See All Reviews
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 14 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great charger My old automatic 10 amp died so I bought this one. It is awesome. It not only goes through all three modes to charge it will even desulfate your old batteries that are completely dead! Then it even tests your alternator in the car while running! Auto detects 6 or 12 volts. Wont even spark when you put the wires together because it runs a test before it even starts charging. Once it charges the battery it drops to maint mode. The start function doesnt start till you turn the key so you dont have to run from the battery to the key like the old models. This is just an awesome charger you will not be dissapointed. 12/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Schumacher XC75 75/20/10/2-Amp Battery Charger Works good, with my battery completely dead, and set on Start, it started in about 3 minutes. I don't like the lit displays, they're impossible to see if there's any light outside. 02/17/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works...sort of... Well, it started my car, but as another poster said, forget about seeing anything on the display. I am not talking about bright sunlight, but any daylight at all. It's too bad because if you could see it, I'd be more inclined to give it a more favorable review. But since I can't tell what mode it's in, I have to say I would not buy it again. 03/13/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Schumacher XC75... can't see LCD mode Works OK... but you will struggle to see LCD mode in daylight, which is frustrating and essential. Suggest shop around for another model. 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Battery Charger I have used this on several batteries types and I'm very satisfied. Has all the bells and whistles one could need. 75A start feature works great also!. I should have owned one a long time ago like this one. 02/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Charger. One problem. I can say compared to my old reliable Schumacher charger from 20 years ago this thing is a really nice advanced battery charger. Nothing to think about when using and you can't accidentally connect the cables up backwards or inadvertently strike the positive and negative together. You do not have to be a mechanic to know how to use. It will do all the work knowing what type of battery it's hooked to and displays the charge percentage. Only complaint is with the L.E.D. in well lit areas or daytime use. It's very difficult to see which mode the unit is in on the 4 left side "Charge Rate" L.E.D. indicators. It could simply be my unit and I hope so. During the day I cannot tell what mode the charger is in without shading. I would like a zip up bag to put it in when not in use. A real value. Nice charger. A+. 10/08/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not all that. Charger cant determine difference in 6 or 12 volt battery if batteries are completely dead, stops when charged at 100% on 6 volt on a 12 volt. 10/12/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works great, but hard to see lights in sunlight. Overall, this charger does what it's supposed to. It charges well, and the LED display gives you a quick glance at how complete the charge is as a percentage. My only complaint is that the lights for battery type and charge speed (along with others) are covered by tiny pictures, and therefore are completely washed out by sunlight. The LED display is also hard to read in the sun, but you can at least put your hands around it for shade in order to view it. The others, however, are still extremely hard to discern. If the manufacturer would use brighter LEDs and not cover them with unnecessary icons, it'd be much easier to use. 10/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is one of the best chargers that I have owned in many years,I can trust it to fully charge the Battery and shut down. this takes the worry out of over chargeing. 06/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome little charger I have an high end audio system in my car and need to keep my battery charged and this charger dose it well. 06/03/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by It seems to do the job, just not well I bought this to replace a charger that is old and nearing the end of its useful life. It took almost eight hours to charge my large deep cycle battery on the 20 amp setting. My other charger does that in under four hours at 20 amps and just over two hours at 35 amps. Part of the problem is that the 20 amp setting isn't really 20 amps. It is some sort of weird combination of 10 amps and 20 amps. When the fan speed goes up, it is charging at 10 amps. When fan speed goes down, it is charging at 20 amps. It keeps alternating back and forth. Don't even get me started on the fact that it probably needs a higher fan speed when charging at 20 amps. Also, it is advertised as having a built in desulfating feature. But the package says nothing about that and the manual only makes a brief mention of it. Nowhere does it tell you what the charger is doing to desulfate the battery. But I was able to figure it out. Normally a smart charger will charge at 14.4 volts. There is a process called "boiling the battery" that is sometimes used to recondition batteries. To do that, you need to charge at 15 volts or more. It is generally not recommended to boil your batteries often. Once every month or two is fine, and only for about two hours. This charger does it every time and there is no way to turn it off. I don't know if that is bad for the battery. What I do know is that this charger caused my maintenance free battery to boil over. As it was nearing full charge, the battery acid started flowing out of the top of the battery and I lost a few ounces. It would have been much worse if I had not been there to catch it soon after it started boiling over. Another interesting thing about this charger is that it supposedly tells you the percentage of charge as it is charging the battery. It was at about 77 percent when I accidentally knocked one of the cables loose. So I unplugged it and then restarted the charge. It now said the battery was 96 percent charged and, as it turned out, 96 percent was about right. So the 77 percent reading was way off. Maybe there was something wrong with the unit I purchased, but I don't think so. I think it is just a bad device. Because they try to make the whole process so automatic that all you have to do is push one or two buttons, and because the display tells you so very little about what is happening, I think many people just don't know that this charger is doing things that seemingly make no sense. But even if I am wrong and the unit I got was not working right, there is still a big problem. Unless you have your multimeter handy, and know how to use it to test the battery and the charging process, how do you know if the charger is working properly? There is no way to know. I can't recommend this charger to anyone. Fortunately, it was an easy return at my local Walmart. 04/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by ok, so it works Yes, it works- it charges batteries- that's what it does. Here's what it doesn't do- come with comprehensible directions. They are absolutely miserable- although, after 40 minutes of wading through gibberish, you find out that all you have to do is hook it up and push 2 buttons. There is absolutely no excuse for such an awful manual. And another thing, there is absolutely no way to see the "mode," LEDs, which are essential, in daylight. Again, no excuse. Otherwise, this thing is fine. Haven't shopped around, but I would probably look for something else. Oh well. 02/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Must be plugged in to jump start! I bought this product because I was having trouble with my charging system in my car. It works great to charge the battery, however, in order to jump start your car, it has to be plugged into a wall. Since I live in an apartment, this didn't work out like I'd hoped... I was hoping to keep this in my trunk in case I got stuck. Other than that, it's great. 12/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not a 2 amp charger When I received this it was a 75/20/10/3 amp not a 2 amp. The difference? Will not charge a motor cycle battery (max 2 amp). Other than that it is hard to see outside and does what it claims to well. 02/07/2012
1-14 of 14 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew463
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp