Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 353 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dyson DC33 super sweeper Never thought I would pay that much for a sweeper but broke down and decided get something really good versus another lame-o weak vacuum. I mean why get a new one every few years? Unit is made of polymers, but that can be good, saves alot of weight, and if they use the right ones, very durable. Like a Glock pistol can shoot 200k rounds and not break, a "plastic wonder". This thing has great suction and cleans, really clean. Cleaner than my carpet has ever been after vacuuming. No dust. And there is the NOISE issue. My old vacs were noisy, some to the point of stretching my last nerve. This thing has a whirr or whine but not particularly loud. What a relief! The attachment hose is a bit too tight maybe. Would be a nuisance if you use the baseboard attachment etc. alot till it breaks-in? But for plain vanilla carpet sweeping, it is a joy for me to use. I am glad I got it instead of a halfway-there econo sweeper after all these years. Fun to use when it cleans so thoroughly. I bought it at WALMART! Issues-picky. Wish the power switch lit up when on. A headlight of some sort would be nice. 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best vacuum I've ever used! Bought this vacuum after reading many product reviews, and after having used many other brands of vacuums. I have a dog and 2 cats who are all shedding machines! This is the only vacuum that gets all the fur up from my carpet/and hard floors in one pass! I love that you can turn the brush off on the hard floors! My old vacuum did not do that, and would literally just blow everything around on the hard floors instead of sucking it up! The attachments are a little awkward to use, but other than that, I love my new vacuum! 12/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice long extension cord and the handle wand, while a little awkward at times, reaches to the top of the stairs with the vacuum placed at the bottom of the steps! Great suction and is light and easy to empty the canister. It does not feel like a heavy expensive vacuum when it use but it sure does perform like one. Glad i went with this brand and model especially after comparing reviews of other branded "pet" vacuums. 02/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only drawback is the hose. My wife and I upgraded to the Dyson DC33 coming from an older, but still potent Kirby G4. We opted to shy away from the G4 as we were spending a lot of money on bags, and despite all the maintenance, new belts, etc, the carpet just felt like it wasn't getting as clean as we both know it should. After vacuuming on a Friday afternoon and feeling dirt still beneath my feet, I convinced the wife to invest in the DC33 - later that night, we emptied an entire canister of dirt, carpet 'freshener' that was advertised to help loosen dirt, and just about anything else that the G4 missed. The adjusting floor feature is pretty good as well, as we go from carpet to vinyl tile in the kitchen and to ceramic tile in the entryway. The air quality in our apartment has gone through the roof, and my wife's allergies are MUCH better with the DC33 in the home. We're vacuuming at least once a week and pulling out a 1/4 to 1/2 canister of dirt and pollen each time throughout the entire home. If you're tired of buying vacuums that just don't work after 6 months, and you don't want to plunk down the $500 for the Animal or Dyson Ball - this is as solid as an investment as there is. I likely will not purchase or use 'carpet freshener' in the home for a while, as just keeping the carpet clean is working well for us. Like many reviewers, I too find the hose clunky and at times, hard to use, but if you pull the unit right close to what you're trying to clean, you won't have any problems. Also, despite what some reviews I've read elsewhere state, the suction is great and it will even get in between A/C vents and floor / table fan grates. 06/17/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by First Dyson This is our first Dyson. We wanted to give it a try. First we were interested in Dyson Ball so we tried that and were not impressed comparing to Dyson DC33. DC33 has more power, bigger bin and about $100 cheaper than Dyson Ball so we are sticking to DC33. It is much quieter than our older vacuum machine and it cleans carpet and hardwood floor quite well. Price at Walmart was very attractive even less than Sams Club :-) Ordering from online was very convenient and item arrived at home very quick. One thing we don't like is that the retractable hose is not very impressive and very tight and makes the entire vacuum drag behind you unless someone is holding the vacuum machine while you use the flexible hose to vacuum corners and close edges. 90 days return policy of Walmart and very competitive price is a win win situation so we are very pleased even though it is very expensive comparing to other vacuum machines. 03/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the investment! I was amazed but discusted at the same time when I saw just what my new vac picked up! It was everything I expected and more. I have 2 kids and 3 dogs and this picked up everything, including the dog hair! The only downfall is it's hard to get the wand exteded without the vac tipping over. Other than that, IT'S GREAT and every penny worth it! 03/10/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 First, I was sooo excited to get a Dyson I nearly cried. However, after using it I did cry at its poor performance. For $399 I expect ALL the dirt and debri to be sucked up. I ran my own little experiement with the Dyson DC33 and my old Bissell. Vaccumed whole house with Dyson the went back over with the Bissell and had a canister full in the Bissell. Incredibly disappointed. Returned it and purchased a Hoover Windtunnel Air...so much lighter, better house distance, and half the price plus low profile to reach under counters and beds. Dyson is just not worth the extra money....yes, its pretty, yes, your friends will say "ahhhh, a Dyson!' but you will know you could have done better! 02/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great love it...my fav new toy I always read most reviews before making a purchase. I read several reviews that stated the attachment hose was stiff, pish posh. Muscle up gals, if you want a clean house you will not even notice the hose! I ordered mine through this website for the attachment included exclusively. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the head of the cleaner is so thick I cannot get under my kitchen cabinets or couch at all. I must use the attachments, which I love! 01/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Powerful but Awkward and Not Userfriendly Sure this thing has lots of power and is very sturdy ....but you have to be a strong person with a limber back and generous torque power in your hands to operate this beast smoothly. If the dirt you're trying to dispose of is conveniently lying around in wait in the middle of a large open space, then this machine does it, but if you're trying to maneuver around furniture you'll need to deal with that super tight and awkward hose and extension pieces that won't lie flush with the floor. Those 'accessory' pieces will angle up, leaving much open space...making it difficult to get true suction behind those desks, under those couches, and under that kitchen table... It's a well built machine and great for those open spaces but for the detail work, you're going to have to undo all of the electrical cord to pull that hose out and then you're going to be repositioning that oh so tight hose every 10 seconds or so. For around 300 bucks, you'd think they'd give us a headlight, power button light, and a hard floor highly flexible and maneuverable extension part. For 300 bucks though....I better learn to love it. 04/18/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by 0 for 2 I bought this online but it wouldn't collect ANYthing out of the carpet, so I took it back to the store and they exchanged it for one in inventory. I brought the second one home, and it was the same story: it wouldn't collect anything out of the carpet. I ended up getting a refund. I might try a different Dyson model some other time, but I can't recommend this one to anyone for any purpose. 12/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Vaccum I love this vacuum! It does a great job on our carpet, rugs, hardwoods, and vinyl. I wish however that the actual vacuum was a lower profile such as the ball so it would fit under more of my furniture. When I go to use the wand also, the top piece does not stay attached o the long tubing when removing from the frame of the machine, but with a simple click it goes on easily and stays in during wand use (it may designed to do this, and so the design might be working as it should, but it's still a mild 5 second hassle) I appears bulky, but the ease of use and suction power make up for its downfalls. The cleanliness of emptying the canister is also quick and a great feature. The directions for assembly were easy to understand and assembly took me 2-3 minutes. This is a great vacuum and a purchase that is not to regret! 06/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by 3 times the price and a quarter as good. I don't know if I got a dud or what but I had mine for a week before taking it back. I could go over my carpet twice with this vacuum and then once right behind it with my $70 Eureka that I've had for 3 years, and got a furball the size of my fist from my cat (along with more dirt/dust). I'm definitely sticking with my cheaper Eureka vacuum. 09/26/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by A very disappointing experience... This review is from: Dyson DC33 Multi-Floor Upright Bagless Vacuum Cleaner (Kitchen) I am so upset about this product I just have no words to convey it... First: I have had $40 vacuum cleaners with more suction than this. Second: it loses suction so quickly it is not even funny, and they have the lack of decency to advertise it as "the vacuum that doesn't lose suction" Third: it is the only vacuum cleaner I have ever seen that doesn't have a short handheld end to work on small or extreme spaces, the result is that it has very little use other than just cleaning floors and maybe some sections of the walls or ceiling... you need a good deal of clearance in order to work with the handheld end. Fourth: it is just a torture dealing with the handheld end and the hose... you have to fight it literally.... and you will need a second person to anchor the base of the vacuum and help you struggle with the hose. Just to give you an idea about it, I am currently installing a range-hood canopy and I needed to keep vacuuming all the dust and small debris from the job site. It was a mess: I was stepping on a ladder and had my mother try to help me anchoring the vacuum to the floor and struggle with the hose, and trying to manage the impossible long handle to see if I could get to some of the dust and after I was able to do it I had to watch how very light and small debris kept falling back from the hose because of very poor suction... at the end, I just got my cheap $25 electric lawn blower, blew the dust and debris from the work area and then used a bunch of paper towels I bought at the Dollar Tree and collected it... really?, I mean, really? I paid $400 for this... really? 07/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Powerful vaccuum I love it. Well worth the money. Very powerful vaccuum. Easy to clean. My one and only complaint is that it falls over easily. My son (9 months) loves anything with wheels so if its out, he tips it over in a second. 06/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by dyson DC33 Overall really like the vacuum noticed my wood floors were cleaner it picked up the dust that was actually stuck to the floor that my other vacume didn't pick up. There is a learning curve with it. I don't like where the on off button is and keep pushing the receptical release instead of the on/off. Also the extentsion stick is a little hard to release and not very flexible. A little awkward to manuver. I think the more I use it the better I will like it. It does what its supposed to do. I will probably need to get an extension for the stick part and a better brush nozzle. 05/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! Was very unsure of buying this! I researched and compared online! No regrets what so ever! The suction is awesome and as per some of the other reviews that say the hose was hard or awekward to use I didnt see at all! very easy to assemble and the long cord is awesome! With the attachment I can get under my cabinets in my kitchen no problem! I was even able to reach the corners of my vaulted ceiling and get the webs and dust! Well worth the money spent!!!! I now actually look forward to vacuming! LOVE IT! 02/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT!!! I really wasn't expecting to fall in love with this thing but I did. It's surprisingly quiet, lightweight, and simple to maintain. Totally worth the money! I have 2 mastiffs who shed a LOT and this vacuum works wonders. Seeing how much more it picks up than my last vacuum is disgustingly satisfying. 06/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice lightweight upright This is a great upright sweeper. Good suction. Transition to different floors with ease. Don't buy this one if you use the attachments frequently. Switching to attachments is awkward and cumbersome. 06/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE my Dyson.. It picked up so much more than my old vacuum that has stopped doing what it was supposed to many times. I have dogs and my Dyson picks up all the hair that is on the carpet and VERY easy to empty the canister. 06/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dyson I am not sure if the product is really worth the money. It does a great job vacuuming but I guess I have never had a nice vacuum before so it is tough to guage. It is very easy to use except for the extension. The extension is cumbersome and not very easy to use. 03/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really good, but aggressive cleaner I decided after all the hype, I'd buy a Dyson vacuum cleaner. I already have a Kirby, and really prefer a bag, so I bought this one as it is the cheapest of all I've seen. It works almost as well as the Kirby, but at a fraction of the price. It has a really long cord as well. I like that it has the easily accessible hose, but it doesn't stretch well while the cleaner is running. The wand is awkward to use. The dusting brush is connected to the crevice tool, so it doesn't work well on large areas. It has a super-long cord - I can do my whole 1500 square-foot house without having to change the plug. It's also the cleanest bag-less vacuum I've ever emptied. The brush roll is extremely aggressive too. It ups the cleaning effectiveness, but I feel like if the carpet in my house did not already need to be replaced, the brush on this vacuum might ruin it. 03/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! This is the best vacuum I've ever owned. It's light, easy to handle & works great. 02/25/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor performance We previously owned a Dyson for 10 years and it finally quit. We loved it. The Dyson DC33 is poorly made. Very cheap materials with a expensive price tag. The hose is so short you can barely move. No attachments for hardwood floors. I would love to return the product. 05/25/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not sure about durability I am a heavy vacuum user as I clean student apartments. This vacuum has good suction, comparable to other quality machines. I like the ease of emptying. But I have qualms that it will last very long. The plastic mechanisms that release the bin, the wand, and handle just feel touchy. After only a few uses the handle will not release down to vacuum by pressing on the left side of the base. One time I did not get the bottom of the bin clicked down properly and made a mess the next time I went to empty it. It also takes some getting used to it. I had high expectations for this machine, especially at the price, and I expect to be disappointed with it in the long run. 07/31/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dyson DC33 is absolute Junk! The Dyson hose for vacuuming with the wand attachments is unfathomably and very frustratingly difficult to use. The vacuum height does not allow it fit under the standard kitchen / bathroom floor cabinet overhangs. These two drawbacks make it horrific for convince and usability for a large and vital portion of typical household vacuuming chores. Human engineering is frightful at best. A waste of money!!! 02/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! My cousin bought one of these vacuums for his wife. His wife uses it a lot. She loves it so much. It's one of the best vacuums ever made according to her. Thanks Dyson for making such a great vacuum. He found out more about this vacuum from allvacuumplus.com. He said it's a great website. 06/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was very happy with how easy it was to put together and the instructions that came with it for proper maintenance. I'm very pleased with it's ability to pick up dirt on the carpet and on the hard wood floors. When I compared it to the other dyson vacums I found that this had better suction and I'm not disappointed in the least. Check for your self and then give it a try, I'm sure you'll keep it. 10/22/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not one of my better purchases! After hearing all the hype about "Dyson" this and "Dyson" that, I saved up my money, found one on sale (admittedly, it's a refurbished unit), and bought it - the first new vacuum I've ever purchased (and I'm no spring chicken!). What a mistake! I've given this vacuum almost a full month to show me what's so great about it and haven't found anything yet. There are only 3 "pro" comments for this vacuum: 1. It does appear to have good suction power - but then, my current vacuum is 20+ years old so anything would have better suction! 2. It does well on bare floors. 3. It has a nice long cord. The cons - oh boy, there are a lot! 1. It's heavy - there are steps throughout my home, so I have to lug this thing up and down them to reach all the rooms. 2. It's difficult to push/pull - I end up with a screaming backache from all the twisting effort it takes to push and pull this across the carpet. 3. It does NOT go under furniture or cabinets (like kitchen cabinets that "overhang" or stick out a few inches above the floor) so anything beyond a 1" range under these - forget about getting it picked up. 4. The extension hose/wand is a joke. First off, that release button is in a very poor spot and will only "release" if you are able to hit it just right - with something harder and heavier than your finger. Trying to pull it out to full length to use it - not a chance. Ok, I'll admit, because it's "new" maybe it needs to be stretched out more, but still, having to pull out the wand and then having little to no maneuverability because the expansion hose won't go further than a couple feet is ridiculous. 5. The power on/off switch - again poor design/placement - also takes a lot to operate. I've broken more nails trying to push on or off only to have my finger slip and hit the edge of the housing - or jammed a finger trying to get it turned on or off. 6. That canister release... Seriously? It's supposed to work by just (here we go again) "pushing a button"? Not a chance! It worked the first time I used it. Since then, it has NEVER released or latched correctly to close. I have to finagle and fuss with it (ending up manually maneuvering the latch) to get it opened or closed (try doing that while making sure you're standing over the trash can for when it finally does open up!). 7. Putting the canister back on the machine once you finally get it opened, emptied, and closed - nope. It has never aligned correctly, and (again) takes a lot of jiggling it to get it "just right" and then it usually takes being smacked to get it latched into place. 8. I was absolutely stunned to realize that there is no release button for the head unit, that you have to stand sideways and step on the front of the vacuum while pulling the back in order to use it... (or try standing over top of it and pulling the handle back while balancing yourself to step on the front). I'm no acrobat, nor are my legs 6' long! :) Sorry Dyson - I finally conceded that this vacuum & I just aren't a good "fit" and returned it. I'll be using that money to apply towards purchasing a new machine from another manufacturer. In the meantime I'll be using my old, barely alive but USER FRIENDLY vacuum! 10/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Extremely pleased I have been totally amazed at the cleaning power of this machine. As a trial, I vacuumed a room with my Oreck and then with the DC 33. It removed about a half gallon of dirt and dog hair that the Oreck missed. Same with my Hoover. Long dog hair has been the death of several vacs for me due to beater bar entanglements and this vacuum handles the hair much better and the bar is relatively easy to clean. Although it doesn't fit under furniture well and the telescoping wand is somewhat awkward to use, I have encountered none of the problems with emptying and replacing the canister as reported in a previous review. Many features are unorthodox or different from what I am used to but I will adapt. The cleaning power of the DC 33 more than offsets it's very few cons. It is very close to a 5 star rating. In addition to the above, it is one of the less pricy models. I highly recommend it. 10/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am in love.... I am in love.... I told my husband that I think I love this vacuum more than I love him! It is amazing what all it picks up that my old vacuum didn't. I wish I would have bought a Dyson four years ago when we purchased our first vacuum. In the past four years, we have gone through two Eureka's, in which we had spent just as much as this Dyson cost. Well worth the money! 09/12/2012
1-30 of 329 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw478
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp