See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 134 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Braun Series 5 Model 570 I have been an avid fan of Braun shavers for over 5 years. This Model 570 is, by far, the best razor I've used to date. It's quiet. Provides an incredibly close, comfortable, shave. And is an incredible value for the dollar. You can clean it daily with hot water or use the automatic cleaning system, which also charges the razor. I know all of that sounds like a cheap commercial. But, it's true. If you want a solid electric razor, this is the one. 01/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Braun Durability Let me first say that I love Braun razors. I had a Flex XP for at least 8 years before this one. Just recently the foil on the XP had developed a small tear and the cutter had lost a blade so I figured I might as well get a new razor. For all of those at least 8 years I never replaced the foil or the cutter once... and I'm not making that up. I'm sure Braun hates me, but at least I thought their products are so good I bought another. The 550c is made in Germany and it has all the quality you would expect from a German made product. I bought a 300 series razor a couple of days before this one, but I found it that it could not be used with the cord, so I took it back. Also, it was made in China, but I have to admit, the quality of it looked good. As for the 550c, it's light, quiet and gives a close shave. I just hope it gives me at least some of the longevity that my old Flex XP did. So, if you are willing to spend a little extra for a superior shaver, Walmart currently has them at the best price. 12/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Series 5 Works For Me! Reading Series 7 reviews and using a previous shaver (Panasonic dry/wet type) left me with some concern about inconsistency (shaving and Series 7 cost). Before my Series 5 purchase, I was using a Gillette Fusion Power which frustrated me buying blades. Besides, I tended to nick myself on occasion along with razor bumps. BTW: Use a pre-electric shave. Started down the path of purchasing a Series 7 but couldn't rationalize the expense reading others feedback. I settled on a Series 5 due to more positive reviews overall relative to cost and shaver satisfaction. I'm in my 2nd week of usage, I've been more than pleased with the Series 5's shaving closeness. My first shave felt near perfect. Love the thought that it gets better after about three weeks of usage. I recommend trying the Series 5. I'm afraid that Series 7 expectations would've been too high to meet due to the higher cost of the shaver. BTW: My challenge is realizing when I'm finished. I believe I'm taking too long to do the shave. That's me coming from blades. 01/25/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Purchased for my husband for his birthday. This was bought to replace a seven year old Braun shaver. My husband is very happy with it. This shaver provides a closer, finer and more comfortable shave than the old one. It also seems to be less messy than the old model. The cleaning system is not cheap to maintain. I didn't like the fact that the same product off the shelf at our local Walmart was $50 more than the online price. 02/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Braun 5 series are the Best shavers on the market I have a Norelco from the late 70s and it finally got dull. I could buy new cutting heads for my old Norelco, but decided to buy a new shaver. I bought a new Norelco and it pulled my facial whiskers so bad, I took it back and bought a more expensive Norelco. This one had no power and also pulled my whiskers so I took that one back. I started reading all the reviews I could find on electric shavers. Ninety percent of the reviews all pointed toward Braun as the best electric shaver. I wasn't sure which model I wanted so I purchased two of the 3 series, one 550 and the 790. The 3 series was much better than the Norelco. When I shaved every day the 3 series was OK but didn't totally impress me. If I let my beard go a couple of days the 350 felt rough. It didn't pull my hair like the Norelco but it did not feel real smooth. I did not like the 790 at all and took that back. I did not like the intense vibration from the 790s micro vibrating heads. I tried the 550 and loved this model. I have a tough beard and I can let it go for three days, start shaving with the 550 and no pull. I have not used any electric shave lotion -- just shave dry. My face is smooth because the 550 shaver works great. The pop up trimmer works very well too. THE BRAUN 5 SERIES ARE MY CHOICE. I ordered it through Walmart.com because they have the best price and return policy (if anything should go wrong). My uncle has a Remington shaver and absolutely hates it. I let him try my Braun and he was so impressed he is ordering a Bruan 550 for himself. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great razor! I purchased the Braun Series 5-550C Razor to replace a one year old $40 foil razor. I bought the $40 razor when my 12+ year old Braun finally quit working. When I first used the $40 razor, my face felt raw, but according to the instructions, my face would take a week or two to get used to the new razor. Well, after a year, my face still felt red and raw after a shave. And the shaver did not do a very good job. I always had difficulty under my neck and I had to go over multiple times. And if I didn't shave every day, I would have to use the trimmer first to shorten the beard before the razor would work. Very disappointing. So after suffering for a year, I broke down and bought the Braun 5-550C. What an excellent razor. The razor is quiet, and works great - NO raw face after a shave. And no uncut whiskers left after a shave. Just a SMOOTH, fast, and quiet shave. I have used the razor for 3 weeks now and will NEVER go back to the cheap other brand. The clean and renew system also works great. I have read other reviewers comments about using the system weekly rather than daily with no problems and that is what I am doing. It works great. I highly recommend this razor. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Shaver for the price. Had a Braun Series 3. This is a much better quality shaver. However the cleaner for the cleaning system is much too expensive. Wish there were a generic cleaner.But I must say this is a great shaver. 06/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasantly Surprised Having used a rotary razor for the past 30 years I was leery to make the change to this razor. I was pleasantly surprised with the closeness of the first shave. I was totally blown away with the cleaning machine when I opened the razor after the first cleaning of the razor (after one week of use). I thought I was looking at a new razor. I would definently recommend this razor to others. 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Braun Series 5, 550CC Shaver System I have used Schick and Gillette razors for years and decided to try a shaver system again. Many years ago when I had an electric razor, the razor burn was too much. This system is great, I get an extremely close shave (possibly a little better with a regular razor) but I really love the convenenience and the system itself. I clean it daily in order to make sure it performs as well as possible. I would highly recommend this system. I have been using it for about 2 weeks now and I feel that the quality of the shave improves daily. 01/06/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A very good electric shaver This Braun Md. 570 electric shaver gives extreemly close shaves. The cleaning system works well. It does take a little more time to shave with the Braun than with a floating head electric shaver. 01/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Electric Shaver I have used a Noralco Shaver for over 20 years and thought I had gotten a close shave for an electric shaver. Well I ordered a Braun Series 5 Shaver a few days ago. The shaver was delivered and have used it the last two mornings. Now that was a close shave, so long Noralco. However, I do recommend using a pre-shave conditioner before shaving (Williams Electric Shave), I also like the self-cleaning feature. 09/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK product but not for me. This product does not give a close shave like a razor. It took me forever to shave with this product where it only takes me a couple of minutes with a regular razor (this could be because I am use to using a razor). It also caused razor burn but this could be because I kept going over the same spots with alot of pressure trying to get a closer shave. The product says that it stands up the hair that lays flat on the skin but it did not work for me. I had to keep going over the same spot pulling the skin so that I could cut these hairs. 01/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but not great This is a descent razor. It doesn't give me as close a shave as I had hoped, but I feel that may be due to my beard and face and not really the razor. I really like the self-cleaning feature, although I am not impressed by the fact that I will have to buy the cleaning solutiuon over and over until the end of the razor's life. It was more expensive than I expected, but so were all the other razors with similar features. 05/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close shaver Easy to set up and use. I have to remember to move shaver slowly while pressing down firmly going against the hair direction. 06/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Shaver Received my Braun Series 5 as a Christmas gift. Was so pleased with it, I gave one to my son as a birthday gift. He is an industrial engineer and was so pleased with it that he threw away all his razors. Once one gets over the initial price, one will realize it is worth the money and that you only get what you pay for. 06/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by For anyone with a heavy tough beard, I would recommend this razor. Does an excellent job in the neck area which was a problem area for me. 03/26/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good price for product The price from WalMart was the best I could get. As far as the Braun 5 - it's a good razor but is louder than I would expect for such a good product. 01/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Braun Shaver Series 5 I've always purchased Braun Shavers. This one is the best so far! 07/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Shaver! I'm very pleased with this shaver. I've owned Braun shavers for many years, including the self-cleaning variety. The 570cc is the best one I've used so far. It works very smoothly, shaves closely, and the cleaning cycle runs a little quieter than the older models that I've had. Overall, very nice. The shaver body feels different in your hands than some of the older models, and that takes a little adjustment in shaving style during the first few days of use. But even considering that, it did a great job for me the first time I used it. 05/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by great bang for the buck bought this for my husband. he had an old 3970 braun shaver. he says this is the best he's ever used. easily contures to his face and the egonomics make it easy to hold in his hand. long battery life in between needed charging. seems to need to be cleaned often according to the sensor. the "blue glow" behind the fluid reservoir provides soothing night light in the bathroom :) purchased this in mid-Jan & the price was @it's lowest--just a bit over $150 total--can't be that anywhere on the web 03/22/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's ok This is a good shaver. I had a lower series that worked alot better. I purchased other razors first, but compared to the Braun, they were a waste of money!! My older Braun also lasted 5 years. That's why I decided to upgrade. This Braun has a tendency not to get all the facial hairs, but not as bad as the other brands. 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Razor, worth every penny At first I was skeptical to but a 135.00 razor, but it's a high quality razor from Braun. My prior razor was a Braun and I used it almost everyday until it finally fell apart. This razor provides a clean, comfortable close shave. As an afro American, we tend to have hairs that curl and hide at the neck line. This razor was able to find those and cut them with no issues. Worth the money to invest in a great product....and this is it. 11/26/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by braun electric shaver I have used Braun shavers in the past but this new one has risen to a new standard. I am known for growing a dense wiry beard that is tough to cut. The 5 series 550CC does an amazing job that is quick and close. Under the chin where it seems to be the densest is no problem and on the neck where at 67 years old the skin is not tout it gets it done with ease. I am totally satisfied and have not yet used the automated cleaning system yet which I expect to be as impressive as well. 08/16/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and value I purchased this about two months ago and it is great. I have never used a braun before and the newer disposable razors caused my fact to break out something bad. This is an awesome product and well worth the money. 05/04/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most comfortable foil shaver I've owned This shaver does an excellent job at shaving troublesome lower neckline hairs. It's also the most comfortable electric shaver I've owned. Used a Panasonic foil prior to this. 12/22/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by about this shaver.. I purchased this for my hubby for christmas and he used it the next day. His beard was about 1/2 inch long all over. It didnt seem to want to cut the hair off that long so he used the pop up trimmer to get it shorter. Then he used the shaver, which only seemed to shave him really close in patches...in the silliest spots too, like on his cheeks and neck. The shaver itself had a sticker on it that said, "if you only shave with a manual razor it will take about three weeks for your face to get used to the electric razor." Dunno what that really means, but, anyway. For the price of this I could probably go with a cheaper razor if it will only shave his face in "patches". He had a way cheaper razor from Braun in the past and it shaved him perfectly the FIRST time and his face didn't have to "get used" to the razor. It's very fancy looking though and feels pretty durable, say maybe you accidently drop it. I would probably recommend this only because it's cheaper than most SELF CLEANING razors, if that's what you want, but if you just want a regular electric razor......go with a cheaper one!! Happy Shopping! 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It delivered what I expected - very happy I had used a rotary (Norelco) razor for many years . I developed a basal cell cancer which was successfully removed by a Dermatologist, but left a tender skin patch, which was irritated by the rotary razor.I was not really certain whether the Braun foil razor would meet my expectations. When I started looking, I was overwhelmed by the available choices. I didn't want the cheapest thing I could find , but I didn't want to pay any more than necessary. ( $ 75 - 300). So, I chose the middle of the pack, and WalMart online had the best price ($125). So far, so good. I am pleased with free delivery in just a few days, I am pleased with the performance. I don't really know what I gained over the cheaper models, and I don't know what the more expensive models might have delivered... 01/22/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great razor A great razor. Closeness of shave is really very good, better then I had expected. Cleaner seems to work just fine and saves time as you don't have to spend time cleaning the unit. But if you don't want to clean the razor the unit will just charge it. Refills can be a little expensive, but you can get them on ebay at a good price. Overall, a fine razor and Braun suggests that you change cutter head after 18 months. Pretty good time frame in my opinion. Would buy again. 07/15/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I called my local Walmart and they did not have my item. They told me to try online. I found the items, Braun Shaver and Braun cleaning kit. I ordered them and they were delivered 2 days earlier then stated. It was very consumer friendly and easy. I would not hesitate to go online if my local store did not have what I wamted. 05/21/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I purchased this razor after doing some research into similar products. I found it to be of good quality and it functioned as expected. All in all, a good value. 03/12/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T08:28:47.917-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_134, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_15105094, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 108 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw487
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp