Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 46 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good combo Net10 together with this phone have been a great choice for keeping costs low for my small business. The phone has a qwerty keyboard which is great for texting and e-mailing. I find the camera and micro card to be handy features and don't really need, but enjoy the mp3 player. My phone gets used constantly and seems to "roll with the knocks". Most quotes, orders, confirmations, etc come through my cell, so I needed something economical on minutes, as well as reliable coverage and at $50 for unlimited everything, I really couldn't ask for better. Obviously, I also don't have to worry about overages or extras, so it's very easy to work the fixed price into my budget. 10/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by W-O-W I was very happy with my purchase! The colors are vivid on the screen's display. The keyboard is very easy to use once you're used to it. The camera takes excellent pictures, though the video camera quality isn't the best. What I don't really like about the video camera is that is has a time limit. It will just stop video taping at about 25-30 seconds. The tools come in great use like the stopwatch, the timer, the calendar, etc. The sound quality isn't great, but I think it's that way with all electronic devices...It is easy to navigate with the keyboard slid up, for there are option keys, navigation keys and an OK button. The phone's battery lasts quite a while, and doesn't take too long to charge..maybe up to 2 hours at the most. I was really happy with this phone. It's a great purchase, and wasn't expensive at all for its quality. :) 02/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product I really, really like this product. It's easy to use and the keyboard is fantastic! It's basically set up like other Net10 phones, so if you have a different one currently, it would be easy to make the switch. I also started using the $25/750 minute plan when I got the phone. It's a great deal as well. 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Well For Me I've had the Samsung 401 phone for 11 months now, and I can honestly say that I have never had a dropped call, and I have never had any problems with the phone. I use it for texting and making long distance calls, and I also use it as a backup phone for making emergency calls when I'm away from home. I chose this phone because I hate texting on a regular phone keypad, since I had gotten so used to texting on the Qwerty keypad. With Net 10 phones I seem to never run out of minutes. 10/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Love not having the hassle of a contract. Always so many extra fees, and problems with that. Bought one for my son and he loves it. I am buying one for myself to replace my old net 10 phone. Lots of nice features with this phone. Amazing value for what you get. 02/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Texting Workhorse! I waited until I had owned and used this phone for a year before writing a review as too many times reviewers love or hate a product when new but after a lot of use/experience their opinion may change. (NET10 is my provider.) Well, this phone has exceeded my expectations on numerous levels. Let me state that I use this phone primarily for phone calls and texting. I rarely use it for web browsing, emailing, photos, etc. For texting it is great - the slide open qwerty keyboard is firm - you know when you have entered text - not soft or "squishy" like some. My phone reception is great - I have never dropped a call and roaming has never been a problem with my NET10 service from Chicago to Hawaii I have always had clear reception. Battery life is good - I am still on my original battery and I never turn my phone off as I do not have a landline. I probably do about an hour of two of texing every day and still have a full charge. I charge it overnight every other day - web browsing does tend to use more battery but as I only do that occasionally it hasn't been a problem for me. As an aside on Net10's customer service: Recently my daughter convinced me to give Boost Mobile's $50 unlimited talk, text, web a go - what a disaster. I bought one of their Samsung Seek phones ($129 on sale), ported over my NET10 number, and was never able to make or receive a phone call from inside or around my home - I live in a rural area of North Carolina - and my phone never worked until I got into a metropolitan area (i.e. Winston Salem, High Point). After less than 2 weeks I went back to Net10 - reactivated this T401G and ported my number back as reception with their carrier in my area is crystal clear. I will state that it took about 7 days, 2 new SIM cards, and approximately 6 hours of phone time with Net10 support to get my service and phone number ported back. Net10's customer support personnel are friendly and helpful but you have to be patient and diligent when working with them. So while I give this phone 5 stars I would have to say Net10's customer support can be frustrating. As long as you don't try and do anything "tricky" with Net10 I have never had a problem. So if you buy one of their phones, activate it, and stick with them I think you are "good to go". When you get into porting numbers prepare to spend a lot of phone time with their support staff. Back to the phone itself - I love it, am happy with NET10 service - and other than my experience noted above RECOMMED THIS PHONE AND NET10 HIGHLY. 08/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's quite an exceptional phone. The price of this phone is exactly where it should be in the charts. It's camera is very good with cool effects such as: posterize, solarize, negative, black and white, etc. The texting is very good. It sends the messages quickly. The camera has a great! quality. The video camera doesn't last long, as previously announced. Only ~30~ seconds. The bluetooth is great! If it doesn't work, it's because of the other phone. Haha. The buttons are large enough. The browser is pretty quick, but doesn't always load up every page that is wanted. Of course, it loads Facebook, Twitter, etc. But will not load YouTube for instance. You may get certain apps, but they aren't Java apps. The games are good. Jumpboy and Sodoku are the 2 that come with the phone and they are completely free and do not go into 'demo' mode after a while of playing. There's a MicroSD slot that you can insert a chip into to maintain adequate space. With some web pages, you can download movies, shows, music videos, etc. (with the MicroSD card). (www.koolwap.com) The phone is high quality on the reception in the country. I can get service almost anywhere. The sound quality is perfect. The battery life on the phone is excellent. Very convenient in organization of the phone system. Overall, the phone should do great with any person that plans to use it daily or not. 07/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by samsung 401 It is a very nice phone and I get better service then my friend who has T moble and they pay 175 for two phones. we did an internet contest and I got on and got the page showing on my phone before hers, hers was still trying to upload it and it never came up. She is going to check this out in june. took me a while to get use to it cause I am use to an old flip phone though straight talk but getting better love the games on here that I downloaded they look good and the pictures are great. 04/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product!! Ah such a great find when I came across it at Walmart! This phone and service are saving me a significant amount each month. Seriously adore it. Net10's new unlimited plan is what I use this phone on, just $50 and I get to do all the talking and texting I want. It's like the ultimate package deal, definitely reccommend giving it a try, you will not regret it! 10/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Phone! Loaded with so many features that I wanted, but didn't need (camera, video, MP3 player). I use my phone as an emergency line in the car and to call the very few long distance contacts I have. Don't need all the bells and whistles, but you get quite a few with this phone. Accessories included are a bonus (carrying case, car battery charger). When I bought mine, it came with 300 minutes and 60 Service Days. Came as a boxed unit from NET10. I bought a microSD card and USB cable for more storage and so I can transfer my videos and pics to my PC. The only thing it doesn't do is access the web outside of the few choices that NET10 gives you. 10/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE IT! I bought it about 5 days ago and I'm in love with it. It has brought me NO problems. The only problem I had was with the minutes. Be aware of the $25/750 minutes and the $50/unlimited. They are not as good of value as they say they are. 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great offering from Net10 My husband bought this phone for me recently and it's been all that I hoped for. QWERTY keyboard makes texting and mailing so much quicker, long battery life, mp3 player (to my kids dismay, they now get to listen to mom's music ;) ) and a camera. There are some other features that I don't really make much use of like micro card and video recorder. Chasing after kids' schedules can be a costly business, but with Net10's unlimited plan, I still pay less than what I did on contract and never have to worry about going over my limit. The browser I do find to be a bit limiting, but then have a home computer and even if I didn't use web access, it's still a fantastic deal without compromising on the network coverage. 10/26/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very nice phone except .... I decided to upgrade from my Tracfone's Motorola W376g to the Samsung T401g for the QUERTY keyboard, larger screen and more features. It also meant I had to switch to Net 10 service, at over twice the cost, but I really liked this phone. Sadly, it had to go back to the store. Even though I liked pretty much everything about the phone, in the end it didn't make sense to pay more for Net 10 service when I couldn't get an adequate signal. Both phones used AT&T SIM cards since they work best in our area which is rural. The W376g had 2 bars or more higher reception than the Samsung. With the Samsung, I repeatedly couldn't call/text/receive. Reception was poor even when we were in direct line-of-sight to a tower nearby-1 bar. (The W376g had 4.) I also couldn't see why I could make calls from inside my home during the day but as soon as night fell, the signal dropped off and I couldn't call out. What a shame! This is SUCH a nice phone, but consider yourself warned about reception. Net 10 was unable to do anything to help. Call quality also was not as good as the Motorola, but still good, with very good volume. 01/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazin Phone (: I Bought This Phone Last Year Nd Unfortunatly Had To Get It Turned Off :(. It Charged Super Fast Nd Was Easy To Set Up . It Is Also Veryy Cheap Each Month Too ! I Recommend This Phone To Anyone (: Babyy Boo </3 Was Here (: 01/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy This cell phone was purchased for christmas. It was exactly what she wanted. Service is the same as mine, which is sad b/c I have Verizon and realize I am only paying double the cost for a name. I will be purchasing one for myself as soon as my plan runs out. Very happy 12/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Phone, but incomplete info on how to use it. Going from a basic cell phone to this feature rich camera phone with iPod capabilities was daunting. Especially for a novice. The info supplied with the phone was only the basics. You have to go to the Samsung site to get more info, and even then I still had questions like, how much memory would be required to capture video clips and how long of a video clip it was capable of taking? At 1.3 Mega Pixels, they don't tell you that the resolution at a normal viewable size on your computer is not going to be very good. Took the Samsung site several days to email back, informing me there was no USB Data Transfer Cable option for this model. With the help of a knowledgeable sales person I was able to purchase a USB Card Reader at Wal Mart for $8.00 that worked fine with my Sandisk Micro SD 8 GB Memory Card (with Adapter). It solved my data, video and picture transfer problems from the phone to my PC, and cheaply too. Had some roaming problems being on the out skirts of the zip code I live in. Took a few days to sort that problem out, but it still takes several minutes being outside of the house to get a good signal for picture transfers. Once we go into town it didn't take as long, nor did it roam as much. On the whole, we like the Phone. Still learning how to perform some of the various features. The phone has a substantial feel to it. Doesn't seem to be made cheaply. Found the reader reviews helpful at the Wal Mart site, too. Thank you! 01/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE this phone!!! SO I am not what you would call tech savvy. This phone was so easy to use and is such a great buy. It is easy to use and super easy to TEXT. Buy it, you will not regret it. I intend to have it until it dies. :) 10/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Phone I bought this phone to replace a phone that I bought that didn't work. But, this phone works a lot better than that one did and it even has a few extra things that the old phone didn't have. All in all, I think that this is a great phone, and I have only had it a day. But, I have not had any problems with it at all. 03/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value This is a great phone for talk and texting usage. With the $30 refill card I can put my teenager on a 150 minute allowance per month and get no surprise overage bills. She uses texting most of the time, which only costs 1/3 minute airtime per text. Also, decent coverage in our area. 03/20/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by NET10 Samsung T401G I love the qwerty keyboard, makes texting a breeze. Overall a very nice upgrade to my older phone. 03/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phone fine, features disabled The phone in and of itself is fine. Thing is, Net10 has disabled the feature that allows you to plug the phone into a computer for the purpose of downloads. You have to save things on the phone to the memory card, remove the card from your phone and then plug into a computer. The only other option is to email things from the phone and that costs several minutes of air time to do. It would be nice to be able to back up your phone book onto a computer. Since the computer compatable features are disabled, you are still stuck with entering each addy one at a time. 02/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this phone I love this phone first off I don't use my phone that much so if I would to add a 300 minute card that is like $15 a month & I only mainly use about 60-90 minutes a month so this works out perfect second u can text from it really nice & easy & 3rd I got the phone for $59.88 which it normally sells for $79.88 so that makes this a SWEET deal 02/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have a question? I just bought the phone over the weekend i LOVE the phone and EVERYTHING about it the only thing i can not seem to fig out or if you even can see who is sending you a text message? I hate how it just say 1 new text exc. does anyone know if you can change it so you can see who is texting you? Thanks 02/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Phone I purchased two of these phones as upgrades from more basic Net10 phones. My wife and I both are very pleased with our purchase. The slide out keyboard makes texting very easy. The micro SD feature allows the upload of ringtones, photos and music extremely easy. Text messages are charged at .3 minutes instead of the .5 minutes charged on most other Net10 phones. They are bluetooth capable and work with the Motorola handsfree headset I used with my prrevious Motorola phone. 01/27/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage I purchased this phone with high hopes of getting a great service. Insteadd I was sadly disappointed. Within days of adding the $25 750 minute phone card I purchased on-line from Walmart my phone lost all its minutes instantly one night. The net 10 office was closed until the next morning. My service was fixed after speaking wwith a rep. A few days later the same thing happened, all the minutes dissappeared. Again this happened after the net 10 office was closed.This happened 5 times. I was then pronissed a new phone and 2 months free service. Again my phone lost its minute and Net 10 will not correct the problem or refund my money. 02/19/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible! I got this phone a week ago thinking I was going to love it. I've had a lot of Samsung phones, and have never had problems with them, and have loved every one I've ever had. Well...I HATE this phone. 1. The phone just randomly restarts for no reason, whenever it feels like it. 2. Half the time I'll have four bars of signal and the phone won't ring. All of a sudden I have a voicemail notification. I'm not sure if this is Net 10 or the phone though, but it's still annoying, especially if I miss a call where they didn't leave a voicemail. 3. The battery on this phone is TERRIBLE, I find I'm charging it at least twice a day, and I don't even use the phone that much. I think in a week I've used up maybe 400 minutes, having to have charged it 13 times now. 4. This phone WILL NOT work with a USB cord. I have one for one of my other Samsung phones and this phone won't transfer your stuff via the cord. So you have to make sure you have a micro sd card, and that your stuff is all saving to your card or you won't be able to get pictures and stuff off of it. 5. There is only a 15 DAY warranty on this phone. That's it. So you better hope it works past 15 days (which isn't looking so good for this phone). And Walmart supplies the warranty, not the phone manufacturer or Net 10. All in all, I have to say it is definitely not worth the 60 bucks I paid for it, and it will definitely be going back. I'm just hoping I'm not out the 50 bucks I paid for the unlimited plan and I can transfer my service to another phone. 05/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It meets expectation I bought this for the texting keypad. I love that feature. The cons are that it is more bulky than my small flip phone, and that i feel i need the open keypad locked. Which means I have to unlock it everytime I use it. 12/26/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inept Customer Service Bought a new smartphone with $50 plan. Asked them to transfer my old cell number. Followed their instructions, did work, next support guy blamed me and then tried again, this time cutting off my service completely. Still waiting. As far as support, for 30 min they couldn't get their phone to work properly, constant cutouts in speech because they are in Indonesia and use the internet for their phones, and they say 'WE DO NOT CALL CUSTOMERS BACK' -- prepare to waste a LOT of time the moment you need any service at all, and eventually you will. 04/14/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible customer service Because of several problems, I was unable to transfer my old number initially to this phone. And despite long conversations with reps from Net 10 I was mostly unsuccessfully using the auto-refill (25 dollar/750) plan. They still withdrew money from my bank, just didn't give me the minutes or airtime. Unexplained deactivations lead to me having to change phone numbers twice. Plan at least one hour for each customer service call you make to a very nice, but very unhelpful customer service agent. I can't express enough how frustrating using this prepaid wireless company has been. 08/01/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by love to save! love that this product is found at Walmart,they always have good sales. Got the slider as a second phone and quickly found I was using it more and more do to the great benefits with the unlimited plan of $50. The coverage is great with Verizon in my area.So, bit the bullet on my other cell,paid the cancellation fee and now enjoy the flexibility offered with Net10.Looked on their web and they ever offer business plans-something I will definetly consider! 12/20/2010
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.