want a digital clock....wanted the "old time clock"....and it was VERY hard to find. It works perfectly! Elgin was always the best brand during the 60's and 70's, and judging by this, it is still a quality clock. I recommend it! 07/08/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I ordered! This clock has all the features I wanted, and it works just fine. It replaced one I returned that cost five times as much and did not work well. 07/06/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by bargain Bargain 06/06/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice alarm for the money I think this alarm clock is just right for the price. It is not a high quality alarm clock, but for the price it does the job and does have a few nice little extras. It does have a snooze alarm and you can choose whether or not you want the clock visible at night or not. If you like it dark, but want to see the time for just a second all you need do is push down on the snooze alarm and it lights up and when released goes dark again. The knobs for settings are all small and plastic, a bit cheap looking and do not expect it to stand the test "of time" (sorry) It is not as precise as a digital. It runs on 3 AA batteries (not included) This alarm clock is the perfect example of "you get what you pay for." I am happy with it and I find it very easy to see. It is also silent. No ticking even with the third hand. I'm happy with it. 04/25/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Time (clock) Simple to use, bold numbers, illuminated dial, graduated alarm (increasing soft to loud) and finally no movement (ticking) noise, it's as quiet as a mouse. Perfect! 02/10/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Glowing Alarm Clock Pretty easy to use Alarm clock that just performs the basics. Love the luminescent glow at night. Giving this only four stars because you have to manually manage the Alarm clock. If you set the Alarm for 6, it will ring at 6am and 6pm. You have to turn it off at 6am, then remember to turn it on again after 6pm. 01/28/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T08:51:54.918-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_67, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_15229347, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 62 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw260
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp